DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicants' communication filed on December 29, 2025, which amends claims 1, 9, 17, and presents arguments, is hereby acknowledged. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Regarding limitations of Claims of the instant case in view of the amended Claims and upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection, necessitated by the amendments is made in view of different interpretation of the previously applied references and new prior art as presented in this Office action. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180009112 A1 (Williams), in view of US 20220200656 A1 (Subraveti) and in further view of US 20230075389 A1 (Wu) and, US 20130046420 A1 (.Gottifredi) and Hamer, M. and D’Andrea, R., 2018. Self-calibrating ultra-wideband network supporting multi-robot localization. IEEE Access, 6, pp.22292-22304 (Hamer).
Regarding Claims 1, 9 and 17:
A method comprising: identifying a first anchor of a plurality of anchors as an initiator and identifying multiple second anchors of the plurality of anchors as multiple responders, the plurality of anchors located in a service area to be traversed by a robot; sending, to the initiator and the responders via a wireless side-link, ranging information and a command to start ultra-wideband (UWB) ranging; receiving, from the initiator via the wireless side-link, pair-wise range measurements representing UWB range measurements between the initiator and the responders, wherein the pair-wise range measurements are inter-anchor distances between the plurality of anchors obtained by taking an average of UWB ranging measurements collected over multiple rounds of UWB ranging; generating initial location values for the initiator and the responders based on the pair- wise range measurements and one or more geometric constraints imposed on the initiator and the responders; and estimating 3D coordinates of the initiator and the responders using the initial location values based on a local reference frame created by assigning the first anchor to be an origin of the local reference frame and creating an axis using one of the multiple second anchors (Williams: Figs. 1-2, a robot 100 in a servicing area with multiple anchor nodes 205; Fig. 3 and [0037]-[0050], a method of autonomously establishing an RF-reference grid or map based on UWB, which enables one of anchor nodes as master node (i.e., initiator); the master node initiates a pair-wise range measurements between the master node and other anchor nodes (i.e., responders) to form an initial course reference grid, and then go through a refine process to generate a refined reference grid/map, where Subraveti: Figs. 1-5 illustrate explicitly a method to do so based on UWB technology; Williams: [0069], additional constraints can be added onto the map).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Williams with a method of conducting range measurement based on UWB as further taught by Subraveti. The advantage of doing so is to enable a secure and efficient communication method to conducting range measurement (Subraveti: [0001]-[0003]).
Williams does not teach explicitly on generating a 3D map. However Wu teaches (Wu: Figs. 2-3 and [0029]-[0033], using UWB to determine a range between devices, tags, anchors that are equipped with UWB transceivers; Figs. 4-9, a method of generating 3D maps based on position/range info from UWB measurements).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Williams with generating a 3D map as further taught by Wu. The advantage of doing so is to provide a mechanism to cover the practical applications of establishing UWB ranging-based reference frames, and do not reflect determinations of a robot position and pose without additional types of sensors (e.g., non-UWB based) (Wu: [0001]-[0006]).
Williams as modified does not teach explicitly on using average measurements. However, Gottifredi teaches (Gottifredi: par. 212).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Williams with using average measurements as further taught by Gottifredi. The advantage of doing so is to provide a navigation system for exploring and/or monitoring unknown and/or difficult (or inaccessible) environments (Gottifredi: par. 1-4).
Williams does not teach explicitly on a local reference frame created by assigning the first anchor to be an origin of the local reference frame and creating an axis using one of the multiple second anchors. However, Hamer teaches (Hamer: IV., e.g., IV.B., anchor A lies at the origin, anchor B along the positive x-axis, anchor C in the positive y-direction, and anchor D in the positive z-direction; in addition, II.B., using both LOS and NLOS for localization).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Williams with a local reference frame created by assigning the first anchor to be an origin of the local reference frame and creating an axis using one of the multiple second anchors as further taught by Hamer. The advantage of doing so is to provide a localization system that permits multiple robots to localize themselves simultaneously within a given area (Hamer: Abstract).
Regarding Claims 2, 10 and 18, Williams as modified further teaches:
The method of Claim 1, further comprising: determining that an additional anchor is in a severe non-line-of-sight (NLoS) condition; determining a location of the robot in the service area; identifying the robot as a responder and identifying some of the plurality of anchors as either a responder or an initiator; and performing the UWB ranging again to estimate a location of the additional anchor (Hamer: II.B., using both LOS and NLOS for localization).
Regarding Claims 3, 11 and 19, Williams as modified further teaches:
The method of Claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the initiator via the wireless side-link, channel information obtained by the initiator during the UWB range measurements between the initiator and the responders, the channel information comprising at least one of: Channel Impulse Response (CIR), Channel State Information (CSI), Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) (It is noted that the side link shared channel communication is standardize by LTE standard, where CIR, CSI and RSSI are known channel info formats per LTE standard; the side link is a direct communication link that can use various technologies, e.g., 4G, BT, WIFI, and in 5G to use UWB).
Regarding Claims 4, 12 and 20, Williams as modified further teaches:
The method of Claim 3, further comprising: determining, based on the channel information, if one or more anchors of the plurality of anchors are in a severe non-line-of-sight (NLoS) condition such that accuracy of range measurement is affected; and sending a user notification to move the one or more anchors to a new position (Hamer: II.B., both LOS and NLOS performance are studied; where methods of generating indicators to adjust an anchor, beacon, or a device is known in the field).
Regarding Claims 5, 13, Williams as modified further teaches:
The method of Claim 1, wherein the wireless side-link comprises a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) or Wi-Fi connection (It is noted that the side link shared channel communication is standardize by LTE standard, where CIR, CSI and RSSI are known channel info formats per LTE standard; the side link is a direct communication link that can use various technologies, e.g., 4G, BT, WIFI, and in 5G to use UWB).
Regarding Claims 6, 14, Williams as modified further teaches:
The method of Claim 1, wherein the 3D coordinates of the initiator and the responders are estimated using a least-squares method (Williams: [0071]).
Regarding Claims 7, 15, Williams as modified further teaches:
The method of Claim 1, wherein sending, to the initiator and the responders via the wireless side-link, the ranging information comprises: sending, to the initiator, an initiator anchor role, unique session IDs of each of the responders, and one or more UWB ranging parameters; and sending, to each of the responders, a responder anchor role, a unique session ID corresponding to that responder, and the one or more UWB ranging parameters (Wu: Figs. 2-4 and [0029]-[0033], performing pair-wise measurements that can be UWB ranging parameters, e.g., range, range and angle, relative elevation, and IDs in 1+ anchor case; Williams: Fig. 3 and [0037]-[0050], a method of autonomously establishing an RF-reference grid or map based on UWB, which enables one of anchor nodes as master node, i.e., role of initiator)
Regarding Claims 8, 16, Williams as modified further teaches:
The method of Claim 1, wherein the one or more geometric constraints comprise: the anchors form a quadrangle; and the anchors are arranged in the quadrangle in a counter-clockwise sequence (Williams: Fig. 2, where anchors are arranged in clockwise or counter clockwise are design choices).
Conclusion
/ZHITONG CHEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649