Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, 11-14, 17 , and 19 -20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Truebenbach (WO 2016049301 A1). Regarding claim 1, Truebenbach discloses a gripper structure as claimed in claim 1, comprising: a plurality of iterations of a pattern arranged in a series of layers (see Fig. 6) , the series of layers arranged in a progression in which each successive layer is adjacent a respective preceding layer (see Fig. 6) , the series of layers comprising: an anchor layer comprising a single shape of the pattern (see annotated Fig. 6 below) ; at least one intermediate layer comprising a plurality of shapes that are at least partial copies of the single shape and are more numerous and smaller in at least one dimension than shapes in its preceding layer (see annotated Fig. 6 below) ; a base layer comprising at least partial copies of the single shape and the most shapes and smallest shapes in at least one dimension of shapes in the series of layers (see annotated Fig. 6 below) ; a plurality of joints (35, 36) distributed among the series of layers to connect each layer in the series of layers to its preceding layer; and an adhesion promoting mechanism (vacuum ports 51, 52; see Fig. 6) on each shape of the base layer, wherein the gripper structure is configured to conform to a surface of an object to enhance contact area between the object and each adhesion promoting mechanism (see Page 15, lines 5-10). Regarding claim 2, Truebenbach discloses a gripper structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the adhesion promoting mechanism is a vacuum, electrostatic, wetting, or shear-based adhesion promotion mechanism (see Page 15, lines 5-10). Regarding claim 3, Truebenbach discloses a gripper structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the shapes are three-dimensional plates (see Fig. 6). Regarding claim 6, Truebenbach discloses a gripper structure as claimed in claim 3, wherein the adhesion promoting mechanism is a shear-based adhesion promotion mechanism (see Page 13, lines 15-20 ; actuating mechanism to generate shear force ). Regarding claim 7, Truebenbach discloses a gripper structure as claimed in claim 6, wherein the base layer comprises a plurality of tensioning elements (see Page 13, lines 15-20 ; actuating mechanism to generate tension ) , each tensioning element configured to generate a pulling force between a pair of plates in the base layer (see Page 13, lines 15-20). Regarding claim 8, Truebenbach discloses a gripper structure as claimed in claim 6 , wherein each plate in the base layer of the series of layers comprises an internal mechanism configured to split each plate to generate shear forces (see Page 13, lines 15-20 ; actuating mechanism to generate shear force ). Regarding claim 9, Truebenbach discloses a gripper structure as claimed in claim 3, wherein the three-dimensional plates comprise polygon plates, polygonal pyramids, or truncated pyramids (see Fig. 6). Regarding claim 11, Truebenbach discloses a gripper structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the pattern is a fractal pattern (see annotated Fig. 5 below). Regarding claim 12, Truebenbach discloses a gripper structure as claimed in claim 11, wherein each shape comprises two or more line segments and wherein each line segment in a successive iteration is less than half of a length of each line segment in an iteration of the preceding layer (see annotated Fig. 5 below). Regarding claim 13, Truebenbach discloses a system as claimed in claim 11, wherein the fractal pattern is an H-fractal pattern (see annotated Fig. 5 below). Regarding claim 14, Truebenbach discloses a system as claimed in claim 13, wherein the plurality of joints comprises a plurality of discrete rotational joints (see Page 13, lines 5-10). Regarding claim 17, Truebenbach discloses a system as claimed in claim 17, comprising: a sub-assembly for a gripper structure (see Fig. 6) , the subassembly comprising: a plurality of iterations of a pattern arranged in a series of layers (see Fig. 6) , the series of layers arranged in a progression in which each successive layer is adjacent a respective preceding layer (see Fig. 6) , the series of layers comprising: an anchor layer comprising a single shape of the pattern (see annotated Fig. 6 below) ; at least one intermediate layer comprising a plurality of shapes that are at least partial copies of the single shape and are more numerous and smaller in at least one dimension than shapes in its preceding layer (see annotated Fig. 6 below) ; a base layer comprising at least partial copies of the single shape and the most shapes and smallest shapes in at least one dimension of shapes in the series of layers (see annotated Fig. 6 below) , each shape of the base layer configured to receive an adhesion promotion mechanism (vacuum ports 51, 52; see Fig. 6) ; and a plurality of joints (35, 36; see Fig. 5) distributed among the series of layers to connect each layer in the series of layers to its preceding layer. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim (s) 4-5 , 10 and 18 -20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truebenbach (WO 2016049301 A1) in view of Scott (US 20070282311 A1). Regarding claim 4, Truebenbach discloses a system as claimed in claim 1. Truebenbach fails to disclose wherein the plurality of joints comprises a plurality of spherical joints, each spherical joint resistant to tension and compression and configured to bend in two dimensions. However, Scott teaches a multi-jointed arm wherein the plurality of joints comprises a plurality of spherical joints (see Para. 0008) , each spherical joint resistant to tension and compression and configured to bend in two dimensions (see Para. 0008). