DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the communication filed on May 26, 2026. Claims 1-8, 10-17, and 19-23 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on May 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant in Pages 13-18 of the Remarks argues that the amended claims are not directed towards non-statutory subject matter because the claims do not fall within any enumerated grouping of abstract ideas, the claims recite limitations that necessarily integrate any purported abstract idea into a practical application, and the claims are directly tied to the improvement to technology.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
It is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. The improvement can be provided by one or more additional elements. (MPEP 2106.05(a)).
If the specification sets forth an improvement in technology, the claim must be evaluated to ensure that the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement (MPEP 2106.04(d)(1)).
Independent claim 1 and similarly independent claims 11 and 20 cover several steps, such as the converting, determining, computing, filtering, and converting steps, that recite an abstract idea within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper perform the limitations recited in said steps, as discussed in detail in the 101 rejection below.
The claims do not provide any limitations that are directed to a specific improvement in computer technology because the steps, as argued by the applicant as being directed to a specific improvement in computer technology, are all recited in the claims as limitations that have been identified as abstract ideas.
The remaining steps in the claims that are identified as reciting additional elements, are only adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, are recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions, and are applying the exception using generic computer components, which is not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception and are not directed to any specific improvement in computer technology.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Applicant in Pages 15-17 of the Remarks argues that the cited prior art Tasse, Dibra, Kelkar, Thacker, and Tall do not teach or even suggest the amended features "determining a first plurality of target format embeddings for a first plurality of target shapes stored in a data store”, “the target format embeddings are encoded by one or more trained machine learning models that are trained with (i) one or more embeddings of augmented shape representations, (ii) a first set of contrastive losses calculated between positive shape pairs corresponding to embeddings of a same shape in different formats, and (iii) a second set of contrastive losses between negative shape pairs corresponding to embeddings of different shapes”, and “computing a plurality of similarities between the first embedding and the first plurality of target format embeddings", as recited in amended independent claim 1 and similarly recited in amended independent claims 11 and 20.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data.
Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words.
Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query.
Tasse in [0007], [0008], and [0019] discloses using machine learning performed through the use of one or more neural network, using deep learning to embed images and shapes to one common vector space to directly search for shapes.
Tasse in [0018], [0020], and [0049] discloses vector representation of image data performed using a neural network, training to identify image labels and generate descriptors, training neural network to map image or shape to a vector.
Therefore, Tasse discloses determining a first plurality of target format embeddings for a first plurality of target shapes stored in a data store.
Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data.
Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words.
Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query.
Tasse in [0007], [0008], and [0019] discloses using machine learning performed through the use of one or more neural network, using deep learning to embed images and shapes to one common vector space to directly search for shapes.
Tasse in [0018], [0020], and [0049] discloses vector representation of image data performed using a neural network, training to identify image labels and generate descriptors, training neural network to map image or shape to a vector.
Therefore. Tasse discloses each target format embedding included in the first plurality of target format embeddings is encoded from one or more additional formats of the first query shape, the one or more additional formats including at least a second format.
Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data.
Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words.
Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query.
Tasse in [0007], [0008], and [0019] discloses using machine learning performed through the use of one or more neural network, using deep learning to embed images and shapes to one common vector space to directly search for shapes.
Tasse in [0018], [0020], and [0049] discloses vector representation of image data performed using a neural network, training to identify image labels and generate descriptors, training neural network to map image or shape to a vector.
Therefore, Tasse discloses each of the one or more additional formats comprises a format differing from the first format.
Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data.
Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words.
Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query.
Tasse in [0007], [0008], and [0019] discloses using machine learning performed through the use of one or more neural network, using deep learning to embed images and shapes to one common vector space to directly search for shapes.
Tasse in [0018], [0020], and [0049] discloses vector representation of image data performed using a neural network, training to identify image labels and generate descriptors, training neural network to map image or shape to a vector.
Therefore, Tasse discloses the first plurality of target embeddings are encoded by one or more trained machine learning models that are trained with (i) one or more embeddings of shape representations.
Tasse does not explicitly disclose one or more trained machine learning models configured to process augmented shape representations, wherein the one or more machine learning models are trained based upon one or more augmented shape representations as well as contrastive losses calculated between positive shape pairs corresponding to the same shape and between negative shape pairs corresponding to different shapes, and wherein the first format and the second format comprises different shape formats, but the Dibra, Kelkar, and Thacker references disclose the features.
Tasse in [0006] discloses comparing the similarity between two images consists of computing a vector representation of each image description and then estimating the distance between the two descriptors.
Tasse in [0015] discloses allowing similar multi-modal data to be associated by proximity.
Tasse in [0022], [0025], [0029], and [0073] discloses retrieve top objects in a collection based on multimodal query using smallest Euclidean distance, calculate Euclidean difference between two points, calculating a shape descriptor according to an average of one or more descriptors in relation to each of the one or more embedded images, average biases according to one or more weights, calculating weighted average.
Tasse in [0028], [0031], and [0074] and in Figures 5 and 6 discloses searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, retrieve objects based on multi-modal search queries using image and/or text, searching for an image or shape based on a query comprising tag and image data, create a word space in which images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations of the same are embedded, determining vector representations for each of the images, three dimensional objects, text, and combinations, determining vector representation of the query, determining which one or more of the images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations have a spatially close vector representation to the vector representation of the query, retrieving corresponding query results comprising databases of 3D models, sketches, and images.
Therefore, Tasse discloses computing a plurality of similarities between the first embedding and the first plurality of target format embeddings.
Tasse in [0006] discloses comparing the similarity between two images consists of computing a vector representation of each image description and then estimating the distance between the two descriptors.
Tasse in [0015] discloses allowing similar multi-modal data to be associated by proximity.
Tasse in [0022], [0025], [0029], and [0073] discloses retrieve top objects in a collection based on multimodal query using smallest Euclidean distance, calculate Euclidean difference between two points, calculating a shape descriptor according to an average of one or more descriptors in relation to each of the one or more embedded images, average biases according to one or more weights, calculating weighted average.
Tasse in [0028], [0031], and [0074] and in Figures 5 and 6 discloses searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, retrieve objects based on multi-modal search queries using image and/or text, searching for an image or shape based on a query comprising tag and image data, create a word space in which images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations of the same are embedded, determining vector representations for each of the images, three dimensional objects, text, and combinations, determining vector representation of the query, determining which one or more of the images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations have a spatially close vector representation to the vector representation of the query, retrieving corresponding query results comprising databases of 3D models, sketches, and images.
Therefore, Tasse discloses filtering the first plurality of target format embeddings by applying a threshold to the plurality of similarities to identify one or more matching target embeddings.
Tasse in [0006] discloses comparing the similarity between two images consists of computing a vector representation of each image description and then estimating the distance between the two descriptors.
Tasse in [0028], [0031], and [0074] and in Figures 5 and 6 discloses searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, retrieve objects based on multi-modal search queries using image and/or text, searching for an image or shape based on a query comprising tag and image data, create a word space in which images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations of the same are embedded, determining vector representations for each of the images, three dimensional objects, text, and combinations, determining vector representation of the query, determining which one or more of the images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations have a spatially close vector representation to the vector representation of the query, retrieving corresponding query results comprising databases of 3D models, sketches, and images.
Therefore, Tasse discloses converting the one or more matching target embeddings to one or more matching shapes and outputting the one or more matching shapes in a first response to the first query.
Tasse discloses training one or more machine learning models with embeddings of one or more shape representations, however, Tasse does not explicitly disclose:
…one or more trained machine learning models that are trained with…(i) augmented shape representations…, (ii) a first set of contrastive losses calculated between positive shape pairs corresponding to…same shape in different formats, and (iii) a second set of contrastive losses between negative shape pairs corresponding to… different shapes,
Dibra in [0020] and [0050] discloses training neural network with training images from image models, using machine learning engine for generating a model using data and images.
Dibra in [0052], [0058], and [0075] discloses neural network trained from pairs of images using shapes; Dibra in [0084] and [0094] and in Figures 1 and 10 discloses machine learning learns by gathering datasets of models, machine learning algorithms trained on data augmented by changing shapes.
Dibra in [0102] discloses system including memory or non-transitory media storing instructions executed by processor.
Therefore, Dibra discloses one or more trained machine learning models that are trained with (i) augmented shape representations.
Dibra does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more trained machine learning models are trained based upon contrastive losses calculated between positive shape pairs corresponding to the same shape and between negative shape pairs corresponding to different shapes, and wherein the first format and the second format comprises different shape formats, but the Kelkar and Thacker references disclose the features.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Tasse and Dibra, to have combined Tasse and Dibra. The motivation to combine Tasse and Dibra would be to create real-time visualizations using augmented or mixed reality based on machine learning algorithms trained on data augmented by changing shapes.
Tasse discloses training one or more machine learning models based on one or more image or shape representations and Dibra discloses machine learning algorithms trained on pairs of images and augmented shapes, however, Tasse and Dibra do not explicitly disclose:
one or more trained machine learning models that are trained with…(ii) a first set of contrastive losses calculated between positive shape pairs corresponding to same shape in different formats, and (iii) a second set of contrastive losses between negative shape pairs corresponding to different shapes;
Kelkar in [0001] and [0004] and in Figure 6 discloses images encoded into different representations such as multidimensional vectors, comparing image representations using distance metric to determine similarity, responding to image search query based on similarity, train based on contrastive learning loss, form positive sample pair and negative sample pair, train to encode the positive sample pair to have similar representations and negative sample pair to have dissimilar representations.
Kelkar in [0043] discloses locating objects and boundaries, such as lines, curves, etc. in images.
Kelkar in [0071] and [0097] and in Figure 6 discloses once a set of image pairs are generated using a contrasting training method to train a machine learning model using the set of image pairs, augmenting each image of an image pair as positive sample inputs to the training component, using a training image of an image pair and a different image chosen from input images as negative sample inputs, training machine learning model using the inputs based on contrastive learning loss, computing contrastive learning loss based on positive sample pair and negative sample pair, using pairs of data points that are similar and pairs that are different in order to learn higher level features about the data, data points that are similar are positive pairs and data points that are different are negative pairs.
