DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 12/16/2025.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 12/16/2025 has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending
Claims 1, 15 and 20 are amended
Claims 1-20 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 15 and 20 recite the limitation “…if the first protocol version is 6G, then the fall back capability protocol is 5G,” which contains the trademark/trade name “5G” and “6G”. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe conformance with a continuously changing communications protocol set forth by the 5G and 6G standards and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim was construed to refer to any of the various 5G and 6G communication variants. The office respectfully requests the applicant to amend the claim(s) in order to clarify the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 15 and 20 recite the limitation "… sending, by the terminal device, a network access request to a network access device using a first protocol version supported by the terminal device that is higher than a protocol version supported by the 5G access network device receiving indication information from a first access network device." However, it is unclear: if the “the 5G access network device” is referring to the “a network access device” since the is no precedence for the “the 5G access network device”; and it is also unclear if the “a network access device”, “the 5G access network device” and “a first access network device” are the same or different access network devices. On the other hand, Para. [0131] of the instant specification recites, “…after the LTE access network device sends a secondary base station addition request message to a 5G access network device, the 5G access network device returns a reject message, and a cause value carried in the reject message is that an air interface resource is unavailable. After analysis, it is found that the protocol version supported by the terminal device is higher than a protocol version supported by the 5G access network device, which causes a failure in parsing capability information of the terminal device by the 5G access network device, thereby causing an access failure of the terminal device.” Hence, for examination purposes the “a network access device”, “the 5G access network device” and “a first access network device” in the above quoted limitation of claims 1, 15 and 20 have been construed to mean the same access network device. The office respectfully requests the applicant to amend the claim(s) in order to clarify the claimed invention.
Dependent claims are rejected due to their failure to correct the deficiencies of the independent claim as listed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9-10, 14-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sallberg et al. (US 6353620 B1), hereinafter referenced as Sallberg, in view of MANNINEN et al. (US 20200382565 A1), hereinafter referenced as Manninen.
Regarding claims 1, 15 and 20, Sallberg teaches a communication method performed by a terminal device or a chip in the terminal device (Fig. 1, Col. 4, Lines [51-52]-Sallberg discloses fall-back procedure during a communication establishment between two nodes. Fig. 1, Col. 1, Lines [9-13]-Sallberg discloses communication establishment in communication networks and, in particular, to a system and method for minimizing the number of messages transmitted to establish a communication in telecommunications networks), comprising:
receiving indication information from a first access network device (Fig. 1, Col. 2, Lines [10-21]-Sallberg discloses understanding only the second protocol version of MAP (Protocol #2) ..., the contents of the message 140 explicitly inform the sender 110 that the desired communication is only supported in the second protocol version. Hence, the sender 110 then falls-back to the second protocol version),
the indication information is used to indicate to fall back a capability of the terminal device from a first protocol version to a lower protocol version (Fig. 1, Col. 2, Lines [10-21]-Sallberg discloses the receiver 120, however, understanding only the second protocol version of MAP (Protocol #2) and no higher, responds with a message 140 instructing the sender 110 to stop the communication because the message 130 was not understood. With respect to the message 140 that is transmitted from the receiver 120 to the sender 110, the contents of the message 140 explicitly inform {corresponding to the capability information} the sender 110 that the desired communication is only supported in the second protocol version. Hence, the sender 110 then falls-back to the second protocol version. Fig. 4, Col. 7, Lines [57-59]-Sallberg discloses fall-back procedures may be required, which will lower the MAP version as necessary (Step 450)); and
communicating, based on the indication information, with the first access network device according to first capability information (Fig. 1, Col. 2, Lines [20-27]-Sallberg discloses the sender 110 then falls-back to the second protocol version and reattempts to start the desired communication using the second protocol version in a message 150, i.e.. Protocol #2 in this example. The receiver 120, configured for this second protocol version, understands the attempt and responds accordingly with a message 160 permitting the desired communication to continue with the second protocol version),
a protocol version corresponding to the first capability information is lower than the first protocol version (Fig. 4, Col. 7, Lines [57-59]-Sallberg discloses fall-back procedures may be required, which will lower the MAP version as necessary (Step 450). Col. 1, Lines [45-46]-Sallberg discloses application protocol for use in mobile SS7 networks is the Mobile Application Part (MAP). Col. 2, Lines [34-39]-Sallberg discloses the sender 110 then falls-back to the first protocol version, i.e., the oldest or most basic version, and reattempts to start the desired communication using the first protocol version (Protocol #1) in the message 150).
