DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDSes filed 01/03/23 and 8/31/23 have both been considered and placed of record. The initialed copies are attached herewith.
Specification
The disclosure should be carefully reviewed to ensure that any and all grammatical, idiomatic, and spelling or other minor errors are corrected. For example, the abstract should avoid using legal phraseology such as “comprising” often used in patent claims.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. In addition, legal phraseology such as “comprising” should be avoided in the title.
Drawings
The drawings filed 1/3/23 have no defects.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-14 and 15-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Re claims 1 and 15, the label “n1” in the limitation “first node n1” in the penultimate line should be deleted for consistency with the other claims because the same limitation “first node” in claim 8 does not have the label. Moreover, the limitation “a second node” does not have the label in the same set of claims.
Re claims 2-14 and 16-20, they are objected for depending directly or indirectly on objected claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claim 1, the limitation “wireless charging transmitter” on line 3 is confusing because the same limitation has already introduced in line 2. Adding the article “the” to said limitation would resolve the issue.
Re claims 2-5, they are indefinite for depending directly or indirectly to rejected claims.
Re claim 6, the limitation “the second ac signal is a same signal as the first ac signal” on the last line is confusing because if the ac signal in the first node is the first ac signal, the second ac signal received in the second node that is different from the first node, then the first ac signal and the second ac signal are not same.
Re claim 7, the claim is indefinite for depending on indefinite claim 1.
Re claim 8, the claim starts out with “configured to” instead of the standard claim phraseology such as “comprising,” “consisting,” or “including.” The phrase “configured to…” is merely expressed an intended use and that other limitations including the “wireless charging transmitter” and the “first capacitor” are not positively claimed. Moreover, it is unclear where the common voltage is generated from (which seems to be an important feature of the wireless charging receiver; other claims have the common voltage generated from the dc-dc converter).
Re claims 9-14, they are indefinite for depending directly or indirectly on indefinite claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kohout (US 2015/0098162).
Re claim 1, the reference discloses, inter alia, a wireless charging receiver 79 configured to wirelessly receive electrical power from a wireless charging transmitter 65, the wireless charging receiver 79 comprising: an inductor 74 configured to be inductively coupled to wireless charging transmitter 65 (via 64) (fig 2); a rectifier 140 connected to the inductor 74 (fig 3), the rectifier 140 configured to rectify a signal received from the inductor (fig 3); a DC-DC converter configured to convert a DC signal received from the rectifier (fig 3, para 48: five-volt load output circuit 180 is connected to the rectified output terminal 115 and a 5V-load output terminal 118); a switching block configured to receive a common voltage generated from the DC- DC converter and the switching block including a first switch (fig 6, para 62: bootstrap 1309 (fig 6 shows as 1300) shows diode 132 and first/second switch 135/136 receiving the 5V common voltage); and a first capacitor 105 configured to receive the common voltage (the 5V) from the switching block (1300 of fig 6 or 1309 in para 62), the first capacitor 105 connected to the inductor 74 at a first node n1 (fig 6: bottom line of inductor 74), wherein the common voltage is not zero (fig 6: the 5V).
Re claim 2, the reference further discloses a second capacitor 106 connected to the inductor 74, the second capacitor further connected to a second node that is different from the first node (fig 6: second capacitor 106 connected to the top line while the first capacitor 105 connected to the bottom line, both connected at different nodes), wherein the switching block further includes a second switch 136, wherein the second capacitor is connected to the second switch 136, and wherein the second switch 136 is configured to forward the common voltage to the second capacitor 136 (fig 6).
Re claim 3, the reference further discloses a receive controller 1501 configured to control the switch block (fig 6, para 62: A signal OVP 129 is asserted when the OVP control circuit 1501 detects overvoltage…also turns off bootstrap switches 135,136).
Re claim 4, the reference further discloses the receive controller 1501 is configured to control the common voltage (the 5V) to be forwarded to the first capacitor 105 from a first time period to a second time period as the first switch 135 is closed from the first time period to the second time period (fig 6, para 62: signal OVP 129 drives the bootstrap switches 135, 136. When signal OVP 129 is asserted, it turns on switches 121, 122… is also turned off switches 135, 136… When signal OVP 129 is deasserted, bootstrap switches 135, 136 are turned on).