Therefore, Kelkar discloses one or more trained machine learning models that are trained with a first set of contrastive losses calculated between positive shape pairs corresponding to same shape in different formats, and a second set of contrastive losses between negative shape pairs corresponding to different shapes.
Tasse, Dibra, and Kelkar do not explicitly disclose wherein the first format and the second format comprise different three-dimensional shape formats, but the Thacker reference discloses the feature.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Tasse, Dibra, and Kelkar, to have combined Tasse, Dibra, and Kelkar. The motivation to combine Tasse, Dibra, and Kelkar would be to train images into similar and dissimilar representations based on contrastive learning loss.
Tasse discloses searching for objects using a plurality of three-dimensional shapes, Dibra discloses training machine learning models with changing shapes, and Kelkar discloses locating objects and boundaries, such as lines, curves, etc. in images, however, Tasse, Dibra, and Kelkar do not explicitly disclose:
…a first three-dimensional format,
…a second three-dimensional format,
…a three-dimensional format differing from the first three-dimensional format;
Thacker in Column 1 lines 22-47 and in Column 4 lines 18-34 discloses using natural language processing to automatically generate three-dimensional objects, a generative neural network, as part of a autoencoder that includes an encoder and a decoder, is trained on a set of three-dimensional models.
Thacker in Column 5 lines 9-53 discloses individual objects using different three-dimensional formats, a first object using a first three-dimensional format, a second object using a second three-dimensional format, one or more three-dimensional formats based on vectors, one or more three-dimensional formats based on point clouds, one or more three-dimensional formats based on polygons, object described using a triangle mesh, objects using a three dimensional format based on triangles, using three-dimensional formats to describe a three-dimensional shape of individual objects.
Therefore, Thacker discloses a first three-dimensional format, a second three-dimensional format, and a three-dimensional format differing from the first three-dimensional format.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Tasse, Dibra, Kelkar, and Thacker to have combined Tasse, Dibra, Kelkar, and Thacker. The motivation to combine Tasse, Dibra, Kelkar, and Thacker would be to automatically generate three-dimensional objects using natural language processing.
For the above reasons, Examiner states that rejection of the current Office action is proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8, 10-17, and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
At step 1:
Independent claims 1, 11, and 20 respectively recite a computer-implemented
method, one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, and a system, which are directed to a statutory category such as a process, machine, or an article of manufacture.
At step 2A, prong one:
Independent claim 1 and similarly independent claims 11 and 20 recite the limitations:
“converting…a first query shape included in a first query into a first embedding, wherein the first embedding is an encoding of a first three-dimensional format of the first query shape”,
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper convert a first query shape included in a first query into a first embedding, wherein the first embedding is an encoding of a first three-dimensional format of the first query shape.
“determining a first plurality of target format embeddings for a first plurality of target shapes stored in a data store”,
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine a first plurality of target format embeddings for a first plurality of target shapes stored in a data store.
wherein:
“each target format embedding included in the first plurality of target format embeddings is encoded from one or more additional formats of the first query shape, the one or more additional formats including at least a second three-dimensional format”,
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine a first plurality of target format embeddings for a first plurality of target shapes, wherein each target format embedding included in the first plurality of target format embeddings is mentally or using a pen and paper encoded from one or more additional formats, including at least a second three-dimensional format, of a first query shape.
“each of the one or more additional formats comprises a three-dimensional format differing from the first three-dimensional format”,
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine a first plurality of target format embeddings for a first plurality of target shapes, wherein each target format embedding included in the first plurality of target format embeddings is mentally or using a pen and paper encoded from one or more additional formats comprising a three-dimensional format differing from a first three-dimensional format of a first query shape.
the target format embeddings are encoded…,
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine a first plurality of target format embeddings for a first plurality of target shapes, wherein each target format embedding included in the first plurality of target format embeddings is mentally or using a pen and paper encoded by the person.
“computing a plurality of similarities between the first embedding and the first plurality of target format embeddings”,
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper compute a plurality of similarities between a first embedding and a first plurality of target format embeddings.
“filtering the first plurality of target format embedding by applying a threshold to the plurality of similarities to identify one or more matching target format embeddings”;
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper filter a first plurality of target format embedding by mentally or using a pen and paper applying a threshold to a plurality of similarities to identify one or more matching target format embeddings.
“converting the one or more matching target format embeddings to one or more matching shapes”;
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper convert one or more matching target format embeddings to one or more matching shapes.
The limitations, as recited above in claims 1, 11, and 20, are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover steps that can be performed in the human mind or by a human using a pen and paper, but for recitation of generic computer components.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
At step 2A, prong two:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Independent claim 1 and similarly independent claims 11 and 20 recite the limitations:
“outputting the one or more matching shapes in a first response to the first query”, which is a step of outputting data. The step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The additional elements “a computer-implemented method”, “by one or more trained machine learning models configured to process augmented shape representations”, “stored in a data store”, and “by the one or more trained machine learning models that are trained with (i) one or more embeddings of augmented shape representations, (ii) a first set of contrastive losses calculated between positive shape pairs correspond to embeddings of a same shape in different formats, and (iii) a second set of contrastive losses between negative shape pairs corresponding to embeddings of different shapes” in the steps in claim 1, are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
The additional elements “one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to analyze similarities associated with a plurality of shapes when processing a query, by performing the steps of”, “by one or more trained machine learning models configured to process augmented shape representations”, “stored in a data store”, and “by the one or more trained machine learning models that are trained with (i) one or more embeddings of augmented shape representations, (ii) a first set of contrastive losses calculated between positive shape pairs correspond to embeddings of a same shape in different formats, and (iii) a second set of contrastive losses between negative shape pairs corresponding to embeddings of different shapes” in the steps in claim 11, are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
The additional elements “a system, comprising: one or more memories that store instructions, and one or more processors that are coupled to the one or more memories and, when executing the instructions, are configured to perform the steps”, “by one or more trained machine learning models configured to process augmented shape representations”, “stored in a data store”, and “by the one or more trained machine learning models that are trained with (i) one or more embeddings of augmented shape representations, (ii) a first set of contrastive losses calculated between positive shape pairs correspond to embeddings of a same shape in different formats, and (iii) a second set of contrastive losses between negative shape pairs corresponding to embeddings of different shapes” in the steps in claim 20, are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
The high level application of a trained machine learning model is just adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
At step 2B:
Independent claims 1, 11, and 20 recite the same additional elements as identified in step 2A prong two above. These additional elements are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Independent claim 1 and similarly independent claims 11 and 20 recite the limitations:
“outputting the one or more shapes in a first response to the first query”, which is a step of outputting data, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of presenting offers and gathering statistics (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
Accordingly, the additional limitations are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea and are not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 2 recites additional limitations, such as:
“converting…a second query shape into a second embedding, wherein a second query includes a textual description of a second query shape”;
These limitations are directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper analyze a second query including a textual description of a second query shape and the person can mentally or using a pen and paper convert the second query shape into a second embedding, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
“matching the textual description to one or more additional shapes included in the first plurality of target shapes based on the second embedding and the first plurality of target format embeddings”.
These limitations are directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper match a textual description to one or more additional shapes included in a first plurality of target shapes based on a second embedding and a first plurality of target format embeddings, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
The additional elements “by the one or more trained machine learning models” in the steps are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 3 recites additional limitations, such as:
“matching the first query shape to one or more additional shapes associated with a third three-dimensional format, wherein the matching is based on a combination of: the first embedding, and a second plurality of target format embeddings for a second plurality of target shapes associated with the third three-dimensional format”;
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper match a first query shape to one or more additional shapes associated with a third three-dimensional format, wherein the matching is based on a combination of: the first embedding, and a second plurality of target format embeddings for a second plurality of target shapes associated with the third three-dimensional format, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
“outputting, from the one or more additional shapes, at least one additional matching shape in the first response to the first query”, which is a step of outputting data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data outputting, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of presenting offers and gathering statistics (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 4 recites additional limitations, such as:
“converting…a second query shape into a second embedding, wherein the second query shape is associated with a second query and at least one of the first three-dimensional format or the second three-dimensional format”;
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper convert a second query shape into a second embedding, wherein the second query shape is associated with a second query and at least one of a first three-dimensional format or a second three-dimensional format, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
“…convert the second embedding into a target shape in a third three-dimensional format”;
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper convert a second embedding into a target shape in a third three-dimensional format, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
“outputting the target shape in a second response associated with the second query”, which is a step of outputting data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data outputting, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of presenting offers and gathering statistics (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
The additional elements “by the one or more machine learning models” and “executing a decoder neural network to” is recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 5 recites additional limitations such as:
wherein converting the first query shape into the first embedding comprises:
“identifying based on one or more attributes of the first query, the first query shape”;
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper convert a first query shape into the first embedding by mentally or using a pen and paper identifying the first query shape based on one or more attributes of a first query, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
“…based on the first query shape…generate the first embedding…”.
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper generate a first embedding based on a first query shape, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
The additional elements “executing…a first machine learning model to”, “wherein the first machine learning model: is includes in the one or more trained machine learning models, and is associated with the first three-dimensional format” is recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 6 recites additional limitations such as:
wherein determining the first plurality of target embeddings further comprises:
“determining…based on one or more additional attributes of the first query, the second three-dimensional format”;
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine based on one or more additional attributes of the first query, a second three-dimensional format, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
“…based on the first plurality of target shapes…generate the first plurality of target format embeddings…”.
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper generate a first plurality of target embeddings based on a first plurality of target shapes, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
The additional elements “executing a second machine learning model to” and “wherein the second machine learning model: is included in the one or more trained machine learning models, and is associated with the second three-dimensional format” is recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependents claim 7 recites additional limitations such as:
wherein converting the first query shape into the first embedding comprises:
“determining…based on one or more attributes of the first query, a plurality of query shapes to be combined into the first query shape;
converting the plurality of query shapes into a plurality of embeddings; and
aggregating a plurality of embeddings associated with the plurality of query shapes into the first embedding”.
