DETAILED ACTION
This final action is in reply to the response, filed 21 April 2026, which was in reply to the non-final action, dated 22 January 2026.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6-15 are pending. Claims 1, 3 and 7-12 have been amended and claims 14-15 have been newly added.
With regard to the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation of the documented limitations (pgs. 3-6, Final) Applicant has neither amended the claims nor rebutted the interpretation. Accordingly, the claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) of the documented limitations has been maintained, as discussed below.
With regard to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1-12 (pgs. 7-32, Action) applicant’s amendments added new claims 13-15 and the following amended limitations to the independent claims, “determine, based on changes in the relative lane marker lateral position, a behavior of the oncoming moving body in each of a plurality of time intervals”, “identify a behavior pattern of the oncoming moving body over the plurality of time intervals based on the determined behavior of the oncoming moving body” and “select, based on the identified behavior pattern, a predefined score corresponding to each of the plurality of time intervals;” necessitated additional searching and consideration.
Accordingly, the new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 are: claims 1, 7, 14 and 15 in view of Silva, Kawakita and Fukui; claim 3 in view of Saliva, Kawakita, Fukui and Nagata; claim 4 in view of Silva, Kawakita, Fukui and Minemura; claim 6 in view of Silva, Kawakita, Fukui, Nagata and Minemura; claims 8 and 9 in view of Silva, Kawakita, Fukui, Tamura and Wang; claims 10-12 in view of Silva, Kawakita, Fukui, Tamura, Wang and Minemura; and claim 13 in view of Silva, Kawakita, Fukui and Tamura, as discussed below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a traveling environment recognizer configured to recognize ... “ (claims 1 and 13, see specification at [0040] disclosing that that the image recognition_ECU 13 may serve as a “traveling environment recognizer” that recognizes the traveling environment information outside the vehicle along with the stereo camera 11 and the IPU 12; [0184] disclosing that the image recognition_ECU 13, the travel_ECU 14, the CP_ECU 21, the E/G_ECU 22, the T/M_ECU 23, the BK_ECU 24, the PS_ECU 25 and the like are each constituted by a known microcomputer including a central processing unit (CPU));
“an obstacle recognizer configured to recognize ... “ (claims 1 and 13, see specification at [0100] disclosing that the travel_ECU 14 may serve as an “obstacle recognizer”, “an emergency collision avoidance controller”, an “oncoming moving body recognizer”, a “lateral position calculator”, a “risk degree calculator”, and a “preliminary collision avoidance controller” ; [0041]; [0184]);
“an oncoming moving body recognizer configured to recognize ... “ (claims 1 and 13, see specification at [0100]; [0041]; [0184]);
“a lateral position calculator configured to calculate ... “ (claims 1 and 13, see specification at [0100]; [0041]; [0184]);
“a risk degree calculator configured to calculate ... “ (claims 1 and 13, see specification at [0100]; [0041]; [0184]);
“a preliminary collision avoidance controller configured to recognize ... “ (claim 1, see specification at [0100]; [0041]; [0184]); and
“an emergency collision avoidance controller configured to ... perform emergency collision avoidance “(claim 13, see specification at [0100]; [0041]; [0184]).
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The traveling environment recognizer, the obstacle recognizer, the oncoming moving body recognizer, the lateral position calculator, the risk degree calculator, and the preliminary collision avoidance controller are interpreted as being constituted by a microcomputer that includes a central processing unit (CPU), a read access memory (RAM), a read only memory (ROM), a non-volatile storage unit, and the like, and peripheral devices thereof (see specification, [0184]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication Number 2021/0370921 to Silva in view of U.S. Patent Publication Number 2022/0371620 to Kawakita, and U.S. Patent Publication Number 2022/0017078 to Fukui et al. (hereafter Fukui).
