Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 15-24 in the reply filed on December 16, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2923/006291 A1 in view of SCHEIFF et al (US 2022/0352721).
Regarding claim 15, WO 2023/006291 A1 discloses a process for the synthesis of ammonia and nitric acid. (See the Abstract and page 3, lie 15 to page 4, line 1.) . WO 2023/006291 A1 teaches on page 4, lines 2-4 that the ammonia is formed by reacting hydrogen and nitrogen. . WO 2023/006291 A1 also discloses on page 3, lines 5-9 that the production of ammonium nitrate is possible. Since. WO 2023/006291 A1 discloses hydrogen, nitrogen, ammonia, nitric acid and ammonium nitrate as reactants and/or products, it would be obvious to provide plants to produce and store the corresponding components. . WO 2023/006291 A1 also teaches on page 8, lines 8-10 that electrolysis of water in the process uses a renewable source of energy. . WO 2023/006291 A1 also discloses on page 10, lines 2-18 that steam and electricity are used in the process. It would be obvious from SCHEIFF et al to provide an electricity grid and a steam grid to provide such electricity and steam, since SCHEIFF et al teach in Paragraph [0045] that local energy carrier grids can be divided into grids/storage means for heat carriers, for example steam grids/storage means. Such steam grid, electricity grid, hydrogen plant and nitrogen plants of WO 2023/006291 A1 would be configured to be provided with the renewable source of power, and the ammonia plant, nitrogen plant, nitric acid plant and ammonium nitrate plant of WO 2023/006291 A1 would be configured to recover energy therefrom, to no less extent than the system recited in applicant’s claim 15.
Regarding claims 16 and 17, it would be further obvious from SCHEIFF et al to provide a steam generator, electric steam boiler and solar steam boiler as the steam grid in the process of . WO 2023/006291 A1, since SCHEIFF et al teach in Paragraph [0115] that a steam grid is advantageously fed from a central steam generator. And in Paragraph [0006] that solar energy can be used to operate power plants.
Regarding claim 18, SCHIFF et al disclose in Paragraph [0006] that wind energy can be used to operate power plants.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, . WO 2023/006291 A1 teaches in claim 19 on page 23 that the system includes a water electrolyzer arranged to produce hydrogen by water electrolysis. It is well-known that alkaline electrolyzers and solid oxide electrolyzers are conventional types of electrolyzes.
Regarding claims 21-24, SCHEIFF et al suggest in Paragraph [0045] that the energy carrier grids can be used to store intermediates, such as hydrogen.
Double Patenting
Claims 15-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17-32 of copending Application No. 19/145594(reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are obvious variants of the claims of SN 19/145594. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
GB 2536996 A is made of record for disclosing an integrated process for producing ammonium nitrate by reaction ammonia with nitric acid forming the ammonia by reacting hydrogen and nitrogen.
SCMID (US 2013/0260263) is made of record for disclosing the production of ammonium nitrate by reacting ammonia and nitric acid in Paragraph [0034]. Johnston et al ‘745) (US 8,628,745) and Johnston et al ‘364 (US 9,493,364) are made of record for disclosing integrated processes for producing ammonium nitrate.
/WAYNE A LANGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736