These limitations are directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper convert a first query shape into the first embedding by mentally or using a pen and paper determining, based on one or more attributes of the first query, a plurality of query shapes to be combined into the first query shape, by mentally or using a pen and paper converting the plurality of query shapes into a plurality of embeddings, and by mentally or using a pen and paper aggregating a plurality of embeddings associated with the plurality of query shapes into the first embedding, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
The additional elements “by the one or more machine learning models” is recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependents claim 8 recites additional limitations such as:
wherein converting the first query shape into the first embedding comprises:
“determining the first query shape based on one or more attributes of the first query; and
matching, based on a plurality of mappings, the first query shape to the first embedding, wherein the plurality of mappings are between a second plurality of target shapes associated with the first three-dimensional format and a second plurality of target format embeddings for the second plurality of target shapes”.
These limitations are directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper convert a first query shape into the first embedding by mentally or using a pen and paper determining the first query shape based on one or more attributes of the first query, and by mentally or using a pen and paper matching, based on a plurality of mappings, the first query shape to the first embedding, wherein the plurality of mappings are between a second plurality of target shapes associated with the first three-dimensional format and a second plurality of target format embeddings for the second plurality of target shapes, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependents claim 10 recites additional limitations such as:
“wherein the first three-dimensional format and the second three-dimensional format are determined based on one or more attributes of the first query and comprise at least one of: a three-dimensional (3D) model, a mesh, a boundary representation, a point cloud, or a construction model”.
These limitations are directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pern and paper determine a first three-dimensional format and a second three-dimensional format based on one or more attributes of a first query and comprising at least one of: a three-dimensional (3D) model, a mesh, a boundary representation, a point cloud, or a construction model, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 12 recites additional limitations, such as:
“converting, by the one or more trained machine learning models, a second query shape into a second embedding, wherein a second query includes a textual description and the second query shape”;
These limitations are directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 11, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper converting a second query shape into a second embedding, wherein a second query includes a textual description and the second query shape, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
“matching the textual description to one or more additional shapes included in the first plurality of target shapes based on the second embedding and the first plurality of target format embeddings”.
These limitations are directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 11, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper match a textual description to one or more additional shapes included in a first plurality of target shapes based on a second embedding and a first plurality of target format embeddings, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
The additional elements “by the one or more trained machine learning models” in the steps are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependents claim 13 recites additional limitations, such as:
“converting…a second query shape into a second embedding, wherein the second query shape is associated with the first query and the second three-dimensional format”;
These limitations are directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 11, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper convert a second query shape into a second embedding, wherein the second query shape is associated with the first query and the second three-dimensional format, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
“filtering, based on a combination of the first embedding and the second embedding, the first plurality of target format embeddings to identify the one or more matching target format embeddings”.
These limitations are directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 11, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper filter, based on a combination of the first embedding and the second embedding, the first plurality of target format embeddings to identify the one or more matching target format embeddings, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
The additional elements “by the one or more trained machine learning models” in the steps are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependents claim 14 recites additional limitations, such as:
“wherein the combination of the first embedding and the second embedding comprises at least one of an average, a weighted average, a sum, or a difference”.
These limitations are directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 11, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine a combination of a first embedding and a second embedding comprising at least one of an average, a weighted average, a sum, or a difference, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependents claim 15 recites additional limitations, such as:
“determining, based on one or more additional attributes of the first query, a third three-dimensional format; and
matching the first query shape to one or more additional shapes associated with the third three-dimensional format, wherein the matching is based on a combination of the first embedding and a second plurality of target format embeddings for a second plurality of target shapes associated with the third three-dimensional format”.
These limitations are directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 11, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine, based on one or more additional attributes of the first query, a third three-dimensional format, and the person can mentally or using a pen and paper match the first query shape to one or more additional shapes associated with the third three-dimensional format, wherein the matching is based on a combination of the first embedding and a second plurality of target format embeddings for a second plurality of target shapes associated with the third three-dimensional format, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependents claim 16 recites additional limitations, such as:
wherein converting the first query shape into the first embedding and determining the first plurality of target format embeddings comprises:
“identifying, based on one or more attributes of the first query, at least one of the first three-dimensional format or the second three-dimensional format;
….based on the first query shape…generate the first embedding…; and
…based on the first plurality of target shapes…generate the first plurality of target format embeddings…”.
These limitations are directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 11, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper identify, based on one or more attributes of the first query, at least one of the first three-dimensional format or the second three-dimensional format by mentally or using a pen and paper generating a first embedding based on the first query shape and generating a first plurality of target format embedding based on a first plurality of target shapes, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
The additional elements “executing…a first encoder neural network to”, “wherein the first encoded neural network: is included in the one or more trained machine learning models, and is associated with the first three-dimensional format” and “a second encoder neural network to”, “wherein the second encoder neural network: is included in the one or more trained machine learning models, and is associated with the second three-dimensional format” are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependents claim 17 recites additional limitations, such as:
wherein converting the first query shape into the first embedding comprises:
“determining the first three-dimensional format based on one or more additional attributes of the first query; and
matching, based on a plurality of mappings, the first query shape to the first embedding, wherein the plurality of mappings are between a second plurality of target shapes associated with the first three-dimensional format and a second plurality of target format embeddings generated from the second plurality of target shapes”.
These limitations are directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 11, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine a first three-dimensional format based on one or more additional attributes of the first query and by mentally or using a pen and paper matching, based on a plurality of mappings, the first query shape to the first embedding, wherein the plurality of mappings are between a second plurality of target shapes associated with the first three-dimensional format and a second plurality of target format embeddings generated from the second plurality of target shapes, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependents claim 19 recites additional limitations, such as:
“wherein the plurality of similarities comprises at least one of a cosine similarity, a Euclidean distance, or a dot product”.
These limitations are directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 11, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine a plurality of similarities comprising at least one of a cosine similarity, a Euclidean distance, or a dot product, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 21 recites additional limitations, such as:
“…based on one or more query shape attributes associated with the first query shape…convert one or more embeddings, which are associated with the one or more target shapes included in the first plurality of target shapes into one or more target shapes in the first three-dimensional format”.
These limitations are directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper convert one or more embeddings associated with one or more target shapes included in a first plurality of target shapes into one or more target shapes in a first three-dimensional format based on one or more query shape attributes associated with a first query shape, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
The additional elements “executing… a decoder neural network trained on the contrastive losses to convert” are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 22 recites additional limitations, such as:
“…convert the first embedding into a target shape in the second three-dimensional format”.
These limitations are directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper convert a first embedding into a target shape in a second three-dimensional format, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
The additional elements “executing a decoder neural network associated with the second three-dimensional format to convert” are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 23 recites additional limitations, such as:
“wherein the first three-dimensional format comprises a point cloud and the second three-dimensional format comprises a mesh”.
These limitations are directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine a first format comprising a point cloud and a second format comprising a mesh, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
The additional elements “executing a decoder neural network associated with the second format to convert” are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Accordingly, dependent claims 2-8, 10, 12-17, 19, and 21-23 are also directed to abstract idea without significantly more and are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-17, 19, 20, 22, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tasse (US Pub 2020/0104318) in view of Dibra (US Pub 2021/0201565) in view of Kelkar (US Pub 2024/0020954) and in further view of Thacker (US Pat 10,930,066).
With respect to claim 1, Tasse discloses a computer-implemented method for
analyzing similarities associated with a plurality of shapes when processing a query, the
method comprising:
converting, by one or more trained machine learning models configured to process…shape representations, a first query shape included in a first query into a first embedding, wherein the first embedding is an encoding of a first…format of the first query shape (Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data; Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words; Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query; Tasse in [0007], [0008], and [0019] discloses using machine learning performed through the use of one or more neural network, using deep learning to embed images and shapes to one common vector space to directly search for shapes; Tasse in [0018], [0020], and [0049] discloses vector representation of image data performed using a neural network, training to identify image labels and generate descriptors, training neural network to map image or shape to a vector),
determining a first plurality of target format embeddings for a first plurality of target shapes stored in a data store (Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data; Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words; Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query; Tasse in [0007], [0008], and [0019] discloses using machine learning performed through the use of one or more neural network, using deep learning to embed images and shapes to one common vector space to directly search for shapes; Tasse in [0018], [0020], and [0049] discloses vector representation of image data performed using a neural network, training to identify image labels and generate descriptors, training neural network to map image or shape to a vector), wherein:
each target format embedding included in the first plurality of target format embeddings is encoded from one or more additional formats of the first query shape, the one or more additional formats including at least a second…format (Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data; Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words; Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query; Tasse in [0007], [0008], and [0019] discloses using machine learning performed through the use of one or more neural network, using deep learning to embed images and shapes to one common vector space to directly search for shapes; Tasse in [0018], [0020], and [0049] discloses vector representation of image data performed using a neural network, training to identify image labels and generate descriptors, training neural network to map image or shape to a vector),
each of the one or more additional formats comprises a…format differing from the first…format (Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data; Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words; Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query; Tasse in [0007], [0008], and [0019] discloses using machine learning performed through the use of one or more neural network, using deep learning to embed images and shapes to one common vector space to directly search for shapes; Tasse in [0018], [0020], and [0049] discloses vector representation of image data performed using a neural network, training to identify image labels and generate descriptors, training neural network to map image or shape to a vector), and
the first plurality of target embeddings are encoded by one or more trained machine learning models that are trained with (i) one or more embeddings of…shape representations… (Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data; Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words; Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query; Tasse in [0007], [0008], and [0019] discloses using machine learning performed through the use of one or more neural network, using deep learning to embed images and shapes to one common vector space to directly search for shapes; Tasse in [0018], [0020], and [0049] discloses vector representation of image data performed using a neural network, training to identify image labels and generate descriptors, training neural network to map image or shape to a vector; here Tasse does not explicitly disclose one or more trained machine learning models configured to process augmented shape representations, wherein the one or more machine learning models are trained based upon one or more augmented shape representations as well as contrastive losses calculated between positive shape pairs corresponding to the same shape and between negative shape pairs corresponding to different shapes, and wherein the first format and the second format comprises different shape formats, but the Dibra, Kelkar, and Thacker references disclose the features, as discussed below);
