DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 15, 16, 20, 21, 24-27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20130252078) in view of Robert (US20180114955) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on November 6th, 2025).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses an electrochemical apparatus (secondary battery, [007]), comprising an electrode assembly ([008]) and a housing for accommodating the electrode assembly (case, [008]); wherein,
The housing comprises a first housing body (cap plate-130 acts as first housing body, [0031] and a second housing body fixedly connected to the first housing body (c case-120 acts as second housing body, [0031]), at least one of the first housing body or the second housing body is provided with a notch (safety member-160 defines a notch, Fig. 1d), and a side edge of the notch is non-vertical with respect to a bottom edge of the notch (safety member-160 forms notch in through hole-131, [0049], Fig. 1d); and the electrode assembly comprises a tab (first terminal-141 acts as tab), wherein the tab protrudes out from the notch to outside the housing (terminal-141 protrudes out from notch formed by safety member, Fig. 1d), and the notch is filled with a sealing material (insulating molding resin fills first and second cavity to close notch, [0043])
Kim further discloses wherein one of a wall of the notch or the sealing material is provided with a boss and other is provided with a recess, wherein the boss fits into a recess (under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, “boss” and “recess” can be interpreted to mean structures that include a recessed portion and a fitting structure that goes into the recessed portion, therefore, since the insulating molding resin-142 acting as the sealing material and the safety member-160 defines the notch, and together they form a connected structure with a boss and recess, Fig. 1d, it is the examiner’s position that Kim discloses the limitations of claim 5).
However, Kim does not directly disclose wherein one of the bottom surfaces of the notch or the sealing material is provided with a boss and the other of the bottom surface of the notch or the sealing material is provided with a corresponding recess, and the boss is configured to fit into corresponding recess, thereby forming a limiting structure between the sealing material and the notch.
Robert discloses a housing body that is formed to hold a terminal tab structure ([0027], Fig. 2). Robert further discloses wherein the terminal tab structure is sealed using a sealing material (seal-112, [0027]), and a further includes notch with a boss structure (Fig. 2 shows seal-112 has a notch that is formed around the terminal tab structures-116/120, wherein the bottom structure of the seal has a recessed down portion forming a trapezoidal structure where the bottom of the trapezoid is the recess, [0028]). Robert teaches that this structure provides improved contact between the intermediate structure and a housing of the pouch cell battery ([0036]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim with the teachings of Robert to have wherein one of the bottom surfaces of the notch or the sealing material is provided with a boss and the other of the bottom surface of the notch or the sealing material is provided with a corresponding recess, and the boss is configured to fit into corresponding recess, thereby forming a limiting structure between the sealing material and the notch. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved contact between the intermediate structure and a housing of the pouch cell battery.
Regarding Claim 2, Kim in view of Robert discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim further discloses wherein the sealing material comprises polypropylene ([0047]).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim in view of Robert discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim further discloses wherein the housing further comprises a sealing auxiliary member (safety member-160 acts as sealing auxiliary member), the sealing auxiliary member comprises a butting portion (and the butting portion is located at a corner of the notch (under the broadest reasonable proportion of the claim language, the end portion of the safety member acts as butting portion) and is configured to butt against the sealing material in a corner region at the top of the notch (safety member-160 and insulating molding resin-142 contact in corner region at top of notch formed by safety member-160, Fig. 1d).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim in view of Robert discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim further discloses wherein the sealing auxiliary member and the house are an integral structure or separate structures (safety member can be monolithically formed with cap plate, or separately formed, [0015]).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim in view of Robert discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim further discloses wherein the first housing body is a top cover of the housing (top plate-130, [0031]), and the second housing body comprises a side wall and a bottom wall connected to the side wall (case-120, including long side regions-121a and 121b, and bottom region-123, [0039]).
Regarding Claim 15, Kim in view of Robert discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim further discloses wherein the notch is a trapezoid shape (safety member-160 that forms notch can be a trapezoidal shape, [0060]).
Regarding Claim 16, Kim in view of Robert discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim further discloses wherein the housing further comprises a third housing body, the first housing body is a top cover of the housing, the second housing body is a side wall of the housing, the third housing body is a bottom cover of the house, and the first housing body, the second housing body, and the third housing body are sequentially connected to form the housing (first housing body is top cover plate-130, second housing body is side walls of case-120 short side regions-121a/121b, and bottom region-123 acts as third housing, Fig. 1c, [0039]).
Regarding Claim 20, Kim in view of Robert discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim further discloses wherein the first housing body is fixedly connected to the second housing body vertically (Fig. 1 shows cap plate-130 connected to case-120, [0041]).