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce the plurality of joints comprises a plurality of spherical joints, each spherical joint resistant to tension and compression and configured to bend in two dimensions on the system of Truebenbach as taught by Scott in order to provide consistent holding power (see Para. 0006). Regarding claim 5, Truebenbach in view of Scott, discloses a system as claimed in claim 4. Truebenbach fails to disclose wherein each spherical joint comprises a ball and socket joint, a universal joint, or a compliant mechanism. However, Scott teaches a multi-jointed arm wherein each spherical joint comprises a ball and socket joint, a universal joint, or a compliant mechanism (see Para. 0008). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein each spherical joint comprises a ball and socket joint, a universal joint, or a compliant mechanism on the system of Truebenbach as taught by Scott in order to provide consistent holding power (see Para. 0006). Regarding claim 10, Truebenbach discloses a system as claimed in claim 1. Truebenbach fails to disclose wherein the plurality of joints are configured to lock in place. However, Scott teaches a multi-jointed arm wherein the plurality of joints are configured to lock in place (see Para. 0008). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the plurality of joints are configured to lock in place on the system of Truebenbach as taught by Scott in order to provide consistent holding power (see Para. 0006). Regarding claim 18, Truebenbach discloses a method as claimed in claim 18, comprising: attaching a gripper structure to an object (see Page 7, lines 1-10) , the gripper structure comprising a plurality of iterations of a pattern (see Fig. 5) and a plurality of joints (35, 36; see Fig. 5) to connect each iteration to a previous iteration of the pattern (see Fig. 5) ; conforming the gripper structure to a shape of the object to enhance contact area between the object and each adhesion promoting mechanism of a base layer of the plurality of iterations (see Page 7, lines 1-10) ; and lifting the object (see Page 7, lines 1-10). Truebenbach fails to disclose wherein locking each joint of the plurality of joints in place . However, Scott teaches a multi-jointed arm wherein locking each joint of the plurality of joints in place (see Para. 0008). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein locking each joint of the plurality of joints in place on the system of Truebenbach as taught by Scott in order to provide consistent holding power (see Para. 0006). Regarding claim 19, Truebenbach discloses a method as claimed in claim 18, further comprising activating each adhesion promoting mechanism of the base layer (see Page 3, lines 15-20). Regarding claim 20, Truebenbach discloses a method as claimed in claim 18, wherein activating each adhesion promotion mechanism comprises applying shear forces to each adhesion promotion mechanism (see Page 13, lines 15-20 ; actuating mechanism to generate shear force ). Claim (s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truebenbach (WO 2016049301 A1) in view of Yun (KR 102190455 B1). Regarding claim 15, Truebenbach discloses the system as claimed in claim 1. Truebenbach fails to disclose wherein the plurality of joints comprises a plurality of sensorized joints, each sensorized joint of the plurality of sensorized joints configured to measure a change of an angle associated with each sensorized joint. However, Yun teaches a robot joint apparatus wherein plurality of joints comprises a plurality of sensorized joints, each sensorized joint of the plurality of sensorized joints configured to measure a change of an angle associated with each sensorized joint (see Abstract). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the plurality of joints comprises a plurality of sensorized joints, each sensorized joint of the plurality of sensorized joints configured to measure a change of an angle associated with each sensorized joint on the system of Truebenbach as taught by Yun in order to measure a rotation angle of the links (see Abstract). Claim (s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truebenbach (WO 2016049301 A1) in view of Rose (US 20190001492 A1). Regarding claim 16, Truebenbach discloses the system as claimed in claim 1. Truebenbach fails to disclose a system, further comprising one or more strain sensors. However, Rose teaches a system, further comprising one or more strain sensors (see Para. 0301). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce a system, further comprising one or more strain sensors on the system of Truebenbach as taught by Rose in order to measure pressure or shear stress (see Para. 0301). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT REHMAN A QURESHI whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-6262 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT 7:00am-5:00pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Robert Hodge can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-2097 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /REHMAN A QURESHI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3654 /ROBERT W HODGE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654