computing a plurality of similarities between the first embedding and the first plurality of target format embeddings (Tasse in [0006] discloses comparing the similarity between two images consists of computing a vector representation of each image description and then estimating the distance between the two descriptors; Tasse in [0015] discloses allowing similar multi-modal data to be associated by proximity; Tasse in [0022], [0025], [0029], and [0073] discloses retrieve top objects in a collection based on multimodal query using smallest Euclidean distance, calculate Euclidean difference between two points, calculating a shape descriptor according to an average of one or more descriptors in relation to each of the one or more embedded images, average biases according to one or more weights, calculating weighted average; Tasse in [0028], [0031], and [0074] and in Figures 5 and 6 discloses searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, retrieve objects based on multi-modal search queries using image and/or text, searching for an image or shape based on a query comprising tag and image data, create a word space in which images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations of the same are embedded, determining vector representations for each of the images, three dimensional objects, text, and combinations, determining vector representation of the query, determining which one or more of the images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations have a spatially close vector representation to the vector representation of the query, retrieving corresponding query results comprising databases of 3D models, sketches, and images),
filtering the first plurality of target format embeddings by applying a threshold to the plurality of similarities to identify one or more matching target embeddings (Tasse in [0006] discloses comparing the similarity between two images consists of computing a vector representation of each image description and then estimating the distance between the two descriptors; Tasse in [0015] discloses allowing similar multi-modal data to be associated by proximity; Tasse in [0022], [0025], [0029], and [0073] discloses retrieve top objects in a collection based on multimodal query using smallest Euclidean distance, calculate Euclidean difference between two points, calculating a shape descriptor according to an average of one or more descriptors in relation to each of the one or more embedded images, average biases according to one or more weights, calculating weighted average; Tasse in [0028], [0031], and [0074] and in Figures 5 and 6 discloses searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, retrieve objects based on multi-modal search queries using image and/or text, searching for an image or shape based on a query comprising tag and image data, create a word space in which images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations of the same are embedded, determining vector representations for each of the images, three dimensional objects, text, and combinations, determining vector representation of the query, determining which one or more of the images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations have a spatially close vector representation to the vector representation of the query, retrieving corresponding query results comprising databases of 3D models, sketches, and images);
converting the one or more matching target embeddings to one or more matching shapes (Tasse in [0006] discloses comparing the similarity between two images consists of computing a vector representation of each image description and then estimating the distance between the two descriptors; Tasse in [0028], [0031], and [0074] and in Figures 5 and 6 discloses searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, retrieve objects based on multi-modal search queries using image and/or text, searching for an image or shape based on a query comprising tag and image data, create a word space in which images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations of the same are embedded, determining vector representations for each of the images, three dimensional objects, text, and combinations, determining vector representation of the query, determining which one or more of the images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations have a spatially close vector representation to the vector representation of the query, retrieving corresponding query results comprising databases of 3D models, sketches, and images); and
outputting the one or more matching shapes in a first response to the first query (Tasse in [0006] discloses comparing the similarity between two images consists of computing a vector representation of each image description and then estimating the distance between the two descriptors; Tasse in [0028], [0031], and [0074] and in Figures 5 and 6 discloses searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, retrieve objects based on multi-modal search queries using image and/or text, searching for an image or shape based on a query comprising tag and image data, create a word space in which images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations of the same are embedded, determining vector representations for each of the images, three dimensional objects, text, and combinations, determining vector representation of the query, determining which one or more of the images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations have a spatially close vector representation to the vector representation of the query, retrieving corresponding query results comprising databases of 3D models, sketches, and images).
Tasse discloses training one or more machine learning models with embeddings of one or more shape representations, however, Tasse does not explicitly disclose:
…one or more trained machine learning models that are trained with…(i) augmented shape representations…, (ii) a first set of contrastive losses calculated between positive shape pairs corresponding to…same shape in different formats, and (iii) a second set of contrastive losses between negative shape pairs corresponding to… different shapes,
The Dibra reference discloses one or more trained machine learning models that are trained with (i) augmented shape representations (Dibra in [0020] and [0050] discloses training neural network with training images from image models, using machine learning engine for generating a model using data and images; Dibra in [0052], [0058], and [0075] discloses neural network trained from pairs of images using shapes; Dibra in [0084] and [0094] and in Figures 1 and 10 discloses machine learning learns by gathering datasets of models, machine learning algorithms trained on data augmented by changing shapes; Dibra in [0102] discloses system including memory or non-transitory media storing instructions executed by processor; here Dibra does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more trained machine learning models are trained based upon contrastive losses calculated between positive shape pairs corresponding to the same shape and between negative shape pairs corresponding to different shapes, and wherein the first format and the second format comprises different shape formats, but the Kelkar and Thacker references disclose the features, as discussed below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Tasse and Dibra, to have combined Tasse and Dibra. The motivation to combine Tasse and Dibra would be to create real-time visualizations using augmented or mixed reality based on machine learning algorithms trained on data augmented by changing shapes (Dibra: [0003] and [0094]).
Tasse discloses training one or more machine learning models based on one or more image or shape representations and Dibra discloses machine learning algorithms trained on pairs of images and augmented shapes, however, Tasse and Dibra do not explicitly disclose:
one or more trained machine learning models that are trained with…(ii) a first set of contrastive losses calculated between positive shape pairs corresponding to same shape in different formats, and (iii) a second set of contrastive losses between negative shape pairs corresponding to different shapes;
The Kelkar reference discloses one or more trained machine learning models that are trained with a first set of contrastive losses calculated between positive shape pairs corresponding to same shape in different formats, and a second set of contrastive losses between negative shape pairs corresponding to different shapes (Kelkar in [0001] and [0004] and in Figure 6 discloses images encoded into different representations such as multidimensional vectors, comparing image representations using distance metric to determine similarity, responding to image search query based on similarity, train based on contrastive learning loss, form positive sample pair and negative sample pair, train to encode the positive sample pair to have similar representations and negative sample pair to have dissimilar representations; Kelkar in [0043] discloses locating objects and boundaries, such as lines, curves, etc. in images; Kelkar in [0071] and [0097] and in Figure 6 discloses once a set of image pairs are generated using a contrasting training method to train a machine learning model using the set of image pairs, augmenting each image of an image pair as positive sample inputs to the training component, using a training image of an image pair and a different image chosen from input images as negative sample inputs, training machine learning model using the inputs based on contrastive learning loss, computing contrastive learning loss based on positive sample pair and negative sample pair, using pairs of data points that are similar and pairs that are different in order to learn higher level features about the data, data points that are similar are positive pairs and data points that are different are negative pairs; here Tasse, Dibra, and Kelkar do not explicitly disclose wherein the first format and the second format comprise different three-dimensional shape formats, but the Thacker reference discloses the feature, as discussed below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Tasse, Dibra, and Kelkar, to have combined Tasse, Dibra, and Kelkar. The motivation to combine Tasse, Dibra, and Kelkar would be to train images into similar and dissimilar representations based on contrastive learning loss (Kelkar [0001] and [0004]).
Tasse discloses searching for objects using a plurality of three-dimensional shapes, Dibra discloses training machine learning models with changing shapes, and Kelkar discloses locating objects and boundaries, such as lines, curves, etc. in images, however, Tasse, Dibra, and Kelkar do not explicitly disclose:
…a first three-dimensional format,
…a second three-dimensional format,
…a three-dimensional format differing from the first three-dimensional format;
The Thacker reference discloses a first three-dimensional format, a second three-dimensional format, and a three-dimensional format differing from the first three-dimensional format (Thacker in Column 1 lines 22-47 and in Column 4 lines 18-34 discloses using natural language processing to automatically generate three-dimensional objects, a generative neural network, as part of a autoencoder that includes an encoder and a decoder, is trained on a set of three-dimensional models; Thacker in Column 5 lines 9-53 discloses individual objects using different three-dimensional formats, a first object using a first three-dimensional format, a second object using a second three-dimensional format, one or more three-dimensional formats based on vectors, one or more three-dimensional formats based on point clouds, one or more three-dimensional formats based on polygons, object described using a triangle mesh, objects using a three dimensional format based on triangles, using three-dimensional formats to describe a three-dimensional shape of individual objects).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Tasse, Dibra, Kelkar, and Thacker to have combined Tasse, Dibra, Kelkar, and Thacker. The motivation to combine Tasse, Dibra, Kelkar, and Thacker would be to automatically generate three-dimensional objects using natural language processing (Thacker: Column 1, lines 9-11).
With respect to claim 2, Tasse in view of Dibra and in view of Kelkar and in further view of Thacker discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
converting, by the one or more trained machine learning models, a second query shape into a second embedding, wherein a second query includes a textual description and the second query shape (Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data; Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words; Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query); and
matching the textual description to one or more additional shapes included in the first plurality of target shapes based on the second embedding and the first plurality of target format embeddings (Tasse in [0006] discloses comparing the similarity between two images consists of computing a vector representation of each image description and then estimating the distance between the two descriptors; Tasse in [0028], [0031], and [0074] discloses searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, retrieve objects based on multi-modal search queries using image and/or text, searching for an image or shape based on a query comprising tag and image data, create a word space in which images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations of the same are embedded, determining vector representations for each of the images, three dimensional objects, text, and combinations, determining vector representation of the query, determining which one or more of the images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations have a spatially close vector representation to the vector representation of the query, retrieving corresponding query results comprising databases of 3D models, sketches, and images).
With respect to claim 3, Tasse in view of Dibra and in view of Kelkar and in further view of Thacker discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
matching the first query shape to one or more additional shapes associated with a third three-dimensional format, wherein the matching is based on a combination of: the first embedding, and a second plurality of target format embeddings for a second plurality of target shapes associated with the third three-dimensional format (Tasse in [0006] discloses comparing the similarity between two images consists of computing a vector representation of each image description and then estimating the distance between the two descriptors; Tasse in [0028], [0031], and [0074] discloses searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, retrieve objects based on multi-modal search queries using image and/or text, searching for an image or shape based on a query comprising tag and image data, create a word space in which images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations of the same are embedded, determining vector representations for each of the images, three dimensional objects, text, and combinations, determining vector representation of the query, determining which one or more of the images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations have a spatially close vector representation to the vector representation of the query, retrieving corresponding query results comprising databases of 3D models, sketches, and images); and
outputting, from the one or more additional shapes, at least one additional matching shape in the first response to the first query (Tasse in [0006], [0028], [0031], and [0074] discloses comparing the similarity between two images consists of computing a vector representation of each image description and then estimating the distance between the two descriptors, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, retrieve objects based on multi-modal search queries using image and/or text, searching for an image or shape based on a query comprising tag and image data, create a word space in which images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations of the same are embedded, determining vector representations for each of the images, three dimensional objects, text, and combinations, determining vector representation of the query, determining which one or more of the images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations have a spatially close vector representation to the vector representation of the query, retrieving corresponding query results comprising databases of 3D models, sketches, and images).
