Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 02/24/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 20, 25 and 29 have been amended.
Claims 1, 17, 20-21, 24-26, 29-30 and 33 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 17, 20-21, 24-26, 29-30 and 33 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The Double Patenting rejection has been withdrawn based on the amendment to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 20, 24-25, 29 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won et al. (US 20220361135 A1) in view of Park et al. (US 20200413244 A1) and further in view of Kuge et al. (US 20230164726 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Won teaches a method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system (the network entity performing the method of FIG. 5B may include or be included in UE, [0038]), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a network entity, a registration request message (initiating, by the UE, performing a registration procedure, e.g., by sending a registration request message, [0044]; transmitting a registration request message to a network node, such as a gNB or AMF, [0039]) including a requested network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) (The registration message may include the one of the one or more S-NSSAIs, [0044]); and
receiving, from the network entity, a response message in response to the first registration request message (For example, the receiving 560 may include receiving the information in registration accept message from an AMF, [0039]);
in case that the response message comprises a registration accept message (For example, the receiving 560 may include receiving the information in registration accept message from an AMF, [0039]) including at least one rejected single-NSSAI(S-NSSAI) (the received information may further include a rejected NSSAI, [0042]), and
a tracking area identity (TAI) list for a rejected S-NSSAI partially in a registration area (RA) (the received information may further include a rejected NSSAI with a cause value indicating that the corresponding S-NSSAIs are not supported uniformly in the registration area and/or is not supported in a current tracking area, and TAIs where the S-NSSAIs in the list of S-NSSAI is not supported, [0042];
identifying whether a current TAI of the terminal is included in the TAI list for the rejected S-NSSAI (detecting or determining whether the UE is in a TA of the registration area that supports at least one S-NSSAI not in the allowed NSSAI, [0044]).
However, Won does not clearly teach based on the identification that the current TAI of the terminal is in the TAI list for the rejected S-NSSAI, transmitting, to the network entity, a second registration request message including a second requested NSSAI, wherein the at least one rejected S-NSSAI is not included in the second requested NSSAI if a current TAI of the terminal is in the TAI list; and based on the identification that the current TAI of the terminal is not included in the TAI list for the rejected S-NSSAI, initiating a procedure to request a third registration with an S-NSSAI among the at least one rejected S-NS SAI.
In an analogous art, Park teaches based on the identification that the current TAI of the terminal is in the TAI list for the rejected S-NSSAI, transmitting, to the network entity, a second registration request message including a second requested NSSAI, wherein the at least one rejected S-NSSAI is not included in the second requested NSSAI if a current TAI of the terminal is in the TAI list (if the S-NSSAI is rejected because it is not available in the current registration area, the terminal may not attempt the use request of the rejected S-NSSAI in the current registration area until the terminal is out of the registration area, [0639]); and
based on the identification that the current TAI of the terminal is not included in the TAI list for the rejected S-NSSAI, initiating a procedure to request a third registration with an S-NSSAI among the at least one rejected S-NS SAI (if the refusal of the S-NSSAI is given in units of a registration area and the terminal moves to another registration area (that is, when it is out of the current registration area in which the S-NSSAI is rejected), the terminal may re-attempt the request for the use of the S-NSSAI rejected in the previous registration area in the new registration area, [0604]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the registration of Won with the registration Of Park to provide a method to provide an efficient method for requesting a specific service/slice-S-NSSAI of the terminal to the network in terms of the terminal and network nodes as suggested, Park [0006].
However, Won and Park do not clearly teach in case that the response message comprises a registration reject message including information indicating that the first requested NSSAI is not available in the RA, deleting a TAI list corresponding to the RA.
In an analogous art, Kuge teaches in case that the response message comprises a registration reject message including information indicating that the first requested NSSAI is not available in the RA (The new AMF 141 may further include the configured NSSAI, and/or the allowed NSSAI, and/or the rejected NSSAI, and/or the pending NSSAI, and/or the first NSSAI in the control message and transmit the control message to the UE, [0250]; The control message may be the registration accept message, or may be the registration reject message, [0250]), deleting a TAI list corresponding to the RA (In a case of receiving a TAI list, the UE_A 10 enables the received TAI list, and in a case that the UE_A 10 already stores a valid TAI list, the UE_A 10 may delete or disable the old TAI list. The valid TAI list may hereinafter be represented as the registration area below, [0285]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the registration of Won and Park with the tai list of Kuge to provide a method for managing the number of UEs allowed for each slice as suggested, Kuge [0014].