Regarding Claim 21, Kim in view of Robert discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim further discloses wherein the first housing body is fixedly connected to the second housing body by welding ([0041]).
Regarding Claim 24, Kim in view of Robert discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim further discloses wherein the electrode assembly comprises two tabs (terminals 140 and 150 act as two tabs, [0031]).
Regarding Claim 25, Kim in view of Robert discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim further discloses wherein the electrode assembly comprises a cathode plate (first electrode plate-111 positive electrode, [0032]), and anode plate (second electrode plate-112 negative electrode, [0032]), a separator (separator-113, [0032]), and two tabs (positive terminal and negative terminal-140 & 150 act as tabs, [0031]); the separator is disposed between the cathode plate and the anode plate (Fig 1b), and the two tabs are respectively electrically connected to the cathode current collector of the cathode plate and an anode current collector of the anode plate (terminals connected to the current collectors, [0033]).
Regarding Claim 26, Kim in view of Robert discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim further discloses wherein the two tabs protrude out the same side of the housing (Fig. 1b shows terminals acting as tabs protruding out of same side of housing).
Regarding Claim 27, Kim discloses an electrochemical apparatus (secondary battery, [007]), comprising an electrode assembly ([008]) and a housing for accommodating the electrode assembly (case, [008]); wherein,
The housing comprises a first housing body (cap plate-130 acts as first housing body, [0031] and a second housing body fixedly connected to the first housing body (c case-120 acts as second housing body, [0031]), at least one of the first housing body or the second housing body is provided with a notch (safety member-160 defines a notch, Fig. 1d), and a side edge of the notch is non-vertical with respect to a bottom edge of the notch (safety member-160 forms notch in through hole-131, [0049], Fig. 1d); and the electrode assembly comprises a tab (first terminal-141 acts as tab), wherein the tab protrudes out from the notch to outside the housing (terminal-141 protrudes out from notch formed by safety member, Fig. 1d), and the notch is filled with a sealing material (insulating molding resin fills first and second cavity to close notch, [0043]).
Kim further discloses wherein one of a wall of the notch or the sealing material is provided with a boss and other is provided with a recess, wherein the boss fits into a recess (under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, “boss” and “recess” can be interpreted to mean structures that include a recessed portion and a fitting structure that goes into the recessed portion, therefore, since the insulating molding resin-142 acting as the sealing material and the safety member-160 defines the notch, and together they form a connected structure with a boss and recess, Fig. 1d, it is the examiner’s position that Kim discloses the limitations of claim 5).
However, Kim does not directly disclose wherein one of the bottom surfaces of the notch or the sealing material is provided with a boss and the other of the bottom surface of the notch or the sealing material is provided with a corresponding recess, and the boss is configured to fit into corresponding recess, thereby forming a limiting structure between the sealing material and the notch.
Robert discloses a housing body that is formed to hold a terminal tab structure ([0027], Fig. 2). Robert further discloses wherein the terminal tab structure is sealed using a sealing material (seal-112, [0027]), and a further includes notch with a boss structure (Fig. 2 shows seal-112 has a notch that is formed around the terminal tab structures-116/120, wherein the bottom structure of the seal has a recessed down portion forming a trapezoidal structure where the bottom of the trapezoid is the recess, [0028]). Robert teaches that this structure provides improved contact between the intermediate structure and a housing of the pouch cell battery ([0036]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim with the teachings of Robert to have wherein one of the bottom surfaces of the notch or the sealing material is provided with a boss and the other of the bottom surface of the notch or the sealing material is provided with a corresponding recess, and the boss is configured to fit into corresponding recess, thereby forming a limiting structure between the sealing material and the notch. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved contact between the intermediate structure and a housing of the pouch cell battery.
Kim does not directly disclose an electric apparatus. However, Kim discloses wherein the battery disclosed can be used for various electric vehicles ([005]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Kim to have an electric apparatus comprising an electrochemical apparatus.
Claim(s) 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20130252078) in view of Robert (US20180114955) further in view of Mok (KR20140016659, see Machine Translation for citations) (Provided in Applicant’s IDs filed on January 3rd, 2023).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim in view of Robert discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim further discloses wherein the butting portion is disposed at the top cover (Fig. 1d), but does not directly disclose wherein the notch is disposed in the side wall.
Mok discloses a battery housing structure that holds an electrode assembly (exterior members-310/330 act as housing structures). Mok discloses a notch that is formed on a side wall of the housing structure (lead tab mounting portions-510/520 act as notches, pg. 3). Mok teaches that this structure provides high structural rigidity (pg. 1).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim with the teachings of Mok to have wherein the notch is disposed in the side wall. This modified structure would yield the expected results of improved structural rigidity.