With respect to claim 4, Tasse in view of Dibra and in view of Kelkar and in further view of Thacker discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
converting, by the one or more trained machine learning models, a second query shape into a second embedding, wherein the second query shape is associated with a second query and at least one of the first three-dimensional format or the second three-dimensional format (Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data; Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words; Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query);
executing a decoder neural network to convert the second embedding into a target shape in a third three-dimensional format (Tasse in [0007], [0008], [0018]-[0020], and [0049] discloses using machine learning performed through the use of one or more neural network, learn image descriptors from data to produce better retrieval results, using learning to embed both images and shapes to one common vector space, making it possible to directly search shapes using an image, training to identify image labels and generate descriptors, training neural network to map image or shape to a vector); and
outputting the target shape in a second response associated with the second query (Tasse in [0006] discloses comparing the similarity between two images consists of computing a vector representation of each image description and then estimating the distance between the two descriptors; Tasse in [0028], [0031], and [0074] discloses searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, retrieve objects based on multi-modal search queries using image and/or text, searching for an image or shape based on a query comprising tag and image data, create a word space in which images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations of the same are embedded, determining vector representations for each of the images, three dimensional objects, text, and combinations, determining vector representation of the query, determining which one or more of the images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations have a spatially close vector representation to the vector representation of the query, retrieving corresponding query results comprising databases of 3D models, sketches, and images).
With respect to claim 5, Tasse in view of Dibra and in view of Kelkar and in further view of Thacker discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein converting the first query shape into the first embedding comprises:
identifying, based on one or more attributes of the first query, the first query shape (Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data; Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words; Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query); and
executing, based on the first query shape, a first machine learning model to generate the first embedding, wherein the first machine learning model: is included in the one or more trained machine learning models and is associated with the first three-dimensional format (Tasse in [0007], [0008], [0018]-[0020], and [0049] discloses using a neural network using machine learning, learn image descriptors from data to produce better retrieval results, using learning to embed both images and shapes to one common vector space, making it possible to directly search shapes using an image, training to identify image labels and generate descriptors, training neural network to map image or shape to a vector).
With respect to claim 6, Tasse in view of Dibra and in view of Kelkar and in further view of Thacker discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 5, wherein determining the first plurality of target format embeddings further comprises:
determining, by the one or more trained machine learning models based on one or more additional attributes of the first query, the second three-dimensional format (Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data; Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words; Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query); and
executing, based on the first plurality of target shapes, a second machine learning model to generate the first plurality of target format embeddings, wherein the second machine learning model: is included in the one or more trained machine learning models, and is associated with the second three-dimensional format (Tasse in [0007], [0008], [0018]-[0020], and [0049] discloses using a neural network using machine learning, learn image descriptors from data to produce better retrieval results, using learning to embed both images and shapes to one common vector space, making it possible to directly search shapes using an image, training to identify image labels and generate descriptors, training neural network to map image or shape to a vector).
With respect to claim 7, Tasse in view of Dibra and in view of Kelkar and in further view of Thacker discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein converting the first query shape into the first embedding comprises:
determining, by the one or more machine learning models based on one or more attributes of the first query, a plurality of query shapes to be combined into the first query shape (Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data; Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words; Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query);
converting the plurality of query shapes into a plurality of embeddings (Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data; Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words; Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query); and
aggregating the plurality of embeddings into the first embedding (Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data; Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words; Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query).
With respect to claim 8, Tasse in view of Dibra and in view of Kelkar and in further view of Thacker discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein
converting the first query shape into the first embedding comprises:
determining the first query shape based on one or more attributes of the first query (Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data; Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words; Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query); and
matching, based on a plurality of mappings, the first query shape to the first embedding, wherein the plurality of mappings are between a second plurality of target shapes associated with the first three-dimensional format and a second plurality of target format embeddings for the second plurality of target shapes (Tasse in [0006] discloses comparing the similarity between two images consists of computing a vector representation of each image description and then estimating the distance between the two descriptors; Tasse in [0028], [0031], and [0074] discloses searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, retrieve objects based on multi-modal search queries using image and/or text, searching for an image or shape based on a query comprising tag and image data, create a word space in which images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations of the same are embedded, determining vector representations for each of the images, three dimensional objects, text, and combinations, determining vector representation of the query, determining which one or more of the images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations have a spatially close vector representation to the vector representation of the query, retrieving corresponding query results comprising databases of 3D models, sketches, and images).
With respect to claim 10, Tasse in view of Dibra and in view of Kelkar and in further view of Thacker discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first three-dimensional format and the second three-dimensional format are determined based on one or more attributes of the first query and comprise at least one of: a three-dimensional (3D) model, a mesh, a boundary representation, a point cloud, or a construction model (Tasse in [0006], [0028], [0031], and [0074] discloses create a word space in which images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations of the same are embedded, determining vector representations for each of the images, three dimensional objects, text, and combinations, determining vector representation of the query, determining which one or more of the images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations have a spatially close vector representation to the vector representation of the query, retrieving corresponding query results comprising databases of 3D models, sketches, and images; Thacker in Column 5 lines 9-53 discloses individual objects using different three-dimensional formats, a first object using a first three-dimensional format, a second object using a second three-dimensional format, one or more three-dimensional formats based on vectors, one or more three-dimensional formats based on point clouds, one or more three-dimensional formats based on polygons, object described using a triangle mesh, objects using a three dimensional format based on triangles, using three-dimensional formats to describe a three-dimensional shape of individual objects).
With respect to claim 11, Tasse discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to analyze similarities associated with a plurality of shapes when processing a query by perform the steps of:
converting, by one or more trained machine learning models configured to process…shape representations, a first query shape included in a first query into a first embedding, wherein the first embedding is an encoding of a first…format of the first query shape (Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data; Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words; Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query; Tasse in [0007], [0008], and [0019] discloses using machine learning performed through the use of one or more neural network, using deep learning to embed images and shapes to one common vector space to directly search for shapes; Tasse in [0018], [0020], and [0049] discloses vector representation of image data performed using a neural network, training to identify image labels and generate descriptors, training neural network to map image or shape to a vector),
determining a first plurality of target format embeddings for a first plurality of target shapes stored in a data store (Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data; Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words; Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query; Tasse in [0007], [0008], and [0019] discloses using machine learning performed through the use of one or more neural network, using deep learning to embed images and shapes to one common vector space to directly search for shapes; Tasse in [0018], [0020], and [0049] discloses vector representation of image data performed using a neural network, training to identify image labels and generate descriptors, training neural network to map image or shape to a vector), wherein:
each target format embedding included in the first plurality of target format embeddings is encoded from one or more additional formats of the first query shape, the one or more additional formats including at least a second…format (Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data; Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words; Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query; Tasse in [0007], [0008], and [0019] discloses using machine learning performed through the use of one or more neural network, using deep learning to embed images and shapes to one common vector space to directly search for shapes; Tasse in [0018], [0020], and [0049] discloses vector representation of image data performed using a neural network, training to identify image labels and generate descriptors, training neural network to map image or shape to a vector),
each of the one or more additional formats comprises a…format differing from the first…format (Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data; Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words; Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query; Tasse in [0007], [0008], and [0019] discloses using machine learning performed through the use of one or more neural network, using deep learning to embed images and shapes to one common vector space to directly search for shapes; Tasse in [0018], [0020], and [0049] discloses vector representation of image data performed using a neural network, training to identify image labels and generate descriptors, training neural network to map image or shape to a vector), and
the first plurality of target embeddings are encoded by one or more trained machine learning models that are trained with (i) one or more embeddings of…shape representations… (Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data; Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words; Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query; Tasse in [0007], [0008], and [0019] discloses using machine learning performed through the use of one or more neural network, using deep learning to embed images and shapes to one common vector space to directly search for shapes; Tasse in [0018], [0020], and [0049] discloses vector representation of image data performed using a neural network, training to identify image labels and generate descriptors, training neural network to map image or shape to a vector; here Tasse does not explicitly disclose one or more trained machine learning models configured to process augmented shape representations, wherein the one or more machine learning models are trained based upon one or more augmented shape representations as well as contrastive losses calculated between positive shape pairs corresponding to the same shape and between negative shape pairs corresponding to different shapes, and wherein the first format and the second format comprises different shape formats, but the Dibra, Kelkar, and Thacker references disclose the features, as discussed below);
computing a plurality of similarities between the first embedding and the first plurality of target format embeddings (Tasse in [0006] discloses comparing the similarity between two images consists of computing a vector representation of each image description and then estimating the distance between the two descriptors; Tasse in [0015] discloses allowing similar multi-modal data to be associated by proximity; Tasse in [0022], [0025], [0029], and [0073] discloses retrieve top objects in a collection based on multimodal query using smallest Euclidean distance, calculate Euclidean difference between two points, calculating a shape descriptor according to an average of one or more descriptors in relation to each of the one or more embedded images, average biases according to one or more weights, calculating weighted average; Tasse in [0028], [0031], and [0074] and in Figures 5 and 6 discloses searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, retrieve objects based on multi-modal search queries using image and/or text, searching for an image or shape based on a query comprising tag and image data, create a word space in which images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations of the same are embedded, determining vector representations for each of the images, three dimensional objects, text, and combinations, determining vector representation of the query, determining which one or more of the images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations have a spatially close vector representation to the vector representation of the query, retrieving corresponding query results comprising databases of 3D models, sketches, and images),
filtering the first plurality of target format embeddings by applying a threshold to the plurality of similarities to identify one or more matching target embeddings (Tasse in [0006] discloses comparing the similarity between two images consists of computing a vector representation of each image description and then estimating the distance between the two descriptors; Tasse in [0015] discloses allowing similar multi-modal data to be associated by proximity; Tasse in [0022], [0025], [0029], and [0073] discloses retrieve top objects in a collection based on multimodal query using smallest Euclidean distance, calculate Euclidean difference between two points, calculating a shape descriptor according to an average of one or more descriptors in relation to each of the one or more embedded images, average biases according to one or more weights, calculating weighted average; Tasse in [0028], [0031], and [0074] and in Figures 5 and 6 discloses searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, retrieve objects based on multi-modal search queries using image and/or text, searching for an image or shape based on a query comprising tag and image data, create a word space in which images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations of the same are embedded, determining vector representations for each of the images, three dimensional objects, text, and combinations, determining vector representation of the query, determining which one or more of the images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations have a spatially close vector representation to the vector representation of the query, retrieving corresponding query results comprising databases of 3D models, sketches, and images);
converting the one or more matching target embeddings to one or more matching shapes (Tasse in [0006] discloses comparing the similarity between two images consists of computing a vector representation of each image description and then estimating the distance between the two descriptors; Tasse in [0028], [0031], and [0074] and in Figures 5 and 6 discloses searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, retrieve objects based on multi-modal search queries using image and/or text, searching for an image or shape based on a query comprising tag and image data, create a word space in which images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations of the same are embedded, determining vector representations for each of the images, three dimensional objects, text, and combinations, determining vector representation of the query, determining which one or more of the images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations have a spatially close vector representation to the vector representation of the query, retrieving corresponding query results comprising databases of 3D models, sketches, and images); and
outputting the one or more matching shapes in a first response to the first query (Tasse in [0006] discloses comparing the similarity between two images consists of computing a vector representation of each image description and then estimating the distance between the two descriptors; Tasse in [0028], [0031], and [0074] and in Figures 5 and 6 discloses searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, retrieve objects based on multi-modal search queries using image and/or text, searching for an image or shape based on a query comprising tag and image data, create a word space in which images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations of the same are embedded, determining vector representations for each of the images, three dimensional objects, text, and combinations, determining vector representation of the query, determining which one or more of the images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations have a spatially close vector representation to the vector representation of the query, retrieving corresponding query results comprising databases of 3D models, sketches, and images).
