DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 20 and 22 are pending in this application and have been given the foreign priority date of 01/06/2022 in accordance with the applicant’s claim for foreign priority. Claims 1, 20 and 22 have been amended, and claims 4, 10-19, 21 and 23 have been canceled.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/03/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. 101
The applicant’s arguments (See Remarks filed 06/09/2026) regarding the rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered by the examiner and are not persuasive. The examiner disagrees that the addition of analysis of pixels on the line segments to the claims as argued by the applicant (See Remarks filed 02/06/2026) reflect a particular solution to the problem distinguishing it from an abstract idea or mental process, nor does it meaningfully translate the claim into practical application.
Taking claim 1 as example, the claim recites;
“An information processing apparatus for inspecting a distribution of colors of a surface of a subject to be inspected, comprising (additional element of an apparatus which is recited with a high level of generality):
one or more memories storing instructions; (additional element of a memory which is recited with a high level of generality)
and one or more processors executing the instructions to function as: (additional element of a processor which is recited with a high level of generality)
a first setting unit configured to set, in response to a user instruction, a first line segment in a captured image of the subject, the user instruction designating a starting point and an ending point of the first line segment; (A step of mere data gathering, in which a human could practically draw a line on a screen across an image)
a second setting unit configured to set a second line segment (A step of mere data gathering, in which a human could practically draw intersecting lines on an image)
a color difference acquisition unit configured to acquire color differences in a color space between a color of a pixel on the point of intersection and each color of plural pixels on the second line segment
and a generation unit configured to generate a color-difference map for displaying a degree of change of the color differences of each color of plural pixels on the second line segment the degree of change being represented with color graduation in line with a direction of the second line segment, (Mental process in which a person could select points on the lines which intersect and mathematically determine the color changes)
and an input unit configured to input a user instruction for displaying the generated color difference map. (Abstract idea in which a human could reasonably perform)
Under step 2A prong 1, one of ordinary skill in the art could practically perform the steps as a mental process by clicking on an image with a mouse to create two line segments, assess visually the color difference between points on the two segments and then create a map to show where the differences as a color map via drawing or other methods.
Under step 2A prong 2, the claim does recite the additional elements of a processors and a memory functioning as a first and second setting unit, a color difference acquisition unit and a generation unit. These limitations, however, fail to integrate the claim limitation into a practical application because the units are placeholders which are performing tasks that could performed as a mental process of comparison or selection performed by a person, or as steps of mere data gathering.
Under step 2B the plurality of units, processor and memory are recited with a high level of generality and do not integrate the claim into practical application or amount to significantly more. Therefore claim 1 is rejected as an abstract idea. The examiner encourages the applicant to amend the claims to add in elements which meaningfully translate the claims into practical application such as an elaboration of the methods of generating the color difference map or the analysis used to determine the color differences at the points of intersection.
35 U.S.C. 103
The applicant’s arguments (See Remarks filed 06/09/2026) regarding the rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered by the examiner and are persuasive. In view of the amendments made to claims 1, 20 and 22, a new grounds of rejections is made and fully discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 20 and 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to the mental process of setting a region in an image and analysis of the difference in color without translation to practical application or significantly more.
Regarding claims 1, 20 and 22, the claims recite “An information processing apparatus for inspecting a distribution of colors of a surface of a subject to be inspected, comprising:
one or more memories storing instructions;
and one or more processors executing the instructions to function as: a first setting unit configured to set, in response to a user instruction, a first line segment in a captured image of the subject, the user instruction designating a starting point and an ending point of the first line segment;
a second setting unit configured to set a second line segment
a color difference acquisition unit configured to acquire color differences in a color space between a color of a pixel on the point of intersection and each color of plural pixels on the second line segment
and a generation unit configured to generate a color-difference map for displaying a degree of change of the color differences of each color of plural pixels on the second line segment the degree of change being represented with color graduation in line with a direction of the second line segment,
and an input unit configured to input a user instruction for displaying the generated color difference map.”
Under step 2A prong 1, one of ordinary skill in the art could practically perform the steps as a mental process by clicking on an image with a mouse to create two line segments, assess visually the color difference between points on the two segments and then create a map to show where the differences as a color map via drawing or other methods.
