DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the Applicant filing on 10.29.25. Claims 1-13, 15-17 are pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments and Amendments
The Applicant has made amendments to the independent claim 1 and its dependents 2-13, 15 which will be examined below.
Examiner thanks Applicant for changing title as recommended by Examiner and therefore Specification objection is withdrawn.
With respect to 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 rejections, the Applicant provides arguments to which the
Examiner will respond accordingly:
Applicant Argument 1: The stabilizer of Latif does not teach or suggest a stabilizer with a harmonic drive disposed between the motor and the output component. This claimed harmonic drive acts as a reduction gear, so that the output torque is significantly higher than the torque supplied by the motor. Thus, due to the transmission ratio, undesirable reversibility of the mechanism is prevented, in other words, a braking function is obtained as it is clearly stated in paragraph [0037]. The stabilizer described in Latif comprises a dedicated braking device and does not mention or suggest a reduction gear. Therefore, this document does not teach or suggest attempting to obtain a compact braking and/or locking mechanism.
Examiner Response 1: As stated in Office Action dated 7.3.25, the teaching of harmonic drive comes from Wang. Further Latif also discloses “an appropriate gear ratio via the motor gear train 124, thereby providing a desired adjustment of the stabilizer 102”. Fig 2 clearly discloses the difference in the mating diameters between motor 120 shaft and gear 124 which shows reduction in speed which is in line with a stabilizer 102 function of Latif. Thus transmission ratio related braking function is also available in Latif. Any other braking or locking function are not recited in the claims with appropriate structure, therefore argument is moot.
Applicant Argument 2: Furthermore, the Wang document does not suggest using the harmonic drive described in this document to modify the transmission ratio between the electric motor and the output component. In fact, the actuator in the Wang document is described solely as a brake and not as a reduction gear, and this braking function is not achieved by any reduction ratio, but solely by deformation of the flexible sleeve 24.
Examiner Response 2: In earlier argument, Applicant has argued “, in other words, a braking function is obtained as it is clearly stated in paragraph [0037]”, however here Applicant’s argument seems to suggest against braking function being an intent of instant application. Nevertheless braking or no braking are not limitations in amended claim 1. Further with respect to “reduction ratio”, Wang Para 0024 , 0029, 0030, 0031 and other places discloses “reduction ratio” in the function of Wang for e.g., Para 0029 discloses “The actual reduction in rotational speed is a function of the relative number of teeth between the flexible sleeve 25 and the drive ring 26 and the number of contact regions between them”.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 4 recites “the motor is a fault tolerant motor”. The standard for “fault tolerant” in specification are in Para 0040 and 0041 “a motor (not shown) having a common rotor and two separate stators” and “a multi-phase fault tolerant motor” which will be used by Examiner in claim prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 9-13, 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latif (US10443696B1), in view of Wang (US20070193835A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Latif discloses (Figs 1-2) a trim horizontal stabilizer actuator [Col 3, 49-51] comprising :
an electromechanical linear actuator (110) comprising:
a rotary shaft (116);
a gear arrangement (124,126);
an electric motor (120) positioned radially outwardly (120s) of the
wherein the rotary shaft is configured to be driven by the electric motor via the drive gear arrangement (Fig 2) with a gear ratio magnifying a output torque from the motor [Latif discloses Col 4, 34-36 “an appropriate gear ratio via the motor gear train 124, thereby providing a desired adjustment of the stabilizer 102”. Fig 2 clearly discloses the difference in the mating diameters between motor 120s shaft and gear 124 which shows reduction in speed which is same as magnification of torque which is in line with a stabilizer 102 function of Latif]; and
an output component (108) configured to be driven along the rotary shaft in response to rotation thereof.
Latif does not explicitly disclose a harmonic drive gear arrangement extending radially outwardly of and coaxially with the rotary shaft, an electric motor positioned radially outwardly of the harmonic drive gear arrangement; the rotary shaft is configured to be driven by the electric motor via the harmonic drive gear arrangement with a gear ratio magnifying a output torque from the motor.
