DETAILED ACTION
This is a Request for continued Examination (RCE) filed on July 01, 2026.
Claims 1, 11, 17 have been amended.
Claims 9-10, 16 are cancelled.
Claims 6, 12, 15 are originals
Claims 2-5, 7, 8, 13, 14, and 18-20 are previously presented
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 11-15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGuire et al [US 2010/013,1876 A1] hereafter McGuire in view of Riahi et al [US 2017/000,6161 A9] hereafter Riahi, in view of Beaver et al [US 2020/010,6881 A1], hereafter Beaver; in further view of Klein et al [US 2018/012,4245 A1], hereafter Klein.
As per claim 1;
McGuire discloses;
A method for operating a network-hosted personalized care agent application in a telecommunications network, the method comprising:
{[0003] The present invention relates generally to virtual reality worlds, and in particular to a method and system for creating, selecting, and adapting the environment of a virtual reality contact center using a dynamic user interface.}
McGuire discloses;
establishing, by the telecommunications network, a wireless link between a user device (UE) and an access point, and receiving, over the wireless link, a request to access a personalized care agent application hosted by a server associated with the access point;
{[0022] Referring now to the drawings in which like reference designators refer to like elements, there is shown in FIG. 1 a block diagram of an exemplary embodiment of the dynamic virtual contact system in accordance with the principals of the present invention and designated generally as "10". The system 10 may include a server 12 inoperative communication with the various components of the invention discussed herein. The server 12 may be a central processing using such as computer, or any device that provides services such as accessing data files, programs, and peripheral devices. The server 12 may be in communication with a virtual world 14, which may be any two or three dimensional social or economic interface that allows virtual world 14 users to interact with each other. Virtual worlds 14 may exist and operate independently on one or more networks. It is therefore contemplated that the server 12 may communicate independently to separately implement each virtual world 14 or collectively to two or more virtual worlds 14. The virtual world 14 may include a virtual contact center 16, which are locations where virtual world 14 users conduct business with each other. The virtual contact center 16 may also be any place, for example, a bank, grocery store, or library, where users interact with each other and with the virtual contact center 16. The virtual contact center 16 need not be limited to a three-dimensional virtual structure, such as building or office, but may be any location involving a point of sale or customer service transaction between users in the virtual world 14.
[0025] The avatar 22 represents the virtual image of the user, which may be
selected by the user before entering the virtual world 14. As the user navigates the virtual
world 14, the user's avatar 22 interacts with other users' avatars 22 and various virtual
features 28 of the virtual world 14.}
McGuire discloses:
causing a personalized care agent interface to be rendered on the UE;
{[0025] Operation of the present invention is described with reference to FIGS. 2-4. FIG. 2 is an illustration of an exemplary avatar 22 in the virtual world 14. The avatar 22 represents the virtual image of the user, which may be selected by the user before entering the virtual world 14. As the user navigates the virtual world 14, the user's avatar 22 interacts with other users' avatars 22 and various virtual features 28 of the virtual world 14. In the example shown in FIG. 2, an avatar 22 is seen navigating the virtual world 14 proximate a virtual contact center 16.}
McGuire discloses:
accessing, by the personalized care agent application over a backhaul channel, a networked database that stores user-specific profile data;
{[0023] Continuing to refer to FIG. 1, the server 12 may further be in communication with a database 18. The database 18 may be a computer with a hard-drive or other storage device that can store or update graphical data. Although not shown in FIG. 1, in other embodiments, the database 18 may be integrated as part of the server 12. The database 18 may be directly connected to the server 12 or may be connected indirectly through an analog or digital network. The database 18 operates to store or update the one or more established environmental characteristics 20 based on a user’s interaction with the virtual world 14. For example, the one or more established environmental characteristics 20 may include, but are not limited to, avatars 22, colors 24, layouts 36, and virtual features 28 of the virtual world 14 that a user may select or prefer based on the user’s experience with the virtual world 14. For example, a user may prefer or select that the virtual contact center 16 have blue walls. These one or more established environmental characteristic 20 may then be stored in the database 18 in a file or table that stores the colors 24. The one or more established environmental characteristics 20 may also be updated if the user’s preference or selections with the virtual world 14 change. The server 12 may then store and access these established environmental characteristics 20 in real-time and dynamically as the user interacts with the virtual world 14, discussed below with reference to FIGS. 2-6.}
McGuire doesn’t explicitly disclose, however, Riahi, in a similar field of endeavor directed to automated customer service agents, teaches:
authenticating, by the personalized care agent application, a session with the UE; and
{[0196] A customer may contact the contact center, for example, by using customer phone 10 to initiate a voice interaction with the contact center. The customer call goes over PSTN 14 and then by trunk line to switch 12, which routes the call to IVR server 34. In this example use scenario, for instance, the enterprise may have an existing IVR server 34 that serves as the first point of contact of every outside customer call, and may route calls to the automated agent 42 in appropriate circumstances, such as at the customer's request. The IVR server 34 may obtain the identity of the customer (for example, by having the customer enter an identification code, such as an account number). The IVR server 34 may also ask the customer if they would like to be transferred to the automated agent 42.}
Riahi discloses;
executing, by the personalized care agent application, a scripted dialog presented via the personalized care agent interface to the UE, and receiving user responses as input to the personalized care agent application;
{[0117] In step 1830, a library of responses (for example, pre-defined answers) may be searched (for example, based on a search algorithm) to find the best fit to what was said or asked, etc. The library of responses, for example, may be part of the collaborative knowledge base 250, and cross-indexed or arranged with corresponding questions or statements (for example, a library of questions) to which they may pertain. In one embodiment, the collaborative knowledge base 250 is dynamic, growing and/or refining its library of statements, library of questions, or the relationships between the two libraries at the direction of the knowledge transfer interface 260. The search algorithm may be a pre-defined search algorithm for searching databases and returning relevant results as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art. In step 1840, the best fit answer is converted to speech (using, for example, the speech synthesis module 1170 of FIG. 14) and output to the customer.}
Riahi discloses;
determining whether the personalized care agent application can identify a solution to the first user concern based at least in part on the user-specific profile data;
{[0184] In one embodiment, the artificial intelligence engine module 1180 may be configured to learn a certain response in the context of the contact center by finding patterns in a stream of input to find a solution for a customer.
