DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification amendment filed 01/04/2026 is acceptable and has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 4,831,239 (Ueda) in view of Pub. No.: US 2020/0234702 A1 (Shin).
Regarding claim 1, Ueda discloses (see figs. 1-2) a cooking appliance comprising: a cabinet 1 defining a cooking chamber 7; a door 2 movably mounted (see fig. 2) to the cabinet 1 to selectively restrict access to the cooking chamber (the purpose of a door is to provide access; the door 2 is closed in fig. 2 and must be opened to add and remove food); a control panel 3,4 attached to the cabinet 1; a microwave module mounted within the cabinet, the microwave module 14 (see col. 3, ll. 60-65 wherein magnetron’s emit radiation at microwave frequency; see col. 1, ll. 10-15 and col. 6, ll. 5-10) positioned (see fig. 1) and configured for delivering microwave energy (see col. 3, ll. 60-65 wherein magnetron’s emit radiation at microwave frequency; see col. 1, ll. 10-15 and col. 6, ll. 5-10) into the cooking chamber 7; a support pan 8 mounted within the cooking chamber 7 to receive food items 9 (see col. 1, ll. 15-20) thereon; a presence detection sensor 10 (weight sensor 10 is consistent with applicant par. 37) directed at the support pan 8 and configured to detect one or more food items 9 on the support pan 8 (weight sensor 10 detects weight of food; see col. 1, ll. 15-20); and a controller 5 in operable communication (see fig. 1) with the presence detection sensor 10 and the control panel 3,4, the controller 5 configured to direct an appliance operation comprising: evaluating the presence detection sensor 10 (the measure weight is used control heating; see col. 2, ll. 20-28). Ueda does not explicitly disclose detecting the door in an open position, evaluating the presence detection system in response to detecting the door in the open position; detecting the door in a closed position following evaluation of the presence detection sensor, and directing the control panel according to the evaluation in response to detecting the door in the closed position; wherein evaluating the presence detection sensor comprises determining an item-absence state, and wherein directing the control panel comprises disabling a programmed alert.
.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide Ueda with the door movably mounted to selectively restrict access to the cooking chamber as taught by Shin in order to facilitate providing a sealed thermally efficient cooking environment (see Shin par. 93).
Shin teaches a microwave (heater part 140 can be a magnetron; see fig. 2 and par. 134) cooking appliance 100 and further teaches (see figs. 2-3 and 8B) detecting a door 110 in an open position 613,614 (using sensor 170 connected to controller 185; see par. 138 and fig. 5), evaluating a presence detection system (object detector; see par. 138) in response to detecting the door in the open position 613,614,612; detecting the door in a closed position 613,615 following evaluation of the presence detection sensor 612,613, and directing 615 a control panel 120 according to the evaluation in response to detecting the door 110 in the closed position 613,615 (the controller 185 directs the control panel 120 to display cooking information such as cooking time and temperature; see par. 278); wherein evaluating a presence detection sensor 170 comprises determining an item-absence state 612,613 (it is detected that food is absence from the cooking appliance 100), and wherein directing the control panel 120 comprises disabling 612,YES,615 a programmed (see pars. 171-173 discussing that controller 180,185 is programmed to perform the operations of the disclosure; see fig. 5 showing controller 180,185 receives information regarding the door open/closed state and the presence of food in the cooking appliance from detector 170 as discussed in par. 138; thus controller operations of fig. 8B are programmed including disabling 612,YES,615 alert 614 that is a programmed communication “message” to the user (see par. 276) via display 122 (see pars. 126 and 254) and this is consistent with the discussion of “alert” in applicant disclosure at pars. 58-59) alert 614.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide Ueda in view Shin with detecting the door in an open position, evaluating the presence detection system in response to detecting the door in the open position; detecting the door in a closed position following evaluation of the presence detection sensor, and directing the control panel according to the evaluation in response to detecting the door in the closed position; wherein evaluating the presence detection sensor comprises determining an item-absence state, and wherein directing the control panel comprises disabling a programmed alert as taught by Shin in order to facilitate notifying human user (via display or speaker; see Shin pars. 126 and 254) that food has been put in the cooking chamber and the door is open such that the door should be closed in order that cooking of food may proceed (see Shin par. 276) and providing a user experience such that the user may confirm that correct time and temperature has been input by user such that so the food is not undercooked or burned (see pars. 6 and 17) and additionally so that user may confirm that correct time and temperature has been input by user such that so the food is not undercooked or burned (see pars. 6 and 17) in the scenario of 613,YES in fig. 8B of Shin and in order to facilitate providing an error alert to the user in the scenario of 613,NO in fig. 8B wherein the error 614 alert.