Under step 2A prong 2, the claim does recite the additional elements of a processors and a memory functioning as a first and second setting unit, a color difference acquisition unit and a generation unit. These limitations, however, fail to integrate the claim limitation into a practical application because the units are placeholders which are performing tasks that could performed as a mental process of comparison or selection performed by a person, or as steps of mere data gathering.
Under step 2B the plurality of units are recited with a high level of generality and do not integrate the claim into practical application or amount to significantly more. Therefore claim 1 is rejected as an abstract idea. Claims 2-3, and 5-9, are drawn to the same abstract idea of a mental process for selection of a region of interest and comparison of color.
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 follows the same logic as claim 1 and fails to recite additional elements that integrate the claim into practical application or amount to significantly more.
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 follows the same logic as claim 1 and fails to recite additional elements that integrate the claim into practical application or amount to significantly more.
Regarding claim 5, claim 5 follows the same logic as claim 1 and includes the additional element of the “setting unit”. This additional element neither integrates the claim into practical application nor amounts to significantly more.
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 follows the same logic as claim 1 and includes the additional element of the “setting unit”. This additional element neither integrates the claim into practical application nor amounts to significantly more.
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 follows the same logic as claim 1 and includes the additional elements of the “setting unit” and the “rectangle setting unit”. These additional elements neither integrate the claim into practical application nor amounts to significantly more.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 follows the same logic as claim 1 and includes the additional element of the “setting unit”. This additional element neither integrates the claim into practical application nor amounts to significantly more.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 follows the same logic as claim 1 and fails to recite additional elements that integrate the claim into practical application or amount to significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-3, 5, 9, 20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshiura (US 7747072 B2) in view of Yamamoto (US 10942134 B2) and in further view of Matsui (US 20210241717 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Yoshiura discloses; An information processing apparatus for inspecting a distribution of colors of a surface of a subject to be inspected, comprising:
one or more memories storing instructions (Yoshiura, Figure 2, flash memory, Column 7 line 35 through column 8 line 25, the CPU and flash memory interface to execute the image processing);
and one or more processors executing the instructions to function as (Yoshiura, Column 7 line 35 through column 8 line 25, the CPU and flash memory interface to execute the image processing):
[a first setting unit configured to set, in response to a user instruction, a first line segment in a captured image of the subject, the user instruction designating a starting point and an ending point of the first line segment]
a second setting unit (Yoshiura, Column 7, Lines 44- Column 8 line 10, system has a CPU and a memory for executing instructions, [0043] of the present application defines a unit as hardware of software with the functions ascribed to the unit therefore this is functionally equivalent to the units described) configured to set a second line segment (Yoshiura, Column 12, lines 30-37, a second line is set, two lines are set in both directions, therefore the first and second lines are different, According to [0066]-[0072] of the applicant’s specification the line setting “correspondence relationship” is just stating that the lines are separate and correspond to an input of two lines or the points to generate them, therefore Yoshiura column 12 lines 30-37 would be analogous to this because two lines in different directions are set, and they are separate from one another, but correspond to two separate directions and are indicated by points set by a CPU (setting unit), further, Figure 5 shows two intersecting lines E1 and E2, Column 9 line 60 through column 10 line 25 discloses using the lines E1 and E2 to determine the color difference for the focal pixel which is at the intersection of the lines (pixel C), further column 12 lines 4-30 details that in certain cases, such as a pattern being detected, multiple lines/lines of a predetermined number cross the edge code (line) indicating multiple second lines/line segments being used to determine the color difference map);
(Yoshiura, column 12, emphasis added)
(Column 12, Lines 30-37 emphasis added)
(Yoshiura, Figure 5)
(Yoshiura, columns 9 and 10 emphasis added)