[0091] For instance, the automated agent may assign live agents to the customer based on factors such as the customer's preferred soft skills in live agents, the customer's current mood, the customer's previous experiences with specific live agents, live agent grade (e.g., a live agent at a sufficient level to be authorized to make decisions desired by the customer), etc. The automated agent may also be granted an agent grade to reflect the decisions that the automated agent is authorized to make on behalf of the enterprise.
[0107] For instance, the emotion and mood detection module 230 may determine that the customer is angry (for example, from a loud voice, profane language, and/or clenched teeth). From this detection, the automated agent, for example, may direct the customer to a live agent, such as a live agent that is skilled with dealing with angry customers (e.g., a live agent with good anger management skills). More advanced processing may take specifics of the customer into account, e.g., to recognize irony or sarcasm, or to detect the actual frustration level of the customer. For instance, based on previous interactions with the customer, as recorded in the customer profile 150, the customer may be significantly more likely than the general population to use irony or sarcasm, or the customer may exhibit varying degrees of frustration or anger when interacting with the contact center.}
Riahi discloses;
if the personalized care agent application can identify the solution to the first user concern, communicating the solution to the UE; and
{[0117] The search algorithm may be a pre-defined search algorithm for searching databases and returning relevant results as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art. In step 1840, the best fit answer is converted to speech (using, for example, the speech synthesis module 1170 of FIG. 14) and output to the customer.}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine/modify/adjust McGuire’s system for management of customer care agent application to include Riahi et al’s server, artificial intelligence and search algorithm to obtain the identity of the customer, search and find the best fit answers to what was asked, return relevant results from the search database, learn a certain response in the context of the contact center by finding patterns in a stream of input to find a solution for a customer using an artificial intelligence and search algorithm. See Riahi [0091, 0107, 0196, 0117 and 0184].
McGuire doesn’t explicitly disclose the following, however, Beaver discloses the inability of the IVA to resolve an issue requiring a human intervention; See [0037] [0068]
if the personalized care agent application is unable to identify the solution
[0037] At 240, the IVA 158 recognizes an intent which is indicated to pass the text conversation to the agent 155. Within the language model 120 used by the IVA 158 are particular intents that are to be handled by the human agent 152. For example, if the user 102 asks to file a complaint about a recent experience with the company, the concept of “complaint” would flag the text conversation to be continued by the human agent 152.
[0068] determining an intent of the text conversation; and passing the text conversation to an agent computing device when the IVA recognizes the intent indicates to pass the text conversation to a human agent.
Beaver discloses causing a human intervention by having the virtual agent request a live human agent to join the session; see [0038]; human response; See [0039]
to the first user concern, causing a human intervention to direct the personalized care agent avatar to interact with the user by receiving instructions from a human expert for the personalized care agent to convey to the UE and communicating the solution to the UE based on the instructions from the human expert,
{[0038] the IVA 158 seamlessly passes control of the conversation over to its paired human agent 152 without indicating to the user 102 or the user computing device 105, or advising the user 102 or the user computing device 105, of this passing of control.
[0039] the human agent 152 then responds (using the agent computing device 155) directly to the user 102 (via the user computing device 105)}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine/modify/adjust McGuire’s system for management of customer care agent application to include Beaver et al’s human intervention, to provide insightful recommendations and/or supporting information. See Beaver [0037-0039] [0068]
McGuire doesn’t explicitly disclose the following, however, Klein discloses the automated virtual agent can engage or join a live agent (human agent) in the customer interaction; and the human agent controls the avatar [0040]; on real-time; See [0020]
wherein the personalized care agent avatar maintains a consistent appearance and mannerisms during the human intervention such that the human intervention is provided through the personalized care agent avatar.
[0020] An automated virtual agent can interact in real-time with a customer, intelligently route requests, as needed to a human agent
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine/modify/adjust McGuire’s system for management of customer care agent application to include Klein et al’s virtual agent acting in an advisory manner, to provide insightful recommendations and/or supporting information to the live agent. See Klein [0020] [0040]
As per claim 4;
McGuire discloses;
The method of claim 1, wherein the personalized care agent interface is based at least in part on user identified preferences for the personalized care agent interface.
{[0027] The level of interest or preference that a user shows for a particular environmental characteristic 20 that may trigger a response from the server 12 may be variable.}
As per claim 5;
McGuire discloses;
The method of claim 4, wherein the user profile data include interface language, interface appearance, and interface demeanor.
{[0036] For example, a user may prefer a female virtual contact center representative while experiencing one set of variables, or prefer a male while experiencing another set of variables. One or more of these environmental characteristics 20 may be stored as a categorized group that represents particular situations, and dynamically update these categories by adding or removing one or more of the environmental characteristics 20………... For example, a user may prefer a female avatar with blue hair during the first interaction with the virtual world 14, but may prefer a female avatar with red hair during the second interaction with the virtual world. Moreover, as the user gains experience in the virtual world 14, the environmental characteristics may be updated in real time or updated in the database 18 (Step S108).}
As per claim 6;
The combination of McGuire, Beaver and Klein doesn’t explicitly disclose the following, however, Riahi discloses;
The method of claim 1, wherein causing the personalized care agent to interact with the user includes the personalized care agent using a scripted set of questions.
