Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/25/25.
Claim Objections
Claim 14-15 are objected to because of the following informalities: these claims depend from canceled claim 13. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. These is no support in the specification for the combined dipole layer and initial dipole layer (i.e., GaN and GaO) having the specified thickness.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 is vague and indefinite because it is not clear if the dipole layer is intended to comprise both GaN and GaO or this is a reference to the dipole layer and the initial dipole layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8-9, 11-12, 14-15, 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (US 2017/0179252) in view of Guha (US 2009/0302370) in view of Lai (US 2021/0375629).
Claims 1, 4, 12, 14, 21:
Tang teaches a method for manufacturing a transistor [0003] comprising a substrate [0019], gate dielectric layer [0020], dipole layer [0021], and gate electrode [0023]. The dipole layer is lanthanum nitride [0021] and is deposited by ALD from a lanthanum precursor and hydrazine [0028].
Tang does not teach gallium nitride as the dipole layer.
However, Guha teaches a method for manufacturing a transistor comprising a substrate, high-k dielectric layer, dipole layer, and gate electrode (abstract). The dipole layer is used to tune the transistor by way of voltage shift [0024] and can be selected from several oxides and nitrides (Table 1; [0030]). Table 1 includes lanthanum and gallium and the nitride versions are expected to behave similar to the listed oxides (Id.).
Guha does not specifically teach using gallium oxide and gallium nitride together.
However, Lai teaches forming a dipole layer including a dipole engineering dopant such as gallium [0034] deposited as oxide and nitrides of the dipole dopant, such as gallium oxide, gallium nitride, and combinations thereof [0035]. The thickness of these films is in the range of 0.3-30 Å (Id.). It is noted that the process for forming the oxide/nitride combination in ALD is sequential (i.e., forming the oxide layer followed by the nitride layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Tang and substitute the lanthanum nitride dipole layer with a gallium nitride and gallium oxide dipole layer. Guha and Lai teach all materials are known for use as a dipole layer and the material is chosen based on the desired voltage shift.
Claim 6:
Tang teaches the ALD process is at elevated temperature [0028].
Claims 8-9, 15:
Tang teaches the thickness of the dipole layer modulates the threshold voltage of the transistor to a predetermined value such as 1-6 Ang [0021]. Guha teaches of 0.3 to 2 nm [0024]. The voltage shift per thickness of gallium nitride is assumed to be an inherent property (Lai [0035]).
Claim 11:
Tang teaches the gate dielectric is silica or a high-k material [0027].
Claim 20:
For the purposes of searching for and applying prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, absent a clear indication in the specification or claims of what the basic and novel characteristics actually are, "consisting essentially of" will be construed as equivalent to comprising. See, e.g., PPG, 156 F.3d at 1355, 48 USPQ2d at 1355. MPEP 2111.03.
Claim(s) 2-5, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (US 2017/0179252) in view of Guha (US 2009/0302370) in view of Lai (US 2021/0375629) in view of Clark (US 2008/0242077).
Previously cited prior art is discussed above but does not teach the precursors used. It is noted that Tang teaches the gate electrode is any suitable metal, metal alloy, or metal-containing material [0029] and Guha teaches the gate electrode is TiN [0025] (relevant for claim 10). However, Clark teaches a method of ALD [0019] wherein the precursors include gallane (GaH3) or triple ligand group III precursors where the ligands are alkyl group or halides such as iodine [0083], alkyl hydrazine [0085], and halide metal precursors are generally known [0063; 0082]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Tang/Guha using the precursors disclosed by Clark. Clark establishes the precursors are known for use in an ALD processes.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (US 2017/0179252) in view of Guha (US 2009/0302370) in view of Lai (US 2021/0375629) in view of Zhang (US 2020/0373300).
Previously cited prior art is discussed above but does not teach a gate all around transistor. However, Zhang teaches gate all around transistors [0001] including a dipole layer [0005] and being an alternative transistor structure [0030]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Tang/Guha on a gate all around transistor because Zhang teaches the inclusion of a dipole layer and substitution with other transistor structures.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 4/29/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of further search.
Conclusion
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759