Wang discloses (Figs 1-2) a harmonic drive gear arrangement (21,24,25,26 is equivalent to a harmonic gear drive, Para 0022 discloses wave generation typical of harmonic drive which is similar to Para 0036 of instant application) drive extending radially outwardly of and coaxially with the rotary shaft (36), an electric motor (14) positioned radially outwardly of the harmonic drive gear arrangement(21,24,25,26); the rotary shaft is configured to be driven by the electric motor via the harmonic drive gear arrangement (Figs1-2) with a gear ratio magnifying a output torque from the motor [Wang Para 0024 , 0029, 0030, 0031 and other places discloses “reduction ratio” in the function of Wang for e.g., Para 0029 discloses “The actual reduction in rotational speed is a function of the relative number of teeth between the flexible sleeve 25 and the drive ring 26 and the number of contact regions between them”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed a trim horizontal stabilizer actuator of Latif with harmonic gear drive arrangement as taught by Wang in order to have a compact, precise way to get high reduction ratios and communicate required torque.
Regarding Claim 2, Latif in view of Wang discloses a trim horizontal stabilizer actuator as claimed in claim 1. Latif in view of Wang does not disclose wherein the electric motor comprises a rotor which is coaxial with and extends around the harmonic drive gear arrangement .
Wang further discloses (Fig 2) wherein the electric motor (14) comprises a rotor (17) which is coaxial with and extends around the harmonic drive gear arrangement (21,24,25,26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed trim horizontal stabilizer actuator of Latif in view of Wang with rotor coaxial with harmonic gear drive arrangement as further taught by Wang in order to have a compact, axially short device to communicate torque.
Regarding Claim 3, Latif in view of Wang discloses a trim horizontal stabilizer actuator as claimed in claim 1. Latif in view of Wang further discloses wherein the rotary shaft (Latif, 116) comprises a ball screw (116) and the output component comprises a ball nut (118).
Regarding Claim 7, Latif in view of Wang discloses a trim horizontal stabilizer actuator as claimed in claim 1. Latif in view of Wang further discloses further comprising: a stop (Latif, 116s which acts as a stop as the thread ends) for limiting the movement of the output component along the rotary shaft(116) in a first direction (AA).
Regarding Claim 9, Latif in view of Wang discloses a trim horizontal stabilizer actuator as claimed in claim 1. Latif in view of Wang further discloses wherein the drive gear arrangement (124,126) is configured to limit or stop rotation of the output shaft (116) when the electric motor (120) is inactive [Col 6, 23-27] but does not disclose the harmonic drive gear arrangement having this configuration.
Wang further discloses [Para0006 discloses back driving being resisted] the harmonic drive gear arrangement having this configuration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed trim horizontal stabilizer actuator of Latif in view of Wang with harmonic gear drive arrangement resisting back rotation as further taught by Wang in order to not lose control over torque communication.
Regarding Claim 10, Latif in view of Wang discloses a trim horizontal stabilizer actuator as claimed in claim 1. Latif in view of Wang further discloses comprising: a brake (Latif, 112) configured to limit or stop rotation of the output shaft (116) when the brake is engaged[Latif, Col 3,33-34 discloses “braking forces normally applied by a no-back brake device also operatively coupled to the ballscrew assembly” .
Regarding Claim 11, Latif in view of Wang discloses a trim horizontal stabilizer actuator as claimed in claim 9. Latif in view of Wang further discloses further comprising: a brake (Latif, 112) configured to limit or stop rotation of the output shaft when the brake is engaged, wherein the brake will act to limit or stop rotation [Latif, Col 4, 3-6] of the rotary shaft (116) in the event of a failure (“undesired movement” cited in Latif can be a failure) of the harmonic (Wang, 21,24,25,26) drive gear arrangement (Latif, 124) or the harmonic drive gear arrangement will act to limit or stop rotation of the rotary shaft in the event of a failure of the brake.
Regarding Claim 12, Latif in view of Wang discloses a trim horizontal stabilizer actuator as claimed in claim 11. Latif in view of Wang further discloses wherein the brake (Latif, 112) is a passive brake (112 is a No back brake similar to instant invention as recited in instant specification Para 0035).