Sallberg fails to teach sending, by the terminal device, a network access request to a network access device using a first protocol version supported by the terminal device that is higher than a protocol version supported by the 5G access network device; … wherein: if the first protocol version is 6G, then the fall back capability protocol is 5G or lower and if the first protocol version is 5G, then the fall back capability protocol is 4G or lower.
However, Manninen teaches sending, by the terminal device, a network access request to a network access device using a first protocol version supported by the terminal device that is higher than a protocol version supported by the 5G access network device (Para. [0048]-Manninen discloses the UE registers with the first 3GPP network by sending a request message to the first 3GPP network (step S310). In one embodiment, the request message may be a REGISTRATION REQUEST message. Para. [0032]-Manninen discloses the description of the wireless communication environment 100 is for illustrative purposes only and is not intended to limit the scope of the application. For example, the 3GPP network 120 may be a 6G network and the 3GPP network 130 may be a 5G network, if the 6G technology supports fallback of the UE 110 from a 6G network to a 5G network);
if the first protocol version is 6G, then the fall back capability protocol is 5G or lower (Para. [0032]-Manninen discloses the 6G technology supports fallback of the UE 110 from a 6G network to a 5G network) and
if the first protocol version is 5G, then the fall back capability protocol is 4G or lower (Para. [0005]-Manninen discloses UE camped on a 5G network may be triggered by the 5G network to fall back to a 4G network).
Sallberg and Manninen are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with fallbacks of a User Equipment (UE) to a legacy network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sallberg to incorporate the teachings of Manninen on higher to lower network access protocol fallbacks, with a motivation for terminal device fallbacks from 6G to 5G or 5G to 4G, and guarantee system and method for use in communications networks that enables a first node to initiate a communication with a second node using the most-advanced protocol version that the second node recognizes and understands, (Sallberg, Col. 3, Lines [58-62]).
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Sallberg in view of Manninen teaches the method according to claim 1.
Sallberg further teaches the method further comprises: sending the first capability information to the first access network device (Fig. 1, Col. 2, Lines [10-21]-Sallberg discloses understanding only the second protocol version of MAP (Protocol #2) ..., the contents of the message 140 explicitly inform {corresponding to the capability information} the sender 110 that the desired communication is only supported in the second protocol version. Hence, the sender 110 then falls-back to the second protocol version. Fig. 1, Col. 2, Lines [7-9]-Sallberg discloses the sender 110 attempts to start the communication with a message 130 using the aforementioned third protocol version of the communication program (Protocol #3). Col. 2, Lines [42-44]-Sallberg discloses messages in the MAP protocol provide either an explicit or an implicit indication of the highest protocol version that is understood by the receiving node. Col. 4, Lines [7-10]-Sallberg discloses autonomously-maintained table. The table enables a first node to store, and subsequently retrieve for use, the latest protocol version that a second node is capable of understanding. (See also Col. 10, Lines [50-61])).
Regarding claim 9, Sallberg in view of Manninen teaches the method according to claim 6.
Sallberg further teaches the method further comprises: communicating with the first access network device by using actual capability information of the terminal device (Fig. 1, Col. 2, Lines [20-27]-Sallberg discloses the sender 110 then falls-back to the second protocol version and reattempts to start the desired communication using the second protocol version in a message 150, i.e.. Protocol #2 in this example. The receiver 120, configured for this second protocol version, understands the attempt and responds accordingly with a message 160 permitting the desired communication to continue with the second protocol version).
Regarding claim 10, Sallberg in view of Manninen teaches the method according to claim 6.
Sallberg further teaches the method further comprises: sending the actual capability information of the terminal device to the first access network device (Fig. 1, Col. 2, Lines [7-9]-Sallberg discloses the sender 110 attempts to start the communication with a message 130 using the aforementioned third protocol version of the communication program (Protocol #3). Col. 2, Lines [42-44]-Sallberg discloses messages in the MAP protocol provide either an explicit or an implicit indication of the highest protocol version that is understood by the receiving node. Col. 4, Lines [7-10]-Sallberg discloses autonomously-maintained table. The table enables a first node to store, and subsequently retrieve for use, the latest protocol version that a second node is capable of understanding. (See also Col. 10, Lines [50-61])).
