DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 5, 6, 13, 14, 21-23 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2023/0239750 A1) in view of Eklöf et al. (US 2022/0201582 A1, hereinafter “Eklöf).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Wu teaches a method performed by a base station (fig. 9) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity, downlink radio access network (RAN) configuration transfer message including an inter- system handover (HO) report, wherein the inter-system HO report includes information on the inter-system HO (figs. 1, 2, 5, 6, ¶ [00151]-¶ [0055], ¶ [0058], ¶ [0062], If the handover failure occurs during the handover procedure, the UE may transmit RLF report information. In an embodiment, if the mobility command message includes a voice fallback indication, the RLF report information includes an indicator to indicate that the handover procedure is used for a voice fallback operation. ¶ [0063], ¶ [0088], ¶ [0093], a RLF happens in 3G after the UE succeeds in the handover procedure within a period. ¶ [0096], the UE transmits a RLF report to the serving cell. ¶ [0065], the BS which is serving the UE transmits the message including the RLF report information to an AMF, and the AMF is associated with the source NR cell. Then, the AMF transmits the message including the RLF report information to the source BS associated with the source NR cell. ¶ [0064], ¶ [0134], ¶ [0147], the RLF report information includes an indicator to indicate that a handover procedure is used for a voice fallback operation), wherein the mobility failure for voice fallback comprises a radio link failure (RLF) occurred after a successful handover triggered due to a voice fallback (¶ [0088], ¶ [0090], The MobilityFromNRCommand message includes voiceFallbackIndication. ¶ [0093] a RLF happens in 3G after the UE succeeds in the handover procedure within a period. ¶ [0096]) and wherein the information on the inter-system HO includes a source cell ID for the mobility failure for the voice fallback, a failure cell ID for the mobility failure for the voice fallback (¶ [0064], the RLF report information includes an ID of the target cell, ¶ [0101], For example, a RLF report may include an ID of the target UTRAN Cell of the failed handover procedure. In an embodiment, a field “FailedPCellid-UTRAN” or “FailedPCellid-UTRA” is used to indicate an ID of the target UTRAN cell in which a RLF is detected, ¶ [0132], the RLF report information includes an ID of the source NR cell, ¶ [0141], An ID of the source cell which transmits the RRC release message including voiceFallbackIndication), and wherein the information on the inter-system HO further includes at least of a re-connect Cell ID for the mobility failure for voice fallback or RLF report container from a user equipment (¶ [0102], The UTRAN cell receives the RLF report from the UE. Then, the UTRAN cell transfers the RLF report as a container to a core network (CN). The node of the UTRAN CN will forward the information including the RLF report to an AMF associated with the source NR cell. [0103] (8) The AMF will transfer the received information including the RLF report to the source NR BS).
Wu does not explicitly teach wherein the inter-system HO report includes a report type indicating a problem associated with an inter-system HO corresponding to the report type and information on the inter-system HO corresponding to the report type, wherein the report type comprises a type corresponding to a too early handover or a mobility failure for voice fallback.
Eklöf teaches wherein the inter-system HO report includes a report type indicating a problem associated with an inter-system HO and information on the inter-system HO corresponding to the report type, wherein the report type comprises a type corresponding to a too early handover or a mobility failure for voice fallback (¶ [0316], If the Handover Report Type IE is set to “HO too early” or “HO to wrong cell”, then the eNB1 indicates to eNB2 that, following a successful handover from a cell of eNB2 to a cell of eNB1, a radio link failure occurred and the UE attempted RRC Re-establishment either at the original cell of eNB2 (Handover Too Early), or at another cell (Handover to Wrong Cell). ¶ [0317]-¶ [0326]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include, in the inter-system HO report, a report type indicating a problem associated with an inter-system HO corresponding to the report type and information on the inter-system HO corresponding to the report type, where the report type comprises a type corresponding to a too early handover or a mobility failure for voice fallback in the system of Wu to further improve industrial applicability (¶ [0312], ¶ [0316] of Eklöf).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Wu in view of Eklöf teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the mobility failure for voice fallback further comprises failure during a handover triggered due to the voice fallback (Wu: ¶ [0062],If the handover failure occurs during the handover procedure, the UE may transmit RLF report information. In an embodiment, if the mobility command message includes a voice fallback indication, the RLF report information includes an indicator to indicate that the handover procedure is used for a voice fallback operation. ¶ [0065]).