a color difference acquisition unit configured to acquire color differences in a color space between a color of a pixel on the point of intersection and each color of plural pixels on the second line segment (Yoshiura, Figure 5 shows two intersecting lines E1 and E2 which intersect through point C, Column 9 line 60 through column 10 line 25 discloses using the lines E1 and E2 to determine the color difference for the focal pixel which is at the intersection of the lines (pixel C), where color differences along each line are determined directionally, column 11, lines 15-45 the color differences with respect to the focal pixel, C (x,y), which is set as the origin of intersection, are determined (Cx and Cy), therefore the pixel values along the line segments would be compared to the focal pixel to obtain the color changes in each direction with respect to the focal pixel);
(Yoshiura, column 11, emphasis added)
and a generation unit configured to generate a color-difference map for displaying a degree of change of the color differences of each color of plural pixels on the second line segment (Yoshiura, Column 2, Lines 13-21, the color difference in an image is determined and plotted based on the color difference between the points, column 8 lines 33-36 the color differences are calculated in both X and Y directions, which correspond to the directions the lines are set, column 9, lines 1-20 , figure 4 shows the amount of density changes in RGB color space in the X and Y directions for the lines which pass through the focal point),
(Column 2, emphasis added)
(Column 8 emphasis added)
(Column 9, emphasis added)
the degree of change being represented with color graduation in line with a direction of the second line segment (Yoshiura, column 3 line 44 through column 4 line 47, the color difference is acquired as a gradient in the direction of the color change, which lines up with the lines E1 and E2 as shown in figure 5 and 11);
(Figure 11)
[and an input unit configured to input a user instruction for displaying the generated color difference map.]
Yoshiura does not teach; a first setting unit configured to set, in response to a user instruction, a first line segment in a captured image of the subject, the user instruction designating a starting point and an ending point of the first line segment;
and an input unit configured to input a user instruction for displaying the generated color difference map.
However, Yamamoto teaches; a first setting unit configured to set, in response to a user instruction, a first line segment in a captured image of the subject, the user instruction designating a starting point and an ending point of the first line segment (Yamamoto, Column 15 lines 44-67 and column 16 lines 1-5 the reference designation point setting unit (first setting unit) determines multiple points designated by the user, and then in step S102 the reference line passing through the coordinates is determined, further the lines value is determined, figure 4, a first and second reference point are set by the user, a line is generated from this (first line segment), then this line is measured and calculated to have a measurement result, Column 32 lines 15-30 the points to generate the lines are set a predetermined number of pixels away from the region boundary);
The combination of Yoshiura and Yamamoto would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. The method of Yoshiura teaches a method of generating a color difference map using generated lines, however it does not teach user input for determining the line locations. Yamamoto teaches the deficiency of the user input, which would improve the system of Yoshiura by allowing the user to control the color map generation via the line placement. (Applicant’s specification [0042], [0048], [0053] and [0060]-[0071])
Neither Yoshiura nor Yamamoto teach;
and an input unit configured to input a user instruction for displaying the generated color difference map.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Matsui teaches;
and an input unit configured to input a user instruction for displaying the generated color difference map (Matsui, [0071] the user inputs a selection and then the device displays the color change/correction graduation to the screen).
The combination of Yoshiura, Yamamoto and Matsui would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. The motivation for the combination lies in that the color change visualization of Matsui would allow the user to visualize color change and correction and adjust the color of displayed images. (Matsui, [0070]-[0080])
Regarding claim 2 the combination of Yoshiura, Yamamoto and Matsui teaches; The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein each second line segment is a line segment perpendicular to the first line segment (Yoshiura, Column 12, Lines 22-30, a first edge/line is set, when the opposite edge is determined another lines is set perpendicular to the first line).
(Column 12, emphasis added)
Regarding claim 3 the combination of Yoshiura, Yamamoto and Matsui teaches; The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein each second line segment is a line segment corresponding to a vertical direction or a horizontal direction of the image (Yoshiura, Column 11, lines 38-45, two lines (Cx and Cy) are computed which represent the color differences in the X and Y directions respectively, given that Cx and Cy are shown as functions of X and Y to be plotted on a graph, they would be two separate lines corresponding to an X and Y direction respectively).