Regarding claim 11, Ueda discloses (see figs. 1-2) a method of operating a cooking appliance comprising a cabinet 1, a door 2 mounted (see fig. 2) to the cabinet 1, a presence detection sensor 10 (weight sensor 10 is consistent with applicant par. 37), and a control panel 3,4, the method comprising evaluating the presence detection sensor 10 (the measure weight is used control heating; see col. 2, ll. 20-28). Ueda does not explicitly disclose the door movably mounted; detecting the door in an open position, detecting the door in a closed position following evaluation of the presence detection sensor, and directing the control panel according to the evaluation in response to detecting the door in the closed position.
Shin teaches (see figs. 2-3) a microwave (heater part 140 can be a magnetron; see par. 134) cooking appliance 100 and further teaches a door 110 movably mounted (see figs. 2-3 and pars. 91-92).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide Ueda with the door movably mounted as taught by Shin in order to facilitate providing a sealed thermally efficient cooking environment (see Shin par. 93) when the door is closed and providing an opening to add food to the cooking appliance when the door is open.
Shin teaches (see figs. 2-3 and 8B) detecting a door 110 in an open position 613,614 (using sensor 170 connected to controller 185; see par. 138 and fig. 5), evaluating a presence detection system (object detector; see par. 138) in response to detecting the door in the open position 613,614,612; detecting the door in a closed position 613,615 following evaluation of the presence detection sensor 612,613, and directing 615 a control panel 120 according to the evaluation in response to detecting the door 110 in the closed position 613,615 (the controller 185 directs the control panel 120 to display cooking information such as cooking time and temperature; see par. 278); wherein evaluating a presence detection sensor 170 comprises determining an item-absence state 612,613 (it is detected that food is absence from the cooking appliance 100), and wherein directing the control panel 120 comprises disabling 612,YES,615 a programmed (see pars. 171-173 discussing that controller 180,185 is programmed to perform the operations of the disclosure; see fig. 5 showing controller 180,185 receives information regarding the door open/closed state and the presence of food in the cooking appliance from detector 170 as discussed in par. 138; thus controller operations of fig. 8B are programmed including disabling 612,YES,615 alert 614 that is a programmed communication “message” to the user (see par. 276) via display 122 (see pars. 126 and 254) and this is consistent with the discussion of “alert” in applicant disclosure at pars. 58-59) alert 614.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide Ueda in view Shin with detecting the door in an open position, evaluating the presence detection system in response to detecting the door in the open position; detecting the door in a closed position following evaluation of the presence detection sensor, and directing the control panel according to the evaluation in response to detecting the door in the closed position; wherein evaluating the presence detection sensor comprises determining an item-absence state, and wherein directing the control panel comprises disabling a programmed alert as taught by Shin in order to facilitate notifying human user (via display or speaker; see Shin pars. 126 and 254) that food has been put in the cooking chamber and the door is open such that the door should be closed in order that cooking of food may proceed (see Shin par. 276) and providing a user experience such that the user may confirm that correct time and temperature has been input by user such that so the food is not undercooked or burned (see pars. 6 and 17) and additionally so that user may confirm that correct time and temperature has been input by user such that so the food is not undercooked or burned (see pars. 6 and 17) in the scenario of 613,YES in fig. 8B of Shin and in order to facilitate providing an error alert to the user in the scenario of 613,NO in fig. 8B wherein the error 614 alert.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Ueda in view of Shin teach the current invention as claimed and discussed above. Ueda further discloses (see fig. 1) (claims 2 and 12) the presence detection sensor 10 is in mechanical communication (see fig. 1) with (claim 2) the or (claim 12) a (claims 2 and 12) support pan 8 (claim 12) within the cabinet 1 of the cooking appliance (the cooking appliance shown in fig. 2).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Ueda in view of Shin teach the current invention as claimed and discussed above. Ueda further discloses (see fig. 1) (claims 3 and 13) the presence detection sensor 10 comprises a force sensor 10 to receive a load (weight of food item 9) thereon.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda in view of Shin as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of US 2018/0338354 A1 (Bassill).