Regarding claim 14, Sallberg in view of Manninen teaches the method according to claim 1.
Sallberg further teaches the method further comprises: communicating with a second access network device by using the first capability information (Col. 11, Lines [25-32]-Sallberg discloses communication between a first and a second node, said method comprising the steps of: searching a dialogue table, connected to said first node, for a node identifier associated with said second node, said dialogue table comprising a plurality of node identifiers and a respective plurality of node dialogues for each said node identifier. Fig. 1, Col. 2, Lines [20-27]-Sallberg discloses the sender 110 then falls-back to the second protocol version and reattempts to start the desired communication using the second protocol version in a message 150, i.e.. Protocol #2 in this example. The receiver 120, configured for this second protocol version, understands the attempt and responds accordingly with a message 160 permitting the desired communication to continue with the second protocol version),
a network capability area to which the second access network device belongs is the same as a network capability area to which the first access network device belongs (Col. 1, Lines [37-45]-Sallberg discloses Nodes can be, in a Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM) network for example, well-known components according to the GSM standard such as a Gateway Mobile Switching Center (GMSC), a Home Location Register (HLR), or a Mobile Switching Center/Visitor Location Register (MSC/VLR). Communication between nodes within the telecommunications system is preferably accomplished through Signaling System No. 7 (SS7) protocols),
the network capability area comprises at least one access network device (Col. 1, Lines [37-41]-Sallberg discloses Nodes can be, in a Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM) network for example, well-known components according to the GSM standard such as a Gateway Mobile Switching Center (GMSC), a Home Location Register (HLR), or a Mobile Switching Center/Visitor Location Register (MSC/VLR)), and
the at least one access network device has a same capability (Col. 1, Lines [37-45]-Sallberg discloses Nodes can be, in a Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM) network for example, well-known components according to the GSM standard such as a Gateway Mobile Switching Center (GMSC), a Home Location Register (HLR), or a Mobile Switching Center/Visitor Location Register (MSC/VLR). Communication between nodes within the telecommunications system is preferably accomplished through Signaling System No. 7 (SS7) protocols).
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sallberg et al. (US 6353620 B1), hereinafter referenced as Sallberg, in view of MANNINEN et al. (US 20200382565 A1), hereinafter referenced as Manninen, and further in view of ZHANG et al. (CN 101626559 A), hereinafter referenced as Zhang.
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Sallberg in view of Manninen teaches the method according to claim 1 and the apparatus according to claim 15.
Sallberg fails to teach the indication information is carried in a radio resource control (RRC) connection setup reject message or an RRC connection release message.
However, Zhang teaches the indication information is carried in a radio resource control (RRC) connection setup reject message or an RRC connection release message (Page 3, Line [6]-Zhang discloses SRNC sends radio resource control connection release message to the UE, cause value is DSCR. Page 4, Line [20-24]-Zhang discloses the service wireless network controller through direct signal When informs UE to release radio resource control connection reconstruction, step 225, UE to reestablish the R99 non-real time service in drift radio network subsystem. as for HSUPA service, step 2 specifically comprises: step 231, the service wireless network controller controls HSUPA service falls to R99 real-time service).
Sallberg and Zhang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of mobile communication field, dealing with different factories and service migration method and system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sallberg in view of Manninen to incorporate the teachings of Zhang on radio resource control (RRC) connection setup, with a motivation to transmit the referenced indication using RRC release message, and support service migration mode, (Zhang, Page 3, Line [30]).
Claims 4-5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sallberg et al. (US 6353620 B1), hereinafter referenced as Sallberg, in view of MANNINEN et al. (US 20200382565 A1), hereinafter referenced as Manninen, and further in view of ZHANG et al. (CN 101626559 A), hereinafter referenced as Zhang, and further in view of Jianhua Liu (US 20200337014 A1), hereinafter referenced as Liu.
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Sallberg in view of Manninen teaches the method according to claim 3 and the apparatus according to claim 17.
Sallberg fails to teach the method further comprises: receiving a fallback cause value from the access network device.
However, Zhang teaches the method further comprises: receiving a fallback cause value from the access network device (Page 3, Line [6]-Zhang discloses SRNC sends radio resource control connection release message to the UE, cause value is DSCR. Page 4, Line [20-24]-Zhang discloses the service wireless network controller through direct signal When informs UE to release radio resource control connection reconstruction, step 225, UE to reestablish the R99 non-real time service in drift radio network subsystem. as for HSUPA service, step 2 specifically comprises: step 231, the service wireless network controller controls HSUPA service falls to R99 real-time service).