Tasse discloses training one or more machine learning models with embeddings of one or more shape representations, however, Tasse does not explicitly disclose:
…one or more trained machine learning models that are trained with…(i) augmented shape representations…, (ii) a first set of contrastive losses calculated between positive shape pairs corresponding to…same shape in different formats, and (iii) a second set of contrastive losses between negative shape pairs corresponding to… different shapes,
The Dibra reference discloses one or more trained machine learning models that are trained with (i) augmented shape representations (Dibra in [0020] and [0050] discloses training neural network with training images from image models, using machine learning engine for generating a model using data and images; Dibra in [0052], [0058], and [0075] discloses neural network trained from pairs of images using shapes; Dibra in [0084] and [0094] and in Figures 1 and 10 discloses machine learning learns by gathering datasets of models, machine learning algorithms trained on data augmented by changing shapes; Dibra in [0102] discloses system including memory or non-transitory media storing instructions executed by processor; here Dibra does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more trained machine learning models are trained based upon contrastive losses calculated between positive shape pairs corresponding to the same shape and between negative shape pairs corresponding to different shapes, and wherein the first format and the second format comprises different shape formats, but the Kelkar and Thacker references disclose the features, as discussed below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Tasse and Dibra, to have combined Tasse and Dibra. The motivation to combine Tasse and Dibra would be to create real-time visualizations using augmented or mixed reality based on machine learning algorithms trained on data augmented by changing shapes (Dibra: [0003] and [0094]).
Tasse discloses training one or more machine learning models based on one or more image or shape representations and Dibra discloses machine learning algorithms trained on pairs of images and augmented shapes, however, Tasse and Dibra do not explicitly disclose:
one or more trained machine learning models that are trained with…(ii) a first set of contrastive losses calculated between positive shape pairs corresponding to same shape in different formats, and (iii) a second set of contrastive losses between negative shape pairs corresponding to different shapes;
The Kelkar reference discloses one or more trained machine learning models that are trained with a first set of contrastive losses calculated between positive shape pairs corresponding to same shape in different formats, and a second set of contrastive losses between negative shape pairs corresponding to different shapes (Kelkar in [0001] and [0004] and in Figure 6 discloses images encoded into different representations such as multidimensional vectors, comparing image representations using distance metric to determine similarity, responding to image search query based on similarity, train based on contrastive learning loss, form positive sample pair and negative sample pair, train to encode the positive sample pair to have similar representations and negative sample pair to have dissimilar representations; Kelkar in [0043] discloses locating objects and boundaries, such as lines, curves, etc. in images; Kelkar in [0071] and [0097] and in Figure 6 discloses once a set of image pairs are generated using a contrasting training method to train a machine learning model using the set of image pairs, augmenting each image of an image pair as positive sample inputs to the training component, using a training image of an image pair and a different image chosen from input images as negative sample inputs, training machine learning model using the inputs based on contrastive learning loss, computing contrastive learning loss based on positive sample pair and negative sample pair, using pairs of data points that are similar and pairs that are different in order to learn higher level features about the data, data points that are similar are positive pairs and data points that are different are negative pairs; here Tasse, Dibra, and Kelkar do not explicitly disclose wherein the first format and the second format comprise different three-dimensional shape formats, but the Thacker reference discloses the feature, as discussed below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Tasse, Dibra, and Kelkar, to have combined Tasse, Dibra, and Kelkar. The motivation to combine Tasse, Dibra, and Kelkar would be to train images into similar and dissimilar representations based on contrastive learning loss (Kelkar [0001] and [0004]).
Tasse discloses searching for objects using a plurality of three-dimensional shapes, Dibra discloses training machine learning models with changing shapes, and Kelkar discloses locating objects and boundaries, such as lines, curves, etc. in images, however, Tasse, Dibra, and Kelkar do not explicitly disclose:
…a first three-dimensional format,
…a second three-dimensional format,
…a three-dimensional format differing from the first three-dimensional format;
The Thacker reference discloses a first three-dimensional format, a second three-dimensional format, and a three-dimensional format differing from the first three-dimensional format (Thacker in Column 1 lines 22-47 and in Column 4 lines 18-34 discloses using natural language processing to automatically generate three-dimensional objects, a generative neural network, as part of a autoencoder that includes an encoder and a decoder, is trained on a set of three-dimensional models; Thacker in Column 5 lines 9-53 discloses individual objects using different three-dimensional formats, a first object using a first three-dimensional format, a second object using a second three-dimensional format, one or more three-dimensional formats based on vectors, one or more three-dimensional formats based on point clouds, one or more three-dimensional formats based on polygons, object described using a triangle mesh, objects using a three dimensional format based on triangles, using three-dimensional formats to describe a three-dimensional shape of individual objects).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Tasse, Dibra, Kelkar, and Thacker to have combined Tasse, Dibra, Kelkar, and Thacker. The motivation to combine Tasse, Dibra, Kelkar, and Thacker would be to automatically generate three-dimensional objects using natural language processing (Thacker: Column 1, lines 9-11).
With respect to claim 12, Tasse in view of Dibra and in view of Kelkar and in further view of Thacker discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to perform the steps of:
converting, by the one or more trained machine learning models, a second query shape into a second embedding, wherein a second query includes a textual description and the second query shape (Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data; Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words; Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query); and
matching the textual description to one or more additional shapes included in the first plurality of target shapes based on the second embedding and the first plurality of target format embeddings (Tasse in [0006] discloses comparing the similarity between two images consists of computing a vector representation of each image description and then estimating the distance between the two descriptors; Tasse in [0028], [0031], and [0074] discloses searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, retrieve objects based on multi-modal search queries using image and/or text, searching for an image or shape based on a query comprising tag and image data, create a word space in which images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations of the same are embedded, determining vector representations for each of the images, three dimensional objects, text, and combinations, determining vector representation of the query, determining which one or more of the images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations have a spatially close vector representation to the vector representation of the query, retrieving corresponding query results comprising databases of 3D models, sketches, and images).
With respect to claim 13, Tasse in view of Dibra and in view of Kelkar and in further view of Thacker discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to perform the steps of:
converting, by the one or more trained machine learning models, a second query shape into a second embedding, wherein the second query shape is associated with the first query and the second three-dimensional format (Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data; Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words; Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query); and
filtering, based on a combination of the first embedding and the second embedding, the first plurality of target format embeddings to identify the one or more matching target format embeddings (Tasse in [0006], [0028], [0031], and [0074] discloses comparing the similarity between two images consists of computing a vector representation of each image description and then estimating the distance between the two descriptors, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, retrieve objects based on multi-modal search queries using image and/or text, searching for an image or shape based on a query comprising tag and image data, create a word space in which images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations of the same are embedded, determining vector representations for each of the images, three dimensional objects, text, and combinations, determining vector representation of the query, determining which one or more of the images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations have a spatially close vector representation to the vector representation of the query, retrieving corresponding query results comprising databases of 3D models, sketches, and images).
With respect to claim 14, Tasse in view of Dibra and in view of Kelkar and in further view of Thacker discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 13, wherein the combination of the first embedding and the second embedding comprises at least one of an average, a weighted average, a sum, or a difference (Tasse in [0022], [0025], [0029], and [0073] discloses retrieve top objects in a collection based on multimodal query using smallest Euclidean distance, calculate Euclidean difference between two points, calculating a shape descriptor according to an average of one or more descriptors in relation to each of the one or more embedded images, average biases according to one or more weights, calculating weighted average).
With respect to claim 15, Tasse in view of Dibra and in view of Kelkar and in further view of Thacker discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to perform the steps of:
determining, based on one or more additional attributes of the first query, a third three-dimensional format (Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data; Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words; Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query); and
matching the first query shape to one or more additional shapes associated with the third three-dimensional format, wherein the matching is based on a combination of: the first embedding and a second plurality of target format embeddings for a second plurality of target shapes associated with the third three-dimensional format (Tasse in [0006] discloses comparing the similarity between two images consists of computing a vector representation of each image description and then estimating the distance between the two descriptors; Tasse in [0028], [0031], and [0074] discloses searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, retrieve objects based on multi-modal search queries using image and/or text, searching for an image or shape based on a query comprising tag and image data, create a word space in which images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations of the same are embedded, determining vector representations for each of the images, three dimensional objects, text, and combinations, determining vector representation of the query, determining which one or more of the images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations have a spatially close vector representation to the vector representation of the query, retrieving corresponding query results comprising databases of 3D models, sketches, and images).