Regarding Claim 13, Latif in view of Wang discloses a trim horizontal stabilizer actuator as claimed in claim 10. Latif in view of Wang further discloses wherein the brake (Latif, 112) is a passive brake (112 is a No back brake similar to instant invention as recited in instant specification Para 0035).
Regarding Claim 15, Latif in view of Wang discloses a trim horizontal stabilizer actuator as claimed in claim 1. Latif in view of Wang further discloses an actuation system (Latif, Fig 3)comprising: one or more electromechanical linear actuators (110) as claimed in claim 1; and a controller (130) for controlling the one or more electromechanical linear actuators (110)[Col 4, 36-37].
Regarding Claim 16, Latif in view of Wang discloses an electromechanical linear actuator as claimed in claim 1. Latif in view of Wang further discloses an aircraft comprising: a horizontal stabilizer [Latif, Col 3, 49-52]; and an electromechanical linear actuator (110) as claimed in claim 1; wherein the electromechanical linear actuator is configured to move the horizontal stabilizer relative [Latif, Col 3, 49-52] to the aircraft.
Regarding Claim 17, Latif in view of Wang discloses an aircraft comprising: a horizontal stabilizer relative [Latif, Col 3, 49-52]; and an actuation system (Latif, Fig 3) as claimed in claim 15; wherein the one or more electromechanical linear actuators (110) are configured to move the horizontal stabilizer relative to the aircraft [Latif, Col 3, 49-52].
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latif in view of Wang and Sui (CN109687671A English translation).
Regarding Claim 4, Latif in view of Wang discloses a trim horizontal stabilizer actuator as claimed in claim 1. Latif in view of Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the motor is a fault tolerant motor (See 35 U.S.C 112(f) claim interpretation)
Sui discloses wherein the motor is a fault tolerant motor[Abstract discloses a fault tolerant motor with multiple stators and multiple phases similar to instant invention].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed trim horizontal stabilizer actuator of Latif in view of Wang with fault tolerant motor as taught by Sui in order to fail safely and prevent catastrophic failure.
Regarding Claim 5, Latif in view of Wang and Sui discloses a trim horizontal stabilizer actuator as claimed in claim 4. Latif in view of Wang and Sui does not disclose wherein the fault tolerant motor comprises a single rotor and two or more stators.
Sui further discloses wherein the fault tolerant motor (Fig 1) comprises a single rotor (5) and two or more stators (4,6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed trim horizontal stabilizer actuator of Latif in view of Wang with fault tolerant motor having two stators and one rotor as taught by Sui in order to fail safely and prevent catastrophic failure (extra stator provides redundancy).
Regarding Claim 6, Latif in view of Wang and Sui discloses a trim horizontal stabilizer actuator as claimed in claim 4. Latif in view of Wang and Sui does not disclose wherein the fault tolerant motor comprises a multi-phase fault tolerant motor drive system.
Sui further discloses a the fault tolerant motor comprises a multi-phase fault tolerant motor drive system [Para 0007 discloses multi-phase windings].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed a trim horizontal stabilizer actuator of Latif in view of Wang with fault tolerant motor with multi phases as taught by Sui in order to fail safely and prevent catastrophic failure (multi phases provides redundancy).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latif in view of Wang and Moulon (US20170335931A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Latif in view of Wang discloses a trim horizontal stabilizer actuator as claimed in claim 7. Latif in view of Wang discloses comprising: limiting the movement of the output component (Latif, 108) along the rotary shaft (116) in a second direction (AA opposite), opposite to the first direction (AA) [This is inherent to Latif’s horizontal stabilizer system as stabilizer 102 has to rotate around pivot 106 both ways and stop at a given point along both directions, for e.g., Col 4, 28-30 discloses translation of nut 118] but does not explicitly disclose a further stop for limiting the movement of the output component.
Moulon discloses (Fig 2A) a further stop (26) for limiting the movement of the output component (22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed trim horizontal stabilizer actuator of Latif in view of Wang with a further stop to limit the movement of output component as taught by Moulon in order to determine free movement of output component [Para 0013].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834