As per claim 1, Silva discloses [a] vehicle driving assistance device (see at least Silva, Abstract)
a traveling environment recognizer configured to recognize traveling environment information about a traveling environment outside a vehicle (see at least Silva, [0097] disclosing FIG. 6 illustrates an example process 600 for determining predictions and/or probabilities associated with a potential collision between a vehicle and an object moving in an environment, and determining actions for the vehicle to take based on the collision predictions and/or probabilities; [0098] disclosing that At operation 602, the vehicle safety system 534 may receive or determine data identifying a trajectory for a vehicle traversing an environment);
an obstacle recognizer configured to recognize, based on the traveling environment information, an obstacle present on a traveling path of the vehicle (see at least Silva, [0099] disclosing that at operation 604, the vehicle safety system 534 may receive state data associated with one or more other objects moving in the same environment in which the vehicle 102 is moving; [0100] disclosing that at operation 606, the vehicle safety system 534 may determine a perturbed trajectory for the object (e.g., vehicle 106) based on the state data received for the object in operation 604; [0101] disclosing that at operation 608, the vehicle safety system 534 may determine an intersection between the vehicle trajectory received or determined at operation 602 and the perturbed trajectory of the object (e.g., vehicle 106) determined at operation 606. In some examples, the intersection component 542 may perform one or more of the various techniques described herein to determine an intersection the vehicle trajectory and the perturbed trajectory for the vehicle 106. For instance, the intersection component 542 may determine a potential collision zone and perform a time-space overlap analysis within the potential collision zone, between the vehicles 102 and 106);
an emergency collision avoidance controller configured to, upon determination that the vehicle is highly likely to collide with the obstacle, perform emergency collision avoidance control for avoiding a collision of the vehicle with the obstacle (see at least Silva, [0107] disclosing that with regard to Fig. 7, at operation 614, the vehicle safety system 534 may determine one or more actions for the vehicle 102 to take, based on the collision predictions determined and/or probabilities calculated in operation 612. And further disclosing that the action component 546 may determine actions for the vehicle 102 include slowing or stopping the vehicle 102 to yield to the object, changing lanes or swerving to left or right to avoid the object, and/or performing any other vehicle through the system controller(s) 528 to increase the likelihood of avoiding and/or mitigating the damage of a potential collision);
an oncoming moving body recognizer configured to recognize, based on the traveling environment information, an oncoming moving body moving in an oncoming lane adjacent to a traveling lane of the vehicle and having a velocity component in a direction opposite to a traveling direction of the vehicle (see at least Silva, Fig. 1, Fig. 2A; [0033] disclosing that the vehicle safety system may determine sizes and/or spatial regions associated with the vehicle 102 and the object vehicle 106, and may use the sizes or regions along with the vehicle trajectories to determine the possibility or likelihood of a potential collision between the vehicles 102 and 106. As shown in FIG. 2A, in some examples the vehicle safety system may determine a bounding box 202 associated with the vehicle 102, and a bounding box 204 associated with the object vehicle 106. The bounding boxes 202 and 204 may be based on the dimensions (e.g., length, width, and height) and the shape of the respective vehicles, including a safety buffer representative of a safe distance around the vehicles 102 and 106 to avoid a collision. And further that the size and shape of safety buffers used for the bounding boxes 202 and 204 may depend on the size, speed, type, or other characteristics of the vehicles 102 and 106. For instance, a larger safety buffer may be used for higher-speed vehicles, more vulnerable vehicles/objects (e.g., bicycles or pedestrians), or for scenarios in which the vehicle safety system has less confidence in the perception data for the size, shape, trajectory or other state parameters of the object vehicle 106);
wherein the traveling lane is separated from the oncoming lane by a lane marker (see at least Silva, Fig. 1, showing the traveling lane separated from the oncoming lane by the center line 114 <interpreted as a lane marker>; [0025]);