Regarding claim 20, Won teaches a method performed by a network entity in a wireless communication system (the flow diagram of FIG. 5A may be performed by a network entity, [0033]), the method comprising:
receiving, from a terminal, a registration request message (receiving a registration request message from one or more UE, [0034]) including a requested network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) (The registration message may include the one of the one or more S-NSSAIs, [0044]); and
transmitting, to the terminal, a registration accept message (providing, to the UE(s), information comprising one or more lists of TAIs and one or more lists of S-NSSAIs. For example, the providing 510 may include transmitting the information in registration accept message to the UE, [0034]) including at least one rejected single-NSSAI (S-NSSAI)(the received information may further include a rejected NSSAI, [0042]), and a tracking area identity (TAI) list for a rejected S-NSSAI partially in a registration area (RA) (the received information may further include a rejected NSSAI with a cause value indicating that the corresponding S-NSSAIs are not supported uniformly in the registration area and/or is not supported in a current tracking area, and TAIs where the S-NSSAIs in the list of S-NSSAI is not supported, [0042]).
However, Won does not clearly teach receiving, from the terminal, a second registration request message including a second requested NSSAI based on a current TAI of the terminal being in the TAI list for the rejected S-NSSAI, wherein the at least one rejected S-NSSAI is not included in the second requested NSSAI if a current TAI of the terminal is in the TAI list (if the refusal of the S-NSSAI is given in units of a registration area and the terminal moves to another registration area (that is, when it is out of the current registration area in which the S-NSSAI is rejected); and receiving, from the terminal, a third registration request message including a third requested NSSAI based on the current TAI of the terminal not being included in the TAI list for the rejected S-NSSAI, the third requested NSSAI including an S-NSSAI among the at least one rejected S-NSSAI.
In an analogous art, Park teaches receiving, from the terminal, a second registration request message including a second requested NSSAI based on a current TAI of the terminal being in the TAI list for the rejected S-NSSAI, wherein the at least one rejected S-NSSAI is not included in the second requested NSSAI if a current TAI of the terminal is in the TAI list (if the refusal of the S-NSSAI is given in units of a registration area and the terminal moves to another registration area (that is, when it is out of the current registration area in which the S-NSSAI is rejected), the terminal may re-attempt the request for the use of the S-NSSAI rejected in the previous registration area in the new registration area, [0604]); and when the current TAI of the terminal is not included in the TAI list for the rejected S- NSSAI, receiving, from the terminal, a third registration request message including a third requested NSSAI, the third requested NSSAI including an S-NSSAI among the at least one rejected S-NSSAI based on a current TAI of the terminal being in the TAI list for the rejected S-NSSAI (if the refusal of the S-NSSAI is given in units of a registration area and the terminal moves to another registration area (that is, when it is out of the current registration area in which the S-NSSAI is rejected), the terminal may re-attempt the request for the use of the S-NSSAI rejected in the previous registration area in the new registration area, [0604]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the registration of Won with the registration Of Park to provide a method to provide an efficient method for requesting a specific service/slice-S-NSSAI of the terminal to the network in terms of the terminal and network nodes as suggested, Park [0006].
However, Won and Park do not clearly teach in case that the response message comprises a registration reject message including information indicating that the first requested NSSAI is not available in the RA, deleting a TAI list corresponding to the RA.
In an analogous art, Kuge teaches in case that the response message comprises a registration reject message including information indicating that the first requested NSSAI is not available in the RA (The new AMF 141 may further include the configured NSSAI, and/or the allowed NSSAI, and/or the rejected NSSAI, and/or the pending NSSAI, and/or the first NSSAI in the control message and transmit the control message to the UE, [0250]; The control message may be the registration accept message, or may be the registration reject message, [0250]), deleting a TAI list corresponding to the RA (In a case of receiving a TAI list, the UE_A 10 enables the received TAI list, and in a case that the UE_A 10 already stores a valid TAI list, the UE_A 10 may delete or disable the old TAI list. The valid TAI list may hereinafter be represented as the registration area below, [0285]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the registration of Won and Park with the tai list of Kuge to provide a method for managing the number of UEs allowed for each slice as suggested, Kuge [0014].