Regarding Claim 8, Kim in view of Robert discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim does not directly disclose wherein the side wall is provided with a step portion, and the step portion is configured to support the top cover.
Mok discloses wherein the lower exterior member-330 has a stepped portion that extends outward to support the upper exterior member-310 (Fig. 6, pg. 4).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim with the teachings of Mok to have wherein the side wall is provided with a step portion, and the step portion is configured to support the top cover. This modified structure would yield the expected results of improved structural rigidity.
Regarding Claim 9, Kim in view of Robert discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim does not directly disclose wherein the side wall is provided with a first step portion, the top cover is provided with a second step portion corresponding to the first step portion, and the first housing body and the second housing body are connected via the first step portion and the second step portion to form the housing.
Mok discloses wherein the side wall is provided with a first step portion, the top cover is provided with a second step portion corresponding to the first step portion, and the first housing body and the second housing body are connected via the first step portion and the second step portion to form the housing (Fig. 6 shows upper-case member-310 and lower-case member-330 each have step portions that correspond to each other to form the housing, pg. 4).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim with the teachings of Mok to have wherein the side wall is provided with a first step portion, the top cover is provided with a second step portion corresponding to the first step portion, and the first housing body and the second housing body are connected via the first step portion and the second step portion to form the housing. This modified structure would yield the expected results of improved structural rigidity.
Regarding Claim 10, Kim in view of Robert discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim does not directly disclose wherein the first housing body is provided with a first notch, the second housing body is provided with a second notch corresponding to the first notch, and the first notch and second notch together to form the notch.
Mok discloses wherein the first housing body is provided with a first notch, the second housing body is provided with a second notch corresponding to the first notch, and the first notch and second notch together to form the notch (lead tab mounting portions-510 and 530 act as first and second notches, that are formed in upper and lower exterior members-310/330, pg. 4, and come together to form a larger notch for the lead, Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim with the teachings of Mok to have wherein the first housing body is provided with a first notch, the second housing body is provided with a second notch corresponding to the first notch, and the first notch and second notch together to form the notch. This modified structure would yield the expected results of improved structural rigidity.
Regarding Claim 11, Kim in view of Robert further in view of Mok discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim does not directly disclose wherein a boss is disposed at a bottom surface of the first notch and/or the second notch, and the sealing material is provided with a recess corresponding to the boss, wherein the boss fits into the recess.
Mok discloses wherein a boss is disposed at a bottom surface of the first notch and/or the second notch, and the sealing material is provided with a recess corresponding to the boss, wherein the boss fits into the recess (sealing layer-113 is provided in notch acts as sealing material, boss and recess is formed by formed by lead tab mounting portions-510 and 520, pg. 4, sealing layer is fitted into recess and boss, Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify Kim with the teachings of Mok to have wherein a boss is disposed at a bottom surface of the first notch and/or the second notch, and the sealing material is provided with a recess corresponding to the boss, wherein the boss fits into the recess. This modified structure would yield the expected results of improved structural rigidity.
Regarding Claim 12, Kim in view of Robert further in view of Mok discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim does not directly disclose wherein a recess is disposed at a bottom surface of the first notch and/or the second notch, and the sealing material is provided with a boss corresponding to the recess, wherein the boss fits into the recess.
Mok discloses wherein a recess is disposed at a bottom surface of the first notch and/or the second notch, and the sealing material is provided with a boss corresponding to the recess, wherein the boss fits into the recess (bottom of lead tab mounting portions-510/520 forms recess, and sealing material-113 is provided in recess, Fig. 1/6).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify Kim with the teachings of Mok to have wherein a recess is disposed at a bottom surface of the first notch and/or the second notch, and the sealing material is provided with a boss corresponding to the recess, wherein the boss fits into the recess. This modified structure would yield the expected results of improved structural rigidity.
Regarding Claim 13, Kim in view of Robert further in view of Mok discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim discloses wherein the second housing body comprises a second side wall and a second bottom wall connected to the second side wall (case-120 acting as second housing body has side walls and bottom walls, Fig. 1c). Kim does not directly disclose wherein the first housing body comprises a first side wall and a first bottom wall connected to the first side wall.
Mok discloses wherein the first housing body comprises a first side wall and a first bottom wall connected to the first side wall (upper case member-310 has a side wall that led up to a top covering plate that acts as a bottom wall, Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify Kim with the teachings of Mok to have wherein the first housing body comprises a first side wall and a first bottom wall connected to the first side wall. This modified structure would yield the expected results of improved structural rigidity.