a lateral position calculator configured to calculate, at each set cycle (see at least Silva, [0080] disclosing that the action component 546 may determine one or more actions for the vehicle 502 to take, based on predictions and/or probability determinations of a collision between the vehicle 502 another object (e.g., vehicle 106), along with other factors. And further that responsive to determining to adjust a lateral position of the vehicle, such as in a lane change to the left or to the right, the vehicle safety system 534 may cause the components 540-546 to generate an updated vehicle trajectory (or path polygon), plot additional object trajectories with respect to the updated vehicle trajectory, determine updated potential collision zones, and perform time-space overlap analyses to determine whether a collision risk may still exist after the determined action is performed by the vehicle 502; Fig. 6 showing the decision loop between step 606 of determining perturbed trajectory for the object, and step 610 of whether there are additional perturbed trajectories for the object <interpreted as at each set cycle>; [0102]),
a distance from the lane marker defining the oncoming lane to a reference position of the oncoming moving body as a relative lane marker lateral position (see at least Silva, [0099]; disclosing that the state data may be determined using AI techniques within the components of the vehicle computing device(s) 504 to localize the vehicle 106, determine a distance and orientation between vehicles 102 and 106, segment sensor data, determine a classification of the vehicle 106, perceive and predict vehicle movements, and generate a planned path or trajectory for the vehicle 106; [0114] disclosing that the vehicle safety system 534 may determine a probability that the vehicle 106 will follow a particular trajectory in operation 806, based on the road configuration in the environment 100 (e.g., lane markings, median position, traffic lights and signs, crosswalks, etc.), along with the traffic laws, rules of the road, local driving etiquette, traffic patterns); ... (1) ... ;
identify a pattern of temporal change across the time points (see at least Silva, [0034] disclosing that the vehicle system safety may determine a projected path polygon or freeform corridor for each vehicle 102 and 106 based on their respective trajectories 104 and 112(3), and may perform a time-space overlap analysis within a potential collision zone determined based on the overlap of the path polygons (or corridors). For example, as described in more detail in U.S. patent application Ser. No. 16/136,038, entitled “Collision Prediction and Avoidance for Vehicles” filed Sep. 19, 2018, the entirety of which is incorporated herein by reference for all purposes, a potential collision zone between vehicles 102 and 106 may be based on the point(s) of intersection between trajectory 104 and trajectory 112(3), and one or more offset distances associated with vehicles 102 and 106. The vehicle safety system may determine the offset distances based on the lengths and/or widths of the vehicles 102 and 106 and also may apply a safety buffer or any other distance representative of a safe distance from the object (e.g., vehicle 106) at which the vehicle 102 will not collide. For instance, the vehicle safety system may calculate the offset distance(s) used to define the dimensions of potential collision zone, based on overlap of the projected movement corridor for vehicle 102 and the projected movement corridor for vehicle 106, wherein the measurements are performed for points before and after the intersection point 116 of the trajectories 104 and 112(3); [0039] ; [0042] ); ... (2) ... (3) ... ; ... (4) ... ; ... (5) ... ; and ... (6) ...
calculate a total risk degree by summing the selected predefined scores (see at least Silva, [0103] disclosing that when the vehicle safety system 534 determines that all of the perturbed trajectories associated with the vehicle 106 have been determined and analyzed (610:No), process 600 proceed to 612 to perform one or more collision predictions based on perturbed trajectories for the vehicle 106. In some examples, the vehicle safety system 534 may use a probabilistic approach, by determining multiple perturbed trajectories for the vehicle 106, analyzing each of the individual perturbed trajectories with respect to a potential collision with the vehicle 102, and then aggregating the results of the analyses to calculate the overall probability of a collision occurring <interpreted as summing the selected predefined scores>)... ;
a preliminary collision avoidance controller configured to determine, based on the total risk degree, whether the oncoming moving body is to be recognized as obstacle (see at least Silva, [0103]; [0104] ; [0107]),