Sallberg and Zhang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of mobile communication field, dealing with different factories and service migration method and system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sallberg in view of Manninen to incorporate the teachings of Zhang on cause value, with a motivation to receive a fallback cause value, and support service migration mode, (Zhang, Page 3, Line [30]).
Sallberg fails to teach the fallback cause value is used to indicate at least one of the following: a first message sent by the terminal device cannot be identified; one or more information elements in the first message cannot be identified; second capability information sent by the terminal device fails to be parsed; the capability of the terminal device is excessively large; an abstract syntax notation one ASN.1 information element fails to be parsed; or an ASN.1 extended information element fails to be parsed.
However, Liu teaches the fallback cause value is used to indicate at least one of the following: a first message sent by the terminal device cannot be identified; one or more information elements in the first message cannot be identified; second capability information sent by the terminal device fails to be parsed; the capability of the terminal device is excessively large; an abstract syntax notation one ASN.1 information element fails to be parsed; or an ASN.1 extended information element fails to be parsed (Para. [0175]-Liu discloses the TAU reject message includes a cause value. The cause value indicates that the target MME cannot recognize the GUTI information and/or the target MME does not support communication without an inter-system interface. Optionally, the UE triggers, according to the cause value, to send an attach request to the target MME (forwarding by the E-UTRAN). Para. [0098]-Liu discloses the first system and a second system may be systems in different communication protocol versions).
Liu is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communications, dealing with wireless communications method and device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sallberg in view of Manninen and Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Liu on cause value, with a motivation to indicate message cannot be identified, and guarantee inter-system network handover in the case of flexible registration modes, (Liu, Para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 5, Sallberg in view of Manninen, Zhang and Liu teaches the method according to claim 4.
Sallberg fails to teach the fallback cause value and the indication information are carried in a same message.
However, Zhang teaches the fallback cause value and the indication information are carried in a same message (Page 3, Line [6]-Zhang discloses SRNC sends radio resource control connection release message to the UE, cause value is DSCR. Page 4, Line [20-23]-Zhang discloses the service wireless network controller through direct signal When informs UE to release radio resource control connection reconstruction, step 225, UE to reestablish the R99 non-real time service in drift radio network subsystem. as for HSUPA service, step 2 specifically comprises: step 231, the service wireless network controller controls HSUPA service falls to R99 real-time service).
Zhang is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of mobile communication field, dealing with different factories and service migration method and system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sallberg in view of Manninen and Liu to incorporate the teachings of Zhang on RRC, with a motivation to transmit the referenced indication and the cause value in the same message, and support service migration mode, (Zhang, Page 3, Line [30]).
Claims 6, 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sallberg et al. (US 6353620 B1), hereinafter referenced as Sallberg, in view of MANNINEN et al. (US 20200382565 A1), hereinafter referenced as Manninen, and further in view of Jianhua Liu (US 20200337014 A1), hereinafter referenced as Liu.
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Sallberg in view of Manninen teaches the method according to claim 1 and the apparatus according to claim 15.
Sallberg further teaches the method further comprises: determining that a network capability area to which the first access network device belongs changes (Fig. 1, Col. 2-3, Lines [67 and 1-16 respectively]-Sallberg discloses updates of the MAP or other protocol become extant and the updates are issued more frequently. Furthermore, not only do different versions, i.e., major revisions of the standard, exist, but many incompatible variations, e.g., smaller changes to or enhancements of a major standard within a given Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN)) also permeate cellular networks ... predicting the version (and even the variation) of MAP protocols capable of being used by a given node or entire PLMN for a given dialogue type),
the network capability area comprises at least one access network device (Col. 1, Lines [37-41]-Sallberg discloses Nodes can be, in a Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM) network for example, well-known components according to the GSM standard such as a Gateway Mobile Switching Center (GMSC), a Home Location Register (HLR), or a Mobile Switching Center/Visitor Location Register (MSC/VLR)), and
the at least one access network device has a same capability (Col. 1, Lines [37-45]-Sallberg discloses Nodes can be, in a Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM) network for example, well-known components according to the GSM standard such as a Gateway Mobile Switching Center (GMSC), a Home Location Register (HLR), or a Mobile Switching Center/Visitor Location Register (MSC/VLR). Communication between nodes within the telecommunications system is preferably accomplished through Signaling System No. 7 (SS7) protocols).
