DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 3-20 are currently pending. Claims 1 and 3-20 are rejected.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 6 of the remarks, filed September 03, 2025, with respect to the rejections of Claims 4, 6, 10 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of amendments. The rejection of Claims 4, 6, 10 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg 7-9 of the remarks, filed with respect to the rejection(s) of under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Alstad et al. (US 2019/0112984 A1), hereinafter Alstad.
Regarding Claims 1, 11, and 18, as best understood, Applicant argues the art of record does not expressly teach the amended limitation of the accessory drive gearbox and the radial drive shaft driven by a turbine shaft to power a hydraulic pump as claimed. At best, Weaver appears to exemplify a powered accessory as various “pump, etc.” in paragraph [0002]. However, such a limitation is believed to be obvious in view of Alstad as detailed in the rejection below.
No other arguments have been provided regarding remaining dependent claims.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 8, 15, and 20 use the term “high bypass turbofan engine”. For clarity of record, the Office notes this to be a known term of the art, meaning an engine having a higher ratio of air going through the bypass rather than the core.
Claim 18, Line 2 “first means” modified by the function of being configured “for surrounding the turbine engine”, interpreted to be an inner turbine frame or equivalents thereof according to paragraph [0046] of the Specification filed January 04, 2023.
Claim 18, Lines 2-3, “second means” modified by the function of being configured “for surrounding the turbine engine” interpreted to be an outer turbine frame or equivalents thereof according to paragraph [0047] of the Specification filed.
Claim 18, Line 6, “means” modified by the function of being configured “for straightening air flow in the turbine engine” interpreted to be outlet guide vanes or equivalents thereof according to paragraph [0048] of the Specification filed.
Claim 18, Line 10, “means” modified by the function of being configured “for transferring power” interpreted to be an accessory drive gearbox or equivalents thereof according to paragraph [0049] of the Specification filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 9-14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wojno et al. (US 2010/0080697 A1), hereinafter Wojno, in view of Beardsley et al. (US 2008/0072571 A1), hereinafter Beardsley, Weaver et al. (US 2022/0290615 A1), hereinafter Weaver, and Alstad et al. (US 2019/0112984 A1), hereinafter Alstad.
Regarding Claim 1, Figures 1-4 of Wojno teach a gas turbine engine comprising: fan blades (24) surrounded by a fan case (42); outlet guide vanes (70) positioned downstream from the fan blades (24), the outlet guide vanes (70) having a first sloping angle (L, see Figure 3) in a direction of rotation of the fan blades (24) and a second sloping angle (between 71 and a radial direction, see Figure 2) in a direction of air flow through the fan case (42), an inner turbine frame (44) [0014-0015, 0018, 0022, 0026].
Wojno does not expressly teach an accessory drive gearbox in contact with a first surface of the fan case, the accessory drive gearbox positioned downstream from the outlet guide vanes, the accessory drive gearbox supported by the outlet guide vanes and the first surface of the fan case; and a radial drive shaft coupled to the accessory drive gearbox, the radial drive shaft extending between an interior portion of the gas turbine engine and the fan case, the radial drive shaft having an end in contact with the accessory drive gearbox, the radial drive shaft having an angled position relative to an inner turbine frame, the accessory drive gearbox and the radial drive shaft driven by a turbine shaft as claimed. However, such an accessory drive gearbox would have been obvious in view of Beardsley and Weaver.