{[0006] As the cost of live agents may be significant, one method of improving the efficiency of the call center (while containing the cost of the live agents) is through techniques such as interactive voice response (IVR) technology, which can help offload some of the simpler tasks from live agents. With IVR, customer interactions are first broken down into a series of simple steps that may be delivered to a customer in an automated fashion, such as prerecorded scripts or multiple-choice menus on computer screens. This allows certain information (such as the nature of the problem, or an account number) to be obtained (for example, through a telephone keypad or a computer keyboard) before handing control over to a live agent.
[0117] In step 1830, a library of responses (for example, pre-defined answers) may be searched (for example, based on a search algorithm) to find the best fit to what was said
or asked,}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine/modify/adjust McGuire’s system for management of customer care agent application to include Riahi et al’s personalized care agent interacting with the user includes the personalized care agent using a scripted set of questions since McGuire relates generally to virtual reality worlds, for creating, selecting, and adapting the environment of a virtual reality contact center using a dynamic user interface, establishing, by the telecommunications network, a wireless link between a user device (UE) and an access point, and rendering on the UE (See McGuire [0003, 0022, 0023 and 0025]). The combination would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify McGuire to include a scripted set of questions as taught by Riahi, to interact with the user, thereby improving the efficiency of the call center (while containing the cost of the live agents) {[0006 and 0117] of Riahi}.
As per claim 7;
The combination of McGuire, Beaver and Klein doesn’t explicitly disclose the following, however, Riahi discloses;
The method of claim 6, wherein the human intervention occurs following an identification that the scripted set of questions does not identify the first user concern.
{[0091] For instance, the automated agent may assign live agents to the customer based on factors such as the customer's preferred soft skills in live agents, the customer's current mood, the customer's previous experiences with specific live agents, live agent grade (e.g., a live agent at a sufficient level to be authorized to make decisions desired by the customer), etc.
[0107] For instance, the emotion and mood detection module 230 may determine that the customer is angry (for example, from a loud voice, profane language, and/or clenched teeth). From this detection, the automated agent, for example, may direct the customer to a live agent, such as a live agent that is skilled with dealing with angry customers}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine/modify/adjust McGuire’s system for management of customer care agent application to include Riahi et al’s human intervention following an identification that the scripted set of questions does not identify the first user concern since McGuire relates generally to virtual reality worlds, for creating, selecting, and adapting the environment of a virtual reality contact center using a dynamic user interface, establishing, by the telecommunications network, a wireless link between a user device (UE) and an access point, and rendering on the UE (See McGuire [0003, 0022, 0023 and 0025]). The combination would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify McGuire to include an assign live agents to the customer based on factors such as the customer's preferred soft skills in live agents, the customer's current mood, the customer's previous experiences with specific live agents, live agent grade to enable to interacting and improving efficiency with the user. See Riahi [0091 and 0107].
As per claim 8;
McGuire discloses;
The method of claim 1, wherein the network database includes information about the user's preferences, payment information, account information, historical information, demographics, UE device information, and geographical location.
{[0023] The database 18 operates to store or update the one or more established environmental characteristics 20 based on a user's interaction with the virtual world 14. For example, the one or more established environmental characteristics 20 may include, but are not limited to, avatars 22, colors 24, layouts 36, and virtual features 28 of the virtual world 14 that a user may select or prefer based on the user's experience with the virtual world 14.}
As per claim 11;
McGuire discloses;
One or more non-transitory computer-readable media having computer-executable instructions embodied thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause a personalized care agent application hosted in a telecommunications network to perform a method comprising:
{[0003] The present invention relates generally to virtual reality worlds, and in particular to a method and system for creating, selecting, and adapting the environment of a virtual reality contact center using a dynamic user interface.}
McGuire discloses;
establishing, by the telecommunications network, a wireless link between a user device (UE) and an access point, and receiving, over the wireless link, a request from the UE to access the personalized care agent application hosted by a server associated with the access point;
{[0022] Referring now to the drawings in which like reference designators refer to like elements, there is shown in FIG. 1 a block diagram of an exemplary embodiment of the dynamic virtual contact system in accordance with the principals of the present invention and designated generally as "10". The system 10 may include a server 12 inoperative communication with the various components of the invention discussed herein. The server 12 may be a central processing using such as computer, or any device that provides services such as accessing data files, programs, and peripheral devices. The server 12 may be in communication with a virtual world 14, which may be any two or three dimensional social or economic interface that allows virtual world 14 users to interact with each other. Virtual worlds 14 may exist and operate independently on one or more networks. It is therefore contemplated that the server 12 may communicate independently to separately implement each virtual world 14 or collectively to two or more virtual worlds 14. The virtual world 14 may include a virtual contact center 16, which are locations where virtual world 14 users conduct business with each other. The virtual contact center 16 may also be any place, for example, a bank, grocery store, or library, where users interact with each other and with the virtual contact center 16. The virtual contact center 16 need not be limited to a three-dimensional virtual structure, such as building or office, but may be any location involving a point of sale or customer service transaction between users in the virtual world 14.
[0025] The avatar 22 represents the virtual image of the user, which may be
selected by the user before entering the virtual world 14. As the user navigates the virtual
world 14, the user's avatar 22 interacts with other users' avatars 22 and various virtual
features 28 of the virtual world 14.}
McGuire discloses;
initiating, by the personalized care agent application, a session with the UE and causing a personalized care agent interface to be displayed on the UE;
{[0026] The user may communicate with other users that he prefers those plants, he may attempt to purchase the plants from another virtual contact center 16 (not shown), or otherwise indicate that he prefers those plants to trigger a response from the server 12. The response from the server 12 may include establishing an environmental characteristic 20 related to the plants and sending the established environmental characteristic 20 to the database 18}.
