DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claims 1-10 are pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: the structures of claim 6 are illegible. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koumura et al. (J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2002, 124, 5037-5051).
Koumura et al. (J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2002, 124, 5037-5051) teaches of the molecular motors
wherein X is S; Y
is S; R1 is OMe, H and R2 is H, OMe (Figure 3) and anticipates the molecules
of the instant claims when X is S; R1 is methoxy groups or hydrogen; R2 is hydrogen or methoxy groups and R3 is
.
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ter Wiel et al. (Org. Biomol. Chem. 2005, 3, 28-30).
ter Wiel et al. (Org. Biomol. Chem. 2005, 3, 28-30) teaches of the molecular motors
wherein Y is S; R is H, OMe or NO2 and anticipates the molecules
of the instant claims when X is S; R1 is methoxy groups,
hydrogen or nitro and R2 is hydrogen, methoxy groups or nitro and R3 is
.
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by García-López et al. (Nano Lett. 2015, 15, 8229-8239).
Garcia-Lopez et al. (Nano. Lett. 2015, 15, 8229-8239) teaches of the nanomachine light-driven
motors comprising fluorophores
(abstract; Figure 1.) The nanomachine is activated by UV light and provides for subsequent rotation of the motor (p8230, left column, second paragraph; p8234, right column, first paragraph; p8235, right column, last paragraph).
The USN-1 anticipates the
of the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koumura et al. (J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2002, 124, 5037-5051) in view of Bell et al. (US 2011/0077394A1)
Koumura et al. (J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2002, 124, 5037-5051) discloses the molecular motors as well as that stated above.
Koumura et al. does not disclose the targeting agent, tracing agent, solubility agent or active
agent of the instant claims 7-10.
Bell et al. (US 2011/0077394A1) discloses nanometer-scale rotary molecular motors powered and controlled by light energy wherein the design of the molecular motors can be designed so that the rotary direction, drive light wavelength and other physical characteristics can varied. The molecular motor can be chemically functionalized, integrated into or attached to a variety of structures (abstract; p1, [0009]).
The molecular motors comprise
wherein E and Em comprise CH,CH2; A is CR; G comprises CR Cb comprises a carbocyclic or heterocyclic group (p2, [0039]; p9, [0061-0067]).
The molecular motors can be used for making holes in membranes by attaching compounds of the invention to or embedding them in a membrane creates a point of insertion or the ability to make a hole in the membrane at the location of the compound. For example, light activated motion of a rotor embedded in a lipid bilayer will increase the disorder of the membrane. Changes in membrane disorder will alter access of various molecules through the holes in the membrane. In the cellular environment, compounds of the invention may be used to disrupt the cellular membrane allows access of pharmaceuticals through the membrane (p13, [0095]).
The molecular motors can be inserted into relaxed, covalently closed circular DNA or synthetic polymers. The molecular motors can incorporate PEG or peptide fragments to improve water solubility (p2, [0031]; p12, [0082]; p13, [0102]; p15, [0111]).
The molecular motors can be targeted to selective membrane layers by use of antibody coupling (p13, [0095]).
The molecular motors can be visualized using Cyvr green dyes intercalated into the DNA via strong fluorescence (p20, [0148]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the molecular motors of Koumura et al. can be used to target lipid membrane layers via coupling to an antibody targeting moiety as Bell et al. teaches of targeting molecular motors to lipid membrane layers via an antibody for the advantage of allowing pharmaceuticals/drugs through the membrane due to membrane disorder/hole.
The antibody targeting moiety encompasses the antibody targeting agent of the instant claims.
The pharmaceuticals/drugs encompasses the drug active agent of the instant claims.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the molecular motors of Koumura et al. can be detected after insertion into relaxed, covalently closed circular DNA as Bell et al. teaches that molecular motors can be visualized via strong fluorescence using Cyvr green dyes intercalated into the DNA.
The Cyvr green dyes encompasses the dye tracing agent of the instant claims.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the molecular motors of Koumura et al. comprise PEG or peptide fragments as Bell et al. teaches that the molecular motors incorporate PEG or peptide fragments for the advantage of improving water solubility.
The PEG or peptide fragments encompasses the solubilizing agent of the instant claims.
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ter Wiel et al. (Org. Biomol. Chem. 2005, 3, 28-30) in view of Bell et al. (US 2011/0077394A1).
ter Wiel et al. (Org. Biomol. Chem. 2005, 3, 28-30) discloses the molecular motors as well as that
stated above.
ter Wiel et al. does not disclose the targeting agent, tracing agent, solubility agent or active agent of the instant claims 7-10.
Bell et al. (US 2011/0077394A1) discloses nanometer-scale rotary molecular motors powered and controlled by light energy wherein the design of the molecular motors can be designed so that the rotary direction, drive light wavelength and other physical characteristics can varied as well as that
stated above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the molecular motors of ter Wiel et al. can be used to target lipid membrane layers via coupling to an antibody targeting moiety as Bell et al. teaches of targeting molecular motors to lipid membrane layers via an antibody for the advantage of allowing pharmaceuticals/drugs through the
membrane due to membrane disorder/hole.
The antibody targeting moiety encompasses the antibody targeting agent of the instant claims.