and perform preliminary collision avoidance control in response to determining that the oncoming moving body is to be recognized as the obstacle prior to the emergency collision avoidance control (see at least Silva, [0107]). The difference between the claimed invention and Silva, is that Silva does not explicitly teach the following limitations taught in Fukui, a comparable device where it is known to have:
(1) a risk degree calculator configured to evaluate variations in the relative lane marker lateral position of the oncoming moving body over a series of discrete time points corresponding to a predetermined number of consecutive set cycles (see at least Fukui, [0062] ; [0072] disclosing a condition that the vehicle moves, approaching the own vehicle 100. In this connection, the predetermined moving condition may further include one or more of (i) a condition that the vehicle control apparatus 10 has determined for a second time T2 that there is an oncoming vehicle 200 moving and approaching the own vehicle 100, (ii) a condition that a distance Dx (see FIG. 4) in the direction DLN in which the own vehicle lane LN_1 extends between the own vehicle 100 and the oncoming vehicle 200, is equal to or shorter than a first distance D1, (iii) a condition that a distance Dy (see FIG. 4) between the white line LM_R (or the lane marking) between the oncoming lane LN_2 and the own vehicle lane LN_1 and the oncoming vehicle 200, is equal to or shorter than a second distance D2, and (iv) a condition that a moving speed V200 of the own vehicle 100 is equal to or higher than a predetermined moving speed V_th);
(2) determine, based on changes in the relative lane marker lateral position, a behavior of the oncoming moving body in each of a plurality of time intervals (see at least Fukui, [0072]; [0073] disclosing that the second time T2 is set, for example, to a time minimally necessary to prevent the vehicle control apparatus 10 from mistakenly determining that there is an oncoming vehicle 200 satisfying the predetermined moving condition although actually there is no oncoming vehicle 200 satisfying the predetermined moving condition. In this embodiment, the second time T2 is set to a time shorter than the first time T1);
(3) each of the plurality of time intervals including a plurality of consecutive set cycles (see at least Fukui, [0062] disclosing that when the vehicle control apparatus 10 determines that there is an object OBJ in the own vehicle moving area AREA, the vehicle control apparatus 10 acquires a predicted reaching time TTC, based on the radar information INF_R and the vehicle speed V100. The predicted reaching time TIC is a time predicted to take for the own vehicle 100 to reach the object OBJ. The vehicle control apparatus 10 acquires the predicted reaching time TTC, based on (i) a distance between the own vehicle 100 and the object OBJ and (ii) the vehicle speed V100);
(4) identify a behavior pattern of the oncoming moving body over the plurality of time intervals based on the determined behavior of the oncoming moving body (see at least Fukui, [0072] );
(5) select, based on the identified behavior pattern, a predefined score corresponding to each of the plurality of time intervals (see at least Fukui, [0075] disclosing that the second distance D2 is set, for example, to a distance minimally necessary to prevent the own vehicle 100 from contacting to or colliding with the oncoming vehicle 200 while the first or second steering control is executed. The second distance D2 is significantly shorter than the first distance Dl. The vehicle control apparatus 10 acquires the distance Dy between (i) the white line LM_R (or the lane marking) separating the own vehicle lane LN_1 from the oncoming lane LN_2 and (ii) the oncoming vehicle 200, based on the own vehicle forward information INF_) ... . But, the difference between the claimed invention and the combination of Silva and Fukui, is that neither Silva, nor Fukui explicitly teach the following limitation taught in Kawakita, a comparable device where it is known to have:
(6) calculate a total risk degree (see at least Kawakita, claim 8, disclosing selecting the traveling lane for the traveling path based on evaluation accumulated values each of which is calculated by accumulating the risk scores for each traveling lane, wherein in the estimating the risk score, a base score is estimated based on static information that is fixed in time as the risk score of a first one of the chronological sections in each traveling lane, the static information contains a traveling difficulty for the vehicle at a change node at which a lane arrangement changes on the future route, and in the estimating the risk score, the risk score is estimated such that the traveling risk is higher as the traveling difficulty is higher ) ... .
