DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed 6 February 2026. Claims 1, 3, 7-11, 13, 17-18, 20, 22, and 27-33 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 7-11, 13, 17-18, 20, 22, and 27-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For the independent claims:
The claims require at least two instances of the TBTT information field. Accordingly, “the RNR element comprises one or more instances of a target beacon transmission time (TBTT) information field” (lines 12-13 of Claim 1, corresponding lines of other claims) should probably be corrected to --- the RNR element comprises a plurality of instances of a target beacon transmission time (TBTT) information field---.
In lines 23-27 of claim 1 and corresponding portions of other claims, “the reported AP” has multiple possible antecedents because there are multiple link identifier fields and therefore multiple corresponding reported APs as in lines 18-20 of claim 1 and corresponding portions of other claims. To differentiate between the respective reported APs, it is suggest that the claims be amended along these lines:
---one instance of [[the]] a respective reported AP indicated by one instance of the one link identifier field---
---another instance of [[the]] another respective reported AP indicated by another instance of the one link identifier field---
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 9-11, 13, 18, 22, 27, and 29-33, as understood in light of rejections under 35 USC 112, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok et al. (US 2021/0337613) in view of Chitrakar et al. (WO 2021/262092).
For Claims 1, 11, and 18, Seok teaches a method applicable to multiple links, the method comprising:
generating, by a first access point (AP) in a first access point multi-link device (AP MLD), a first frame (see paragraphs 31-33) comprising: a multi-link (ML) element (see paragraph 42), and a reduced neighbor report (RNR) element (see paragraph 42); and
sending, by the first AP in the first AP MLD, the first frame on a link on which the first AP works (see paragraph 38);
wherein:
the ML element comprises an MLD common information field that carries a critical basic service set (BSS) parameter update count value of the first AP and a link identifier of the first AP (see paragraph 34: comparison with previously received update count value necessitates recording of value; also paragraph 44 and Figure 7),
the RNR element comprises one or more instances of a target beacon transmission time (TBTT) information field (see Figure 5, paragraph 42: the information fields are fields found in a TBTT data structure),
wherein the one link identifier field together with the one MLD ID field indicates that the critical BSS parameter update count value corresponds to a reported AP of an AP MLD (see paragraph 44, Figure 7: AP MLD MAC, link ID),
the second AP MLD is an AP MLD to which a nontransmitted AP belongs (see paragraphs 37-38), and
the nontransmitted AP is in a multiple basic service set identifier (BSSID) set comprising the first AP (see paragraphs 37-38, 44).
While Seok does teach devices such as access point multi-link devices which are well known to comprise transceivers, processors, and memory, Seok as applied above is not explicit as to, but Chitrakar teaches a communication apparatus, comprising: a transceiver; at least one processor; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor and causing the communications apparatus to carry out a method applicable to multiple links (see claim 1: MP MLD; paragraphs 11, 152-153, 163, Figure 46: processor, transmission and reception hardware, storage media, software); and a first access point multi-link device (AP MLD) including a first AP and a second AP, the first AP comprising: a transceiver; at least one processor; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor and causing the first AP to carry out a method applicable to multiple links (see claim 1: MP MLD; paragraphs 11, 152-153, 163, Figure 46: processor, transmission and reception hardware, storage media, software); and
each instance of the TBTT information field comprises: one critical basic service set (BSS) parameter update count value, one link identifier field, and one multi-link device (MLD) ID field (see paragraphs 127, 138-139, Figure 41);
one instance of the reported AP indicated by one instance of the one link identifier field together with one instance of the one MLD ID field in one instance of the TBTT information field is an AP of a plurality of APs other than the first AP in the first AP MLD (see paragraphs 138-139),
another instance of the reported AP indicated by another instance of the one link identifier field together with another instance of the one MLD ID field in another instance of the TBTT information field is an AP of a plurality of APs in a second AP MLD (see paragraphs 126, 134-135, Figure 10A: multiple AP MLDs; paragraphs 138-139: which AP is associated with which AP MLD; paragraph 130: indication of other AP MLDs).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to employ the TBTT information fields of Chitrakar when implementing the method of Seok. One of ordinary skill would have been able to arrange information elements in a known manner as in Chitrakar in order for efficient communication of the known overhead information being provided as in Seok
For Claims 3, 13, and 22, Seok further teaches the method, wherein the critical BSS parameter update count value is increased by 1 in accordance with a change to one or more of the critical BSS parameters (see paragraph 32).
For Claims 7, 27, and 31, Seok further teaches the method, wherein the first frame is any frame taken from the group consisting of: a beacon frame, a probe response frame, and an association response frame (see paragraphs 38, 41).
