DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-19 are pending in the application.
In Applicant’s most-recent response filed 12 March 2026, claims 1, 7, and 14 were amended. These amendments have been entered.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12 March 2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Interpretation – Functional Language
From the outset, it should be noted that some of the language in the claims is functional in nature. For example, the language related to a “bushing assembly”, including its “bushing pin” and “bushing housing”, is functional in nature and limited patentable weight is given to this section of the claim. Additionally, Examiner notes that while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does and thus, a prior art device must only be capable of performing the stated function in order to read on the functional limitation. In this instance, the prior art discloses every structural limitation of the claim and thus this limitation fails to distinguish the claimed apparatus from that of the prior art. Please see MPEP 2114.
[Examiner notes that this section of the Office Action does not constitute a rejection or objection, but is merely meant to indicate the manner in which the claims have been interpreted by the Examiner.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eberhardt (US Patent 1,408,993).
As anticipated by the Embodiment of Figs. 2-4 of Eberhardt:
Re Claim 1: Eberhardt discloses a coupler assembly (for example, see Figs. 1-4) for engaging a bushing pin (for example, as shown for shaft 22) of a bushing assembly (see note above related to this functional language), the bushing pin defining at least one bushing pin recess (31), the coupler assembly comprising:
a coupler collar (24) defining a coupler through hole (27), at least one coupler pin passageway (26), and a coupler axis (along the longitudinal axis of shaft 22); and
at least one coupler pin (25) adapted to be inserted at least partly through the at least one coupler pin passageway (26); wherein
the at least one coupler pin passageway (26) is arranged to extend at least partly through the coupler collar (24) such that at least a portion of the at least one coupler pin passageway (26) intersects the coupler through hole (27) and a pin passageway axis (along the longitudinal axis of locking pin 25) defined by the at least one coupler pin passageway (26) is offset from the coupler axis; and
with at least a portion of the bushing pin (22) within the coupler through hole (27) and the at least one bushing pin recess (31) in a desired orientation relative to the at least one coupler pin passageway (26), the at least one coupler pin (25) is inserted into the at least one coupler pin passageway (26) such that the at least one coupler pin (25) engages the at least one bushing pin recess (31) to inhibit relative movement between the bushing pin and the coupler collar.
Re Claim 2: Eberhardt discloses a coupler assembly (for example, see Figs. 1-4), in which: the coupler collar (24) defines a plurality of coupler pin passageways (26, 26); the at least one coupler pin comprises a plurality of coupler pins (25, 25);
and with at least a portion of the bushing pin (22) within the coupler through hole (27) and the at least one bushing pin recess (31) in a desired orientation relative to the at least one coupler pin passageway (26, 26), each of the plurality of coupler pins (25, 25) is inserted into one of the plurality of coupler pin passageways (26, 26) such that each of the plurality of coupler pins (25, 25) engages one of the at least one bushing pin recesses (31) to inhibit relative movement between the bushing pin (22) and the coupler collar (24).
Re Claim 3: Eberhardt discloses a coupler assembly (for example, see Figs. 1-4), in which: the coupler collar (24) defines first and second coupler pin passageways (26, 26); the at least one coupler pin comprises first and second coupler pins (25, 25);
and with at least a portion of the bushing pin (22) within the coupler through hole (27) and the at least one bushing pin recess (31) in a desired orientation relative to the at least one coupler pin passageway (26, 26), the first and second coupler pins (25, 25) are inserted into the first and second coupler pin passageways (26, 26), respectively, such that each of the first and second coupler pins (25, 25) engages one of the at least one bushing pin recesses (31) to inhibit relative movement between the bushing pin (22) and the coupler collar (24).
Re Claim 4: Eberhardt discloses a coupler assembly (for example, see Figs. 1-4), in which the at least one coupler pin (25) is detachably attached to the coupler collar (24).