Regarding claim 24, Won as modified by Park and Kuge teaches the method of claim 20, wherein the network entity comprises an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity (the network node performing the method of FIG. 5A may include an access management node, such as an AMF, Won [0033]).
Regarding claim 25, Won teaches a terminal in a wireless communication system (device 20 of Fig. 6B), the terminal comprising: a transceiver (transceiver 28); and at least one processor (processor 22)configured to:
transmit, to a network entity via the transceiver, a registration request message (initiating, by the UE, performing a registration procedure, e.g., by sending a registration request message, [0044]; transmitting a registration request message to a network node, such as a gNB or AMF, [0039]) including a requested network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) (The registration message may include the one of the one or more S-NSSAIs, [0044]), and
receive, from the network entity via the transceiver a response message in response to the first registration request message, in case that the response message comprises a registration accept message (For example, the receiving 560 may include receiving the information in registration accept message from an AMF, [0039]) including at least one rejected single-NSSAI (S-NSSAI)( the received information may further include a rejected NSSAI, [0042]), and a tracking area identity (TAI) list for a rejected S-NSSAI partially in a registration area (RA) (the received information may further include a rejected NSSAI with a cause value indicating that the corresponding S-NSSAIs are not supported uniformly in the registration area and/or is not supported in a current tracking area, and TAIs where the S-NSSAIs in the list of S-NSSAI is not supported, [0042]);
identify whether a current TAI of the terminal is included in the TAI list for the rejected S-NSSAI (detecting or determining whether the UE is in a TA of the registration area that supports at least one S-NSSAI not in the allowed NSSAI, [0044]).
However, Won does not clearly teach based on the identification that the current TAI of the terminal is in the TAI list for the rejected S-NSSAI, transmit, to the network entity, a second registration request message including a second requested NSSAI, wherein the at least one rejected S-NSSAI is not included in the second requested NSSAI if a current TAI of the terminal is in the TAI list; and based on the identification that the current TAI of the terminal is not included in the TAI list for the rejected S-NSSAI, initiate a procedure to request a third registration with an S-NSSAI among the at least one rejected S-NS SAI.
In an analogous art, Park teaches based on the identification that the current TAI of the terminal is in the TAI list for the rejected S-NSSAI, transmit, to the network entity, a second registration request message including a second requested NSSAI, wherein the at least one rejected S-NSSAI is not included in the second requested NSSAI if a current TAI of the terminal is in the TAI list (if the S-NSSAI is rejected because it is not available in the current registration area, the terminal may not attempt the use request of the rejected S-NSSAI in the current registration area until the terminal is out of the registration area, [0639]); and
based on the identification that the current TAI of the terminal is not included in the TAI list for the rejected S-NSSAI, initiate a procedure to request a third registration with an S-NSSAI among the at least one rejected S-NS SAI (if the refusal of the S-NSSAI is given in units of a registration area and the terminal moves to another registration area (that is, when it is out of the current registration area in which the S-NSSAI is rejected), the terminal may re-attempt the request for the use of the S-NSSAI rejected in the previous registration area in the new registration area, [0604]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the registration of Won with the registration Of Park to provide a method to provide an efficient method for requesting a specific service/slice-S-NSSAI of the terminal to the network in terms of the terminal and network nodes as suggested, Park [0006].
However, Won and Park do not clearly teach in case that the response message comprises a registration reject message including information indicating that the first requested NSSAI is not available in the RA, deleting a TAI list corresponding to the RA.
In an analogous art, Kuge teaches in case that the response message comprises a registration reject message including information indicating that the first requested NSSAI is not available in the RA (The new AMF 141 may further include the configured NSSAI, and/or the allowed NSSAI, and/or the rejected NSSAI, and/or the pending NSSAI, and/or the first NSSAI in the control message and transmit the control message to the UE, [0250]; The control message may be the registration accept message, or may be the registration reject message, [0250]), deleting a TAI list corresponding to the RA (In a case of receiving a TAI list, the UE_A 10 enables the received TAI list, and in a case that the UE_A 10 already stores a valid TAI list, the UE_A 10 may delete or disable the old TAI list. The valid TAI list may hereinafter be represented as the registration area below, [0285]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the registration of Won and Park with the tai list of Kuge to provide a method for managing the number of UEs allowed for each slice as suggested, Kuge [0014].
