DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election Invention I, claims 1-16, with traverse in the reply filed on 4/20/2026 is acknowledged and the applicant’s arguments regarding traversal (in view of amendments of claim(s) 17-19) is found persuasive. Therefore, the restriction requirement mailed on 2/20/2026 is withdrawn. Claims 1-20 are examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Heo et al. (US publication 2023/0068904 A1), hereinafter referred to as Heo904.
Regarding claim 1, Heo904 teaches an apparatus (fig. 1 and related text), comprising: a field effect transistor comprising: a ferroelectric material (FE1/FE2, [0062]); a channel material (CH, [0054]) on the ferroelectric material, the channel material comprising a transition metal and a chalcogen ([0022 and 0097]); and a source (SR, fig. 1) and a drain (DR) coupled to the channel material (fig. 1), the source and drain comprising a conductive material ([0057]).
Regarding claim 8, Heo904 teaches further comprising an oxide (BL, [0071]) between the ferroelectric material and the source and drain (fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-5, 9-12, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US publication 2020/0194557 A1), hereinafter referred to as Zhu557, in view of Rakshit et al. (US publication 2017/0098661 A1), hereinafter referred to as Rakshit661.
Regarding claim 1, Zhu557 teaches an apparatus (fig. 1b and related text), comprising: a field effect transistor comprising: a ferroelectric material (217, [0025]); a channel material (220, [0025]) on the ferroelectric material; and a source (222, [0025]) and a drain (224) coupled to the channel material (fig. 1b), the source and drain comprising a conductive material ([0037]).
Zhu557 does not explicitly teach the channel material comprising a transition metal and a chalcogen.
Rakshit661 teaches the channel material (302, fig. 3) comprising a transition metal and a chalcogen ([0041-0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhu557 with that of Rakshit661 so that the channel material comprising a transition metal and a chalcogen for excellent properties of high bandgap (for low leakage) and reasonable mobility (for currently flow) ([0042]).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu557 teaches an apparatus (fig. 1c and related text), comprising: a field effect transistor comprising: a ferroelectric material (317, [0026]); a channel material (320, [0026]) on the ferroelectric material; and a source (322, [0026]) and a drain (324) coupled to the channel material (fig. 1c), the source and drain comprising a conductive material ([0037]).
Zhu557 does not explicitly teach the channel material comprising a transition metal and a chalcogen.
Rakshit661 teaches the channel material (302, fig. 3) comprising a transition metal and a chalcogen ([0041-0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhu557 with that of Rakshit661 so that the channel material comprising a transition metal and a chalcogen for excellent properties of high bandgap (for low leakage) and reasonable mobility (for currently flow) ([0042]).
Regarding claim 2, Rakshit661 teaches wherein the channel material comprises a 2D transition metal dichalcogenide ([0041-0043]).
Regarding claim 3, Zhu557 teaches wherein the ferroelectric material comprises Barium, Titanium, and Oxygen ([0025]).
Regarding claim 4, Rakshit661 teaches wherein the channel material comprises WSe.sub.2 ([0041-0043]).
Regarding claim 5, Rakshit661 teaches wherein the channel material comprises a P-type channel ([0044]).
Regarding claim 9, Zhu557 teaches wherein the ferroelectric material is on a conductive material (316, [0026], fig. 1c).
Regarding claim 10, Rakshit661 teaches further comprising an integrated circuit die comprising the field effect transistor (fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhu557 with that of Rakshit661 so that further comprising an integrated circuit die comprising the field effect transistor for a desired application ([0077-0078]).
Regarding claim 11, Rakshit661 teaches further comprising a circuit board coupled to the integrated circuit die ([0077-0078], fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhu557 with that of Rakshit661 so that further comprising a circuit board coupled to the integrated circuit die for a desired application ([0077-0078]).
Regarding claim 12, Rakshit661 teaches further comprising at least one of a network interface, battery, or memory coupled to the integrated circuit die ([0077-0078], fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhu557 with that of Rakshit661 so that further comprising at least one of a network interface, battery, or memory coupled to the integrated circuit die for a desired application ([0077-0078]).
Regarding claim 17, Zhu557 teaches a method comprising (a method of making fig. 1b and related text): forming a channel material (220, [0025]) on a ferroelectric material (217, [0025]); and forming a source (222, [0025]) and a drain (224) coupled to the channel material (fig. 1b), the source and drain comprising a conductive material ([0037]).
Zhu557 does not explicitly teach the channel material comprising a transition metal and a chalcogen.
Rakshit661 teaches the channel material (302, fig. 3) comprising a transition metal and a chalcogen ([0041-0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhu557 with that of Rakshit661 so that the channel material comprising a transition metal and a chalcogen for excellent properties of high bandgap (for low leakage) and reasonable mobility (for currently flow) ([0042]).
Regarding claim 18, Rakshit661 teaches wherein the channel material comprises a 2D transition metal dichalcogenide ([0041-0043]).
Regarding claim 19, Rakshit661 teaches wherein the channel material comprises WSe.sub.2 ([0041-0043]).
Regarding claim 20, Zhu557 teaches wherein the ferroelectric material comprises Barium, Titanium, and Oxygen ([0025]).
Claim 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo904, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rakshit et al. (US publication 2017/0098661 A1), hereinafter referred to as Rakshit661.
Regarding claim 6, Heo904 discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above on which this claim depends.
Heo904 also discloses further comprising an oxide (BL, [0071]) on the channel material (fig. 1).
Heo904 does not explicitly teach and wherein the channel material comprises an N-type channel.
Rakshit661 teaches wherein the channel material comprises an N-type channel ([0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Heo904 with that of Rakshit661 so that wherein the channel material comprises an N-type channel for a NMOS transistor.
Regarding claim 7, Heo904 teaches wherein the oxide on the channel material comprises Aluminum and Oxygen ([0071]).
Claim 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rakshit et al. (US publication 2017/0098661 A1), hereinafter referred to as Rakshit661, in view of Zhu et al. (US publication 2020/0194557 A1), hereinafter referred to as Zhu557.
Regarding claim 13, Rakshit661 teaches an apparatus comprising (fig. 3-4 and related text): a complementary metal oxide semiconductor circuit comprising: a P-type field effect transistor (FET) ([0044-0050]) comprising: a channel comprising a transition metal and a chalcogen ([0041-0043], fig. 3-4); and an N-type FET ([0044-0050]) comprising: a channel comprising the transition metal and the chalcogen ([0041-0043], fig. 3-4).
Rakshit661 does not explicitly teach a P-type field effect transistor (FET) comprising: a ferroelectric material; and an N-type FET comprising: the ferroelectric material.
Zhu557 teaches a field effect transistor (FET) comprising: a ferroelectric material (217, [0025], fig. 1b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine the teachings of Rakshit661 with that of Zhu557 so that a P-type field effect transistor (FET) comprising: a ferroelectric material; and an N-type FET comprising: the ferroelectric material to provide simple, fast, scalable and power-efficient hardware for a wide variety of storage and comparison applications ([0018]).
Regarding claim 14, Rakshit661 teaches wherein the P-type FET and N-type FET comprise respective drains coupled together and respective gates coupled together (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15, Rakshit661 teaches wherein the circuit is operable to function as either a memory element or a logic element dependent on one or more bias voltages applied to the circuit ([0077-0078], fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhu557 with that of Rakshit661 so that wherein the circuit is operable to function as either a memory element or a logic element dependent on one or more bias voltages applied to the circuit for a desired application ([0077-0078]).
Regarding claim 16, Zhu557 teaches wherein the ferroelectric material comprises Barium, Titanium, and Oxygen ([0025]).
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED R ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897