DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Friggstad et al. 8,047,301.
Independent Claim 1: Friggstad discloses a row unit coupling device for securing a first row unit and a second row unit (12, 14, respectively, see col. 1, lns. 31-33) to a tool bar (26) of an agricultural implement, the row unit coupling device comprising:
a swing arm (18, 20) having a first end (the front end) and a second end (the rear end), the first end configured for pivotal coupling to the tool bar (at 42), the swing arm comprising a first arm (18, seen in annotated Fig. 4 below) extending in a first direction from the first end, a second arm (20,also shown below) extending in a second direction from an elbow portion (see below) that joins the first arm to the second arm, the second direction being different from the first direction, and the second end being at an end of the second arm; and
a walking beam (16) having a central beam (also 16), a first row adapter (58, 60), and a second row adapter (rear 58, 60, col. 4, lns. 25-28), the central beam having a proximal end (the front end) and a distal end (the rear end), the first row adapter and the second row adapter secured to the central beam on opposing sides of a position at which the swing arm is pivotally coupled to the central beam (seen in Figs. 4-5), the first row adapter configured to be coupled to the first row unit, the second row adapter configured to be coupled to the second row unit (as seen in Figs. 4-5), wherein each of the first row adapter and the second row adapter includes a connection body (74,76 and/or 73, seen on the left side of Fig. 7) and an offset body (62, 64, seen on the left side of Fig. 7), the offset body positioned between the central beam and the connection body (as seen between Figs. 6 and 7), the connection body adapted to secure a respective one of the first and second row unit to the row unit coupling device (also seen in Figs. 6-7), as per claim 1.
Dependent Claims 2-4: Friggstad further discloses wherein the first row adapter (58, 60) is positioned at or around the proximal end of the central beam (the front end of central beam 16), and the second row adapter (a similar mount to 58, 60, col. 4, lns. 25-28) is positioned at or around the distal end of the central beam (the rear end of central beam 16), as per claim 2;
wherein the first row adapter (say the mount of forward right-side disc 48, as seen in Fig. 5) extends from the central beam in a first direction (to the right), and the second row adapter (the mount of rear left-side disc 50, as seen in Fig. 5) extends from the central beam in a second direction (to the left), the first direction being opposite to the second direction, the first and second directions being perpendicular to a direction that the central beam extends (in the front-to-back direction) from the distal end (the rear end) to the proximal end (the front end), as per claim 3;
wherein the second end of the swing arm (the rear, bottom end of 20, seen in annotated Fig. 4 above) is pivotally coupled (via 22) to the central beam (16) at a location adjacent to the distal end (the rear end of 16) of the central beam (as seen in Fig. 4), as per claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friggstad in view of Pingry 5,406,897.
Dependent Claim 5: The coupling device is disclosed as applied above. However, Friggstad fails to disclose wherein the first row adapter is separated from the second row adapter by a distance at which, when the first row unit is coupled to the first row adapter and the second row unit is coupled to the second row adapter, the first and second row units are in a partial overlapping side-by-side alignment, as per claim 5.
Pingry discloses a similar coupling device wherein the first row adapter (34 of 16B-1 in Fig. 3) is separated from the second row adapter (34 of 16C-1) by a distance at which, when the first row unit (16B-1) is coupled to the first row adapter and the second row unit (16C-1) is coupled to the second row adapter, the first and second row units are in a partial overlapping side-by-side alignment (as seen in Fig. 3, depth gauge wheel 28 of front row unit 16B-1 overlaps with coulter blade 32 of rear row unit 16C-1), as per claim 5.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to overlap the row units as taught by Pingry on the coupling device of Friggstad in order to provide a wide seeding width with a relatively compact machine.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Friggstad fails to teach or suggest row adapters including a connection body and an offset body as now required by claim 1. However, as rejected above and seen in Friggstad’s Figures 6 and 7, Friggstad discloses row adapter 58 having connection bodies at 73 and/or 74 and/or 76 and offset bodies at 62 and/or 64, as claimed. Applicant claims no structural or functional limitations that preclude these bodies of Friggstad. The rejection is therefore maintained.
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the group receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-3600. The fax number for this Group is 571-273-8300.
/Alicia Torres/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671 August 14, 2026