DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to applicant’s amendment and RCE filed, 30 July 2026, of application filed, with the above serial number, on 30 December 2022 in which claims 1, 3-8, 11, 13-18, 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 11, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim language is not clear on what is and is not being modified. The claim language determines if usage is modified and if an STP is implemented establishing the second set of paths, along with then that the usage is modified, eg. "the modified usage" in line 14. The language recites “if” statements, while then contradicting with “result” and “establishing”. There is no result or establishment of something when usage is not modified and not implemented, respectively, only consideration of such. The language appears to be intended use.
Claims 1, 11, 20 recites the limitation "the modified usage" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Rahman et al (hereinafter “Rahman”, 2006/0268749).
As per Claim 1, Rahman discloses a communication system comprising:
memory configured to store a network policy (at least paragraph 168, 68; memory); and
a network controller, implemented in circuitry, coupled to the memory (at least paragraph 40, 112) and configured to:
determine that implementation of a first instance of a spanning tree protocol caused a first set of communication paths to be established in a network of one or more satellite devices (at least paragraph 112; running a first instance of a wireless spanning tree protocol that substantially conforms to the standard IEEE 802.1 spanning tree protocol; maintaining information on a spanning tree topology for a set of wireless network entities that includes the particular wireless network entity), wherein implementation of the spanning tree protocol is a manner in which to establish communication paths in the network (at least paragraph 41, 81-82; One aspect of the WSTP Invention is that using an instance of the WSTP wireless spanning tree protocol proactively prevents any type of temporary loops by only establishing radio links that are warranted by the spanning tree protocol algorithm; spanning tree protocols provide alternate backup paths);
determine that a second set of communication paths is more aligned with the network policy than the first set of communication paths (at least paragraph 64, 70-71, 130-132, 165; Fig. 3; policy ranking importance of factors having different weightings for tree path costs, multiple spanning tree topologies, second spanning tree topology);
based on the second set of communication paths being more aligned with the network policy than the first set of communication paths, determine at least one communication port of at least one satellite device whose usage, if modified, would result in a second instance of the spanning tree protocol, if implemented, establishing the second set of communication paths, wherein the modified usage of the at least one communication port prevents the second instance of the spanning tree protocol from selecting the first set of communication paths (at least paragraph 78, 81-85; a wireless spanning tree protocol provides alternate and/or backup links wherein a wireless Dbridge/mesh point/satellite device establishes dormant alternate links/paths when an active link/port goes down; par. 165: mobile mesh point 223 part of only mesh 220- moving close enough to mesh 410- MP 223 now establishing second set of communication paths and implements/runs two instances of WTSP, one for mesh 220, another for mesh 410; depending on usage of MPP 221 becoming inferior, 223 uses second set of paths to uplink to 211 portal; MP 217 also modifying paths to use newly added 223 to route to 211/221; IEEE 802.1 wired spanning tree protocols provide alternate backup paths, e.g., operational links that are blocked. One aspect of the present invention is that a wireless spanning tree protocol provides alternate and/or backup links; Establishing dormant alternate and/or backup links with wireless Dbridges, and activating such a dormant link when an active link goes down; activate an already established link by sending a "wakeup" message to the alternate/backup wireless Dbridge); and
transmit, based on the determination that the second set of communication paths is more aligned with the network policy than the first set of communication paths, one or more commands to the at least one satellite device to modify the usage of the at least one communication port of the at least one satellite device to cause the second instance of implementation of the spanning tree protocol to establish the second set of communication paths in the network (at least paragraph 165, 64, 70-71, 130-132; The mesh point 223 is now part of both spanning tree topologies and thus runs (at least two) instances of WSTP with the root mesh points of at least two tree topologies having an uplink to the network 201. An aspect of the present invention is that the mesh point 223 can perform load balancing between the first and second mesh point topologies. For example, if the mesh point 223 sees that the uplink at the mesh point portal 211 of the first mesh is superior to the uplink at the mesh point portal 221 of the second mesh 220, mesh point 223 routes traffic via the first mesh point portal 211 using the first instance WSTP. Thus, for example, suppose traffic is sent from a client station 241 of an AP 225 in a BSS 440, with AP 225 also being a mesh point of the second mesh 220. And suppose that the tree topology of mesh 220 is such that traffic is routed via mesh point 223 prior to arriving at the root mesh point 221 of the mesh 220. The traffic is routed by the mesh point 223 according to the uplink properties of the mesh point portals 211 and 221 to achieve load balancing; at least paragraph 78, 81-85; alternate backup paths, e.g., operational links that are blocked; dormant path not activated; sending a "wakeup" message to the alternate/backup wireless Dbridge).
As per Claim 2. The communication system of claim 1, wherein to determine that the second set of communication paths is more aligned with the network policy than the first set of communication paths, the network controller is configured to determine that the second set of communication paths is more aligned with the network policy by a sufficient threshold than the first set of communication paths (at least paragraph 64, 70-76, 165; the uplink at the mesh point portal 211 of the first mesh is superior to the uplink at the mesh point portal 221 of the second mesh 220, mesh point 223 routes traffic via the first mesh point portal 211 using the first instance WSTP).
