DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to RCE/Amendment filed 01/26/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. In the Amendment, claims 1, 11, 13 and 20 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims amended 01/26/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R et al. (“R”, US 2020/0104148) in view of Warner (US 2008/0229254) in view of Clarke et al. (“Clark”, US 2023/0367472) and further in view of Nouard et al. (“Nouard”, US 2022/0100299).
As per claim 1, R teaches a data processing system comprising:
a processor (R, para.105, Fig.6, processor 604);
a display screen (R, para.104, Fig.6, output device 602/603); and
a memory in communication with the processor, the memory comprising executable instructions that, when executed by the processor (R, para.106-107, Fig.6, memory 608/610), cause the data processing system to perform functions of:
monitoring a workflow executed at least in part by an application on a computing device using a context-switching evaluation system (R, para.20, 30, 36, 42, 44, 52; UI usage measurement system 110 monitors interactions), the workflow including a task anchor associated with a primary context for the workflow and at least one context-switching step in which a current context is switched between a primary context and a secondary context (R, Fig.3, Fig.3A, primary context 305A; Fig.3B-C, secondary context 305B-C; para.66-71, 86, 92, selection of page buttons 310/315/320 switches context);
automatically determining a switch distance for the workflow using a switch distance determination component of the context-switching evaluation system, the switch distance corresponding to a measurement of a distance between a first location corresponding to a location of the task anchor and a second location corresponding to a location of the secondary context of the at least one context-switching step (R, para.32-33, 41, 45, 52, 85-86, interaction data includes navigation to other pages/apps, cursor movements, coordinates of click/tap; Fig.4D, vector paths 460, para.96, seek to reduce superfluous multiple interactions);
automatically determining a task anchor visibility which is indicative of visibility of the task anchor on the display screen during the workflow using a task anchor visibility determination component of the context-switching evaluation system (R, para.34, 41, 70-75, off-screen element not visible);
automatically determining a customer feelings based on user feedback pertaining to at least one of the application and the workflow using a user feelings determination component of the context-switching evaluation system (R, para.33, 41, user accept recommendation);
supplying the switch distance, the task anchor visibility, and the customer feelings to a machine learning model as inputs, the machine learning model being a model that is trained to learn rules for generating user interface (UI)/user experience (UX) modification suggestions for reducing context-switching for the application based on switch distance, the task anchor visibility, and the customer feelings (R, para.30, 33, 55-56, 62-65, 96; collected info supplied to generate recommendations using machine learning); and
generating at least one UI/UX modification suggestion for the application based on at least one of the switch distance using a context-switching insights component of the context-switching evaluation system, the task anchor visibility, and the customer feelings (R, para.31, 35, 97; recommendations to reduce interactions); and
presenting the at least one UI/UX modification suggestion for the application in a user interface of the context-switching evaluation system (R, para.31, 35, 73-75, 97-98; recommendations displayed to reduce interactions).
Although R teaches collecting cursor movements (R, para.15, 45, 52, 86), R does not explicitly teach a switch distance score corresponding to a measurement of a distance a cursor is moved on the display screen between a first location and a second location. Warner teaches a system of calculating cursor movements wherein a switch distance score corresponding to a measurement of a distance a cursor is moved on the display screen between a first location and a second location (Warner, para.63, 92, 98, 123, 150, history of previous cursor movements; distance between start point and current position). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include Warner’s teaching with R’s system in order to reduce large movements.
Additionally, the system of R and Warner does not explicitly teach the visibility score which is indicative of a degree to which the task anchor is obscured on the display screen by the secondary context. Clarke teaches an interface wherein the visibility of elements are based on a visibility score (Clarke, para.598-599, 701-702, threshold amount) which is indicative of a degree to which the task anchor is obscured on the display screen by the secondary context (Clarke, para.598-599, 701-702, threshold amount i.e. degree of notification visible determines manner in which notifications are displayed). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include Clarke’ teaching with the system of R and Warner in order to avoid cluttering of the interface.
Furthermore, the system of R, Warner and Clarke does not teach a feelings score, the user feelings determination component being configured to collect the user feedback by periodically generating prompts for customer satisfaction information pertaining to usage of the application. Nouard teaches a system of modifying an interface wherein the user feedback is collected and associated with a value (Nouard, para.29, 38-39, 47, 53, 55, 67-68, weights) and to collect the user feedback by periodically generating prompts for customer satisfaction information pertaining to usage of the application (Nouard, para.23, 27, 38-44, 67, 70, feedback asking for user satisfaction). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include Nouard’s teaching with the system of R, Warner and Clarke in order to determine efficient usage of space.