Regarding claims 21 and 25, Wu teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver; and at least one memory communicatively coupled to the at least one processor (fig. 9, ¶ [0159]), storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the UE to: identify, a mobility failure that occurred due a radio link failure, RLF, after a successful handover triggered due to a voice fallback (¶ [0088], ¶ [0093], a RLF happens in 3G after the UE succeeds in the handover procedure within a period); and transmit, to a base station, a UE information response message including an RLF report based on the mobility failure, and wherein the RLF report includes information on the inter-system HO (figs. 1, 2, 5, 6, ¶ [00151], If a failure occurs during an inter-RAT handover procedure. ¶ [0053]-¶ [0055], ¶ [0058], ¶ [0062], If the handover failure occurs during the handover procedure, the UE may transmit RLF report information. In an embodiment, if the mobility command message includes a voice fallback indication, the RLF report information includes an indicator to indicate that the handover procedure is used for a voice fallback operation. ¶ [0063], ¶ [0088], ¶ [0093], a RLF happens in 3G after the UE succeeds in the handover procedure within a period. ¶ [0096], the UE transmits a RLF report to the serving cell. ¶ [0065], the BS which is serving the UE transmits the message including the RLF report information to an AMF, and the AMF is associated with the source NR cell. Then, the AMF transmits the message including the RLF report information to the source BS associated with the source NR cell. ¶ [0064], ¶ [0134], ¶ [0147], the RLF report information includes an indicator to indicate that a handover procedure is used for a voice fallback operation), wherein the information on the inter-system HO includes a source cell ID for the mobility failure for the voice fallback, a failure cell ID for the mobility failure for the voice fallback (¶ [0064], the RLF report information includes an ID of the target cell, ¶ [0101], For example, a RLF report may include an ID of the target UTRAN Cell of the failed handover procedure. In an embodiment, a field “FailedPCellid-UTRAN” or “FailedPCellid-UTRA” is used to indicate an ID of the target UTRAN cell in which a RLF is detected, ¶ [0132], the RLF report information includes an ID of the source NR cell, ¶ [0141], An ID of the source cell which transmits the RRC release message including voiceFallbackIndication), and wherein the information on the inter-system HO further includes at least of a re-connect Cell ID for the mobility failure for voice fallback or RLF report container from a user equipment (¶ [0102], The UTRAN cell receives the RLF report from the UE. Then, the UTRAN cell transfers the RLF report as a container to a core network (CN). The node of the UTRAN CN will forward the information including the RLF report to an AMF associated with the source NR cell. [0103] (8) The AMF will transfer the received information including the RLF report to the source NR BS).
Wu does not explicitly teach wherein the inter-system HO report includes a report type indicating a problem associated with an inter-system HO corresponding to the report type and information on the inter-system HO corresponding to the report type, wherein the report type comprises a type corresponding to a too early handover or a mobility failure for voice fallback.
Eklöf teaches wherein the inter-system HO report includes a report type indicating a problem associated with an inter-system HO corresponding to the report type and information on the inter-system HO corresponding to the report type, wherein the report type comprises a type corresponding to a too early handover or a mobility failure for voice fallback (¶ [0316], If the Handover Report Type IE is set to “HO too early” or “HO to wrong cell”, then the eNB1 indicates to eNB2 that, following a successful handover from a cell of eNB2 to a cell of eNB1, a radio link failure occurred and the UE attempted RRC Re-establishment either at the original cell of eNB2 (Handover Too Early), or at another cell (Handover to Wrong Cell). ¶ [0317]-¶ [0326]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include, in the inter-system HO report, a report type indicating a problem associated with an inter-system HO corresponding to the report type and information on the inter-system HO corresponding to the report type, where the report type comprises a type corresponding to a too early handover or a mobility failure for voice fallback in the system of Wu to further improve industrial applicability (¶ [0312], ¶ [0316] of Eklöf).
Regarding claims 22 and 26, Wu in view of Eklöf teaches the UE of claim 25, wherein the mobility failure further comprises a failure during a handover triggered due to the voice fallback (Wu: ¶ [0062],If the handover failure occurs during the handover procedure, the UE may transmit RLF report information. In an embodiment, if the mobility command message includes a voice fallback indication, the RLF report information includes an indicator to indicate that the handover procedure is used for a voice fallback operation. ¶ [0065]).
Regarding claims 23 and 27, Wu in view of Eklöf teaches the UE of claim 25, wherein the RLF report is transmitted via a radio resource control, RRC, signaling (Wu: fig. 4, ¶ [0056], the UE transmits the UEInformationResponse message including a RLF report to the source BS).
7. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Eklöf as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Zhu et al. (US 2022/0159768 A1, hereinafter “Zhu”).
Regarding claim 7, Wu in view of Eklöf teaches he method of claim 5, wherein the downlink RAN configuration transfer message is received, as set forth above
Wu does not explicitly teach wherein the downlink RAN configuration transfer message is received via a next generation application protocol (NGAP).
However, it is well-known in the art that in NR implementations, the application protocol may be an NG application protocol layer (NGAP or NG-AP) for the NG interface defined between the NG-RAN node and the AMF, as evidenced by ¶ [0191] of Zhu.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to utilize NGAP to receive the downlink configuration transfer message in the system of Wu in view of Eklöf to further improve industrial applicability.
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant’s arguments filed on February 27, 2026 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection
Conclusion
/MANDISH K RANDHAWA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477