Regarding claim 29, Won teaches a network entity in a wireless communication system (Flow diagram of FIG. 5A may be performed by a network entity, [0033]; e.g. device 10 of Fig. 6A), the network entity comprising: a transceiver (transceiver 18); and at least one processor (processor 12) configured to:
receive, from a terminal, a registration request message (receiving a registration request message from one or more UE, [0034]) including a requested network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) (The registration message may include the one of the one or more S-NSSAIs, [0044]), and
transmit, to the terminal a response message in response to the first registration request message, and in case that the response message comprises a registration accept message (providing, to the UE(s), information comprising one or more lists of TAIs and one or more lists of S-NSSAIs. For example, the providing 510 may include transmitting the information in registration accept message to the UE, [0034]) including at least one rejected single-NSSAI (S-NSSAI)( the received information may further include a rejected NSSAI, [0042]), and a tracking area identity (TAI) list for a rejected S-NSSAI partially in a registration area (RA) (the received information may further include a rejected NSSAI with a cause value indicating that the corresponding S-NSSAIs are not supported uniformly in the registration area and/or is not supported in a current tracking area, and TAIs where the S-NSSAIs in the list of S-NSSAI is not supported, [0042]).
However, Won does not clearly teach receive, from the terminal, a second registration request message including a second requested NSSAI based on a current TAI of the terminal being in the TAI list for the rejected S-NSSAI, wherein the at least one rejected S-NSSAI is not included in the second requested NSSAI if a current TAI of the terminal is in the TAI list; and when the current TAI of the terminal is not included in the TAI list for the rejected S- NSSAI, receive, from the terminal, a third registration request message including a third requested NSSAI, the third requested NSSAI including an S-NSSAI among the at least one rejected S-NSSAI.
In an analogous art, Park teaches receive, from the terminal, a second registration request message including a second requested NSSAI based on a current TAI of the terminal being in the TAI list for the rejected S-NSSAI, wherein the at least one rejected S-NSSAI is not included in the second requested NSSAI if a current TAI of the terminal is in the TAI list (if the refusal of the S-NSSAI is given in units of a registration area and the terminal moves to another registration area (that is, when it is out of the current registration area in which the S-NSSAI is rejected); and receive, from the terminal, a third registration request message including a third requested NSSAI, the third requested NSSAI including an S-NSSAI among the at least one rejected S-NSSAI based on the current TAI of the terminal not being included in the TAI list for the rejected S-NSSAI (if the refusal of the S-NSSAI is given in units of a registration area and the terminal moves to another registration area (that is, when it is out of the current registration area in which the S-NSSAI is rejected), the terminal may re-attempt the request for the use of the S-NSSAI rejected in the previous registration area in the new registration area, [0604]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the registration of Won with the registration Of Park to provide a method to provide an efficient method for requesting a specific service/slice-S-NSSAI of the terminal to the network in terms of the terminal and network nodes as suggested, Park [0006].
However, Won and Park do not clearly teach in case that the response message comprises a registration reject message including information indicating that the first requested NSSAI is not available in the RA, deleting a TAI list corresponding to the RA.
In an analogous art, Kuge teaches in case that the response message comprises a registration reject message including information indicating that the first requested NSSAI is not available in the RA (The new AMF 141 may further include the configured NSSAI, and/or the allowed NSSAI, and/or the rejected NSSAI, and/or the pending NSSAI, and/or the first NSSAI in the control message and transmit the control message to the UE, [0250]; The control message may be the registration accept message, or may be the registration reject message, [0250]), deleting a TAI list corresponding to the RA (In a case of receiving a TAI list, the UE_A 10 enables the received TAI list, and in a case that the UE_A 10 already stores a valid TAI list, the UE_A 10 may delete or disable the old TAI list. The valid TAI list may hereinafter be represented as the registration area below, [0285]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the registration of Won and Park with the tai list of Kuge to provide a method for managing the number of UEs allowed for each slice as suggested, Kuge [0014].
