DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17 remain in the application for prosecution thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, the term “the pre-configured paint pattern” lacks antecedent basis. The recitation of “the pre-configured paint pattern” is introduced in claim 4 and/or 5 not claim 1. Clarification is requested.
Regarding claim 15, the phrase “augmented reality technology” is unclear and confusing as to what is encompassed by this phrase as well as how this is implemented in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5,8-11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Watkins (2008/0256817)
Watkins (2008/0256817) teaches a measuring roller and spray device whereby a rolling wheel carried by a frame (claimed painting assembly) measuring means for determining a distance traveled by the wheel (claimed distance measuring wheel) and signal means (claimed control signal) responsive to the measuring means for indicating when the wheel has traveled a preselected distance (abstract). Watkins (2008/0256817) teaches a control box (26) produced a control signal to either spray or stop the spray based upon the signal [0031]-[0038].
Regarding claims 2-5, Watkins (2008/0256817) teaches a lateral buffering means connected to the control box (26) and programmed to accept a preset lateral distance and if this preset lateral distance varies then a sensory indication would be activated to alert the user (claimed predetermined route) and if deviation (threshold distance) from that route then send a signal which would be sent to user to either stop painting or correct the lateral distance and this would be in a straight line as lateral distance from a point.
Regarding claims 8 and 11, the starting and stopping of the painting assembly is determined (claims 9 and 17).
Regarding claim 9, the paint assembly is attached to the painting assembly and the distance measuring wheel (Figs 1,3 and 4).
Regarding claim 10, the automatic spraying and stopping of the spray can be determined by time or distance [0038].
Regarding claim 14 and 15, the claimed “transmission member” is the opening and closing of the paint assembly and would be met by the solenoid (36) which activates and deactivates the spraying of the paint based upon the signal and this would meet the claimed “augmented reality technology” [0039].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7,12,13,16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watkins (2008/0256817) in combination with Nielsen et al. (2010/0006667).
Features detailed above concerning the teachings of Watkins (2008/0256817) are incorporated here.
Watkins (2008/0256817) fails to teach determining the control signal based on an amount of remaining paint in the paint can of the paint assembly.
Nielsen et al. (2010/0006667) teaches a similar marker detection mechanism for use in marking devices and methods of using the same whereby the detection mechanism is determined by determining the amount of marking substance within the dispenser and when the marking dispenser is becoming empty (abstract).
Therefore it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Watkins (2008/0256817) painting system to include a detection mechanism based on the marking dispenser being empty (claimed remaining paint and/or capacity thereof).
Regarding claim 7, Watkins (2008/0256817) teaches determining distance for a lateral buffering means connected to the control box (26) and programmed to accept a preset lateral distance and if this preset lateral distance varies then a sensory indication would be activated to alert the user (claimed predetermined route) and if deviation (threshold distance) from that route then send a signal which would be sent to user to either stop painting or correct the lateral distance and this would be in a straight line as lateral distance from a point.
Regarding claim 13, the reference teach measuring the traveled distance and the Examiner takes the position that measuring travel speed would be within the skill of one practicing in the art absent a showing of criticality thereof with regards to measuring distance or speed of the measuring wheel as this would be similar to that of measuring the distance ad the time it takes to cover the distance would be known and therefore the speed would be able to be calculated.
Regarding claim 17, the Examiner takes the position that one skilled in the art knowing the amount of paint remaining in the dispenser would allow for computational means to determine the amount having been dispensed.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watkins (2008/0256817) in combination with Weavers et al. (2009/0064527).
Features detailed above concerning the teachings of Watkins (2008/0256817) are incorporated here.
Watkins (2008/0256817) fails to teach determining the control signal based on an amount of remaining paint in the paint can of the paint assembly.
Weavers et al. (2009/0064527) teaches a similar marking and measuring device including a distance measuring wheel whereby the painting is applicable for traffic lines on the street/ground/pavement (claimed ground traffic sign) [0003].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Watkins (2008/0256817) painting process to include painting ground traffic signs, i.e. traffic lines, as evidenced by Weavers et al. (2009/0064527) with the expectation of producing similar success.
/BRIAN K TALBOT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1715