As anticipated by the Embodiment of Figs. 2-4 of Eberhardt:
Re Claim 1: Eberhardt discloses a coupler assembly (for example, see Figs. 1 and 9-10) for engaging a bushing pin (for example, as shown for shaft 22) of a bushing assembly (see note above related to this functional language), the bushing pin defining at least one bushing pin recess (31), the coupler assembly comprising:
a coupler collar (24) defining a coupler through hole (27), at least one coupler pin passageway (the recess receiving locking pin 41; Fig. 9), and a coupler axis (along the longitudinal axis of shaft 22); and
at least one coupler pin (41; Fig. 9) adapted to be inserted at least partly through the at least one coupler pin passageway; wherein
the at least one coupler pin passageway is arranged to extend at least partly through the coupler collar (24) such that at least a portion of the at least one coupler pin passageway intersects the coupler through hole (see Fig. 9) and a pin passageway axis (along the longitudinal axis of locking pin 41) defined by the at least one coupler pin passageway is offset from the coupler axis; and
with at least a portion of the bushing pin (22) within the coupler through hole (27) and the at least one bushing pin recess (31) in a desired orientation relative to the at least one coupler pin passageway, the at least one coupler pin (41) is inserted into the at least one coupler pin passageway such that the at least one coupler pin (41) engages the at least one bushing pin recess (31) to inhibit relative movement between the bushing pin and the coupler collar.
Re Claim 4: Eberhardt discloses a coupler assembly (for example, see Figs. 1 and 9-10), in which the at least one coupler pin (41) is detachably attached to the coupler collar (24).
Re Claim 5: Eberhardt discloses a coupler assembly (for example, see Figs. 1 and 9-10), further comprising at least one resilient member (48) arranged to detachably attach the at least one coupler pin (41) to the coupler collar (24).
Re Claim 6: Eberhardt discloses a coupler assembly (for example, see Figs. 1 and 9-10), further comprising at least one resilient member (48), in which:
the at least one resilient member (48) is detachably attached to the coupler pin (41);
a projection (45) formed on the coupler collar (24) extends into the at least one coupler pin passageway (the recess receiving locking pin 41; Fig. 9); and
the resilient member (48) is arranged to engage the projection (45) to detachably attach the coupler pin (41) to the coupler collar (24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hargrove (US Patent 9,956,674) in view of Eberhardt (US Patent 1,408,993).
Re Claim 1: Hargrove discloses a coupler assembly (40; see Figs. 1-6) for engaging a bushing pin (20) of a bushing assembly (10; Fig. 1), the coupler assembly (40) comprising:
a coupler collar (41) defining a coupler through hole (receiving bushing 20; see Figs. 5-6), at least one coupler pin passageway (50), and a coupler axis (along the longitudinal axis of busing 20); and
at least one coupler pin (51) adapted to be inserted at least partly through the at least one coupler pin passageway (50); wherein
the at least one coupler pin passageway (50) is arranged to extend at least partly through the coupler collar (41) such that at least a portion of the at least one coupler pin passageway (50) intersects the coupler through hole and a pin passageway axis defined by the at least one coupler pin passageway is offset from the coupler axis; and
with at least a portion of the bushing pin (20) within the coupler through hole, the at least one coupler pin (51) is inserted into the at least one coupler pin passageway (50) such that the at least one coupler pin (51) engages the bushing pin (20) to inhibit relative movement between the bushing pin (20) and the coupler collar (14).
Hargrove fails to disclose the bushing pin defining at least one bushing pin recess; wherein a pin passageway axis defined by the at least one coupler pin passageway is offset from the coupler axis; and wherein with the at least one bushing pin recess in a desired orientation relative to the at least one coupler pin passageway, the at least one coupler pin is inserted into the at least one coupler pin passageway such that the at least one coupler pin engages the bushing pin at least one bushing pin recess to inhibit relative movement between the bushing pin and the coupler collar.