Regarding claim 33, Won as modified by Park and Kuge teaches the network entity of claim 29, wherein the network entity comprises an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity (transmitting a registration request message to a network node, such as a gNB or AMF, Won [0039]).
Claims 17, 21, 26 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won et al. (US 20220361135 A1) in view of Park and further in view of Kuge and Cheng et al. (US 20240121710 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Won as modified by Park and Kuge teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Won, Park and Kuge do not teach further comprising: storing the at least one rejected S-NSSAI included in the registration accept message.
In an analogous art, Cheng teaches further comprising: storing the at least one rejected S-NSSAI included in the registration accept message (The UE may store UE context information including the configured NSSAI, the requested NSSAI, the allowed NSSAI, and the rejected NSSAI, [0052], Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the registration of Won, Park and Kuge with the storage feature of Cheng to provide a method and a system for a UE to select, in cell selection or cell reselection, a serving cell that supports the high priority slice included in the intended slices of the UE. This may result decreased latency for traffic to and from the UE and may result in the UE satisfying QoS parameters associated with particular traffic types as suggested, Cheng [0055].
Regarding claim 21, Won as modified by Park and Kuge teaches the method of claim 20.
However, Won, Park and Kuge do not teach further comprising: storing the at least one rejected S-NSSAI included in the registration accept message.
In an analogous art, Cheng teaches further comprising: storing the at least one rejected S-NSSAI included in the registration accept message (The UE may store UE context information including the configured NSSAI, the requested NSSAI, the allowed NSSAI, and the rejected NSSAI, [0052], Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the registration of Won, Park and Kuge with the storage feature of Cheng to provide a method and a system for a UE to select, in cell selection or cell reselection, a serving cell that supports the high priority slice included in the intended slices of the UE. This may result decreased latency for traffic to and from the UE and may result in the UE satisfying QoS parameters associated with particular traffic types as suggested, Cheng [0055].
Regarding claim 26, Won as modified by Park and Kuge teaches the terminal of claim 25.
However, Won, Park and Kuge do not teach further comprising: storing the at least one rejected S-NSSAI included in the registration accept message.
In an analogous art, Cheng teaches further comprising: storing the at least one rejected S-NSSAI included in the registration accept message (The UE may store UE context information including the configured NSSAI, the requested NSSAI, the allowed NSSAI, and the rejected NSSAI, [0052], Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the registration of Won, Park and Kuge with the storage feature of Cheng to provide a method and a system for a UE to select, in cell selection or cell reselection, a serving cell that supports the high priority slice included in the intended slices of the UE. This may result decreased latency for traffic to and from the UE and may result in the UE satisfying QoS parameters associated with particular traffic types as suggested, Cheng [0055].
Regarding claim 30, Won as modified by Park and Kuge teaches the network entity of claim 29.
However, Won, Park and Kuge do not teach further comprising: storing the at least one rejected S-NSSAI included in the registration accept message.
In an analogous art, Cheng teaches further comprising: storing the at least one rejected S-NSSAI included in the registration accept message (The UE may store UE context information including the configured NSSAI, the requested NSSAI, the allowed NSSAI, and the rejected NSSAI, [0052], Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the registration of Won, Park and Kuge with the storage feature of Cheng to provide a method and a system for a UE to select, in cell selection or cell reselection, a serving cell that supports the high priority slice included in the intended slices of the UE. This may result decreased latency for traffic to and from the UE and may result in the UE satisfying QoS parameters associated with particular traffic types as suggested, Cheng [0055].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim et al. (US 20230397092 A1): Provided are a method and a device for processing network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) rejected due to a network slice-specific authentication and authorization (NSSAA) failure. A user equipment (UE) receives a UE configuration update command message from an access and mobility management function (AMF). On the basis of failure of NSSAA with respect to single NSSAI (S-NSSAI0, the UE configuration update command message includes time information related to a timer. The UE adds the S-NSSAI to a rejected NSSAI, starts the timer on the basis of the time information, and deletes the S-NSSAI included in the rejected NSSAI after the timer expires.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641