Sallberg fails to teach sending an RRC connection setup request message to the first access network device.
However, Liu teaches sending an RRC connection setup request message to the first access network device (Para. [0244]-Liu discloses the UE may send an RRC connection request to a target RAN (T-RAN)).
Liu is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communications, dealing with wireless communications method and device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sallberg in view of Manninen to incorporate the teachings of Liu on RRC, with a motivation to transmit RRC connection setup request message, and guarantee inter-system network handover in the case of flexible registration modes, (Liu, Para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 11, Sallberg in view of Manninen teaches the method according to claim 1.
Sallberg further teaches a network capability area to which the second access network device belongs is different from a network capability area to which the first access network device belongs (Col. 1, Lines [37-41]-Sallberg discloses Nodes can be, in a Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM) network for example, well-known components according to the GSM standard such as a Gateway Mobile Switching Center (GMSC), a Home Location Register (HLR), or a Mobile Switching Center/Visitor Location Register (MSC/VLR)),
the network capability area comprises at least one access network device (Col. 1, Lines [37-41]-Sallberg discloses Nodes can be, in a Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM) network for example, well-known components according to the GSM standard such as a Gateway Mobile Switching Center (GMSC), a Home Location Register (HLR), or a Mobile Switching Center/Visitor Location Register (MSC/VLR)), and
the at least one access network device has a same capability (Col. 1, Lines [37-45]-Sallberg discloses Nodes can be, in a Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM) network for example, well-known components according to the GSM standard such as a Gateway Mobile Switching Center (GMSC), a Home Location Register (HLR), or a Mobile Switching Center/Visitor Location Register (MSC/VLR). Communication between nodes within the telecommunications system is preferably accomplished through Signaling System No. 7 (SS7) protocols).
Sallberg fails to teach the method further comprises: sending an RRC connection setup request message to a second access network device.
However, Liu teaches the method further comprises: sending an RRC connection setup request message to a second access network device (Figs. 1 and 7-8, Para. [0220]-Liu discloses registration of the terminal device with the second system. Para. [0244]-Liu discloses the UE may send an RRC connection request to a target RAN (T-RAN). Para. [0093]-Liu discloses the wireless communications system 100 may include a plurality of access network devices. Para. [0215]-Liu discloses a plurality of RANs, whether at least one system supports interoperations with an N26 interface, which may be indicated based on the granularity of a PLMN ID list).
Liu is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communications, dealing with wireless communications method and device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sallberg in view of Manninen to incorporate the teachings of Liu on RRC, with a motivation to send connection setup request, and guarantee inter-system network handover in the case of flexible registration modes, (Liu, Para. [0005]).
Claims 7, 8 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sallberg et al. (US 6353620 B1), hereinafter referenced as Sallberg, in view of MANNINEN et al. (US 20200382565 A1), hereinafter referenced as Manninen, and further in view of Jianhua Liu (US 20200337014 A1), hereinafter referenced as Liu, and further in view of Yang LIU (US 20210176708 A1), hereinafter referenced as Liu2.
Regarding claims 7 and 12, Sallberg in view of Manninen teaches the method according to claim 6 and the method according to claim 11.
Sallberg fails to teach the RRC connection setup request message comprises a cause value, and the cause value is used to indicate that a network capability area changes.
However, Lius2 teaches the RRC connection setup request message comprises a cause value (Para. [0165]-Liu2 discloses a signaling element including a cause value may be added to original RRC connection request signaling. The cause value may indicate that a request for establishing an RRC connection is sent for DRX cycle update), and
the cause value is used to indicate that a network capability area changes (Para. [0039]-Liu2 discloses in response to determining that an original Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle of UE is to be updated, indicating, on a Physical Downlink Control CHannel (PDCCH), that there is a paging message with a cause value for DRX cycle update. Para. [0165]-Liu2 discloses a signaling element including a cause value may be added to original RRC connection request signaling. The cause value may indicate that a request for establishing an RRC connection is sent for DRX cycle update).
Liu2 is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication, dealing with method and device for saving power of User Equipment (UE), UE, and a base station.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sallberg in view of Manninen and Liu to incorporate the teachings of Liu2 on RRC, with a motivation to indicate changes using cause value, and guarantee optimizing power saving performance, (Liu2, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 8, Sallberg in view of Manninen, Liu and Liu2 teaches the method according to claim 7.