With respect to claim 16, Tasse in view of Dibra and in view of Kelkar and in further view of Thacker discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, wherein converting the first query shape into the first embedding and determining the first plurality of target format embeddings comprises:
identifying, based on one or more attributes of the first query, at least one of the first three-dimensional format or the second three-dimensional format (Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data; Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words; Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query);
executing, based on the first query shape, a first encoder neural network to generate the first embedding, wherein the first encoded neural network: is included in the one or more trained machine learning models, and is associated with the first three-dimensional format (Tasse in [0007], [0008], [0018]-[0020], and [0049] discloses using machine learning performed through the use of one or more neural network, learn image descriptors from data to produce better retrieval results, using learning to embed both images and shapes to one common vector space, making it possible to directly search shapes using an image, training to identify image labels and generate descriptors, training neural network to map image or shape to a vector); and
executing, based on the first plurality of target shapes, a second encoder neural network to generate the first plurality of target format embeddings, wherein the second encoder neural network: is included in the one or more trained machine learning models, and is associated with the second three-dimensional format (Tasse in [0007], [0008], [0018]-[0020], and [0049] discloses using machine learning performed through the use of one or more neural network, learn image descriptors from data to produce better retrieval results, using learning to embed both images and shapes to one common vector space, making it possible to directly search shapes using an image, training to identify image labels and generate descriptors, training neural network to map image or shape to a vector).
With respect to claim 17, Tasse in view of Dibra and in view of Kelkar and in further view of Thacker discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, wherein converting the first query shape into the first embedding comprises:
determining the first three-dimensional format based on one or more additional attributes of the first query (Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data; Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words; Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query); and
matching, based on a plurality of mappings, the first query shape to the first embedding, wherein the plurality of mappings are between a second plurality of target shapes associated with the first three-dimensional format and a second plurality of target format embeddings generated from the second plurality of target shapes (Tasse in [0006] discloses comparing the similarity between two images consists of computing a vector representation of each image description and then estimating the distance between the two descriptors; Tasse in [0028], [0031], and [0074] discloses searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, retrieve objects based on multi-modal search queries using image and/or text, searching for an image or shape based on a query comprising tag and image data, create a word space in which images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations of the same are embedded, determining vector representations for each of the images, three dimensional objects, text, and combinations, determining vector representation of the query, determining which one or more of the images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations have a spatially close vector representation to the vector representation of the query, retrieving corresponding query results comprising databases of 3D models, sketches, and images).
With respect to claim 19, Tasse in view of Dibra and in view of Kelkar and in further view of Thacker discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, wherein the plurality of similarities comprises at least one of a cosine similarity, a Euclidean distance, or a dot product (Tasse in [0022], [0025], [0029], and [0073] discloses retrieve top objects in a collection based on multimodal query using smallest Euclidean distance, calculate Euclidean difference between two points, calculating a shape descriptor according to an average of one or more descriptors in relation to each of the one or more embedded images, average biases according to one or more weights, calculating weighted average).
With respect to claim 20, Tasse discloses a system, comprising: one or more memories that store instructions, and one or more processors that are coupled to the one or more memories and, when executing the instructions, are configured to perform the steps of:
converting, by one or more trained machine learning models configured to process…shape representations, a first query shape included in a first query into a first embedding, wherein the first embedding is an encoding of a first…format of the first query shape (Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data; Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words; Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query; Tasse in [0007], [0008], and [0019] discloses using machine learning performed through the use of one or more neural network, using deep learning to embed images and shapes to one common vector space to directly search for shapes; Tasse in [0018], [0020], and [0049] discloses vector representation of image data performed using a neural network, training to identify image labels and generate descriptors, training neural network to map image or shape to a vector),
determining a first plurality of target format embeddings for a first plurality of target shapes stored in a data store (Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data; Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words; Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query; Tasse in [0007], [0008], and [0019] discloses using machine learning performed through the use of one or more neural network, using deep learning to embed images and shapes to one common vector space to directly search for shapes; Tasse in [0018], [0020], and [0049] discloses vector representation of image data performed using a neural network, training to identify image labels and generate descriptors, training neural network to map image or shape to a vector), wherein:
each target format embedding included in the first plurality of target format embeddings is encoded from one or more additional formats of the first query shape, the one or more additional formats including at least a second…format (Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data; Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words; Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query; Tasse in [0007], [0008], and [0019] discloses using machine learning performed through the use of one or more neural network, using deep learning to embed images and shapes to one common vector space to directly search for shapes; Tasse in [0018], [0020], and [0049] discloses vector representation of image data performed using a neural network, training to identify image labels and generate descriptors, training neural network to map image or shape to a vector),
each of the one or more additional formats comprises a…format differing from the first…format (Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data; Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words; Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query; Tasse in [0007], [0008], and [0019] discloses using machine learning performed through the use of one or more neural network, using deep learning to embed images and shapes to one common vector space to directly search for shapes; Tasse in [0018], [0020], and [0049] discloses vector representation of image data performed using a neural network, training to identify image labels and generate descriptors, training neural network to map image or shape to a vector), and
the first plurality of target embeddings are encoded by one or more trained machine learning models that are trained with (i) one or more embeddings of…shape representations… (Tasse in [0001] discloses searching for two-dimensional or three-dimensional objects in a collection using a multi-modal query of image and/or tag data; Tasse in [0010] and [0014] discloses searching for digital objects using any combination of images, three-dimensional shapes, and text by embedding the vector representations for these multiple modes in the same space, embedding the image data and tag data in a vector space of words; Tasse in [0026] and [0027] discloses images and shapes embedded in the same word vector space ensuring that all modalities share a common representation, searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, search query comprising both image or object data and word or tag data, determining one or more objects in the collection having spatially close vector representation to the search query; Tasse in [0007], [0008], and [0019] discloses using machine learning performed through the use of one or more neural network, using deep learning to embed images and shapes to one common vector space to directly search for shapes; Tasse in [0018], [0020], and [0049] discloses vector representation of image data performed using a neural network, training to identify image labels and generate descriptors, training neural network to map image or shape to a vector; here Tasse does not explicitly disclose one or more trained machine learning models configured to process augmented shape representations, wherein the one or more machine learning models are trained based upon one or more augmented shape representations as well as contrastive losses calculated between positive shape pairs corresponding to the same shape and between negative shape pairs corresponding to different shapes, and wherein the first format and the second format comprises different shape formats, but the Dibra, Kelkar, and Thacker references disclose the features, as discussed below);
computing a plurality of similarities between the first embedding and the first plurality of target format embeddings (Tasse in [0006] discloses comparing the similarity between two images consists of computing a vector representation of each image description and then estimating the distance between the two descriptors; Tasse in [0015] discloses allowing similar multi-modal data to be associated by proximity; Tasse in [0022], [0025], [0029], and [0073] discloses retrieve top objects in a collection based on multimodal query using smallest Euclidean distance, calculate Euclidean difference between two points, calculating a shape descriptor according to an average of one or more descriptors in relation to each of the one or more embedded images, average biases according to one or more weights, calculating weighted average; Tasse in [0028], [0031], and [0074] and in Figures 5 and 6 discloses searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, retrieve objects based on multi-modal search queries using image and/or text, searching for an image or shape based on a query comprising tag and image data, create a word space in which images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations of the same are embedded, determining vector representations for each of the images, three dimensional objects, text, and combinations, determining vector representation of the query, determining which one or more of the images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations have a spatially close vector representation to the vector representation of the query, retrieving corresponding query results comprising databases of 3D models, sketches, and images),
filtering the first plurality of target format embeddings by applying a threshold to the plurality of similarities to identify one or more matching target embeddings (Tasse in [0006] discloses comparing the similarity between two images consists of computing a vector representation of each image description and then estimating the distance between the two descriptors; Tasse in [0015] discloses allowing similar multi-modal data to be associated by proximity; Tasse in [0022], [0025], [0029], and [0073] discloses retrieve top objects in a collection based on multimodal query using smallest Euclidean distance, calculate Euclidean difference between two points, calculating a shape descriptor according to an average of one or more descriptors in relation to each of the one or more embedded images, average biases according to one or more weights, calculating weighted average; Tasse in [0028], [0031], and [0074] and in Figures 5 and 6 discloses searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, retrieve objects based on multi-modal search queries using image and/or text, searching for an image or shape based on a query comprising tag and image data, create a word space in which images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations of the same are embedded, determining vector representations for each of the images, three dimensional objects, text, and combinations, determining vector representation of the query, determining which one or more of the images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations have a spatially close vector representation to the vector representation of the query, retrieving corresponding query results comprising databases of 3D models, sketches, and images);
converting the one or more matching target embeddings to one or more matching shapes (Tasse in [0006] discloses comparing the similarity between two images consists of computing a vector representation of each image description and then estimating the distance between the two descriptors; Tasse in [0028], [0031], and [0074] and in Figures 5 and 6 discloses searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, retrieve objects based on multi-modal search queries using image and/or text, searching for an image or shape based on a query comprising tag and image data, create a word space in which images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations of the same are embedded, determining vector representations for each of the images, three dimensional objects, text, and combinations, determining vector representation of the query, determining which one or more of the images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations have a spatially close vector representation to the vector representation of the query, retrieving corresponding query results comprising databases of 3D models, sketches, and images); and
outputting the one or more matching shapes in a first response to the first query (Tasse in [0006] discloses comparing the similarity between two images consists of computing a vector representation of each image description and then estimating the distance between the two descriptors; Tasse in [0028], [0031], and [0074] and in Figures 5 and 6 discloses searching a collection of objects based on visual and semantic similarity, retrieve objects based on multi-modal search queries using image and/or text, searching for an image or shape based on a query comprising tag and image data, create a word space in which images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations of the same are embedded, determining vector representations for each of the images, three dimensional objects, text, and combinations, determining vector representation of the query, determining which one or more of the images, three dimensional objects, text and combinations have a spatially close vector representation to the vector representation of the query, retrieving corresponding query results comprising databases of 3D models, sketches, and images).