Figure 1 of Beardsley teaches an engine with an accessory drive gearbox (43) in contact (note is shown and described as fan case mounted) with a first surface (radially outer surface) of the fan case (24, 26 interpreted to be one component), the accessory drive gearbox (43) positioned downstream from the outlet guide vanes (28), the accessory drive gearbox (43) supported by the outlet guide vanes (28) and the first surface of the fan case (24, 26); and a radial drive shaft (45) coupled to the accessory drive gearbox (43), the radial drive shaft (45) extending between an interior portion (any portion closer to 11 than the gearbox 43) of the gas turbine engine and the fan case (24, 26), the radial drive shaft (45) having an end (radially outer end of 45) in contact with the accessory gearbox (43), the radial drive shaft (45) having an angled position relative to an inner turbine frame (40), the accessory drive gearbox (43) and the radial drive shaft (45) driven by a turbine shaft (see connection to 15). According to paragraphs [0031-0032], the fan case (26) provides a space that is available for mounting of the accessory drive gearbox (43). Furthermore, it is desirable for the radial drive (45), which connects directly to the gearbox (43) to be sufficiently aft of the outlet guide vanes (28). As seen in Figure 1, the fan casing (24, 26), including its surface, accessory drive gearbox (43), and outlet guide vanes (28) are all in connection, thereby the surface and the outlet guide vanes (28) are interpreted as supporting gearbox (43), since loads would be transferred to the surface and vanes (28). Weaver explains why accessory drive gearboxes are desirable in engines. Paragraph [0002] of Weaver particularly notes that accessory drive gearboxes allow for the exchanging of power from the engine’s core and accessories of the engine. Thus, this provides power to a variety of accessories, such as pumps and engine starters. Paragraph [0021] of Weaver explains the shaft (34 in Weaver) allows transfer of power with gearbox (32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gas turbine engine taught by Wojno with an accessory drive gearbox in contact with a first surface of the fan case, the accessory drive gearbox positioned downstream from the outlet guide vanes, the accessory drive gearbox supported by the outlet guide vanes and the first surface of the fan case; and a radial drive shaft coupled to the accessory drive gearbox, the radial drive shaft extending between an interior portion of the gas turbine engine and the fan case, the radial drive shaft having an end in contact with the accessory drive gearbox, the radial drive shaft having an angled position relative to an inner turbine frame, the accessory drive gearbox and the radial drive shaft driven by a turbine shaft as suggested by Beardsley and Weaver, to provide the benefit of powering accessories of the engine and transferring power to the gearbox (Weaver). The placement allows for use of available space known to be suitable for the gearbox that allows for the drive of the gearbox to be sufficiently aft of the outlet guide vanes (Beardsley).
Wojno, Beardsley, and Weaver do not expressly teach the gearbox driven to power a hydraulic pump as claimed. However, a hydraulic pump would have been obvious in view of Alstad.
Figure 1A of Alstad teaches a gas turbine engine with an accessory drive gearbox (60). The gearbox is driven to power a hydraulic pump (68). Alstad notes the hydraulic pump (68) helps provide hydraulic fluid power to hydraulic components, the flight control system, and thrust reversers [0037-0038]. Thus, Alstad exemplifies a known accessory that is beneficial to operation of the turbine engine.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the gas turbine engine taught by Wojno-Beardsley-Weaver such that the gearbox is driven to power a hydraulic pump as suggested by Alstad, to provide the benefit of powering hydraulic components, flight control systems, or thrust reversers, thus giving the engine greater operating capabilities.
Regarding Claim 3, Wojno, Beardsley, Weaver, and Alstad teach the gas turbine engine as set forth in Claim 1.
Wojno teaches wherein the first sloping angle (L) is 10 degrees, which is within the claimed range of between 1 degree and 15 degrees [0026]. Therefore, the claimed range is anticipated by Wojno (see MPEP 2131.03 regarding anticipation of ranges). The magnitude of “-10” taught in Wojno is interpreted as having a value of 10. Magnitude satisfies the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, since a direction for measuring is not particularly noted.
Regarding Claim 4, Wojno, Beardsley, Weaver, and Alstad teach the gas turbine engine as set forth in Claim 1.
Figure 3 of Wojno teaches wherein the first sloping angle (L) is measured from a surface of the inner turbine frame (circle at inner end of 70). See also Figure 2, wherein vane (70) is connected to inner turbine frame (44) [0014].
Regarding Claim 5, Wojno, Beardsley, Weaver, and Alstad teach the gas turbine engine as set forth in Claim 1.
Figure 2 of Wojno teaches wherein the second sloping angle (between 71 and a radial direction) is measured from the first surface (outer surface) of the fan case (42).
Regarding Claim 6, Wojno, Beardsley, Weaver, and Alstad teach the gas turbine engine as set forth in Claim 1.
Figure 2 of Wojno teaches wherein the second sloping angle is measured from an axis, the axis extending radially from a center point of an inner turbine frame (44) to a second surface (inner facing surface) of the fan case (42). The edge of 71 forms one leg of the second angle. An axis may be drawn from the axial center of (44) towards (42), lining up with the point where (71) meets (42) to form the second leg of the second angle.
Regarding Claim 9, Wojno, Beardsley, Weaver, and Alstad teach the gas turbine engine as set forth in Claim 1.