For Claims 9, 29, and 32, Seok further teaches the method, wherein the method further comprises:
generating, by the first AP in the first AP MILD, a second frame, wherein the second frame indicates specific critical BSS parameters of the plurality of APs in the first AP MILD and specific critical BSS parameters of the plurality of APs in the second AP MLD (see paragraph 34: beacon frames are known to be sent out periodically; paragraphs 31-32: change sequence number; paragraphs 38, 41: beacon frame, non-transmitted AP); and
sending, by the first AP in the first AP MLD, the second frame on the link on which the first AP works (see paragraph 38).
For Claims 10, 30, and 33, Seok further teaches the method, wherein the critical BSS parameter update comprises one or more of the following:
an inclusion of a channel switch announcement element, an inclusion of an extended channel switch announcement element, a modification of an enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) parameters element, an inclusion of a quiet element, a modification of a direct-sequence spread spectrum (DSSS) parameter set, a modification of a contention free (CF) parameter set element, a modification of a high throughput (HT) operation element, an inclusion of a wide bandwidth channel switch element, an inclusion of a channel switch wrapper element, an inclusion of an operating mode notification element, an inclusion of a quiet channel element, a modification of a very high throughput (VHT) operation element, a modification of a high efficient (HE) operation element, an insertion of a broadcast target wake time (TWT) element, an inclusion of a BSS color change announcement element, a modification of multi-user EDCA (MU EDCA) parameter set element, and a modification of a spatial reuse parameter set element (see paragraphs 33, 44); and
wherein one of the specific critical BSS parameters comprises one or more of the following: an inclusion of a channel switch announcement element, an inclusion of an extended channel switch announcement element, an inclusion of a wide bandwidth channel switch element, and an inclusion of a channel switch wrapper element (see paragraphs 33, 44).
Claim(s) 8, 20, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok et al. (US 2021/0337613) and Chitrakar et al. (WO 2021/262092) as applied to claim 1, 11, and 18 above, and further in view of Patil et al. (US 2021/0321243, hereinafter Patil '243)
For Claims 8, 20, and 28, the references as applied above are not explicit as to, but Patil ‘243 teaches the method, wherein an association response frame sent by the first AP in the first AP MLD carries current critical BSS parameter update count values of the plurality of APs in the first AP MLD or the plurality of APs in the second AP MILD (see paragraph 130).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to provide current parameter values in an association response as in Patil ‘243 when implementing the method of Seok. The motivation would be to reduce signaling overhead while ensuring that the station is kept up to date with parameters in use.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok et al. (US 2021/0337613) and Chitrakar et al. (WO 2021/262092) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Cariou et al. (US 2020/0137651, hereinafter Cariou ‘651).
For Claim 17, Seok further teaches the communication apparatus, a value of a short service set identifier (SSID) field of an AP in the RNR element (see paragraph 45).
Though Chitrakar teaches a short SSID calculated over an SSID (see paragraph 109), the references as applied above are not explicit as to, but Cariou ‘651 teaches a value of a short service set identifier field being obtained based on an SSID of an MLD including the AP (see paragraphs 95-96).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use the shortened SSID as in Cariou ‘651 when populating the RNR element as in Seok and Chitrakar. The motivation would be to reduce overhead by using a value of reduced length.
Response to Arguments
The amendment filed 6 February 2026 has been entered.
The previous rejections under 35 USC 112 are withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims. However, the amendments have resulted in new rejections under 35 USC 112(b).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejections under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive. the claims remain rejected under 35 USC 103.
With regards to teachings of Seok relating to “the ML element comprises an MLD common information field” see also paragraphs 44 and Figure 7 which were also cited in the rejection and show the change sequence field carried in a multilink IE.
As to “target beacon transmission time (TBTT) information field”, please note that the fields shown in Figure 5 and paragraph 42 of Seok correspond to the contents of the claimed TBTT information field, the RNR including information corresponding to a TBTT information field.
Meanwhile, Chitrakar is also relied on for teaching the TBTT fields, including the TBTT showing an MLD ID, as can be seen in paragraph 127.
Accordingly the references together teach the claimed fields and Chitrakar shows how the information may be placed in a TBTT field. Though the placement of the change sequence may differ in Seok and Chitrakar, rearrangement of parts is within the routine skill in the art and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to place the change sequence as in Chitrakar should such an arrangement be more suitable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee et al. (US 2020/0280910) teaches data structures for transmitting a change sequence field.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CASSANDRA L DECKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2466 2/27/2026
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466