Sallberg fails to teach the RRC connection setup request message comprises an identifier of a network capability area before changing.
However, Lius teaches the RRC connection setup request message comprises an identifier of a network capability area before changing (Para. [0244]-Liu discloses the UE may send an RRC connection request to a target RAN (T-RAN). Para. [0213]-Liu discloses NG-RAN determines, according to the list, the support for interoperations with an N26 interface corresponding to a PLMN accessed by the UE, to determine whether to trigger RRC redirection or a handover request. Para. [0091]-Liu discloses inter-system handover may be implemented through an Attach procedure in which a handover identifier (ID) is carried).
Liu is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communications, dealing with wireless communications method and device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sallberg in view of Manninen and Liu2 to incorporate the teachings of Liu on RRC, with a motivation to transmit the identifier of a network capability area before changing, and guarantee inter-system network handover in the case of flexible registration modes, (Liu, Para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 13, Sallberg in view of Manninen, Liu and Liu2 teaches the method according to claim 12.
Sallberg fails to teach the RRC connection setup request message comprises an identifier of the network capability area to which the first access network device belongs.
However, Lius teaches the RRC connection setup request message comprises an identifier of the network capability area to which the first access network device belongs (Para. [0244]-Liu discloses the UE may send an RRC connection request to a target RAN (T-RAN). Para. [0213]-Liu discloses NG-RAN determines, according to the list, the support for interoperations with an N26 interface corresponding to a PLMN accessed by the UE, to determine whether to trigger RRC redirection or a handover request. Para. [0091]-Liu discloses inter-system handover may be implemented through an Attach procedure in which a handover identifier (ID) is carried).
Liu is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communications, dealing with wireless communications method and device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sallberg in view of Manninen and Liu2 to incorporate the teachings of Liu on RRC, with a motivation to transmit the identifier of a network capability area, and guarantee inter-system network handover in the case of flexible registration modes, (Liu, Para. [0005]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new reference (MANNINEN et al. (US 20200382565 A1)) being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
RÖNNEKE et al. (WO 2019029883 A1), which, in Para. [0065], discloses PDN type indicates the requested IP version (IPv4, IPv4/IPv6, IPv6). For a UE that supports CloT EPS optimizations, the PDN type may also be "non-IP" Protocol Configuration Options (PCOs) are used to transfer parameters between the UE and the P-GW, and are sent transparently through the MME and the S-GW. The PCOs may include the address allocation preference indicating that the UE prefers to obtain an IPv4 address only after the default bearer activation by means of Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol Version 4(DHCPv4). If the UE intends to send PCOs which require ciphering (e.g., Password Authentication Protocol (PAP) / Challenge Handshake Authentication Protocol (CHAP) usernames and passwords) or send an APN, or both, the UE shall set the ciphered options transfer flag and send PCO or APN or both only after authentication and NAS security setup have been completed.
KEDALAGUDDE et al. (US 20220104164 A1), which, in Fig. 1, Para. [0042], discloses UE 102 sends a Registration Request to (R)AN 104. The AN message includes AN parameters, Registration Request parameters (Registration type, SUCI or 5G-GUTI or PEI, last visited TAI (if available), Security parameters, Requested NSSAI and/or Mapping Of Requested NSSAI, Default Configured NSSAI Indication, UE Radio Capability Update, UE MM Core Network Capability, UE 5GC Capability, Preferred Network Behavior, PDU Session status, list of PDU sessions to be activated, Follow-on request, MICO mode preference, Requested DRX parameters. The AN message may also include LADN DNN(s) or Indicator Of Requesting LADN Information, UE support of Request Type flag “handover” during the attach procedure, and UE Policy Container, for example, the list of PSIs, indication of UE support for ANDSP and the operating system identifier.
CHENG et al. (CN 106550413 A), which, in Fig. 1, Abstract, discloses a terminal UE access control method. RNC after the terminal protocol version of the UE is determined according to the access request sent by the terminal UE, judging whether the terminal protocol version is higher than the highest protocol edition supported by itself, and the judging result is according to the LTE capability of the UE, the access trigger causes a request for neighbour indication cell of the UE blind redirection switch and the UE requesting to access to be redirected or process access request according to the highest protocol version. so as to improve the access success rate of RRC and relocation success rate and guarantees the user perception and protecting operator input.
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472