Eberhardt teaches the use of a coupler assembly (for example, see Figs. 1 and 9-10) for engaging a bushing pin (for example, as shown for shaft 22) of a bushing assembly (see note above related to this functional language), the bushing pin defining at least one bushing pin recess (31), the coupler assembly comprising: a coupler collar (24) defining a coupler through hole (27), at least one coupler pin passageway (the recess receiving locking pin 41; Fig. 9), and a coupler axis (along the longitudinal axis of shaft 22); and at least one coupler pin (41; Fig. 9) adapted to be inserted at least partly through the at least one coupler pin passageway; wherein the at least one coupler pin passageway is arranged to extend at least partly through the coupler collar (24) such that at least a portion of the at least one coupler pin passageway intersects the coupler through hole (see Fig. 9) and a pin passageway axis (along the longitudinal axis of locking pin 41) defined by the at least one coupler pin passageway is offset from the coupler axis; and with at least a portion of the bushing pin (22) within the coupler through hole (27) and the at least one bushing pin recess (31) in a desired orientation relative to the at least one coupler pin passageway, the at least one coupler pin (41) is inserted into the at least one coupler pin passageway such that the at least one coupler pin (41) engages the at least one bushing pin recess (31) to inhibit relative movement between the bushing pin and the coupler collar, for the purpose of forming a positive engagement between the coupler collar and the bushing pin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hargrove, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the bushing pin defines at least one bushing pin recess; wherein a pin passageway axis defined by the at least one coupler pin passageway is offset from the coupler axis; and wherein with the at least one bushing pin recess in a desired orientation relative to the at least one coupler pin passageway, the at least one coupler pin is inserted into the at least one coupler pin passageway such that the at least one coupler pin engages the bushing pin at least one bushing pin recess to inhibit relative movement between the bushing pin and the coupler collar, as taught by Eberhardt, for the purpose of forming a positive engagement between the coupler collar and the bushing pin.
Re Claim 2: Hargrove, as modified in view of Eberhardt above, discloses a coupler assembly (40; see Figs. 1-6), in which:
the coupler collar (41; see Hargrove Figs. 2 and 4) defines a plurality of coupler pin passageways (50);
the at least one coupler pin comprises a plurality of coupler pins (51); and
with at least a portion of the bushing pin (20) within the coupler through hole
and the at least one bushing pin recess (as taught by Eberhardt) in a desired orientation relative to the at least one coupler pin passageway, each of the plurality of coupler pins (51) is inserted into one of the plurality of coupler pin passageways (50) such that each of the plurality of coupler pins engages one of the at least one bushing pin recesses (as taught by Eberhardt) to inhibit relative movement between the bushing pin (20) and the coupler collar (41).
Re Claim 3: Hargrove, as modified in view of Eberhardt above, discloses a coupler assembly (40; see Figs. 1-6), in which:
the coupler collar (41; see Hargrove Figs. 2 and 4) defines a first and second coupler pin passageways (50);
the at least one coupler pin comprises first and second coupler pins (51); and
with at least a portion of the bushing pin (20) within the coupler through hole
and the at least one bushing pin recess (as taught by Eberhardt) in a desired orientation relative to the at least one coupler pin passageway, the first and second coupler pins (51) are inserted into the first and second passageways (50) such that each of the first and second coupler pins engages one of the at least one bushing pin recesses (as taught by Eberhardt) to inhibit relative movement between the bushing pin (20) and the coupler collar (41).
Re Claim 4: Hargrove further discloses a coupler assembly (40; see Figs. 1-6), in which the at least one coupler pin (51) is detachably attached to the coupler collar (41).
Re Claim 5: Eberhardt further teaches the use of a coupler assembly coupler assembly (for example, see Figs. 1 and 9-10), further comprising at least one resilient member (48) arranged to detachably attach the at least one coupler pin (41) to the coupler collar (24), for the purpose of forming a positive engagement between the coupler collar and the bushing pin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hargrove, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that it further comprises at least one resilient member arranged to detachably attach the at least one coupler pin to the coupler collar, as taught by Eberhardt, for the purpose of forming a positive engagement between the coupler collar and the bushing pin.
Re Claim 6: Eberhardt further teaches the use of a coupler assembly coupler assembly (for example, see Figs. 1 and 9-10), further comprising at least one resilient member, in which: the at least one resilient member (48) is detachably attached to the coupler pin (41); a projection (45) formed on the coupler collar (24) extends into the at least one coupler pin passageway (the recess receiving locking pin 41); and the resilient member (48) is arranged to engage the projection (45) to detachably attach the coupler pin (41) to the coupler collar (24), for the purpose of forming a positive engagement between the coupler collar and the bushing pin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hargrove, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that it further comprises at least one resilient member, in which: the at least one resilient member is detachably attached to the coupler pin; a projection formed on the coupler collar extends into the at least one coupler pin passageway; and the resilient member is arranged to engage the projection to detachably attach the coupler pin to the coupler collar, as taught by Eberhardt, for the purpose of forming a positive engagement between the coupler collar and the bushing pin.