The pharmaceuticals/drugs encompasses the drug active agent of the instant claims.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the molecular motors of ter Wiel et al. can be detected after insertion into relaxed, covalently closed circular DNA as Bell et al. teaches that molecular motors can be visualized via strong fluorescence using Cyvr green dyes intercalated into the DNA.
The Cyvr green dyes encompasses the dye tracing agent of the instant claims.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the molecular motors of ter Wiel et al. comprise PEG or peptide fragments as Bell et al. teaches that the molecular motors incorporate PEG or peptide fragments for the advantage of improving water solubility.
The PEG or peptide fragments encompasses the solubilizing agent of the instant claims.
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia-Lopez et al. (Nano. Lett. 2015, 15, 8229-8239) in view of Bell et al. (US 2011/0077394A1).
Garcia-Lopez et al. (Nano. Lett. 2015, 15, 8229-8239) discloses the nanomachine light-driven
motors as well as that stated above.
Garcia-Lopez et al. does not disclose the targeting agent, tracing agent, solubility agent or active agent of the instant claims 7-10.
Bell et al. (US 2011/0077394A1) discloses nanometer-scale rotary molecular motors powered and controlled by light energy wherein the design of the molecular motors can be designed so that the rotary direction, drive light wavelength and other physical characteristics can varied as well as that
stated above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the molecular motors of Garcia-Lopez et al. can be used to target lipid membrane layers via coupling to an antibody targeting moiety as Bell et al. teaches of targeting molecular motors to lipid membrane layers via an antibody for the advantage of allowing pharmaceuticals/drugs through the membrane due to membrane disorder/hole.
The antibody targeting moiety encompasses the antibody targeting agent of the instant claims.
The pharmaceuticals/drugs encompasses the drug active agent of the instant claims.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the molecular motors of Garcia-Lopez et al. can be detected after insertion into relaxed, covalently closed circular DNA as Bell et al. teaches that molecular motors can be visualized via strong fluorescence using Cyvr green dyes intercalated into the DNA.
The Cyvr green dyes encompasses the dye tracing agent of the instant claims.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the molecular motors of Garcia-Lopez et al. comprise PEG or peptide fragments as Bell et al. teaches that the molecular motors incorporate PEG or peptide fragments for the advantage of improving water solubility.
The PEG or peptide fragments encompasses the solubilizing agent of the instant claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 and 19-31 of U.S. Patent No. 11,154,623B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the molecules used for the method of opening a lipid bilayer of U.S. Patent No. 11,154,623B2 comprise a targeting agent, tracing agent, solubilizing agent and active agent have analogous structures to that of the molecules of the instant claims further comprising a targeting agent, tracing agent, solubilizing agent and active agent.
The structures of the molecules of U.S. Patent No. 11,154,623B2 comprises
wherein R1 and R2 are comprise hydrogen, alkane, alkene, alkynes, alcohols, etc. that encompass the compounds of the instant claims that comprise
wherein R1 and R2 comprise hydrogen, alkane, alkene, alkynes, alcohols, etc.
Claims 1-4 and 7-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 10-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,565,003B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the molecular motors used for the method of causing cell death by opening a lipid bilayer of the cell of U.S. Patent No. 11,565,003B2 have analogous structures to that of the molecules of the instant claims further comprising a targeting agent, tracing agent, solubilizing agent and active agent.
The structures of the molecular motors of U.S. Patent No. 11,565,003B2 comprises
bound to
wherein X is CH2, S and R1 and R2 comprise hydrogen, alkane, alkene, alkynes, etc. that encompass the compounds of the instant claims that comprise
bound to
wherein X is CH2, S and R1 and R2 comprise hydrogen, alkane, alkene, alkynes, etc.
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6,11-18,22,23-27,30-49 and 52-61 of copending Application No. 19/115,760 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the molecular machines used in the method of treating a fungal infection in a patient, method of treating a disease or disorder in a patient caused by an infection of a microorganism, method of treating cancer in a patient of copending Application No. 19/115,760 have analogous structures to that of the molecules of the instant claims.
The structures of the molecular motors of copending Application No. 19/115,760 comprises
bound to
wherein X is CH2, S and R1, R1’ comprise hydrogen, alkyl, etc.; R2 may be absent when n is 0 and R3 is hydrogen, alkynyl, etc. that encompass the compounds of the instant claims that comprise
bound to
wherein X is CH2, S and R1 and R2 comprise hydrogen, alkane, alkene, alkynes, etc.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,7,8,10,13,14,27,30,32,38,41,46,48 and 49 of copending Application No. 19/125,733 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the stimulus-responsive molecular machines (when n is 0) used for the method of inducing an intercellular calcium wave (ICW) of copending Application No. 19/125,733 have analogous structures to that of the molecules of the instant claims.
The structures of the molecular motors of copending Application No. 19/125,733 comprises
bound to
wherein X is CH2, S; R2 may be absent when n is 0 and R3 is hydrogen, alkynyl, etc. that encompass the compounds of the instant claims that comprise
bound to
wherein X is CH2, S and R1 and R2 comprise hydrogen, alkane, alkene, alkynes, etc.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed at this time.
should be directed to MELISSA JEAN PERREIRA whose telephone number is (571)272-1354. The
examiner can normally be reached M9-3, T9-3, W9-3, Th9-2, F9-2.
Michael Hartley can be reached at 571-272-0616. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MELISSA J PERREIRA/ Examiner, Art Unit 1618