McGuire disclose;
accessing, by the personalized care agent application over a backhaul channel, a network database that stores user-specific profile data;
{[0023] Continuing to refer to FIG. 1, the server 12 may further be in communication with a database 18. The database 18 may be a computer with a hard-drive or other storage device that can store or update graphical data. Although not shown in FIG. 1, in other embodiments, the database 18 may be integrated as part of the server 12. The database 18 may be directly connected to the server 12 or may be connected indirectly through an analog or digital network. The database 18 operates to store or update the one or more established environmental characteristics 20 based on a user’s interaction with the virtual world 14. For example, the one or more established environmental characteristics 20 may include, but are not limited to, avatars 22, colors 24, layouts 36, and virtual features 28 of the virtual world 14 that a user may select or prefer based on the user’s experience with the virtual world 14. For example, a user may prefer or select that the virtual contact center 16 have blue walls. These one or more established environmental characteristic 20 may then be stored in the database 18 in a file or table that stores the colors 24. The one or more established environmental characteristics 20 may also be updated if the user’s preference or selections with the virtual world 14 change. The server 12 may then store and access these established environmental characteristics 20 in real-time and dynamically as the user interacts with the virtual world 14, discussed below with reference to FIGS. 2-6.}
McGuire doesn’t explicitly disclose, however, Riahi, in a similar field of endeavor directed to automated customer service agents, teaches:
authenticating, by the personalized care agent application via the telecommunications network, a user identity of the UE;
{[0196] A customer may contact the contact center, for example, by using customer phone 10 to initiate a voice interaction with the contact center. The customer call goes over PSTN 14 and then by trunk line to switch 12, which routes the call to IVR server 34. In this example use scenario, for instance, the enterprise may have an existing IVR server 34 that serves as the first point of contact of every outside customer call, and may route calls to the automated agent 42 in appropriate circumstances, such as at the customer's request. The IVR server 34 may obtain the identity of the customer (for example, by having the customer enter an identification code, such as an account number). The IVR server 34 may also ask the customer if they would like to be transferred to the automated agent 42.}
Riahi discloses;
executing, by the personalized care agent application, a scripted dialog protocol via the personalized care agent interface and receiving user responses as input;
{[0117] In step 1830, a library of responses (for example, pre-defined answers) may be searched (for example, based on a search algorithm) to find the best fit to what was said or asked,}
Riahi discloses;
applying, by the personalized care agent application, at least one of a rule- based engine or a machine-learning model to the structured input and the user- specific profile data to determine whether a corresponding solution is available from the network database; and
{[0184] In one embodiment, the artificial intelligence engine module 1180 may be configured to learn a certain response in the context of the contact center by finding patterns in a stream of input to find a solution for a customer.}
Riahi discloses;
if a corresponding solution is available from the network database, communicating the solution to the UE;
{[0117] The search algorithm may be a pre-defined search algorithm for searching databases and returning relevant results as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art. In step 1840, the best fit answer is converted to speech (using, for example, the speech synthesis module 1170 of FIG. 14) and output to the customer.}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine/modify/adjust McGuire’s system for management of customer care agent application to include Riahi et al’s server, artificial intelligence and search algorithm to obtain the identity of the customer, search and find the best fit answers to what was asked, return relevant results from the search database, learn a certain response in the context of the contact center by finding patterns in a stream of input to find a solution for a customer using an artificial intelligence and search algorithm. See Riahi [0091, 0107, 0196, 0117 and 0184].
McGuire doesn’t explicitly disclose the following, however, Beaver discloses the inability of the IVA to resolve an issue requiring a human intervention; See [0037] [0068]
if a corresponding solution is unavailable from the network database,
[0037] At 240, the IVA 158 recognizes an intent which is indicated to pass the text conversation to the agent 155. Within the language model 120 used by the IVA 158 are particular intents that are to be handled by the human agent 152. For example, if the user 102 asks to file a complaint about a recent experience with the company, the concept of “complaint” would flag the text conversation to be continued by the human agent 152.
[0068] determining an intent of the text conversation; and passing the text conversation to an agent computing device when the IVA recognizes the intent indicates to pass the text conversation to a human agent.
Beaver discloses causing a human intervention by having the virtual agent request a live human agent to join the session; see [0038]; human response; See [0039]
causing a human intervention to direct the causing the personalized care agent to interact with the user by receiving instructions from a human expert for the personalized care agent avatar to convey to the UE and communicating, by the personalized care agent avatar, the solution to the UE based on the instructions from the human expert,
{[0038] the IVA 158 seamlessly passes control of the conversation over to its paired human agent 152 without indicating to the user 102 or the user computing device 105, or advising the user 102 or the user computing device 105, of this passing of control.
[0039] the human agent 152 then responds (using the agent computing device 155) directly to the user 102 (via the user computing device 105)}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine/modify/adjust McGuire’s system for management of customer care agent application to include Beaver et al’s human intervention, to provide insightful recommendations and/or supporting information. See Beaver [0037-0039] [0068]}
McGuire doesn’t explicitly disclose the following, however, Klein discloses the automated virtual agent can engage or join a live agent (human agent) in the customer interaction; and the human agent controls the avatar [0040]; on real-time; See [0020]
wherein the personalized care agent avatar maintains a consistent appearance and mannerisms during the human intervention such that the human intervention is provided through the personalized care agent avatar.