Silva, Kawakita and Fukui are analogous art to claim 1 because they are in the same field of vehicle driving assist devices having a function of performing collision avoidance control in response to an obstacle. Silva relates to a vehicle safety system within an autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicle that predicts and avoid collisions between the vehicle and other moving objects in the environment (see Silva, Abstract). Kawakita relates to a path planning technique for planning a traveling path in a future route of a vehicle (see Kawakita, [0002]). Fukui relates to a vehicle control apparatus that executes steering control when there is an oncoming vehicle detected (see Fukui, Abstract, [0001], [0004]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle driving assist device, as disclosed in Silva, to provide the benefit of (1) having a risk degree calculator configured to evaluate variations in the relative lane marker lateral position of the oncoming moving body over a series of discrete time points corresponding to a predetermined number of consecutive set cycles, (2) determining, based on changes in the relative lane marker lateral position, a behavior of the oncoming moving body in each of a plurality of time intervals, (3) having each of the plurality of time intervals include a plurality of consecutive set cycles, (4) identifying a behavior pattern of the oncoming moving body over the plurality of time intervals based on the determined behavior of the oncoming moving body, as disclosed in Fukui, and (5) selecting, based on the identified behavior pattern, a predefined score corresponding to each of the plurality of time intervals, and (6) calculating a total risk degree, as disclosed in Kawakita, with a reasonable expectation of success. The results would have been predicable to one or ordinary skill.
As per claim 7, similar to claim 1, Silva discloses [a] vehicle driving assist device (see at least Silva, Abstract) comprising
one or more ECUs (see at least Silva, [0051] disclosing that the vehicle computing device(s) 504 may include one or more processors 516 and memory 518 communicatively coupled with the one or more processors 516. In the illustrated example, the memory 518 of the vehicle computing device(s) 504 stores a localization component 520, a perception component 522, a planning component 524, a prediction component 526, one or more system controllers 528, and one or more maps 530) configured to:
recognize traveling environment information about a traveling environment outside a vehicle (see at least Silva, [0097]; [0098]);
recognize, based on the traveling environment information, an obstacle present on a traveling path of the vehicle (see at least Silva, [0099]; [0100]; [0101]);
wherein the traveling lane is separated from the oncoming lane by a lane marker (see at least Silva, Fig. 1, showing the traveling lane separated from the oncoming lane by the center line 114 <interpreted as a lane marker>; [0025]);
upon determination that the vehicle is highly likely to collide with the obstacle, perform emergency collision avoidance control for avoiding a collision of the vehicle with the obstacle (see at least Silva, [0107]);
perform emergency collision avoidance control for avoiding a collision of the vehicle with the obstacle (see at least Silva, [0103]; [0104]; [0107]);
recognize, based on the traveling information, an oncoming moving body moving in an oncoming lane adjacent to a traveling lane of the vehicle and having a velocity component in a direction opposite to a traveling direction of the vehicle (see at least Silva, Fig. 1, Fig. 2A; [0033]);
calculate, at each set cycle, a distance from a lane marker defining the oncoming lane to a reference position of the oncoming moving body as a relative lane marker position (see at least Silva, [0080]; [0099];[0102]; [0114]); ... (1) ... ;
identify a pattern of temporal change across the time points (see at least Silva, [0034]; [0039]; [0042] ); ... (2) ... ; and ... (3) ... ; ... (2) ... (3) ... ; ... (4) ... ; ... (5) ... ; and ... (6) ...
calculate a total risk degree by summing the selected predefined scores (see at least Silva, [0103] );
determine, based on the total risk degree, whether the oncoming moving body is to be recognized as obstacle (see at least Silva, [0103]; [0104] ; [0107]),
and perform preliminary collision avoidance control in response to the oncoming moving body recognized as the obstacle prior to the emergency collision avoidance control (see at least Silva, [0107]). The difference between the claimed invention and Silva, is that Silva does not explicitly teach the following limitations taught in Fukui, a comparable device where it is known to have:
(1) a risk degree calculator configured to evaluate variations in the relative lane marker lateral position of the oncoming moving body over a series of discrete time points corresponding to a predetermined number of consecutive set cycles (see at least Fukui, [0062] ; [0072] disclosing a condition that the vehicle moves, approaching the own vehicle 100. In this connection, the predetermined moving condition may further include one or more of (i) a condition that the vehicle control apparatus 10 has determined for a second time T2 that there is an oncoming vehicle 200 moving and approaching the own vehicle 100, (ii) a condition that a distance Dx (see FIG. 4) in the direction DLN in which the own vehicle lane LN_1 extends between the own vehicle 100 and the oncoming vehicle 200, is equal to or shorter than a first distance D1, (iii) a condition that a distance Dy (see FIG. 4) between the white line LM_R (or the lane marking) between the oncoming lane LN_2 and the own vehicle lane LN_1 and the oncoming vehicle 200, is equal to or shorter than a second distance D2, and (iv) a condition that a moving speed V200 of the own vehicle 100 is equal to or higher than a predetermined moving speed V_th);
(2) determine, based on changes in the relative lane marker lateral position, a behavior of the oncoming moving body in each of a plurality of time intervals (see at least Fukui, [0072]; [0073]);
(3) each of the plurality of time intervals including a plurality of consecutive set cycles (see at least Fukui, [0062]);
(4) identify a behavior pattern of the oncoming moving body over the plurality of time intervals based on the determined behavior of the oncoming moving body (see at least Fukui, [0072] );
(5) select, based on the identified behavior pattern, a predefined score corresponding to each of the plurality of time intervals (see at least Fukui, [0075]) ... . But, the difference between the claimed invention and the combination of Silva and Fukui, is that neither Silva, nor Fukui explicitly teach the following limitation taught in Kawakita, a comparable device where it is known to have:
(6) calculate a total risk degree (see at least Kawakita, claim 8) ... .