Re claim 7, the reference further discloses the first switch 135 is a transistor (fig 6).
Re claim 15, the reference discloses a wireless charging system (fig 2), inter alia, a wireless charging transmitter 65 configured to generate charging electrical power; and a wireless charging receiver 79 configured to wirelessly receive the charging electrical power from the wireless charging transmitter 65, wherein the wireless charging receiver 79 includes an inductor 74 inductively coupled to the wireless charging transmitter 65, a rectifier 140 (fig 3) connected to the inductor 74, the rectifier configured to rectify a signal received from the inductor (fig 3), a DC-DC converter configured to convert a DC signal received from the rectifier (fig 3, para 48: five-volt load output circuit 180 is connected to the rectified output terminal 115 and a 5V-load output terminal 118), a switching block configured to receive a common voltage generated from the DC-DC converter and the switching block including a first switch (fig 6, para 62: bootstrap 1309 (fig 6 shows as 1300) shows diode 132 and first/second switch 135/136 receiving the 5V common voltage), and a first capacitor 105 configured to receive the common voltage (the 5V) from the switching block (1300 of fig 6 or 1309 in para 62), the first capacitor 105 connected to the inductor 74 at a first node n1 (fig 6: bottom line of inductor 74), wherein the common voltage is not zero (fig 6: the 5V).
Re claim 16, the reference further discloses a second capacitor 106 connected to the inductor 74, the second capacitor further connected to a second node that is different from the first node (fig 6: second capacitor 106 connected to the top line while the first capacitor 105 connected to the bottom line, both connected at different nodes), wherein the switching block further includes a second switch 136, wherein the second capacitor is connected to the second switch 136, and wherein the second switch 136 is configured to forward the common voltage to the second capacitor 136 (fig 6).
Re claim 17, the reference further discloses a receive controller 1501 configured to control the switch block (fig 6, para 62: A signal OVP 129 is asserted when the OVP control circuit 1501 detects overvoltage…also turns off bootstrap switches 135,136).
Re claim 18, the reference further discloses the receive controller 1501 is configured to control the common voltage (the 5V) to be forwarded to the first capacitor 105 from a first time period to a second time period as the first switch 135 is closed from the first time period to the second time period (fig 6, para 62: signal OVP 129 drives the bootstrap switches 135, 136. When signal OVP 129 is asserted, it turns on switches 121, 122… is also turned off switches 135, 136… When signal OVP 129 is deasserted, bootstrap switches 135, 136 are turned on).
Re claim 20, the reference further discloses the first switch 135 is a transistor (fig 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohout (US 2015/0098162).
Re claims 5 and 19, the reference discloses the signal at the first node is a first ac signal (fig 6: capacitor 105 intersects inductor 74). However, the reference is silent on the specific magnitude of the common voltage being ½ the maximum value of the first ac signal. Official notice is taken that selecting various voltage magnitudes from among a plural voltage magnitudes would allow for a well-tuned system. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected any appropriate value including the claimed value, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Re claim 6, the reference discloses the signal at the first node is a first ac signal (fig 6: capacitor 105 intersects inductor 74).
The reference is silent on the specific magnitude of the common voltage being ½ the maximum value of the first ac signal. Official notice is taken that selecting various voltage magnitudes from among a plural voltage magnitudes would allow for a well-tuned system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected any appropriate value including the claimed value, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
The reference is further silent on having the second ac signal received at the second node is different from the first node; and the second ac signal is same as the first ac signal. Official notice is taken that selecting various ac signals (same or different) from among a plurality of ac signal values would allow for a better interacting between the transmitter and receiver to reduce noise. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected any appropriate value including the claimed value, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-14 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Art made of record fails to disclose or suggest at least a wireless charging receiver, among other claimed allowable features, transmitting the ac signal, of which amplitude is modulated, to the wireless charging transmitter; and removing noise of an audible frequency band that is included in the ac signal of which amplitude is modulated.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2013/0147279, US 2021/0184502 and US 2023/0283115 all teach a wireless power system with rectification and improved modulation.
KR 10-2023-0038572 teaches multiple transmitters pairing up with multiple receivers to ensure proper frequency matching.
The Examiner’s SPE is Drew Dunn and he can be reached at 571.272.2312. The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571.273.8300.
/EDWARD TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 571.272.2087