{[0020] An automated virtual agent can interact in real-time with a customer, intelligently route requests, as needed to a human agent}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine/modify/adjust McGuire’s system for management of customer care agent application to include Klein et al’s virtual agent acting in an advisory manner, to provide insightful recommendations and/or supporting information to the live agent. See Klein [0020] [0040]
As per claim 12;
The combination of McGuire, Beaver and Klein doesn’t explicitly disclose the following, however, Riahi discloses;
The method of claim 11, wherein causing the personalized care agent to interact with the user includes the personalized care agent using a scripted set of questions.
{[0006] As the cost of live agents may be significant, one method of improving the efficiency of the call center (while containing the cost of the live agents) is through techniques such as interactive voice response (IVR) technology, which can help offload some of the simpler tasks from live agents. With IVR, customer interactions are first broken down into a series of simple steps that may be delivered to a customer in an automated fashion, such as prerecorded scripts or multiple-choice menus on computer screens. This allows certain information (such as the nature of the problem, or an account number) to be obtained (for example, through a telephone keypad or a computer keyboard) before handing control over to a live agent.
[0117] In step 1830, a library of responses (for example, pre-defined answers) may be searched (for example, based on a search algorithm) to find the best fit to what was said or asked,}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine/modify/adjust McGuire’s system for management of customer care agent application to include Riahi et al’s personalized care agent interacting with the user includes the personalized care agent using a scripted set of questions since McGuire relates generally to virtual reality worlds, for creating, selecting, and adapting the environment of a virtual reality contact center using a dynamic user interface, establishing, by the telecommunications network, a wireless link between a user device (UE) and an access point, and rendering on the UE (See McGuire [0003, 0022, 0023 and 0025]). The combination would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify McGuire to include a scripted set of questions as taught by Riahi, to interact with the user, thereby improving the efficiency of the call center (while containing the cost of the live agents) {[0006 and 0117] of Riahi}.
As per claim 13;
The combination of McGuire, Riahi and Klein does not disclose the following; however, Beaver discloses causing a human intervention by having the virtual agent request a live human agent to join the session; see [0038]; human response; See [0039]
The method of claim 12, wherein the human intervention occurs following an identification that the scripted set of questions does not identify the first user concern.
{[0038] the IVA 158 seamlessly passes control of the conversation over to its paired human agent 152 without indicating to the user 102 or the user computing device 105, or advising the user 102 or the user computing device 105, of this passing of control.
[0039] the human agent 152 then responds (using the agent computing device 155) directly to the user 102 (via the user computing device 105)}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine/modify/adjust the combination of McGuire, Riahi and Klein’s system for management of customer care agent application to include Beaver et al’s human intervention, to provide insightful recommendations and/or supporting information. See Beaver [0037-0039] [0068]
As per claim 14;
McGuire discloses;
The method of claim 11, wherein the network database includes information about the user's preferences, payment information, account information, historical information, demographics, UE device information, and geographical location.
{[0023] The database 18 operates to store or update the one or more established environmental characteristics 20 based on a user's interaction with the virtual world 14. For example, the one or more established environmental characteristics 20 may include, but are not limited to, avatars 22, colors 24, layouts 36, and virtual features 28 of the virtual world 14 that a user may select or prefer based on the user's experience with the virtual world 14}
As per claim 15;
The combination of McGuire, Beaver and Klein doesn’t explicitly disclose the following, however, Riahi discloses;
The method of claim 11, further comprising using a machine learning algorithm to identify the first user concern.
{[0184] In one embodiment, the artificial intelligence engine module 1180 may be configured to learn a certain response in the context of the contact center by finding patterns in a stream of input to find a solution for a customer.}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine/modify/adjust the combination of McGuire, Beaver and Klein’s system for management of customer care agent application to include Riahi et al’s machine learning algorithm to identify the first user concern, since McGuire relates generally to virtual reality worlds, for creating, selecting, and adapting the environment of a virtual reality contact center using a dynamic user interface, establishing, by the telecommunications network, a wireless link between a user device (UE) and an access point, and rendering on the UE (See McGuire [0003, 0022, 0023 and 0025]). The combination would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify McGuire, Beaver and Klein to include an artificial intelligence to learn a certain response in the context of the contact center by finding patterns in a stream of input to find a solution for a customer. See {[0184] of Riahi}.
As per claim 17;
McGuire discloses;
A system for managing a personalized virtual care agent application in a telecommunications network, the system comprising; one or more processors; and one or more computer storage hardware devices storing computer-usable instructions that, when used by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
{[0039] A typical combination of hardware and software could be a specialized or general purpose computer system having one or more processing elements and a computer program stored on a storage medium that, when loaded and executed, controls the computer system such that it carries out the methods described herein. The present invention can also be embedded in a computer program product, which comprises all the features enabling the implementation of the methods described herein, and which, when loaded in a computing system is able to carry out these methods. Storage medium refers to any volatile or non-volatile storage device.}
McGuire discloses;
cause the system to host a personalized care agent application at a server associated with an access point of the telecommunications network, receive, from a user device (UE) over a wireless link, a request to access the personalized care agent application;
{[0022] Referring now to the drawings in which like reference designators refer to like elements, there is shown in FIG. 1 a block diagram of an exemplary embodiment of the dynamic virtual contact system in accordance with the principals of the present invention and designated generally as "10". The system 10 may include a server 12 inoperative communication with the various components of the invention discussed herein. The server 12 may be a central processing using such as computer, or any device that provides services such as accessing data files, programs, and peripheral devices. The server 12 may be in communication with a virtual world 14, which may be any two or three dimensional social or economic interface that allows virtual world 14 users to interact with each other. Virtual worlds 14 may exist and operate independently on one or more networks. It is therefore contemplated that the server 12 may communicate independently to separately implement each virtual world 14 or collectively to two or more virtual worlds 14. The virtual world 14 may include a virtual contact center 16, which are locations where virtual world 14 users conduct business with each other. The virtual contact center 16 may also be any place, for example, a bank, grocery store, or library, where users interact with each other and with the virtual contact center 16. The virtual contact center 16 need not be limited to a three-dimensional virtual structure, such as building or office, but may be any location involving a point of sale or customer service transaction between users in the virtual world 14.