Re Claim 7: Hargrove discloses a method (see Figs. 1-6) of removing a bushing pin (20) from a bushing assembly (10; Fig. 1), the method comprising the steps of:
providing a coupler collar (41) defining a coupler through hole (receiving bushing 20; see Figs. 5-6) and at least one coupler pin passageway (50); and
providing at least one coupler pin (51) adapted to be inserted at least partly through the at least one coupler pin passageway (50); and
with at least a portion of the bushing pin (20) within the coupler through hole, the at least one coupler pin (51) is inserted into the at least one coupler pin passageway (50) such that the at least one coupler pin (51) engages the bushing pin (20) to inhibit relative movement between the bushing pin (20) and the coupler collar (14).
Hargrove fails to disclose the bushing pin defining at least one bushing pin recess; wherein a pin passageway axis defined by the at least one coupler pin passageway is offset from the coupler axis; and wherein with the at least one bushing pin recess in a desired orientation relative to the at least one coupler pin passageway, the at least one coupler pin is inserted into the at least one coupler pin passageway such that the at least one coupler pin engages the bushing pin at least one bushing pin recess to inhibit relative movement between the bushing pin and the coupler collar.
Eberhardt teaches the use of a coupler assembly (for example, see Figs. 1 and 9-10) for engaging a bushing pin (for example, as shown for shaft 22) of a bushing assembly (see note above related to this functional language), the bushing pin defining at least one bushing pin recess (31), the coupler assembly comprising: a coupler collar (24) defining a coupler through hole (27), at least one coupler pin passageway (the recess receiving locking pin 41; Fig. 9), and a coupler axis (along the longitudinal axis of shaft 22); and at least one coupler pin (41; Fig. 9) adapted to be inserted at least partly through the at least one coupler pin passageway; wherein the at least one coupler pin passageway is arranged to extend at least partly through the coupler collar (24) such that at least a portion of the at least one coupler pin passageway intersects the coupler through hole (see Fig. 9) and a pin passageway axis (along the longitudinal axis of locking pin 41) defined by the at least one coupler pin passageway is offset from the coupler axis; and with at least a portion of the bushing pin (22) within the coupler through hole (27) and the at least one bushing pin recess (31) in a desired orientation relative to the at least one coupler pin passageway, the at least one coupler pin (41) is inserted into the at least one coupler pin passageway such that the at least one coupler pin (41) engages the at least one bushing pin recess (31) to inhibit relative movement between the bushing pin and the coupler collar, for the purpose of forming a positive engagement between the coupler collar and the bushing pin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hargrove, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the bushing pin defines at least one bushing pin recess; wherein a pin passageway axis defined by the at least one coupler pin passageway is offset from the coupler axis; and wherein with the at least one bushing pin recess in a desired orientation relative to the at least one coupler pin passageway, the at least one coupler pin is inserted into the at least one coupler pin passageway such that the at least one coupler pin engages the bushing pin at least one bushing pin recess to inhibit relative movement between the bushing pin and the coupler collar, as taught by Eberhardt, for the purpose of forming a positive engagement between the coupler collar and the bushing pin.
Re Claim 8: Hargrove, as modified in view of Eberhardt above, discloses a method, in which:
the step of providing the coupler collar comprises the step of defining a plurality of coupler pin passageways (50);
the step of providing the at least one coupler pin comprises the step of providing a plurality of coupler pins (51); and
with at least a portion of the bushing pin (20) within the coupler through hole and the at least one bushing pin recess (as taught by Eberhardt) in a desired orientation relative to the at least one coupler pin passageway, each of the plurality of coupler pins (51) is inserted into one of the plurality of coupler pin passageways (50) such that each of the plurality of coupler pins engages one of the at least one bushing pin recesses (as taught by Eberhardt) to inhibit relative movement between the bushing pin (20) and the coupler collar (41).
