DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al (US 20190322374 A1) in view of Matsler (US 5810286 A) and Wang et al. (US 20230211888 A1).
In re Claim 16, Moon (Fig. 1-7) discloses an aircraft ([0056]: configured to fit in the belly of the aircraft) comprising:
a storage tank (1) that is configured to store a liquefied gas ([0041]: a liquid nitrogen storage tank);
a heat exchanger (2),
wherein the aircraft is configured to receive the liquefied gas (See Fig. 1 and Fig. 5 and [0041]: aircraft receives liquefied gas via 27) for the storage tank (1) from a liquefied gas production and storage facility (22),
wherein the heat exchanger (2) is configured to induce a phase change in the liquefied gas from liquid to gas ([0048]: liquid nitrogen is changed to nitrogen gas),
wherein the phase change generates energy ([0048]: the nitrogen gas evaporates as it absorbs heat and expands to 700 times the original liquid volume. Gas expansion is ideal for powering the gas turbine generator 16), and
However, Moon does not explicitly teach, a lighter than air aircraft.
On the other hand, Matsler teaches a lighter than air aircraft (Fig.1 and Col 1:30-39: aircraft can be a lighter than air aircraft).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made substitute the aircraft of Moon for a lighter than air aircraft of Duncan, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material/part on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. A lighter than air aircraft is well known in the art and substituting a lighter than air aircraft for an aircraft of the primary reference, Moon, would not change the way the overall apparatus functions. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
However, Moon/Mastler does not explicitly teach, wherein the lighter than air aircraft ([0056]) is configured to convert the energy generated by the phase change to rotational motion that rotates one or more propellers to propel the lighter than air aircraft through the air.
On the other hand, Wang teaches convert the energy generated by the phase change to rotational motion that rotates one or more propellers (100A-100B) to propel the lighter than air aircraft through the air (See [0003], [0033], [0026], and [0097]: converts fuel to rotational energy to rotate propellers via a turbine to propel the aircraft through air).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have taken the teachings of modified Moon and to have modified them by having the lighter than air aircraft of modified Moon configured to convert the energy generated by the phase change of modified Moon to rotational motion that rotates one or more propellers to propel the aircraft through the air as taught by Wang in order to fly at high altitude in the direction of the prevailing jet stream and greatly reduce the required energy to power the gas turbine engine and propel an aircraft (See Wang [0003] and [0113]), without yielding unpredictable results.
In re Claim 17, Modified Moon teaches wherein the liquefied gas is nitrogen ([0040]: the liquefied gas is liquid nitrogen).
In re Claim 18, Modified Moon teaches wherein the heat exchanger (2) utilizes at least one of heat ([0048]: the nitrogen evaporates from heat absorption) from ambient air (18)|(See [0046-0047]: air that moves through the system is used to heat and evaporate nitrogen).
Response to Arguments
The Remarks of January 30, 2026, have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the reasons below.
Applicant argues
On Page 6 ¶ 4-5 of the Remarks, that the examiner has not shown that claims 16 is obvious over Moon in view of Duncan because there is allegedly no basis in the prior art for “…configured to convert the energy generated by the phase change to rotational motion that rotates one or more propellers to propel the lighter than air aircraft through the air” as required by the claims. Applicant appears to suggest that one of ordinary skill in the art would not recognize from the teaching of Moon/Duncan the conversion of the energy to propel the aircraft through the air. This is persuasive.
However, it should be noted that applicant's amendments have changed the scope of the claimed invention, thereby necessitating a new grounds of rejection. Namely, claim 16 now requires configured to convert the energy generated by the phase change to rotational motion that rotates one or more propellers to propel the lighter than air aircraft through the air. In light of the above, the claim has been reconsidered, and the new grounds of rejection now incorporates teachings from Mastler and Wang to arrive at the claimed invention.
Since Moon/Mastler/Wang teach or suggest all the limitations of Claim 16, applicant’s remaining arguments are moot as the rejection of Claim 1 is maintained and additional arguments are not presented in regards to Claims 17-18.
Conclusion
/IBRAHIM A. MICHAEL ADENIJI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763