[0025] The avatar 22 represents the virtual image of the user, which may be
selected by the user before entering the virtual world 14. As the user navigates the virtual
world 14, the user's avatar 22 interacts with other users' avatars 22 and various virtual
features 28 of the virtual world 14.}
McGuire discloses;
initiate, by the personalized care agent application, a session with the UE and cause a virtual care agent interface to be rendered on the UE,
{[0025] Operation of the present invention is described with reference to FIGS. 2-4. FIG. 2 is an illustration of an exemplary avatar 22 in the virtual world 14. The avatar 22 represents the virtual image of the user, which may be selected by the user before entering the virtual world 14. As the user navigates the virtual world 14, the user's avatar 22 interacts with other users' avatars 22 and various virtual features 28 of the virtual world 14. In the example shown in FIG. 2, an avatar 22 is seen navigating the virtual world 14 proximate a virtual contact center 16.}
McGuire discloses;
access, by the personalized care agent application over a backhaul channel, a network database that stores user-specific profile data,
{[0023] Continuing to refer to FIG. 1, the server 12 may further be in communication with a database 18. The database 18 may be a computer with a hard-drive or other storage device that can store or update graphical data. Although not shown in FIG. 1, in other embodiments, the database 18 may be integrated as part of the server 12. The database 18 may be directly connected to the server 12 or may be connected indirectly through an analog or digital network. The database 18 operates to store or update the one or more established environmental characteristics 20 based on a user’s interaction with the virtual world 14. For example, the one or more established environmental characteristics 20 may include, but are not limited to, avatars 22, colors 24, layouts 36, and virtual features 28 of the virtual world 14 that a user may select or prefer based on the user’s experience with the virtual world 14. For example, a user may prefer or select that the virtual contact center 16 have blue walls. These one or more established environmental characteristic 20 may then be stored in the database 18 in a file or table that stores the colors 24. The one or more established environmental characteristics 20 may also be updated if the user’s preference or selections with the virtual world 14 change. The server 12 may then store and access these established environmental characteristics 20 in real-time and dynamically as the user interacts with the virtual world 14, discussed below with reference to FIGS. 2-6.}
The combination of McGuire, Beaver and Klein doesn’t explicitly disclose the following, however, Riahi, in a similar field of endeavor directed to automated customer service agents, teaches:
authenticate, by the personalized care agent application via the telecommunications network, a user identity of the UE;
{[0196] A customer may contact the contact center, for example, by using customer phone 10 to initiate a voice interaction with the contact center. The customer call goes over PSTN 14 and then by trunk line to switch 12, which routes the call to IVR server 34. In this example use scenario, for instance, the enterprise may have an existing IVR server 34 that serves as the first point of contact of every outside customer call, and may route calls to the automated agent 42 in appropriate circumstances, such as at the customer's request. The IVR server 34 may obtain the identity of the customer (for example, by having the customer enter an identification code, such as an account number). The IVR server 34 may also ask the customer if they would like to be transferred to the automated agent 42.}
Riahi discloses;
execute, by the personalized care agent application, a scripted dialog protocol via the virtual care agent interface and receive user responses as structured input,
{[0117] In step 1830, a library of responses (for example, pre-defined answers) may be searched (for example, based on a search algorithm) to find the best fit to what was said or asked, etc. The library of responses, for example, may be part of the collaborative knowledge base 250, and cross-indexed or arranged with corresponding questions or statements (for example, a library of questions) to which they may pertain. In one embodiment, the collaborative knowledge base 250 is dynamic, growing and/or refining its library of statements, library of questions, or the relationships between the two libraries at the direction of the knowledge transfer interface 260. The search algorithm may be a pre-defined search algorithm for searching databases and returning relevant results as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art. In step 1840, the best fit answer is converted to speech (using, for example, the speech synthesis module 1170 of FIG. 14) and output to the customer.}
Riahi discloses;
apply, by the personalized care agent application, at least one of a rule-based engine or a machine-learning model to the structured input and the user-specific profile data to classify the session into a service category and to determine whether a corresponding solution is available from the network database; [[and]]
{[0184] In one embodiment, the artificial intelligence engine module 1180 may be configured to learn a certain response in the context of the contact center by finding patterns in a stream of input to find a solution for a customer.}
Riahi discloses;
if a corresponding solution is available from the network database, communicating the solution to the UE; and
{[0117] The search algorithm may be a pre-defined search algorithm for searching databases and returning relevant results as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art. In step 1840, the best fit answer is converted to speech (using, for example, the speech synthesis module 1170 of FIG. 14) and output to the customer.}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine/modify/adjust McGuire’s system for management of customer care agent application to include Riahi et al’s server, artificial intelligence and search algorithm to obtain the identity of the customer, search and find the best fit answers to what was asked, return relevant results from the search database, learn a certain response in the context of the contact center by finding patterns in a stream of input to find a solution for a customer using an artificial intelligence and search algorithm. See Riahi [0091, 0107, 0196, 0117 and 0184].