Re Claim 9: Hargrove, as modified in view of Eberhardt above, discloses a method, in which:
the step of providing the coupler collar (41; see Hargrove Figs. 2 and 4) comprises the step of defining first and second coupler pin passageways (50);
the step of providing the at least one coupler pin comprises the step of providing first and second coupler pins (51); and
with at least a portion of the bushing pin (20) within the coupler through hole and the at least one bushing pin recess (as taught by Eberhardt) in a desired orientation relative to the at least one coupler pin passageway, the first and second coupler pins (51) are inserted into the first and second passageways (50) such that each of the first and second coupler pins engages one of the at least one bushing pin recesses (as taught by Eberhardt) to inhibit relative movement between the bushing pin (20) and the coupler collar (41).
Re Claim 10: Hargrove further discloses a method, further comprising the step of detachably attaching the at least one coupler pin (51) to the coupler collar (41).
Re Claim 11: Eberhardt further teaches the use of a coupler assembly coupler assembly (for example, see Figs. 1 and 9-10), further comprising at least one resilient member (48) arranged to detachably attach the at least one coupler pin (41) to the coupler collar (24), for the purpose of forming a positive engagement between the coupler collar and the bushing pin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hargrove, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that it further comprises at least one resilient member arranged to detachably attach the at least one coupler pin to the coupler collar, as taught by Eberhardt, for the purpose of forming a positive engagement between the coupler collar and the bushing pin.
Re Claim 12: Eberhardt further teaches the use of a coupler assembly coupler assembly (for example, see Figs. 1 and 9-10), further comprising at least one resilient member, in which: the at least one resilient member (48) is detachably attached to the coupler pin (41); a projection (45) formed on the coupler collar (24) extends into the at least one coupler pin passageway (the recess receiving locking pin 41); and the resilient member (48) is arranged to engage the projection (45) to detachably attach the coupler pin (41) to the coupler collar (24), for the purpose of forming a positive engagement between the coupler collar and the bushing pin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hargrove, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that it further comprises at least one resilient member, in which: the at least one resilient member is detachably attached to the coupler pin; a projection formed on the coupler collar extends into the at least one coupler pin passageway; and the resilient member is arranged to engage the projection to detachably attach the coupler pin to the coupler collar, as taught by Eberhardt, for the purpose of forming a positive engagement between the coupler collar and the bushing pin.
Re Claim 13: Hargrove further discloses a method, further comprising the step of displacing (see Figs. 5-6) the coupler collar (41) relative to the bushing assembly (10) to remove the bushing pin (20) from the bushing assembly.
Re Claim 14: Hargrove discloses a system (see Figs. 1-6) for removing a bushing pin (20) from a bushing assembly (10; Fig. 1) comprising a bushing housing (12), the system comprising:
a coupler collar (41) defining a coupler through hole (receiving bushing 20; see Figs. 5-6) and at least one coupler pin passageway (50); and
at least one coupler pin (51) adapted to be inserted at least partly through the at least one coupler pin passageway (50); and
an actuator (53); wherein
with at least a portion of the bushing pin (20) within the coupler through hole, the at least one coupler pin (51) is inserted into the at least one coupler pin passageway (50) such that the at least one coupler pin (51) engages the bushing pin (20) to inhibit relative movement between the bushing pin (20) and the coupler collar (14); and
the actuator (53) is operated to displace (see Figs. 5-6) the coupler collar (41) relative to the bushing housing (12) to remove the bushing pin (20) from the bushing assembly.
Hargrove fails to disclose the bushing pin defining at least one bushing pin recess; wherein a pin passageway axis defined by the at least one coupler pin passageway is offset from the coupler axis; and wherein with the at least one bushing pin recess in a desired orientation relative to the at least one coupler pin passageway, the at least one coupler pin is inserted into the at least one coupler pin passageway such that the at least one coupler pin engages the bushing pin at least one bushing pin recess to inhibit relative movement between the bushing pin and the coupler collar.