Silva, Kawakita and Fukui are analogous art to claim 7 because they are in the same field of vehicle driving assist devices having a function of performing collision avoidance control in response to an obstacle. Silva relates to a vehicle safety system within an autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicle that predicts and avoid collisions between the vehicle and other moving objects in the environment (see Silva, Abstract). Kawakita relates to a path planning technique for planning a traveling path in a future route of a vehicle (see Kawakita, [0002]). Fukui relates to a vehicle control apparatus that executes steering control when there is an oncoming vehicle detected (see Fukui, Abstract, [0001], [0004]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle driving assist device, as disclosed in Silva, to provide the benefit of (1) having a risk degree calculator configured to evaluate variations in the relative lane marker lateral position of the oncoming moving body over a series of discrete time points corresponding to a predetermined number of consecutive set cycles, (2) determining, based on changes in the relative lane marker lateral position, a behavior of the oncoming moving body in each of a plurality of time intervals, (3) having each of the plurality of time intervals include a plurality of consecutive set cycles, (4) identifying a behavior pattern of the oncoming moving body over the plurality of time intervals based on the determined behavior of the oncoming moving body, as disclosed in Fukui, and (5) selecting, based on the identified behavior pattern, a predefined score corresponding to each of the plurality of time intervals, and (6) calculating a total risk degree, as disclosed in Kawakita, with a reasonable expectation of success. The results would have been predicable to one or ordinary skill.
As per claim 14, the combination of Silva, Kawakita and Fukui discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, as shown above. Fukui further discloses the following limitations:
wherein the oncoming lane is defined by a left lane marker and a right lane marker (see at least Fukui, [0053] the ECU 90 recognizes a left white line LM_L and a right white line LM_R which define a moving lane LN_1 of the own vehicle 100 (see FIG. 2A) or an end of a road (a road end) on which the own vehicle 100 moves, based on the camera information INF_C. The white lines LM_L and LM_R are lane markings which define the moving lane LN_1 of the own vehicle 100; [0054]),
the lateral position calculator is configured to: calculate, in each set cycle, a left relative lane marker lateral position indicating a distance from the left lane marker to the oncoming moving body (see at least Fukui, [0053]; [0062] disclosing that when the vehicle control apparatus 10 determines that there is an object OBJ in the own vehicle moving area AREA, the vehicle control apparatus 10 acquires a predicted reaching time TTC, based on the radar information INF_R and the vehicle speed V100. The predicted reaching time TIC is a time predicted to take for the own vehicle 100 to reach the object OBJ. The vehicle control apparatus 10 acquires the predicted reaching time TTC, based on (i) a distance between the own vehicle 100 and the object OBJ and (ii) the vehicle speed V100. While the vehicle control apparatus 10 determines that there is the object OBJ in the own vehicle moving area AREA, the vehicle control apparatus 10 acquires the predicted reaching time TIC with a predetermined calculation cycle CYC ) and
a right relative lane marker lateral position indicating a distance from the right lane marker to the oncoming moving body (see at least Fukui, [0054]; [0062]); and
