DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes
Claims 1-13 are currently pending of which claims 9-13 are withdrawn. Claim 1 is currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartow et al. (US 2019/0022928).
Regarding claims 1-4, Bartow discloses a three-dimensional shaped object formed from fluoropolymer (0012) The laminate formed by sequential deposition of multiple layers of material from a 3D model (0031) and thus would be produced by a shaping device and a laminate of layers according to the slice data of the three-dimensional structure. Alternatively, the limitation of “the three-dimensional shaped object is a laminate of layers according to the slice data of the three-dimensional structure” does not appear to impart any structure which would not be met by any three-dimensional object.
Bartow discloses the object having an XY direction parallel to the shaped plane with a z- direction perpendicular to the shaped plane (0189). Bartow discloses the tensile strength at break of at least 5 MPa and elongation at break in the z-direction (perpendicular to the x and y direction) of at least 100% (0186, 0189), overlapping the claimed 9 MPa or more and 20% or more, respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90, In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, and In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379. MPEP 2144.05.
Bartow teaches the fluropolymers are meltable (0092).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Bartow teaches a tensile strength of from 12 to 24 MPa (0186), overlapping the claimed 10 MPa or more in claim 2 and 19 MPa or more in claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Bartow teaches an elongation at break of 150 to 400% (0186), overlapping the claimed 200% or more.
Regarding claim 7, Bartow teaches a melt flow of 50 g/10 min or less (0011), overlapping the claimed MFR of 0.1 g/10 min or more.
Regarding claim 8, Bartow teaches fluoropolymers including copolymers of tetrafluoroethylene and perfluorinated comonomers including hexafluoropropylene and perfluoroalkoxyethylene (0088).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartow as applied to claim 1 above with evidentiary reference Xu (US 2015/0290707).
Regarding claim 5, Bartow discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. While Bartow teaches the surface is smooth (0173), Bartow does not expressly teach a surface roughness value (Ra) of 30 µm or less.
However, as evidenced by Xu, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious that Bartow teaches an overlapping range of surface roughness as additively manufactures parts typically have a surface roughness between 4.4 and 15.2 µm (0004).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartow as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Varis et al. (US 2013/0207291).
Regarding claim 6, Bartow discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Bartow does not teach the three-dimensional shaped object subjected to punching.
Varis, in the analogous field of composite products (0005) teaches processing a product surface with punching (0036).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to machine the surface of the object of Bartow with punching as taught by Varis, to shape the surface to a desired form (0038).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 04/17/2024 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s argument that Yagisawa does not teach or suggest the claimed three-dimensional shaped object having the claimed tensile elongation at break in the z-direction (direction perpendicular to the shaped plane) has been fully considered and is persuasive. Applicant has further shown in the Affidavit on 09/15/2025 that this property would not be expected from the prior art examples. Thus the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s argument that Tsuji does not teach a three-dimensional shaped object that is a laminate of multiple layers has been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments over Bartow have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Bartow uses PTFE which is not a meltable fluororesin.
Bartow teaches the fluoropolymers of the invention having a melt flow rate (0091) and melting points (0092) thus disclosing meltable fluororesins.
Applicant argues that it would be difficult to achieve a tensile stress at break of 9 MPa or more from the material of Bartow.
Bartow expressly teaches values above 9 MPa and thus the claimed range is achievable by the prior art (0186).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yaguchi et al. (US 2019/0284351) teaching a 3D printed object.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALICIA J WEYDEMEYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781