DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s remarks, filed 04/08/2026, with respect to claims 1-15 and 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous rejection of claims 1-15 and 20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s remarks, filed 04/08/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 9 under Le Naour et al. (WO 2012107656 A1) in view of Hasnain (US 2021/0184707 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gorbachov (US 8,374,557 B2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gorbachov (US 8,374,557 B2).
Regarding claim 9, Gorbachov discloses a wireless device (figure 1) comprising: one more antennae (114a and 114b); one or more front end modules (112), each front end module having a bandpass filter (158), an antenna port (118a) connected to one of the one or more antennae and forming a signal path with the bandpass filter, and one or more amplifiers (138), the one or more amplifiers being disposed between the bandpass filter (158) and the antenna (114a) in the signal path; and a first switch (Matching and Switching Network 148) coupled to the one or more amplifiers and coupled directly to the antenna port (column 4, line 36 – column 8, line 56).
Regarding claim 20, Gorbachov discloses the wireless device of claim 9 wherein the wireless device is a wireless mobile device or a wireless access point (column 5, lines 11-34).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorbachov in view of Yang et al. (US 10,425,982 B2).
Regarding claim 18, Gorbachov discloses the wireless device of claim 9. In addition, Gorbachov discloses wherein the one or more antennae comprises two or more antennae (114a and 114b, figure 1). Gorbachov does not explicitly disclose at least two of the two or more antennae being different types of antennae or having different polarizations. However, Yang et al. disclose a wireless device (figures 2a-b) comprises at least two of the two or more antennae (figures 3a-b, 307a and 313a) being different types of antennae or having different polarizations (column 4, lines 34-54; and column 8, line 13 column 9, line 47). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the different polarizations antennae of Yang et al. to the antennae of the wireless device of Gorbachov for enhancing communication reliability and mitigating interference.
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorbachov in view of Le Naour et al. (JP 2008219868 A - See English Text).
Regarding claim 19, Gorbachov discloses the wireless device of claim 9. In addition, Gorbachov discloses wherein the one or more antennae comprises two or more antennae (see figure 1, antennas 114a and 114b). Gorbachov does not explicitly disclose at least two of the two or more antennae having least 20 dB of isolation between them. However, Le Naour et al. disclose a wireless device (figure 1) comprising at least two of the two or more antennae (antennas 1-5) having least 20 dB of isolation between them (page 1, last paragraph page 3, 1st paragraph; and page 5, "Isolation between close antennas: 20 dB; Isolation between furthest antennas: 30 dB"). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teaching of 20 dB isolation between antennae of Le Naour et al. to the antennae of the wireless device of Gorbachov for isolating noise and reducing interference.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 9 and 13-20 of copending Application No. 18/150,229 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-18 and 20 of the present application are either anticipated or being obvious over claims 1-7, 9 and 13-20 of copending Application No. 18/150,229.
Regarding claim 1 of the present application, claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/150,229 encompasses all the claimed limitations including a front end module comprising: a bandpass filter;an antenna port for connection to an antenna and forming a signal path with the bandpass filter; one or more amplifiers, the one or more amplifiers being disposed between the bandpass filter and the antenna port in the signal path and being coupled to a first terminal of the bandpass filter; a second switch (one or more switches) coupled to the bandpass filter at a second terminal of the bandpass filter; and a first switch coupled to the one or more amplifiers and coupled directly to the antenna port.
Regarding claim 2 of the present application, claim 2 of copending Application No. 18/150,229 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the one or more amplifiers comprises: a first amplifier disposed between the antenna port and the bandpass filter in the signal path; and a second amplifier disposed between the antenna port and the bandpass filter in the signal path, wherein the front end module further comprises one or more switches arranged such that the front end module can be configured in either a transmit path configuration by selecting the first amplifier or a receive path configuration by selecting the second amplifier.
Regarding claim 3 of the present application, claim 3 of copending Application No. 18/150,229 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the one or more switches comprises: a third switch disposed between the bandpass filter and the one or more amplifiers in the signal path, the first switch and the third switch allowing the front end module to be configured in either the transmit path configuration by selecting the first amplifier or the receive path configuration by selecting the second amplifier.
Regarding claim 4 of the present application, claim 7 of copending Application No. 18/150,229 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the first amplifier comprises a power amplifier, and wherein transmit power of the power amplifier is reduced without affecting the saturated output power of the power amplifier.
Regarding claim 5 of the present application, claim 4 of copending Application No. 18/150,229 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the second amplifier comprises a low noise amplifier.
Regarding claim 6 of the present application, claim 6 of copending Application No. 18/150,229 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the bandpass filter is in a small signal side of the power amplifier in the front end module.
Regarding claim 7 of the present application, claim 5 of copending Application No. 18/150,229 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the second switch is coupled to the one or more amplifiers and to a third switch, the third switch being coupled to the bandpass filter, and a fourth switch and a fifth switch, the fourth switch being coupled to the fifth switch and to the bandpass filter, and the fifth switch being further coupled to at least one transmit node and one receive node.