Figure 2 of Wojno teaches wherein the outlet guide vanes (70) includes first ends (end of 70 closer to 44) and second ends (end of 70 closer to 42), the second ends downstream (to the right of in Figure 2) from the first ends. Note that vanes (70) have leading and trailing edges (71, 73). (80) is bifurcation which merges with some of the vanes [0024]. See also Figure 4 for a different representation of individual vanes (70).
Regarding Claim 10, Wojno, Beardsley, Weaver, and Alstad teach the gas turbine engine as set forth in Claim 9.
Figure 2 of Wojno teaches wherein the first ends (end of 70 closer to 44) are in contact with the inner turbine frame (44) and the second ends (end of 70 closer to 42) are in contact with a second surface (inner facing surface) of the fan case (42).
Regarding Claim 11, Figures 1-4 of Wojno teach a turbine engine comprising: an inner turbine frame (44) and an outer turbine frame (42), the inner turbine frame (44) defining a first flowpath (50) along an axial direction (along 11) and a bypass flowpath (52) defined between the inner turbine frame (44) and the outer turbine frame (42); a plurality of outlet guide vanes (70) arranged circumferentially between the inner turbine frame (44) and the outer turbine frame (42), at least one of the plurality of outlet guide vanes (70) tangentially tilted relative to a first surface of the inner turbine frame (44) [0014-0015, 0018, 0022, 0026].
Wojno does not expressly teach an accessory drive gearbox in contact with a second surface of the outer turbine frame, the accessory drive gearbox supported by the plurality of the outlet guide vanes and the second surface of the outer turbine frame; and a radial drive shaft coupled to the accessory drive gearbox, the radial drive shaft extending between an interior portion of the turbine engine and the outer turbine frame, the radial drive shaft having an end in contact with the accessory drive gearbox, the radial drive shaft having an angled position relative to the inner turbine frame, the accessory drive gearbox and the radial drive shaft driven by a turbine shaft as claimed. However, such an accessory drive gearbox would have been obvious in view of Beardsley and Weaver.
Figure 1 of Beardsley teaches a turbine engine with an accessory drive gearbox (43) in contact (note is shown and described as fan case mounted) with a second surface of the outer turbine frame (24, 26), the accessory drive gearbox (43) supported by the plurality of the outlet guide vanes (28) and the second surface of the outer turbine frame (24, 26); and a radial drive shaft (45) coupled to the accessory drive gearbox (43), the radial drive shaft (45) extending between an interior portion (any portion closer to 11 than the gearbox 43) of the turbine engine and the outer turbine frame (24, 26), the radial drive shaft (45) having an end (radially outer end of 45) in contact with the accessory drive gearbox (43), the radial drive shaft (45) having an angled position relative to the inner turbine frame (40), the accessory drive gearbox (43) and the radial drive shaft (45) driven by a turbine shaft (see connection to 15). According to paragraphs [0031-0032], the outer turbine frame (26) provides a space that is available for mounting of the accessory drive gearbox (43). As seen in Figure 1, the outer turbine frame (24, 26), including its surface, accessory drive gearbox (43), and outlet guide vanes (28) are all in connection, thereby the surface and outlet guide vanes (28) are interpreted as supporting gearbox (43), since loads would be transferred to the surface and the vanes (28). Weaver explains why accessory drive gearboxes are desirable in engines. Paragraph [0002] of Weaver particularly notes that accessory drive gearboxes allow for the exchanging of power from the engine’s core and accessories of the engine. Thus, this provides power to a variety of accessories, such as pumps and engine starters. Paragraph [0021] of Weaver explains the shaft (34 in Weaver) allows transfer of power with gearbox (32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the turbine engine taught by Wojno with an accessory drive gearbox in contact with a second surface of the outer turbine frame, the accessory drive gearbox supported by the plurality of the outlet guide vanes and the second surface of the outer turbine frame; and a radial drive shaft coupled to the accessory drive gearbox, the radial drive shaft extending between an interior portion of the turbine engine and the outer turbine frame, the radial drive shaft having an end in contact with the accessory drive gearbox, the radial drive shaft having an angled position relative to the inner turbine frame, the accessory drive gearbox and the radial drive shaft driven by a turbine shaft as suggested by Beardsley and Weaver, to provide the benefit of powering accessories of the engine and transferring power to the gearbox (Weaver). The placement allows for use of available space known to be suitable for the gearbox (Beardsley).
Wojno, Beardsley, and Weaver do not expressly teach the gearbox driven to power a hydraulic pump as claimed. However, a hydraulic pump would have been obvious in view of Alstad.