determine a first behavior of the oncoming moving body in a first time interval of the plurality of time intervals based on first left relative lane marker lateral positions and first right relative lane marker lateral positions (see at least Fukui, [0072] disclosing that the predetermined moving condition may further include one or more of (i) a condition that the vehicle control apparatus 10 has determined for a second time T2 that there is an oncoming vehicle 200 moving and approaching the own vehicle 100, (ii) a condition that a distance Dx (see FIG. 4) in the direction DLN in which the own vehicle lane LN_1 extends between the own vehicle 100 and the oncoming vehicle 200, is equal to or shorter than a first distance D1, (iii) a condition that a distance Dy (see FIG. 4) between the white line LM_R (or the lane marking) between the oncoming lane LN_2 and the own vehicle lane LN_1 and the oncoming vehicle 200, is equal to or shorter than a second distance D2, and (iv) a condition that a moving speed V200 of the own vehicle 100 is equal to or higher than a predetermined moving speed V_th; [0078] disclosing that the predetermined moving condition may include a condition that the oncoming lane LN_2 in which the oncoming vehicle 200 moves, is on the right side of the own vehicle lane when a recommended route Rrec or a target route Rtgt described later is a route passing on the right side of the object OBJ, and the oncoming lane LN_2 in which the oncoming vehicle 200 moves, is on the left side of the own vehicle lane LN_1 when the recommended route Rrec or the target route Rtgt is a route passing on the left side of the object OBJ),
each first left relative lane marker lateral position indicating the calculated left relative lane marker lateral position in the first time interval (see at least Fukui, [0072]),
each first right relative lane marker lateral position indicating the calculated right relative lane marker lateral position in the first time interval (see at least Fukui, [0072]);
determine a second behavior of the oncoming moving body in a second time interval following the first time interval of the plurality of time intervals based on second left relative lane marker lateral positions and second right relative lane marker lateral positions (see at least Fukui, [0072]; [0078]),
each second left relative lane marker lateral position indicating the calculated left relative lane marker lateral position in the second time interval (see at least Fukui, [0072]),
each second right relative lane marker lateral position indicating the calculated right relative lane marker lateral position in the second time interval (see at least Fukui, [0072]; [0073] disclosing that second time T2 is set, for example, to a time minimally necessary to prevent the vehicle control apparatus 10 from mistakenly determining that there is an oncoming vehicle 200 satisfying the predetermined moving condition although actually there is no oncoming vehicle 200 satisfying the predetermined moving condition. In this embodiment, the second time T2 is set to a time shorter than the first time T1 ); and
identify the behavior pattern of the oncoming moving body based on the determined first behavior and the determined second behavior (see at least Fukui, [0072]; [0078] disclosing that the predetermined moving condition may include a condition that the oncoming lane LN_2 in which the oncoming vehicle 200 moves, is on the right side of the own vehicle lane when a recommended route Rrec or a target route Rtgt described later is a route passing on the right side of the object OBJ, and the oncoming lane LN_2 in which the oncoming vehicle 200 moves, is on the left side of the own vehicle lane LN_1 when the recommended route Rrec or the target route Rtgt is a route passing on the left side of the object OBJ).