Regarding claim 8 of the present application, claim 9 of copending Application No. 18/150,229 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the bandpass filter is a 5 GHz bandpass filter or a 6 GHz bandpass filter.
Regarding claim 9 of the present application, claim 13 of copending Application No. 18/150,229 encompasses all the claimed limitations including a wireless device comprising: one more antennae; one or more front end modules, each front end module having a bandpass filter, an antenna port connected to one of the one or more antennae and forming a signal path with the bandpass filter, and one or more amplifiers, the one or more amplifiers being disposed between the bandpass filter and the antenna in the signal path; and a first switch coupled to the one or more amplifiers and coupled directly to the antenna port.
Regarding claim 10 of the present application, claim 14 of copending Application No. 18/150,229 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the one or more amplifiers of each of the one or more front end modules comprises: a first amplifier disposed between the antenna port and the bandpass filter of the front end module in the signal path; and a second amplifier disposed between the antenna port and the bandpass filter of the front end module in the signal path, wherein each of the one or more front end modules further comprises one or more switches arranged such that the front end module can be configured in either a transmit path configuration by selecting the first amplifier or a receive path configuration by selecting the second amplifier.
Regarding claim 11 of the present application, claim 15 of copending Application No. 18/150,229 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the one or more switches of each of the one or more front end modules comprises: a first switch disposed between the antenna port and the one or more amplifiers of the front end module in the signal path; and a second switch disposed between the bandpass filter and the one or more amplifiers of the front end module in the signal path, the first switch and the second switch allowing the front end module to be configured in either the transmit path configuration by selecting the first amplifier or the receive path configuration by selecting the second amplifier.
Regarding claim 12 of the present application, claim 14 of copending Application No. 18/150,229 recites wherein the first amplifier of each of the one or more front end modules if not inherent would be obvious comprises a power amplifier since the first amplifier is in a transmitting path.
Regarding claim 13 of the present application, claim 14 of copending Application No. 18/150,229 recites wherein the second amplifier of each of the one or more front end modules if not inherent would be obvious comprises a low noise amplifier since the second amplifier is in a receiving path.
Regarding claim 14 of the present application, claim 16 of copending Application No. 18/150,229 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the one or more front end modules comprises one or more pairs of front end modules and wherein, for each pair of front end modules, the bandpass filter of one front end module passes a different frequency range to the bandpass filter of the other front end module, such that the passbands of the bandpass filters do not overlap.
Regarding claim 15 of the present application, claim 17 of copending Application No. 18/150,229 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein, for each pair of front end modules, the bandpass filter of one front end module is a 5 GHz bandpass filter the bandpass filter of the other front end module is a 6 GHz bandpass filter.
Regarding claim 16 of the present application, claim 18 of copending Application No. 18/150,229 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the one or more front end modules comprises two or more pairs of front end modules and wherein the bandpass filters of one pair of front end modules are configured for use in a different geographical region to the bandpass filters of another pair of front end modules.
Regarding claim 17 of the present application, claim 19 of copending Application No. 18/150,229 encompasses all the claimed limitations including a region detector configured to detect a geographical region in which the wireless device is located and to automatically configure the wireless device for that geographical region by selecting a pair of front end modules configured for use in the detected geographical region for use in a transmit path configuration of the wireless device and a receive path configuration of the wireless device.
Regarding claim 18 of the present application, claim 20 of copending Application No. 18/150,229 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the one or more antennae comprises two or more antennae, at least two of the two or more antennae being different types of antenna or having different polarizations.
Regarding claim 20 of the present application, claim 17 of copending Application No. 18/150,229 including 5 GHz and 6 GHz bandpass filters which are used for wi-fi communication which if not inherent would be obvious for the wireless device being a wireless mobile device or a wireless access point for operating in wi-fi.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 19 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of copending Application No. 18/150,230 in view of Le Naour et al. (JP 2008219868 A - See English Text).
Regarding claim 19 of the present application, claim 20 of copending Application No. 18/150,229 encompasses all the claimed limitations of claim 9. In addition, claim 20 of copending Application No. 18/150,229 further encompasses wherein the one or more antennae comprises two or more antennae. Claim 20 of copending Application No. 18/150,229 does not recite at least two of the two or more antennae having least 20 dB of isolation between them. However, Le Naour et al. discloses a wireless device (figure 1) comprising at least two of the two or more antennae (antennae 1-5) having least 20 dB of isolation between them (page 1, last paragraph - page 3, 1st paragraph; and page 5, "Isolation between close antennas: 20 dB; Isolation between furthest antennas: 30 dB"). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teaching of 20 dB of isolation between antennae of Le Naour et al. to the antennae of the wireless device of claim 20 of copending Application No. 18/150,229 for isolating noise and reducing interference.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/QUOCHIEN B VUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645