Eberhardt teaches the use of a coupler assembly (for example, see Figs. 1 and 9-10) for engaging a bushing pin (for example, as shown for shaft 22) of a bushing assembly (see note above related to this functional language), the bushing pin defining at least one bushing pin recess (31), the coupler assembly comprising: a coupler collar (24) defining a coupler through hole (27), at least one coupler pin passageway (the recess receiving locking pin 41; Fig. 9), and a coupler axis (along the longitudinal axis of shaft 22); and at least one coupler pin (41; Fig. 9) adapted to be inserted at least partly through the at least one coupler pin passageway; wherein the at least one coupler pin passageway is arranged to extend at least partly through the coupler collar (24) such that at least a portion of the at least one coupler pin passageway intersects the coupler through hole (see Fig. 9) and a pin passageway axis (along the longitudinal axis of locking pin 41) defined by the at least one coupler pin passageway is offset from the coupler axis; and with at least a portion of the bushing pin (22) within the coupler through hole (27) and the at least one bushing pin recess (31) in a desired orientation relative to the at least one coupler pin passageway, the at least one coupler pin (41) is inserted into the at least one coupler pin passageway such that the at least one coupler pin (41) engages the at least one bushing pin recess (31) to inhibit relative movement between the bushing pin and the coupler collar, for the purpose of forming a positive engagement between the coupler collar and the bushing pin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hargrove, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the bushing pin defines at least one bushing pin recess; wherein a pin passageway axis defined by the at least one coupler pin passageway is offset from the coupler axis; and wherein with the at least one bushing pin recess in a desired orientation relative to the at least one coupler pin passageway, the at least one coupler pin is inserted into the at least one coupler pin passageway such that the at least one coupler pin engages the bushing pin at least one bushing pin recess to inhibit relative movement between the bushing pin and the coupler collar, as taught by Eberhardt, for the purpose of forming a positive engagement between the coupler collar and the bushing pin.
Re Claim 15: Hargrove, as modified in view of Eberhardt above, discloses a system, in which:
the coupler collar comprises a plurality of coupler pin passageways (50);
the at least one coupler pin comprises a plurality of coupler pins (51); and
with at least a portion of the bushing pin (20) within the coupler through hole and the at least one bushing pin recess (as taught by Eberhardt) in a desired orientation relative to the at least one coupler pin passageway, each of the plurality of coupler pins (51) is inserted into one of the plurality of coupler pin passageways (50) such that each of the plurality of coupler pins engages one of the at least one bushing pin recesses (as taught by Eberhardt) to inhibit relative movement between the bushing pin (20) and the coupler collar (41).
Re Claim 16: Hargrove, as modified in view of Eberhardt above, discloses a system, in which:
the coupler collar (41; see Hargrove Figs. 2 and 4) defines first and second coupler pin passageways (50);
the at least one coupler pin comprises first and second coupler pins (51); and
with at least a portion of the bushing pin (20) within the coupler through hole and the at least one bushing pin recess (as taught by Eberhardt) in a desired orientation relative to the at least one coupler pin passageway, the first and second coupler pins (51) are inserted into the first and second passageways (50) such that each of the first and second coupler pins engages one of the at least one bushing pin recesses (as taught by Eberhardt) to inhibit relative movement between the bushing pin (20) and the coupler collar (41).
Re Claim 17: Hargrove further discloses a system, in which the at least one coupler pin (51) is detachably attached to the coupler collar (41).
Re Claim 18: Eberhardt further teaches the use of a coupler assembly (for example, see Figs. 1 and 9-10), further comprising at least one resilient member (48) arranged to detachably attach the at least one coupler pin (41) to the coupler collar (24), for the purpose of forming a positive engagement between the coupler collar and the bushing pin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hargrove, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that it further comprises at least one resilient member arranged to detachably attach the at least one coupler pin to the coupler collar, as taught by Eberhardt, for the purpose of forming a positive engagement between the coupler collar and the bushing pin.
Re Claim 19: Eberhardt further teaches the use of a coupler assembly (for example, see Figs. 1 and 9-10), further comprising at least one resilient member, in which: the at least one resilient member (48) is detachably attached to the coupler pin (41); a projection (45) formed on the coupler collar (24) extends into the at least one coupler pin passageway (the recess receiving locking pin 41); and the resilient member (48) is arranged to engage the projection (45) to detachably attach the coupler pin (41) to the coupler collar (24), for the purpose of forming a positive engagement between the coupler collar and the bushing pin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hargrove, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that it further comprises at least one resilient member, in which: the at least one resilient member is detachably attached to the coupler pin; a projection formed on the coupler collar extends into the at least one coupler pin passageway; and the resilient member is arranged to engage the projection to detachably attach the coupler pin to the coupler collar, as taught by Eberhardt, for the purpose of forming a positive engagement between the coupler collar and the bushing pin.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW R MCMAHON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678