Regarding Claim 14, Kim in view of Robert further in view of Mok discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim does not directly disclose wherein the first side wall is provided with a first step portion, the second side wall is provided with a second step portion corresponding to the first step portion, and the first housing body and the second housing body are connected via the first step portion and the second step portion to form the housing.
Mok discloses wherein the first side wall is provided with a first step portion, the second side wall is provided with a second step portion corresponding to the first step portion, and the first housing body and the second housing body are connected via the first step portion and the second step portion to form the housing (Fig. 3 shows that the side walls of both cover members have stepped portions that are attached together, pg. 4).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim with the teachings of Mok to have wherein the first side wall is provided with a first step portion, the second side wall is provided with a second step portion corresponding to the first step portion, and the first housing body and the second housing body are connected via the first step portion and the second step portion to form the housing. This modified structure would yield the expected results of improved structural rigidity.
Claim(s) 17 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20130252078) in view of Robert (US20180114955) further in view of Han (US20140272490).
Regarding Claim 17 & 19, Kim in view of Robert discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim does not disclose the use of a high-temperature protection material is filled between the wall of the notch and the sealing material; and the tab sealing material, and the high-temperature protection material form an m-layer structure in the notch, wherein an outermost layer of the structure is the high-temperature protection material, and m is a positive integer greater than or equal to 3 and less than or equal to 1.
Kim does not directly disclose wherein a melting point of the high-temperature protection material is greater than or equal to 300°C.
Kim does not directly disclose wherein the high-temperature protection material comprises any one of steel alloy, aluminum alloy, iron alloy, copper alloy, liquid crystalline polymer, 4-hydroxybenzaldehyde, polyethylene terephthalate, polyvinyl chloride, polyimide, acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene copolymer, polycarbonate, polyamide, or polystyrene.
Han discloses a tab structure lead that includes a thermal insulation member ([0012]). Han further discloses wherein the tab structure is surrounded by a thermal insulation member is paced into a notch formed to hold the electrode terminal (thermal member-31, plate terminal-21, [0048], Fig. 2). Han further discloses wherein the insulation member can be polyimide ([0027]). Han further discloses a layered structure that surrounds the tab (thermal member-31, gaskets-36 form layered structure in notch that hold terminal-21, Fig. 2). Han teaches that this structure provides improved sealing ([0042]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim with the teachings of Han to have wherein a high-temperature protection material is filled between the wall of the notch and the sealing material; and the tab sealing material, and the high-temperature protection material form an m-layer structure in the notch, wherein an outermost layer of the structure is the high-temperature protection material, and m is a positive integer greater than or equal to 3 and less than or equal to 1, to have wherein a melting point of the high-temperature protection material is greater than or equal to 300°C, and wherein the high-temperature protection material comprises any one of steel alloy, aluminum alloy, iron alloy, copper alloy, liquid crystalline polymer, 4-hydroxybenzaldehyde, polyethylene terephthalate, polyvinyl chloride, polyimide, acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene copolymer, polycarbonate, polyamide, or polystyrene. This modification would yield the expected result of improved sealing.
Claim(s) 22 & 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20130252078) in view of Robert (US20180114955) further in view of Hosoya (US20040076882).
Regarding Claim 22 & 23, Kim in view of Robert discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim does not directly disclose wherein the first housing body and the second housing body are both made of plastic, and wherein the plastic is any one of liquid crystalline polymer, 4-hydroxybenzaldeyhde, polyethylene terephthalate, polyvinyl chloride, polyimide, acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene copolymer, polycarbonate, or polyamide.
Hosoya discloses a battery with tabs (cathode lead-7, anode lead-10, [0076]). Hosoya further discloses wherein the battery case can be formed of metal or plastic ([0072]). Hosoya further discloses wherein the plastic can be polyethylene terephthalate ([0072]). Hosoya teaches that the plastic allows for lightweight battery case ([0072]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim with the teachings of Hosoya to have wherein the first housing body and the second housing body are both made of plastic, and wherein the plastic is any one of liquid crystalline polymer, 4-hydroxybenzaldeyhde, polyethylene terephthalate, polyvinyl chloride, polyimide, acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene copolymer, polycarbonate, or polyamide. This modification would yield the expected result of providing a lightweight battery case.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, see Claims, filed November 25th, 2025, with respect to Claim 17 112(b) rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(b) rejection of Claim 17 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments, see Claims, filed November 25th, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, and its dependents, under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kim in view of Robert under 35 USC 103.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANKITH R SRIPATHI/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728