(Column 11, emphasis added)
Regarding claim 5 the combination of Yoshiura, Yamamoto and Matsui teaches; The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second setting unit (Yoshiura, Column 7, Lines 44- Column 8 line 10, system has a CPU and a memory for executing instructions, [0043] of the present application defines a unit as hardware of software with the functions ascribed to the unit therefore this is functionally equivalent to the units described) sets each second line segment based on a starting point and an ending point which have been set (Yoshiura, Column 12, lines 25-30, a line having a predetermined length is set along a direction crossing the lines EC (x,y), given that the line has a predetermined length, it must also have a predetermined start and end point).
(Column 12, emphasis added)
Regarding claim 9 the combination of Yoshiura, Yamamoto and Matsui teaches; The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first line segment is a line segment configured with a starting point, an ending point (Yoshiura, Column 5, lines 5-17, the color difference is calculated between points, such as 2 points on a line), and one or more nodes present between the starting point and the ending point (Yoshiura, Column 5, lines 5-17, the color difference is calculated between points, such as 2 points on a line, given that the lines in the coordinate system have a plurality of points on them, and any two points can be selected there must be at least one node present. In paragraph [0197] of the Applicant’s specification the applicant defines a node as a set point on the reference line, therefore any point on the line could be equivalent to a node if it was a point of interest for analysis.).
(Column 5, emphasis added)
Regarding claim 20 the combination of Yoshiura and Yamamoto teaches;
An information processing method for inspecting a distribution of colors of a surface of a subject to be inspected, implemented by one or more memories storing instructions (Yoshiura, Figure 2, flash memory, Column 7 line 35 through column 8 line 25, the CPU and flash memory interface to execute the image processing);
and one or more processors executing the instructions, the method comprising (Yoshiura, Column 7 line 35 through column 8 line 25, the CPU and flash memory interface to execute the image processing):
setting, in response to a user instruction, a first line segment in a captured image of the subject, the user instruction designating a starting point and an ending point of the first line segment (Yamamoto, Column 15 lines 44-67 and column 16 lines 1-5 the reference designation point setting unit (first setting unit) determines multiple points designated by the user, and then in step S102 the reference line passing through the coordinates is determined, further the lines value is determined, figure 4, a first and second reference point are set by the user, a line is generated from this (first line segment), then this line is measured and calculated to have a measurement result, Column 32 lines 15-30 the points to generate the lines are set a predetermined number of pixels away from the region boundary);
setting a second line segment (Yoshiura, Column 12, lines 30-37, a second line is set, two lines are set in both directions, therefore the first and second lines are different, According to [0066]-[0072] of the applicant’s specification the line setting “correspondence relationship” is just stating that the lines are separate and correspond to an input of two lines or the points to generate them, therefore Yoshiura column 12 lines 30-37 would be analogous to this because two lines in different directions are set, and they are separate from one another, but correspond to two separate directions and are indicated by points set by a CPU (setting unit), further, Figure 5 shows two intersecting lines E1 and E2, Column 9 line 60 through column 10 line 25 discloses using the lines E1 and E2 to determine the color difference for the focal pixel which is at the intersection of the lines (pixel C), further column 12 lines 4-30 details that in certain cases, such as a pattern being detected, multiple lines/lines of a predetermined number cross the edge code (line) indicating multiple second lines/line segments being used to determine the color difference map);
acquiring color differences in a color space between a color of a pixel on the point of intersection and each color of plural pixels on the second line segment (Yoshiura, Figure 5 shows two intersecting lines E1 and E2 which intersect through point C, Column 9 line 60 through column 10 line 25 discloses using the lines E1 and E2 to determine the color difference for the focal pixel which is at the intersection of the lines (pixel C), where color differences along each line are determined directionally, column 11, lines 15-45 the color differences with respect to the focal pixel, C (x,y), which is set as the origin of intersection, are determined (Cx and Cy), therefore the pixel values along the line segments would be compared to the focal pixel to obtain the color changes in each direction with respect to the focal pixel);
and generating a color-difference map for displaying a degree of change of the color differences of each color of plural pixels on the second line segment (Yoshiura, Column 2, Lines 13-21, the color difference in an image is determined and plotted based on the color difference between the points, column 8 lines 33-36 the color differences are calculated in both X and Y directions, which correspond to the directions the lines are set, column 9, lines 1-20 , figure 4 shows the amount of density changes in RGB color space in the X and Y directions for the lines which pass through the focal point),
the degree of change being represented with color graduation in line with a direction of the second line segment (Yoshiura, column 3 line 44 through column 4 line 47, the color difference is acquired as a gradient in the direction of the color change, which lines up with the lines E1 and E2 as shown in figure 5 and 11);
and inputting user instruction for displaying the generated color difference map (Matsui, [0071] the user inputs a selection and then the device displays the color change/correction graduation to the screen).