As per Claim 3. The communication system of claim 1, wherein the network controller is configured to: determine one or more additional sets of communication paths in addition to the first set of communication paths and the second set of communication paths; and determine policy alignment values of the one or more additional sets of communication paths, the second set of communication paths, and the first set of communication paths based on the network policy, wherein to determine that the second set of communication paths is more aligned with the network policy than the first set of communication paths, the network controller is configured to: compare the respective policy alignment values of the one or more additional sets of communication paths, of the second set of communication paths and of the first set of communication paths; and determine that the second set of communication paths is more aligned with the network policy than the first set of communication paths based on the comparison, and wherein to transmit the one or more commands to the at least one satellite device, the network controller is configured to transmit the one or more commands to the at least one satellite device based on the usage of the at least one communication port (at least paragraph 64, 70-76, 165, 78; based on network policy of mesh network and weighting of parameters, activating alternate link based on first set of communication paths going down or not being superior).
As per Claim 4. The communication system of claim 1, wherein to transmit the one or more commands to the at least one satellite device, the network controller is configured to transmit the one or more commands to the at least one satellite device to enable a disabled communication port of the at least one satellite device or disable an enabled communication port of the at least one satellite device (at least paragraph 64, 70-76, 78, 165; Fig. 5activating link/port).
As per Claim 5. The communication system of claim 1, wherein to transmit the one or more commands to the at least one satellite device, the network controller is configured to transmit the one or more commands to the at least one satellite device to change a bridge to which the at least one communication port of the at least one satellite device is mounted (at least Fig. 5, paragraph 107, 176; changing from connecting to first wireless bridging node/mesh point MP to second, eg. 215 or 211 from 221).
As per Claim 6. The communication system of claim 1, wherein to transmit the one or more commands to the at least one satellite device, the network controller is configured to transmit the one or more commands to the at least one satellite device to force an enabled communication port of the at least one satellite device to transition from a current trunking basic service set (BSS) to a different trunking BSS (at least paragraph 123, 133-134, 165; Fig. 2, 5; load balancing from one trunk to another trunk, mesh part of basic service set 240).
As per Claim 7. The communication system of claim 1, wherein to transmit the one or more commands to the at least one satellite device, the network controller is configured to transmit the one or more commands to the at least one satellite device to force an enabled communication port of the at least one satellite device to remain unassociated with any trunking basic service set (BSS) (at least paragraph 123, 132-134, 165; Fig. 2-3, 5).
As per Claim 8. The communication system of claim 1, wherein to transmit the one or more commands to the at least one satellite device, the network controller is configured to transmit the one or more commands to the at least one satellite device without modifying parameters of the spanning tree protocol (at least paragraph 165, 64, 70-71, 130-132; using other instances of WSTP not changing STP).
As per Claim 9. The communication system of claim 1, wherein the network policy comprises maximizing throughput between gateway and the satellite devices (at least paragraph 165, 64, 70-71, 130-132; if the mesh point 223 sees that the uplink at the mesh point portal 211 of the first mesh is superior to the uplink at the mesh point portal 221 of the second mesh 220, mesh point 223 routes traffic via the first mesh point portal 211 using the first instance WSTP.; signal strength and quality).
As per Claim 10. The communication system of claim 1, wherein the network comprises a local area network (LAN) (at least Fig. 5).
Claims 11-20 do not, in substance, add or define any additional limitations over claims 1-10 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons, supra.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 30 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Rahman does not disclose the amendment of claim 1 including:
determine at least one communication port of at least one satellite device whose usage, if modified, would result in a second instance of the spanning tree protocol, if implemented, establishing the second set of communication paths, wherein the modified usage of the at least one communication port prevents the second instance of the spanning tree protocol from selecting the first set of communication paths
and
transmit, based on the determination that the second set of communication paths is more aligned with the network policy than the first set of communication paths, one or more commands to the at least one satellite device
However, Rahman discloses in at least par. 85, establishing dormant alternate and/or backup links with wireless Dbridges, and activating such a dormant link when an active link goes down. Rahman discloses to activate an already established link by sending (transmitting) a "wakeup" message (one or more commands) to the alternate/backup wireless Dbridge (at least one satellite device).
Applicant continues to argue that Rahman relies on standard STP logic to react to link failures or path costs but lacks policy alignment as claimed. However, it remains silent in the remarks what such ‘policy’ comprises and how switching for a lower cost path is not aligned with a policy of changing to lower cost paths.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., Rahman is reactive while the claims are proactive) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). This is further not persuasive as clearly Rahman is proactive as potential alternate links are determined ahead of time or are dormant and activated anticipating needing activation (at least paragraph 81-85). If Rahman were simply reactive as Applicant suggests, there would not be any alternate or dormant or backup links and associated determinations.
Applicant also only argues Rahman’s “active link goes down” for such usage modification, however, Rahman is not limited to switching to the lower cost set of paths when a link goes down. Rahman also discloses in par. 96-99 that a wireless mesh point can indicate it has a “better path cost” than the established STP and deregistering and joining to establish a second set of paths with the new mesh point by modifying a port of a mesh satellite device to be used that is better.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GREGORY TODD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443