Tasse discloses training one or more machine learning models with embeddings of one or more shape representations, however, Tasse does not explicitly disclose:
…one or more trained machine learning models that are trained with…(i) augmented shape representations…, (ii) a first set of contrastive losses calculated between positive shape pairs corresponding to…same shape in different formats, and (iii) a second set of contrastive losses between negative shape pairs corresponding to… different shapes,
The Dibra reference discloses one or more trained machine learning models that are trained with (i) augmented shape representations (Dibra in [0020] and [0050] discloses training neural network with training images from image models, using machine learning engine for generating a model using data and images; Dibra in [0052], [0058], and [0075] discloses neural network trained from pairs of images using shapes; Dibra in [0084] and [0094] and in Figures 1 and 10 discloses machine learning learns by gathering datasets of models, machine learning algorithms trained on data augmented by changing shapes; Dibra in [0102] discloses system including memory or non-transitory media storing instructions executed by processor; here Dibra does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more trained machine learning models are trained based upon contrastive losses calculated between positive shape pairs corresponding to the same shape and between negative shape pairs corresponding to different shapes, and wherein the first format and the second format comprises different shape formats, but the Kelkar and Thacker references disclose the features, as discussed below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Tasse and Dibra, to have combined Tasse and Dibra. The motivation to combine Tasse and Dibra would be to create real-time visualizations using augmented or mixed reality based on machine learning algorithms trained on data augmented by changing shapes (Dibra: [0003] and [0094]).
Tasse discloses training one or more machine learning models based on one or more image or shape representations and Dibra discloses machine learning algorithms trained on pairs of images and augmented shapes, however, Tasse and Dibra do not explicitly disclose:
one or more trained machine learning models that are trained with…(ii) a first set of contrastive losses calculated between positive shape pairs corresponding to same shape in different formats, and (iii) a second set of contrastive losses between negative shape pairs corresponding to different shapes;
The Kelkar reference discloses one or more trained machine learning models that are trained with a first set of contrastive losses calculated between positive shape pairs corresponding to same shape in different formats, and a second set of contrastive losses between negative shape pairs corresponding to different shapes (Kelkar in [0001] and [0004] and in Figure 6 discloses images encoded into different representations such as multidimensional vectors, comparing image representations using distance metric to determine similarity, responding to image search query based on similarity, train based on contrastive learning loss, form positive sample pair and negative sample pair, train to encode the positive sample pair to have similar representations and negative sample pair to have dissimilar representations; Kelkar in [0043] discloses locating objects and boundaries, such as lines, curves, etc. in images; Kelkar in [0071] and [0097] and in Figure 6 discloses once a set of image pairs are generated using a contrasting training method to train a machine learning model using the set of image pairs, augmenting each image of an image pair as positive sample inputs to the training component, using a training image of an image pair and a different image chosen from input images as negative sample inputs, training machine learning model using the inputs based on contrastive learning loss, computing contrastive learning loss based on positive sample pair and negative sample pair, using pairs of data points that are similar and pairs that are different in order to learn higher level features about the data, data points that are similar are positive pairs and data points that are different are negative pairs; here Tasse, Dibra, and Kelkar do not explicitly disclose wherein the first format and the second format comprise different three-dimensional shape formats, but the Thacker reference discloses the feature, as discussed below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Tasse, Dibra, and Kelkar, to have combined Tasse, Dibra, and Kelkar. The motivation to combine Tasse, Dibra, and Kelkar would be to train images into similar and dissimilar representations based on contrastive learning loss (Kelkar [0001] and [0004]).
Tasse discloses searching for objects using a plurality of three-dimensional shapes, Dibra discloses training machine learning models with changing shapes, and Kelkar discloses locating objects and boundaries, such as lines, curves, etc. in images, however, Tasse, Dibra, and Kelkar do not explicitly disclose:
…a first three-dimensional format,
…a second three-dimensional format,
…a three-dimensional format differing from the first three-dimensional format;
The Thacker reference discloses a first three-dimensional format, a second three-dimensional format, and a three-dimensional format differing from the first three-dimensional format (Thacker in Column 1 lines 22-47 and in Column 4 lines 18-34 discloses using natural language processing to automatically generate three-dimensional objects, a generative neural network, as part of a autoencoder that includes an encoder and a decoder, is trained on a set of three-dimensional models; Thacker in Column 5 lines 9-53 discloses individual objects using different three-dimensional formats, a first object using a first three-dimensional format, a second object using a second three-dimensional format, one or more three-dimensional formats based on vectors, one or more three-dimensional formats based on point clouds, one or more three-dimensional formats based on polygons, object described using a triangle mesh, objects using a three dimensional format based on triangles, using three-dimensional formats to describe a three-dimensional shape of individual objects).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Tasse, Dibra, Kelkar, and Thacker to have combined Tasse, Dibra, Kelkar, and Thacker. The motivation to combine Tasse, Dibra, Kelkar, and Thacker would be to automatically generate three-dimensional objects using natural language processing (Thacker: Column 1, lines 9-11).
With respect to claim 22, Tasse in view of Dibra and in view of Kelkar and in further view of Thacker discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising executing a decoder neural network associated with the second three-dimensional format to convert the first embedding into a target shape in the three-dimensional second format (Tasse in [0007], [0008], [0018]-[0020], and [0049] discloses using machine learning performed through the use of one or more neural network, learn image descriptors from data to produce better retrieval results, using learning to embed both images and shapes to one common vector space, making it possible to directly search shapes using an image, training to identify image labels and generate descriptors, training neural network to map image or shape to a vector; Thacker in Column 1 lines 22-47 and in Column 4 lines 18-34 discloses using natural language processing to automatically generate three-dimensional objects, a generative neural network, as part of a autoencoder that includes an encoder and a decoder, is trained on a set of three-dimensional models).
With respect to claim 23, Tasse in view of Dibra and in view of Kelkar and in further view of Thacker discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first three-dimensional format comprises a point cloud and the second three-dimensional format comprises a mesh (Thacker in Column 5 lines 9-53 discloses individual objects using different three-dimensional formats, a first object using a first three-dimensional format, a second object using a second three-dimensional format, one or more three-dimensional formats based on vectors, one or more three-dimensional formats based on point clouds, one or more three-dimensional formats based on polygons, object described using a triangle mesh, objects using a three dimensional format based on triangles, using three-dimensional formats to describe a three-dimensional shape of individual objects).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tasse (US Pub 2020/0104318) in view of Dibra (US Pub 2021/0201565) in view of Kelkar (US Pub 2024/0020954) in view of Thacker (US Pat 10,930,066) and in further view of Tal (US Pub 2023/0038256).
With respect to claim 21, Tasse in view of Dibra and in view of Kelkar and in further view of Thacker discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
executing, based on one or more query shape attributes associated with the first query shape, a decoder neural network trained on the contrastive losses… (Tasse in [0007], [0008], and [0019] discloses using machine learning performed through the use of one or more neural network, using deep learning to embed images and shapes to one common vector space to directly search for shapes; Tasse in [0018], [0020], and [0049] discloses vector representation of image data performed using a neural network, training to identify image labels and generate descriptors, training neural network to map image or shape to a vector; Kelkar in [0001] and [0004] discloses images encoded into different representations such as multidimensional vectors, comparing image representations using distance metric to determine similarity, responding to image search query based on similarity, train based on contrastive learning loss, form positive sample pair and negative sample pair, train to encode the positive sample pair to have similar representations and negative sample pair to have dissimilar representations; Kelkar in [0071] and [0097] and in Figure 6 discloses once a set of image pairs are generated using a contrasting training method to train a machine learning model using the set of image pairs, augmenting each image of an image pair as positive sample inputs to the training component, using a training image of an image pair and a different image chosen from input images as negative sample inputs, training machine learning model using the inputs based on contrastive learning loss, computing contrastive learning loss based on positive sample pair and negative sample pair, using pairs of data points that are similar and pairs that are different in order to learn higher level features about the data, data points that are similar are positive pairs and data points that are different are negative pairs; here Tasse, Dibra, Kelkar, and Thacker do not explicitly disclose a decoder neural network trained based on the contrastive losses to convert one or more embeddings associated with the one or more shapes included in the first plurality of shapes into one or more shape in the first format, but the Tal reference discloses the feature, as discussed below).
Tasse discloses training a decoder neural network and Kelkar discloses training machine learning model using inputs based on contrastive learning loss, and Thacker discloses shapes in three-dimensional formats, however, Tasse, Dibra, Kelkar, and Thacker do not explicitly disclose:
a decoder neural network trained on the contrastive losses to convert one or more embeddings, which are associated with one or more target shapes included in the first plurality of target shapes into one or more target shapes in the first…format.
The Tal reference discloses a decoder neural network trained based on contrastive losses to convert one or more embeddings, which are associated with one or more target shapes included in a first plurality of target shapes into one or more target shapes in a first format (Tal in [0130] and [0135] discloses neural networks build a model from training data including shapes, encoder portion of the neural network reduces the dimensionality, learning a model from which the decoder portion recreates the input; Tal in [0171] discloses training embeddings using contrastive optimization; Tal in [0175], [0197] and [0218] discloses using neural network to convert embeddings associated with shapes into similar shapes, embeddings constructed using contrastive loss).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Tasse, Dibra, Kelkar, Thacker, and Tal, to have combined Tasse, Dibra, Kelkar, Thacker, and Tal. The motivation to combine Tasse, Dibra, Kelkar, Thacker, and Tal would be to produce clusters of similar substructures using contrastive optimization (Tal: [0175]).
Remarks
The relevant prior art of record that are not used in claim rejections but are pertinent to the claims or disclosure are:
Zhang (US Pat 12,400,473), which discloses training three-dimensional shape data using machine learning.
Chaudhuri (US Pub 2024/0046567), which discloses three-dimensional shapes and utilizing encoder machine learning model to retrieve similar shapes.
Contact Information
/R.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2159 /MARC S SOMERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2159