DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes
Claims 1-13 are currently pending of which claims 9-13 are withdrawn. Claim 1 is currently amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yagisawa (Daikin discloses molding samples of a fluoropolymer “PFA powder” for 3D printers under development, INTERMOLD 2019, published April 19, 2019) English translation provided in IDS filed 12/30/2022.
Regarding claims 1-4, Yagisawa discloses a three-dimensional shaped object formed from a PFA powder (page 3, sample product figures). The samples formed in powder bed melt bonding method (page 5, title) and thus would be a laminate of layers according to the slice data of the three-dimensional structure. Alternatively, the limitation of “the three-dimensional shaped object is a laminate of layers according to the slice data of the three-dimensional structure” does not appear to impart any structure which would not be met by any three-dimensional object.
Yagisawa further teaches the product having a breaking stress (MPa) 15.3 or 30.3 (page 6, mechanical properties of the molded products using PFA powder), overlapping the claimed tensile stress at break of 9 MPa or more in claim 1, 10 MPa or more in claim 3, and 19 MPa or more in claim 3; and a breaking elongation (%) of 154 and 367 (page 6, mechanical properties of the molded products using PFA powder), overlapping the tensile elongation at break in the direction perpendicular to the shaped plane of 20% or more in claim 1, and 200% or more in claim 4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90, In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, and In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 6, Yagisawa does not expressly teach the method of punching the object after shaping, however Yagisawa teaches the same structure of a dumbbell-like form (page 7, molded product).
Please note, claim 6 includes product by process language with regards to the recitation of “punching”. The above arguments establish a rationale tending to show the claimed product is the same as what is taught by the prior art. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” (In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964,966). Once the Examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious different between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983), MPEP 2113.
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji et al. (US 2008/0199699).
Regarding claims 1-4, Tsuji discloses a PTFE powder for forming moldings (0002). Please note, the limitation of “the three-dimensional shaped object is a laminate of layers according to the slice data of the three-dimensional structure” does not appear to impart any structure which would not be met by any three-dimensional object, including the moldings of Tsuji.
Tsuji teaches the moldings having a tensile strength of not less than 58.7 MPa (0028), overlapping the claimed tensile stress at break of 9 MPa or more in claim 1, 10 MPa or more in claim 3, and 19 MPa or more in claim 3; and tensile elongation of not less than 423% (0032), overlapping the tensile elongation at break in the direction perpendicular to the shaped plane of 20% or more in claim 1, and 200% or more in claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Tsuji teaches a surface roughness less than 0.92 µm (0021), overlapping the claimed surface roughness of 30 µm or less.
Regarding the overlapping ranges discussed in claims 1-5, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90, In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, and In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 6, Tsuji teaches punching the specimens after molding (0073).
Please note, claim 6 includes product by process language with regards to the recitation of “punching”. The above arguments establish a rationale tending to show the claimed product is the same as what is taught by the prior art. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” (In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964,966). Once the Examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious different between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983), MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 8, Tsuji teaches the modified-PTFE including tetrafluoroethylene-perfluoroalkoxyethylene (0091), or tetrafluoroethylene-hexafluoropropylene (0087) copolymers.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yagisawa or Tsuji as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Taira et al. (US 2003/0220458).
Regarding claim 7, Yagisawa or Tsuji disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Neither reference teaches a melt flow rate for the fluororesin.
Taira, in the analogous field of fluorine-containing resin molded articles (0001), discloses a fluororesin having a melt flow rate of preferably 0.5 to 3 g/10 min, overlapping the claimed MFR of 0.1 g/10 mins or more.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the fluororesins of Yagisawa or Tsuji to have a flow rate of 0.5 to 3 g/10 min, as taught by Taira, for molding into a tube structure and for excellent stress cracking resistance and melt-moldability (0025).
Claims 1-4, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartow et al. (US 2019/0022928).
Regarding claims 1-4, Bartow discloses a three-dimensional shaped object formed from fluoropolymer (0012) The laminate formed by sequential deposition of layers of material from a 3D model (0031) and thus would be a laminate of layers according to the slice data of the three-dimensional structure. Alternatively, the limitation of “the three-dimensional shaped object is a laminate of layers according to the slice data of the three-dimensional structure” does not appear to impart any structure which would not be met by any three-dimensional object.
Bartow discloses the tensile strength at break of at least 5 MPa and elongation at break in the z-direction (perpendicular to the x and y direction) of at least 100% (0186, 0189), overlapping the claimed 9 MPa or more and 20% or more, respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90, In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, and In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Bartow teaches a tensile strength of from 12 to 24 MPa (0186), overlapping the claimed 10 MPa or more in claim 2 and 19 MPa or more in claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Bartow teaches an elongation at break of 150 to 400% (0186), overlapping the claimed 200% or more.
Regarding claim 7, Bartow teaches a melt flow of 50 g/10 min or less (0011), overlapping the claimed MFR of 0.1 g/10 min or more.
Regarding claim 8, Bartow teaches fluoropolymers including copolymers of tetrafluoroethylene and perfluorinated comonomers including hexafluoropropylene and perfluoroalkoxyethylene (0088).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartow as applied to claim 1 above with evidentiary reference Xu (US 2015/0290707).
Regarding claim 5, Bartow discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. While Bartow teaches the surface is smooth (0173), Bartow does not expressly teach a surface roughness value (Ra) of 30 µm or less.
However, as evidenced by Xu, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious that Bartow teaches an overlapping range of surface roughness as additively manufactures parts typically have a surface roughness between 4.4 and 15.2 µm (0004).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartow as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Varis et al. (US 2013/0207291).
Regarding claim 6, Bartow discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Bartow does not teach the three-dimensional shaped object subjected to punching.
Varis, in the analogous field of composite products (0005) teaches processing a product surface with punching (0036).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to machine the surface of the object of Bartow with punching as taught by Varis, to shape the surface to a desired form (0038).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and Declaration filed 09/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments and the Declaration argue that the tensile elongation of Yagisawa is parallel to the shaped plane and does not disclose a tensile elongation in the Z-direction.
The claims do not limit the shaped plane as being the XY-plane of the three-dimensional shaped object, nor do the claims require the direction perpendicular to be Z-direction. As the XY elongation at break is perpendicular to a shaped plane of the three-dimensional shaped object Yagisawa meets the claimed limitations.
Applicant argues that Tsuji does not teach a three-dimensional shaped object that is a laminate of layers according to the slice data of the three-dimensional structure.
The claims do not require the structure of a laminate of multiple layers. As best understood the layers according to slice data are a mathematical description opposed to a structural distinction. A unitary object of a single “layer” when mathematically modeled can include creating a plurality of layers/slices for the purpose of e.g., calculating a volume. Slices as best understood are of the software modeling of the three-dimensional shaped object which does not result in a structure of the final product.
Contact Information
/ALICIA J WEYDEMEYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781