Regarding claims 4, 5, 14 and 15, Ueda in view of Shin teach the current invention as claimed and discussed above. Ueda does not disclose (claims 4 and 14) wherein the presence detection sensor comprises an optical sensor (claims 5 and 15) wherein the presence detection sensor comprises a camera or a break beam sensor.
Bassill teaches (see figs. 5-6) a microwave cooking appliance 58 and further teaches (claims 4 and 14) a presence detection sensor 124 comprises an optical sensor 124 (also with a force sensor 126) (claims 5 and 15) wherein the presence detection sensor 124 comprises a camera 124 or a break beam sensor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide Ueda in view of Shin with (claims 4 and 14) wherein the presence detection sensor comprises an optical sensor (claims 5 and 15) wherein the presence detection sensor comprises a camera as taught by Bassill in order to facilitate improved accuracy regarding presence detection (see Bassill par. 2).
Claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda in view of Shin as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Pub. No. 2009/0236334 A1 (Ben-Shmuel).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Ueda in view of Shin and Ben-Shmuel teach the current invention as claimed and discussed above. Ueda does not disclose wherein evaluating the presence detection sensor comprises detecting a reduction in weight.
Ben-Shmuel teaches a cooking appliance (microwave oven; see pars. 4 and 17) and further teaches the general concept of evaluating the presence detection sensor comprises detecting a reduction in weight (see par. 509, middle; heating is not continued if a food object is being maintained at a temperature before serving and the food object has been removed from the oven thus reducing the weight; see weight sensor at par. 505 bottom).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide Ueda in view of Shin evaluating the presence detection sensor comprises detecting a reduction in weight as taught by Ben-Shmuel in order to facilitate preventing operation of an unoccupied cooking appliance that may decrease life cycle of such cooking appliance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the Ueda in view Shin does not teach evaluating a presence detection sensor in response to detecting the door in the open position, and detecting the door in a closed position following evaluation of the presence detection sensor, wherein evaluating the presence detection sensor comprises determining an item-absence state, and wherein directing the control panel comprises disabling a programmed alert. In response Shin teaches evaluating a presence detection system (object detector 170; see par. 138) in response to detecting the door in the open position 613,614,612; detecting the door in a closed position 613,615 following evaluation of the presence detection sensor 612,613, wherein evaluating a presence detection sensor 170 comprises determining an item-absence state 612,613 (it is detected that food is absence from the cooking appliance 100), and wherein directing the control panel 120 comprises disabling 612,YES,615 a programmed (see pars. 171-173 discussing that controller 180,185 is programmed to perform the operations of the disclosure; see fig. 5 showing controller 180,185 receives information regarding the door open/closed state and the presence of food in the cooking appliance from detector 170 as discussed in par. 138; thus controller operations of fig. 8B are programmed including disabling 612,YES,615 alert 614 that is a programmed communication “message” to the user (see par. 276) via display 122 (see pars. 126 and 254) and this is consistent with the discussion of “alert” in applicant disclosure at pars. 58-59) alert 614. This teaching applied Ueda improves user experience as discussed in the claim 1 103 section above for example.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARC AMAR/Examiner, Art Unit 3741 /DEVON C KRAMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741