The combination of Yoshiura, Yamamoto and Matsui would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. The method of Yoshiura teaches a method of generating a color difference map using generated lines, however it does not teach user input for determining the line locations. Yamamoto teaches the deficiency of the user input, which would improve the system of Yoshiura by allowing the user to control the color map generation via the line placement (Applicant’s specification [0042], [0048], [0053] and [0060]-[0071]). Further, the motivation for the combination lies in that the color change visualization of Matsui would allow the user to visualize color change and correction and adjust the color of displayed images. (Matsui, [0070]-[0080])
Regarding claim 22 the combination of Yoshiura and Yamamoto teaches; A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a computer comprising one or more memories storing instructions, and one or more processors executing the instructions, cause the computer to perform an information processing method for inspecting a distribution of colors of a surface of a subject to be inspected, the method comprising (Yoshiura, Figure 2, flash memory, Column 7 line 35 through column 8 line 25, the CPU and flash memory interface to execute the image processing, Column 7, Lines 44- Column 8 line 10, system has a CPU and a memory for executing instructions):
setting, in response to a user instruction, a first line segment in a captured image of the subject, the user instruction designating a starting point and an ending point of the first line segment (Yamamoto, Column 15 lines 44-67 and column 16 lines 1-5 the reference designation point setting unit (first setting unit) determines multiple points designated by the user, and then in step S102 the reference line passing through the coordinates is determined, further the lines value is determined, figure 4, a first and second reference point are set by the user, a line is generated from this (first line segment), then this line is measured and calculated to have a measurement result, Column 32 lines 15-30 the points to generate the lines are set a predetermined number of pixels away from the region boundary);
setting a second line segment (Yoshiura, Column 12, lines 30-37, a second line is set, two lines are set in both directions, therefore the first and second lines are different, According to [0066]-[0072] of the applicant’s specification the line setting “correspondence relationship” is just stating that the lines are separate and correspond to an input of two lines or the points to generate them, therefore Yoshiura column 12 lines 30-37 would be analogous to this because two lines in different directions are set, and they are separate from one another, but correspond to two separate directions and are indicated by points set by a CPU (setting unit), further, Figure 5 shows two intersecting lines E1 and E2, Column 9 line 60 through column 10 line 25 discloses using the lines E1 and E2 to determine the color difference for the focal pixel which is at the intersection of the lines (pixel C), further column 12 lines 4-30 details that in certain cases, such as a pattern being detected, multiple lines/lines of a predetermined number cross the edge code (line) indicating multiple second lines/line segments being used to determine the color difference map);
acquiring color differences in a color space between a color of a pixel on the point of intersection and each color of plural pixels on the second line segment (Yoshiura, Figure 5 shows two intersecting lines E1 and E2 which intersect through point C, Column 9 line 60 through column 10 line 25 discloses using the lines E1 and E2 to determine the color difference for the focal pixel which is at the intersection of the lines (pixel C), where color differences along each line are determined directionally, column 11, lines 15-45 the color differences with respect to the focal pixel, C (x,y), which is set as the origin of intersection, are determined (Cx and Cy), therefore the pixel values along the line segments would be compared to the focal pixel to obtain the color changes in each direction with respect to the focal pixel);
and generating a color-difference map for displaying a degree of change of the color differences of each color of plural pixels on the second line segment (Yoshiura, Column 2, Lines 13-21, the color difference in an image is determined and plotted based on the color difference between the points, column 8 lines 33-36 the color differences are calculated in both X and Y directions, which correspond to the directions the lines are set, column 9, lines 1-20 , figure 4 shows the amount of density changes in RGB color space in the X and Y directions for the lines which pass through the focal point),
the degree of change being represented with color graduation in line with a direction of the second line segment (Yoshiura, column 3 line 44 through column 4 line 47, the color difference is acquired as a gradient in the direction of the color change, which lines up with the lines E1 and E2 as shown in figure 5 and 11);
and inputting user instruction for displaying the generated color difference map (Matsui, [0071] the user inputs a selection and then the device displays the color change/correction graduation to the screen).