McGuire doesn’t explicitly disclose the following, however, Beaver discloses the inability of the IVA to resolve an issue requiring a human intervention; See [0037] [0068]
if a corresponding solution is unavailable from the network database,
{[0037] At 240, the IVA 158 recognizes an intent which is indicated to pass the text conversation to the agent 155. Within the language model 120 used by the IVA 158 are particular intents that are to be handled by the human agent 152. For example, if the user 102 asks to file a complaint about a recent experience with the company, the concept of “complaint” would flag the text conversation to be continued by the human agent 152.
[0068] determining an intent of the text conversation; and passing the text conversation to an agent computing device when the IVA recognizes the intent indicates to pass the text conversation to a human agent.
Beaver discloses causing a human intervention by having the virtual agent request a live human agent to join the session; see [0038]; human response; See [0039]
causing a human intervention to direct the personalized care agent to interact with the user by receiving instructions from a human expert for the personalized care agent avatar to convey to the UE and communicating, by the personalized care agent avatar, the solution to the UE based on the instructions from the human expert,
{[0038] the IVA 158 seamlessly passes control of the conversation over to its paired human agent 152 without indicating to the user 102 or the user computing device 105, or advising the user 102 or the user computing device 105, of this passing of control.
[0039] the human agent 152 then responds (using the agent computing device 155) directly to the user 102 (via the user computing device 105)}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine/modify/adjust McGuire’s system for management of customer care agent application to include Beaver et al’s human intervention, to provide insightful recommendations and/or supporting information. See Beaver [0037-0039] [0068]
McGuire doesn’t explicitly disclose the following, however, Klein discloses the automated virtual agent can engage or join a live agent (human agent) in the customer interaction; and the human agent controls the avatar [0040]; on real-time; See [0020]
wherein the personalized care agent avatar maintains a consistent appearance and mannerisms during the human interaction such that the human intervention is provided through the personalized care agent avatar.
{[0020] An automated virtual agent can interact in real-time with a customer, intelligently route requests, as needed to a human agent}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine/modify/adjust McGuire’s system for management of customer care agent application to include Klein et al’s virtual agent acting in an advisory manner, to provide insightful recommendations and/or supporting information to the live agent. See Klein [0020] [0040]
As per claim 18;
The combination of McGuire, Beaver and Klein doesn’t explicitly disclose the following, however, Riahi discloses;
The system of claim 17, wherein the human intervention occurs following an identification that the scripted set of questions does not identify the first user concern.
{[0107] For instance, the emotion and mood detection module 230 may determine that the customer is angry (for example, from a loud voice, profane language, and/or clenched teeth). From this detection, the automated agent, for example, may direct the customer to a live agent, such as a live agent that is skilled with dealing with angry customers (e.g., a live agent with good anger management skills). More advanced processing may take specifics of the customer into account, e.g., to recognize irony or sarcasm, or to detect the actual frustration level of the customer. For instance, based on previous interactions with the customer, as recorded in the customer profile 150, the customer may be significantly more likely than the general population to use irony or sarcasm, or the customer may exhibit varying degrees of frustration or anger when interacting with the contact center.
[0091] For instance, the automated agent may assign live agents to the customer based on factors such as the customer's preferred soft skills in live agents, the customer's current mood, the customer's previous experiences with specific live agents, live agent grade (e.g., a live agent at a sufficient level to be authorized to make decisions desired by the customer), etc.}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine/modify/adjust the combination of McGuire, Beaver and Klein’s system for management of customer care agent application to include Riahi et al’s personalized care agent interacting with the user includes the personalized care agent using a scripted set of questions since McGuire relates generally to virtual reality worlds, for creating, selecting, and adapting the environment of a virtual reality contact center using a dynamic user interface, establishing, by the telecommunications network, a wireless link between a user device (UE) and an access point, and rendering on the UE (See McGuire [0003, 0022, 0023 and 0025]). The combination would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify McGuire to include a scripted set of questions as taught by Riahi, to interact with the user, thereby improving the efficiency of the call center (while containing the cost of the live agents) {[0091 and 0107] of Riahi}.
As per claim 19;
McGuire discloses;
The system of claim 17, wherein the network database includes information about the user's preferences, payment information, account information, historical information, demographics, UE device information, and geographical location.
{[0023] The database 18 operates to store or update the one or more established environmental characteristics 20 based on a user's interaction with the virtual world 14. For example, the one or more established environmental characteristics 20 may include, but are not limited to, avatars 22, colors 24, layouts 36, and virtual features 28 of the virtual world 14 that a user may select or prefer based on the user's experience with the virtual world 14}.
As per claim 20;
The combination of McGuire, Beaver and Klein doesn’t explicitly disclose the following, however, Riahi discloses;
The system of claim 17, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to use a machine learning algorithm to identify the first user concern based on one or more interactions between the user and the personalized care agent.
{[0184] In one embodiment, the artificial intelligence engine module 1180 may be configured to learn a certain response in the context of the contact center by finding patterns in a stream of input to find a solution for a customer.
[0189] In one embodiment, the intelligent automated agent may be configured as a part of an automated online assistant that uses artificial intelligence to provide customer service or other assistance on, for example, a website. Such an assistant, for example, may be composed of a dialog system, an avatar, and an expert system to provide specific expertise to the customer.}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine/modify/adjust the combination of McGuire, Beaver and Klein’s system for management of customer care agent application to include Riahi et al’s one or more processors are further configured to use a machine learning algorithm to identify the first user concern based on one or more interactions between the user and the personalized care agent since McGuire relates generally to virtual reality worlds, for creating, selecting, and adapting the environment of a virtual reality contact center using a dynamic user interface, establishing, by the telecommunications network, a wireless link between a user device (UE) and an access point, and rendering on the UE (See McGuire [0003, 0022, 0023 and 0025]). The combination would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify McGuire to include an artificial intelligence engine module as taught by Riahi, to learn a certain response in the context of the user to enable interacting with the user and customer service {[0184 and 0189] of Riahi}.
