DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Fig. 14, element 1410. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 14, the statement “at least one port two or more times” is indefinite and unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 8, 13 – 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (CN 113193784) in view of Dietzel (US 2015/0240786).
Huang discloses, regarding,
Claim 1, A power generator, comprising: an intake stage; a flow treatment stage; a flow interface stage (see annotated Fig. 2 below); and a power processor (see abstract), wherein the flow treatment stage modifies the flow (via internal devices of flow treatment stage) of air and directs a modified flow of air into the flow interface stage, wherein the flow interface stage includes a flow interface chamber (chamber made-up of three devices; see below), one or more exhaust outlets 3, and a plurality of Helmholtz chambers 5, wherein each of the plurality of Helmholtz chambers includes a port (at exhaust outlet 3), a plurality of piezoelectric units 4, and a connector for delivering electrical power to the power processor (see abstract).
The problem to be solve is to control the fluid flow via blades or shutters. Such procedure is well-known in the present field and in many other fields.
For example, Dietzel discloses a fluid flow power generator wherein the intake stage 106 comprises a plurality of blades [0084] oriented to collect a flow of air from multiple directions (wind direction flowing from above or below the intake stage) and direct the flow of air to the flow treatment stage 108 (see Fig. 1).
Dietzel further discloses, regarding,
Claim 2, the flow treatment stage includes one of the following: a venturi inlet (see Fig. 2), a spiral inlet, or an inlet with a central inverted cone for pushing airflow to an outer edge of the flow interface chamber.
The Prior Art further discloses, regarding,
Claim 7, A generator, comprising: a plurality of blades for collecting a flow of air and directing the flow of air into a flow treatment stage; a flow interface chamber; a plurality of Helmholtz chambers, each of the plurality of Helmholtz chambers including a port, a plurality of piezoelectric units, and an electrical connection; one or more exhaust outlets; and a power processor (see rejection for claim 1 above).
Claim 8, the flow treatment stage includes one of the following: a venturi inlet (Deitzel, Fig. 2), a spiral inlet, or an inlet with an inverted central cone for pushing airflow to an outer edge of the flow interface chamber.
Claim 13, A method of using airflow to generate electrical power, the method comprising: capturing energy from an environment as a flow of air (at intake stage; Huang, Fig. 2); directing the flow of air through a flow treatment stage (see annotated Fig. 2 above); directing a modified flow of air from the flow treatment stage into a flow interface stage; using the modified flow of air to establish air pressure oscillations within a plurality of Helmholtz chambers located in the flow interface stage (Huang fig. 2); using the air pressure oscillations within each of the plurality of Helmholtz chambers to cause a plurality of piezoelectric units to generate electrical current (Huang, Fig. 2 and abstract); passing a flow of exhaust air out of the flow interface stage through one or more exhaust outlets (Huang, Fig. 2; Dietzel, Fig. 2); and processing the electrical current for use as a power source.
Claim 14, using the modified flow of air to generate a vortex airflow within a flow interface chamber; and directing the vortex airflow across a plurality of ports, wherein each of the plurality of ports corresponds to a Helmholtz chamber (Huang, Fig. 2), and wherein the vortex airflow flows across at least one port two or more times.
Claim 15, creating a modified flow of air within the flow treatment stage by one of the following: passing the flow of air though a venturi inlet (Dietzel, Fig. 2), passing the flow of air through a spiral inlet, or passing the flow of air through an inlet with an inverted central cone.
Claim 16, creating a modified flow of air within the flow treatment stage by passing the flow of air through a flow guide, and from the flow guide into two or more channels for delivering the modified flow of air to a flow interface chamber (Huang, Fig. 2).
Claim 17, directing the modified flow of air through a venturi section to create a vacuum in the flow interface chamber; and drawing air into the flow interface chamber to generate the vortex airflow (Huang, Fig. 2).
Claim 18, the one or more exhaust outlets is a pair of venturi outlets located on a centerline of the flow interface chamber (Huang, Fig. 2).
Claim 19, the modified flow of air is a laminar flow (Huang, Fig. 2; Dietzel, Fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 – 6, 9 – 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The cited prior art of record fails to disclose the structural description of the flow treatment stage and flow interface chamber as specifically described in claims 3, 4, 9, 10. Claims 5, 6, 11, 12 are dependent on claims 3, 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bernstein shows a Helmholtz chamber, having piezoelectric devices for using the fluid flow to make the piezoelectric devices produce electricity.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Julio C. Gonzalez/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2831
January 26, 2026