Figure 1A of Alstad teaches a turbine engine with an accessory drive gearbox (60). The gearbox is driven to power a hydraulic pump (68). Alstad notes the hydraulic pump (68) helps provide hydraulic fluid power to hydraulic components, the flight control system, and thrust reversers [0037-0038]. Thus, Alstad exemplifies a known accessory that is beneficial to operation of the turbine engine.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the turbine engine taught by Wojno-Beardsley-Weaver such that the gearbox is driven to power a hydraulic pump as suggested by Alstad, to provide the benefit of powering hydraulic components, flight control systems, or thrust reversers, thus giving the engine greater operating capabilities.
Regarding Claim 12, Wojno, Beardsley, Weaver, and Alstad teach the turbine engine as set forth in Claim 11.
The modification in Claim 11 in view of Beardsley results wherein the accessory drive gearbox (43) is positioned downstream from the plurality of outlet guide vanes (28), as exemplified in Figure 1 of Beardsley. Beardsley acknowledges it is desirable for the shaft (45), which connects directly with the gearbox (43) to be sufficiently aft of the outlet guide vanes (28). The space further is recognized as being suitable for the mounting of the gearbox [0031-0032].
Regarding Claim 13, Wojno, Beardsley, Weaver, and Alstad teach the turbine engine as set forth in Claim 11.
The limitation of when the turbine engine is operating, the inner turbine frame and the outer turbine frame include a first tangential rotational displacement and the at least one of the plurality of outlet guide vanes includes a second tangential rotational displacement, the first tangential rotational displacement less than the second tangential rotational displacement, is considered intended use of the claimed apparatus. Figure 2 of Wojno shows inner turbine frame (44), outer turbine frame (42), and outlet guide vanes (70). The claim does not specify any further structure besides results from the intended use of said structure when operating in a particular fashion. Recitations with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus (see MPEP 2114, II). Udall (US 2007/0084218 A1) is further cited as pertinent art providing evidence of what occurs in an engine during usage. Paragraph [0003] describes the inducing of a roll torque, which results in rotational displacement, between the two frames of (12) and (5) that is expected to occur during typical operation of an engine. Paragraph [0022] describes said roll torque being restrained by the outlet guide vanes (31).
Regarding Claim 14, Wojno, Beardsley, Weaver, and Alstad teach the turbine engine as set forth in Claim 11.
Figure 2 of Wojno teaches wherein the at least one of the plurality of outlet guide vanes (70) is tangentially leaned with respect to an axis (can be drawn from center of 44 to point where 71 meets 42), the axis extending radially from a center point of the inner turbine frame (44) to the outer turbine frame (42).
Regarding Claim 16, Wojno, Beardsley, Weaver, and Alstad teach the turbine engine as set forth in Claim 11.
Figure 2 of Wojno teaches wherein first ends (end of 70 closer to 44) of the plurality of outlet guide vanes (70) are in contact with the first surface of the inner turbine frame (44) and second ends (end of 70 closer to 42) of the plurality of outlet guide vanes (70) are in contact with a third surface of the outer turbine frame (42). Note that vanes (70) have leading and trailing edges (71, 73). (80) is bifurcation which merges with some of the vanes [0024]. See also Figure 4 for a different representation of individual vanes (70).
Regarding Claim 17, Wojno, Beardsley, Weaver, and Alstad teach the turbine engine as set forth in Claim 16.
Figure 2 of Wojno teaches wherein the second ends (end of 70 closer to 42) are positioned downstream (to the right of in Figure 2) from the first ends (end of 70 closer to 44).
Regarding Claim 18, interpreting “first means” under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to be an inner turbine frame or equivalents thereof according to paragraph [0046] of the Specification, “second means” under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to be an outer turbine frame or equivalents thereof according to paragraph [0047] of the Specification, “means for straightening air flow in the turbine engine” under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to be outlet guide vanes or equivalents thereof according to paragraph [0048] of the Specification, “means for transferring power” under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to be an accessory drive gearbox or equivalents thereof according to paragraph [0049] of the Specification, Figure 1-4 of Wojno teach a turbine engine comprising: a first means (44) for surrounding the turbine engine and a second means (42) for surrounding the turbine engine, the second means (42) for surrounding to circumferentially enclose the first means (44) for surrounding, the second means (42) for surrounding aligned to the first means (44) for surrounding; means (70) for straightening air flow in the turbine engine extending radially from the first means (44) for surrounding to the second means (42) for surrounding, the means (70) for straightening positioned at a first angle (any angle between 71 and axial direction, see Figure 2) relative to an axial direction of the turbine engine and a second angle (any angle between 71 and 44, see Figure 3) relative to a first surface of the first means (44) for surrounding [0014-0015, 0018, 0022, 0026].