Claim(s) 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGuire et al [US 2010/013,1876 A1] hereafter McGuire in view of Riahi et al [US 2017/000,6161 A9] hereafter Riahi, in view of Beaver et al [US 2020/010,6881 A1], hereafter Beaver; in view of Klein et al [US 2018/012,4245 A1], hereafter Klein, in further view of Bruce et al [US2011/0075819] hereafter Bruce.
As per claim 2;
The combination of McGuire, Riahi, Beaver and Klein does not disclose the following limitations. However, Bruce does disclose the following limitations:
The method of claim 1, wherein the personalized care agent application exists within a metaverse.
{[0036] In embodiments, such virtual world activities may be rendered using one or more avatars, which are configured to represent customers or sales assistants involved in the activities. The avatars may be rendered in various sizes, species, and/or colors. By undertaking desired activities using avatars, users can quickly and easily visualize and monitor the progress of those activities.}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine/modify/adjust the combination of McGuire, Riahi, Beaver and Kleins’s system for management of customer care agent application to include Bruce et al’s personalized care agent application existing within a metaverse since McGuire, Riahi, Beaver and Klein relates generally to virtual reality worlds, for creating, selecting, and adapting the environment of a virtual reality contact center using a dynamic user interface, establishing, by the telecommunications network, a wireless link between a user device (UE) and an access point, and rendering on the UE (See McGuire [0003, 0022, 0023 and 0025]). The combination would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify McGuire, Riahi, Beaver and Klein to include a virtual access environment as taught by Bruce, to control the personalized care agent within a virtual universe, thereby improving customer and sales agents’ interaction {[0036]} of Bruce.
As per claim 3;
The combination of McGuire, Riahi, Beaver and Klein does not disclose the following limitations. However, Bruce does disclose the following limitations:
The method of claim 1, wherein the authenticating of the user requires the user to provide a set of user credentials to the personalized care agent application.
{[0042] A call management component 305 manages the overall distribution and handling of customer calls. The Voice Response with Virtual World Interface 306 component prompts customers with questions about themselves and support subject matter. It also performs
voice recognition functions, and routes a customer call to appropriate procedures and support
personnel in the center 300.}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine/modify/adjust the combination McGuire, Riahi, Beaver and Klein’s system for management of customer care agent application to include Bruce et al’s authenticating the user to provide a set of user credentials to the personalized care agent application since McGuire, Riahi and Beaver Klein relates generally to virtual reality worlds, for creating, selecting, and adapting the environment of a virtual reality contact center using a dynamic user interface, establishing, by the telecommunications network, a wireless link between a user device (UE) and an access point, and rendering on the UE (See McGuire [0003, 0022, 0023 and 0025]). The combination would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify McGuire, Riahi, Beaver and Klein to include the inclusion of authentication software such as a voice recognition as taught by Bruce, to identify and authenticate user credentials [0042] of Bruce.
Response to Arguments
In response to the argument filled July 01, 2026 on pages 9 – 14 regarding the 103 rejections, the Examiner Respectfully disagree.
Applicant argues that the prior art of record fails to teach the amended claims specifically the claim limitations “if the personalized care agent application is unable to identify the solution to the first user concern, causing a human intervention to direct the personalized care agent avatar to interact with the user by receiving instructions from a human expert for the personalized care agent avatar to convey to the UE and communicating, by the personalized care agent avatar, the solution to the UE based on the instructions from the human expert, "and further recites that "the personalized care agent avatar maintains a consistent appearance and mannerisms during the human intervention such that the human intervention is provided through the personalized care agent avatar.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to the amended claims, Examiner includes the prior art of Beaver et al to teach “care agent avatar to interact with the user by receiving instructions from a human expert for the personalized care agent avatar to convey to the UE and communicating the solution to the UE based on the instructions from the human expert, See [0037-0039] [0068]
Klein discloses the human intervention is provided through the personalized care agent avatar; See [0020] [0040].
In terms of the arguments, McGuire, Riahi, Beaver, Klein and Bruce does teach specific limitations as amended.
Based on the considered amendments cited, 35 USC 103 references have been utilized to teach the claimed invention (claims 1, 2-8, 11-15, 17-20).
Lacking any further argument, claims 1, 2-8, 11-15, 17-20 are maintaining the 35 USC 103 rejection, as considered above in light of the amended claim limitation above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Cordell et al; [US 2020/036,6790 A1], discloses a customer care system based on a first human-spoken language. Further, the configuration receives, at an automated system, a request from a user through a dedicated communication channel for a service, the request being in a second human-spoken language. Moreover, the configuration determines, with the processor, an identity of the second human-spoken language based on the dedicated communication channel. The configuration also determines, with the processor, that the automated system is unable to fulfill the request. Additionally, the configuration transitions, with the processor, the request from the automated system to a simulated live agent engine that generates a simulated live agent session. The simulated live agent engine sends the request to a machine interpreter that translates the request into the first human-spoken language.
D. L. Hudson and M. E. Cohen, "Intelligent Agent Model for Remote Support of Rural Healthcare for the Elderly," 2006 International Conference of the IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society, New York, NY, USA, 2006, pp. 6332-6335,
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to VICTOR ESONU whose telephone number is (571)272 -4883. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 9:00 am - 5pm.
a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is
encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Sarah Monfeldt can be reached on (571) 270-1833. The fax phone number for the
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/VICTOR ESONU/
Examiner, Art Unit 3629
/SARAH M MONFELDT/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3629