The combination of Yoshiura, Yamamoto and Matsui would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. The method of Yoshiura teaches a method of generating a color difference map using generated lines, however it does not teach user input for determining the line locations. Yamamoto teaches the deficiency of the user input, which would improve the system of Yoshiura by allowing the user to control the color map generation via the line placement (Applicant’s specification [0042], [0048], [0053] and [0060]-[0071]). Further, the motivation for the combination lies in that the color change visualization of Matsui would allow the user to visualize color change and correction and adjust the color of displayed images. (Matsui, [0070]-[0080])
2. Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshiura (US 7747072 B2) in view of Yamamoto (US 10942134 B2) and in further view of Matsui (US 20210241717 A1) and Yoshikatsu (JP 2010134654).
Regarding claim 6 the combination of Yoshiura, Yamamoto and Matsui does not teach; The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second setting unit sets each second line segment based on a starting point of the first line segment and a point different from any point on the first line segment.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoshikatsu teaches; The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second setting unit (Yoshikatsu, claim 3, Derivation Unit) sets each second line segment based on a starting point of the first line segment and a point different from any point on the first line segment (Yoshikatsu, claim 3, the derivation unit obtains a set line segment passing through the start point of the line segment).
(Yoshikatsu, claim 3)
The combination of Yoshiura, Yamamoto, Matsui and Yoshikatsu would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. The motivation for the combination lies in that the region setting method of Yoshikatsu would improve the color difference mapping functions of the method of Yoshiura and Yamamoto because the region setting method allows for a smaller region to be isolated for analysis, which can improve processing speed and precision of analysis (Yoshikatsu, [0002]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 7 the combination of Yoshiura, Yamamoto, Matsui and Yoshikatsu teaches; The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a rectangle setting unit (Yoshikatsu, [0004] the drawing calculation circuit) configured to set a rectangle with respect to the captured image (Yoshikatsu, [0004] the drawing calculation circuit sets a rectangle),
wherein the second setting unit sets each second line segment based on the rectangle (Yoshikatsu, claim 3, the derivation unit obtains multiple line segments for each drawing region or rectangular region).
The combination of Yoshiura, Yamamoto, Matsui and Yoshikatsu would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. The motivation for the combination lies in that the region setting method of Yoshikatsu would improve the color difference mapping functions of the method of Yoshiura because the ability to set a specific region of interest and set the additional lines based off of this region allows for more precise analysis because a smaller region can be focused on (Yoshikatsu, [0002]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 8 the combination of Yoshiura, Yamamoto, Matsui and Yoshikatsu teaches; The information processing apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the second setting unit (Yoshikatsu, [0032] Orthogonal calculation unit) sets each second line segment corresponding to a vertical direction or a horizontal direction of the rectangle (Yoshikatsu, [0032] an orthogonal line segment is set to have a slope of “0”, corresponding to a horizontal line/horizontal direction, based off of either the set line or the rectangle).
(Yoshikatsu, [0032])
The combination of Yoshiura, Yamamoto, Matsui and Yoshikatsu would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. The motivation for the combination lies in that the region setting method of Yoshikatsu would improve the color difference mapping functions of the method of Yoshiura because setting the line segment as described in Yoshikatsu would allow the positional relationship between defined regions to be set based off a specific area of the image (rectangular area). This allows for the analysis of that region to be based off local image features rather than global features. (Yoshikatsu [0032]-[0033] and [0002]-[0004])
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Smith, US 9536322 B1, details a method of using image mapping to detect changes in color and other attributes in an image or images(s).
/J.M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2666 /EMILY C TERRELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2666