Wojno does not expressly teach means for transferring power in contact with a second surface of the second means for surrounding, the means for transferring supported by the means for straightening and the second surface of the second means for surrounding; and a radial drive shaft coupled to the means for transferring power, the radial drive shaft extending between an interior portion of the turbine engine and the second means for surrounding, the radial drive shaft having an end in contact with the means for transferring power, the radial drive shaft having an angled position relative to the first means for surrounding the turbine engine, the means for transferring power and the radial drive shaft driven by a turbine shaft as claimed. However, said means for transferring power would have been obvious in view of Beardsley and Weaver.
Figure 1 of Beardsley teaches a turbine engine with means (43) for transferring power positioned in contact (note is shown and described as fan case mounted) with a second surface (outer facing surface) the second means (24, 26) for surrounding, the means (43) for transferring supported by the means (28) for straightening and the second surface of the second means (24, 26) for surrounding; and a radial drive shaft (45) coupled to the means (43) for transferring power, the radial drive shaft (45) extending between an interior portion (any portion closer to 11 than the gearbox 43) of the turbine engine and the second means (24, 26) for surrounding, the radial drive shaft (45) having an end (radially outer end of 45) in contact with the means (43) for transferring power, the radial drive shaft (45) having an angled position relative to the first means (44) for surrounding the turbine engine, the means (43) for transferring power and the radial drive shaft (45) driven by a turbine shaft (see connection to 15). According to paragraphs [0031-0032], the second means (26) for surrounding provides a space that is available for mounting of the means (43) for transferring power. As seen in Figure 1, the second means (24, 26) for surrounding, including its surface, means (43) for transferring power, and means (28) for straightening are all in connection, thereby the second surface and the means (28) for straightening are interpreted as supporting the means (43) for transferring power, since loads would be transferred to the surface and the means (28) for straightening. Weaver explains why a means for transferring power is desirable in engines. Paragraph [0002] of Weaver particularly notes that means for transferring power allows for the exchanging of power from the engine’s core and accessories of the engine. Thus, this provides power to a variety of accessories, such as pumps and engine starters. Paragraph [0021] of Weaver explains the radial drive shaft (34 in Weaver) allows transfer of power with means (32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the turbine engine taught by Wojno with means for transferring power in contact with a second surface of the second means for surrounding, the means for transferring supported by the means for straightening and the second surface of the second means for surrounding; and a radial drive shaft coupled to the means for transferring power the radial drive shaft extending between an interior portion of the turbine engine and the second means for surrounding, the radial drive shaft having an end in contact with the means for transferring power, the radial drive shaft having an angled position relative to the first means for surrounding the turbine engine, the means for transferring power and the radial drive shaft driven by a turbine shaft as suggested by Beardsley and Weaver, to provide the benefit of powering accessories of the engine and transferring power between the means for transferring power (Weaver). The placement allows for use of available space known to be suitable for the means for transferring power (Beardsley).
Wojno, Beardsley, and Weaver do not expressly teach the means for transferring power driven to power a hydraulic pump as claimed. However, a hydraulic pump would have been obvious in view of Alstad.
Figure 1A of Alstad teaches a turbine engine with a means for transferring power (60). The means is driven to power a hydraulic pump (68). Alstad notes the hydraulic pump (68) helps provide hydraulic fluid power to hydraulic components, the flight control system, and thrust reversers [0037-0038]. Thus, Alstad exemplifies a known accessory that is beneficial to operation of the turbine engine.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the turbine engine taught by Wojno-Beardsley-Weaver such that the means for transferring power is driven to power a hydraulic pump as suggested by Alstad, to provide the benefit of powering hydraulic components, flight control systems, or thrust reversers, thus giving the engine greater operating capabilities.
Regarding Claim 19, Wojno, Beardsley, Weaver, and Alstad teach the turbine engine as set forth in Claim 18.