As per claim 2, the system of R, Warner, Clarke and Nouard teaches the data processing system of claim 1, wherein the functions further include: modifying a UI/UX interface of the application based on the at least one UI/UX modification suggestion (R, para.31, 35, 97, modify UI based on pattern of interactions).
As per claim 3, the system of R, Warner, Clarke and Nouard teaches the data processing system of claim 1, wherein the workflow includes multiple context-switching steps, each of the context-switching steps including a secondary context (R, Fig.3, Fig.3A, primary context 305A; Fig.3B-C, secondary context 305B-C; para. 32-33, 45, 66-71, 86, 92, selection of page buttons 310/315/320 switches context), wherein a switch distance value is determined for each context-switching step, the switch distance value corresponding to a distance between the task anchor and a location of the secondary context for the context-switching step, and wherein the switch distance score is based on combination of the switch distance value for each of the context-switching steps (Warner, para.63, 92, 98, 123, 150; R, para.62, 94, aggregate interactions; Fig.4D, vector paths 460, para.52, 85-86).
As per claim 4, the system of R, Warner, Clarke and Nouard teaches the data processing system of claim 3, wherein the switch distance value for each of the context-switching steps corresponds to a measurement of a distance between the task anchor and the location of the secondary context for the context-switching step on the display screen (Warner, para.63, 92, 98, 123, 150; R, para.62, 94, aggregate interactions; Fig.4D, vector paths 460, para.52, 85-86).
As per claim 5, the system of R, Warner, Clarke and Nouard teaches the data processing system of claim 1, wherein the workflow includes multiple context-switching steps, wherein a task visibility value is determined for each context-switching step, the task visibility value being indicative of an amount of the task anchor that is visible on the display screen during the context-switching step, and wherein the task visibility score is based on combination of the task visibility value for each of the context-switching steps (Clarke, para.598-599, 701-702, threshold amount i.e. degree of notification visible determines manner in which notifications are displayed; R, para.34, 70-75, off-screen element, para.62, 94, aggregate interactions).
As per claim 6, the system of R, Warner, Clarke and Nouard teaches the data processing system of claim 1, wherein the user feedback is collected by periodically prompting users of the application for the customer satisfaction information pertaining to the usage of the application (Nouard, para.29, 38-39, 47, 53, 55, 67-68, prompt for feedback; R, para.33, 40, 64-65, 98, prompt to accept recommendation).
As per claim 7, the system of R, Warner, Clarke and Nouard teaches the data processing system of claim 1, wherein generating the at least one UI/UX modification suggestion for the application based on at least one of the switch distance score, the task anchor visibility score, and the customer feelings score further comprises: generating a separate UI/UX modification suggestion based on each of the switch distance score, the task anchor visibility score, and the customer feelings score (R, para.73, recommendation based on specific usage measurement).
As per claim 8, the system of R, Warner, Clarke and Nouard teaches the data processing system of claim 1, further comprising displaying switch distance information, task visibility information, customer feelings information and the at least one UI/UX modification suggestion on a user interface of the context-switching evaluation system (R, para.76-87, Fig.4A-4D, visualization of interactions; Clarke, para.598-599, 701-702).
As per claim 9, the system of R, Warner, Clarke and Nouard teaches the data processing system of claim 1, wherein the context-switching evaluation system is a local application on the computing device (R, para.28, 112, local application).
As per claim 10, the system of R, Warner, Clarke and Nouard teaches the data processing system of claim 1, wherein the context-switching evaluation system is implemented as a service of a cloud-based service provider that is accessible via a network (R, para.21, 93, 112, cloud-based service).
Claims 11 and 20 are similar in scope to claim 1, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 12 is similar in scope to claim 2, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 13 is similar in scope to claim 3, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 14 is similar in scope to claim 5, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 15 is similar in scope to claim 6, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 16 is similar in scope to claim 7, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 17 is similar in scope to claim 8, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 18 is similar in scope to claim 9, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 19 is similar in scope to claim 10, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Inquiries
/S.M./
Sajeda Muhebbullah Examiner, Art Unit 2174
/WILLIAM L BASHORE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2174