The modification in Claim 18 by Beardsley results wherein the means (43) for transferring power is positioned downstream from the means (28) for straightening airflow, as exemplified in Figure 1 of Beardsley. Beardsley acknowledges that this area contains space suitable for mounting of the means (43) for transferring power and allows for the radial drive shaft (45) connecting to the means (43) for transferring power to be sufficiently aft of the means (28) for straightening [0031-0032].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wojno, Beardsley, Weaver, and Alstad as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Di Mare et al. (US 2017/0147741 A1), hereinafter Di Mare.
Regarding Claim 7, Wojno, Beardsley, Weaver, and Alstad teach the gas turbine engine as set forth in Claim 1.
Figure 3 of Wojno teaches wherein a first one of the outlet guide vanes (70) is positioned at a first sloping angle (L) and a second one of the outlet guide vanes (any other of 70) is positioned at a third sloping angle (L) in a direction of rotation of the fan blades [0022].
Wojno does not expressly teach the first sloping angle different from the third sloping angle as claimed. However, a different sloping angle would have been obvious in view of Di Mare.
Figure 2 of Di Mare teaches a turbine engine having an outlet guide vane (24). Each outlet guide vane (24) has a sloping angle (lean) that is arranged to be varied [0069]. In other words, since the sloping angle is varied across different guide vanes, this results in the first sloping angle different from the third sloping angle among two different vanes. The sloping angle between vanes is varied to produce a target distortion and ensure uniform performance of the row of outlet guide vanes [0086]. Asymmetry introduces non-uniform flow field. Changing the arrangement of the vanes for greater uniformity mitigates undesirable forcing on the fan and improved performance [0002, 0005].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the gas turbine engine taught by Wojno-Beardsley-Weaver-Alstad such that the first sloping angle different from the third sloping angle as suggested by Di Mare, to provide the benefits of producing a more uniform flow and improving performance.
Claims 8, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wojno, Beardsley, Weaver, and Alstad as applied to Claims 1, 11, and 18 above, and further in view of Xu (US 2018/0010465 A1), hereinafter Xu.
Regarding Claim 8, Wojno, Beardsley, Weaver, and Alstad teach the gas turbine engine as set forth in Claim 1.
Wojno does not expressly teach wherein the gas turbine engine is a high bypass turbofan engine as claimed. However, a high bypass turbofan engine would have been obvious in view of Xu.
Xu teaches turbine engines are typically configured in a high bypass configuration or a low bypass configuration. A high bypass turbofan engine primarily generates thrust through the fan portion and is common in commercial aircraft and transports where noise and fuel efficiency are concerns [0009]. Thus, Xu exemplifies scenarios in which a high bypass turbofan engine would be desirable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the gas turbine engine taught by Wojno-Beardsley-Weaver-Alstad such that the gas turbine engine is a high bypass turbofan engine as suggested by Xu, to provide the benefit of addressing noise and fuel efficiencies.
Regarding Claim 15, Wojno, Beardsley, Weaver, and Alstad teach the turbine engine as set forth in Claim 11.
Wojno does not expressly teach wherein the turbine engine is a high bypass turbofan engine as claimed. However, a high bypass turbofan engine would have been obvious in view of Xu.
Xu teaches turbine engines are typically configured in a high bypass configuration or a low bypass configuration. A high bypass turbofan engine primarily generates thrust through the fan portion and is common in commercial aircraft and transports where noise and fuel efficiency are concerns [0009]. Thus, Xu exemplifies scenarios in which a high bypass turbofan engine would be desirable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the turbine engine taught by Wojno-Beardsley-Weaver-Alstad such that the turbine engine is a high bypass turbofan engine as suggested by Xu, to provide the benefit of addressing noise and fuel efficiencies.
Regarding Claim 20, Wojno, Beardsley, Weaver, and Alstad teach the turbine engine as set forth in Claim 18.
Wojno does not expressly teach wherein the turbine engine is a high bypass turbofan engine as claimed. However, a high bypass turbofan engine would have been obvious in view of Xu.
Xu teaches turbine engines are typically configured in a high bypass configuration or a low bypass configuration. A high bypass turbofan engine primarily generates thrust through the fan portion and is common in commercial aircraft and transports where noise and fuel efficiency are concerns [0009]. Thus, Xu exemplifies scenarios in which a high bypass turbofan engine would be desirable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the turbine engine taught by Wojno-Beardsley-Weaver-Alstad such that the turbine engine is a high bypass turbofan engine as suggested by Xu, to provide the benefit of addressing noise and fuel efficiencies.
Conclusion
/ELTON K WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745