As per claim 15, similar to claim 14, the combination of Silva, Kawakita and Fukui discloses all of the limitations of claim 7, as shown above. Fukui further discloses the following limitations:
wherein the oncoming lane is defined by a left lane marker and a right lane marker (see at least Fukui, [0053]; [0054]),
the one or more ECUs are configured to: calculate, in each set cycle, a left relative lane marker lateral position indicating a distance from the left lane marker to the oncoming moving body (see at least Fukui, [0053]; [0062] ) and
a right relative lane marker lateral position indicating a distance from the right lane marker to the oncoming moving body (see at least Fukui, [0054]; [0062]); and
determine a first behavior of the oncoming moving body in a first time interval of the plurality of time intervals based on first left relative lane marker lateral positions and first right relative lane marker lateral positions (see at least Fukui, [0072] ),
each first left relative lane marker lateral position indicating the calculated left relative lane marker lateral position in the first time interval ( see at least Fukui, [0072]),
each first right relative lane marker lateral position indicating the calculated right relative lane marker lateral position in the first time interval (see at least Fukui, [0072]);
determine a second behavior of the oncoming moving body in a second time interval following the first time interval of the plurality of time intervals based on second left relative lane marker lateral positions and second right relative lane marker lateral positions (see at least Fukui, [0072]; [0073]),
each second left relative lane marker lateral position indicating the calculated left relative lane marker lateral position in the second time interval (see at least Fukui, [0072]; [0073]),
each second right relative lane marker lateral position indicating the calculated right relative lane marker lateral position in the second time interval (see at least Fukui, [0072]; [0073]); and
identify the behavior pattern of the oncoming moving body based on the determined first behavior and the determined second behavior (see at least Fukui, [0072]; [0078].
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva, Kawakita and Fukui as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication Number 2019/0088136 to Nagata et al (hereafter Nagata).
As per claim 3, the combination Silva, Kawakita and Fukui teaches all of the limitations of claim 2, as shown above. But, neither Silva, Kawakita nor Fukui explicitly teaches the following limitation taught in Nagata a comparable device where it is known to:
wherein the risk degree calculator is configured to perform upper limit processing in which a preset value is set as an upper limit of the risk degree (see at least Nagata, [0075] disclosing that Fig. 4 is a diagram illustrating determination of a risk based on comparison between a risk-determination lateral position and a threshold range thereof. In FIG. 4, a risk-determination lateral position 61 and a threshold range 66 thereof along with a stopped vehicle 70 and a pedestrian 60 are illustrated. The threshold range of the risk-determination lateral position is expressed by an upper limit and a lower limit of an X coordinate in the stationary object coordinate system. The risk determining unit 14 compares the risk-determination lateral position 61 with the threshold range 66 thereof and sets a second flag when the risk-determination lateral position 61 enters the threshold range 66, that is, when the risk-determination lateral position 61 enters a range between the upper limit and the lower limit <interpreted as the upper and lower limits of the risk degree>; [0076] disclosing that Fig. 5 is a diagram illustrating determination of a risk based on comparison between a risk-determination lateral collision position and a threshold range thereof. In FIG. 5, a risk-determination lateral collision position 62 and a threshold range 67 thereof along with a stopped vehicle 70 and a pedestrian 60 are illustrated. The threshold range of the risk-determination lateral collision position is expressed by an upper limit and a lower limit of an X coordinate in the stationary object coordinate system; [0132]).
Silva, Kawakita, Fukui and Nagata are analogous art to claim 3 because they are in the same field of vehicle driving assist devices having a function of performing collision avoidance control in response to an obstacle. Silva relates to a vehicle safety system within an autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicle that predicts and avoid collisions between the vehicle and other moving objects in the environment (see Silva, Abstract). Kawakita relates to a path planning technique for planning a traveling path in a future route of a vehicle (see Kawakita, [0002]). Fukui relates to a vehicle control apparatus that executes steering control when there is an oncoming vehicle detected (see Fukui, Abstract, [0001], [0004]). Nagata relates to a vehicle control system that recognizes at least one object and determines a risk of the at least one object entering a course of the host vehicle (see at least Nagata, Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the vehicle driving assist device, as disclosed in Silva, as modified by Kawakita and Fukui, to provide the benefit of, performing upper limit processing in which a preset value is set as an upper limit of the risk degree, as taught in Nagata, with a reasonable expectation of success. The results would have been predicable to one or ordinary skill.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva, Kawakita and Fukui as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication Number 2015/0298692 to Minemura et al. (hereafter Minemura).
As per claim 4, the combination of Silva, Kawakita and Fukui teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as shown above. But, neither Silva, Kawakita nor Fukui explicitly teach the following limitation taught in Minemura a comparable device where it is known to:
wherein the preliminary collision avoidance controller is configured to vary a control level permitted for the preliminary collision avoidance control based on a relative distance and a relative velocity of the vehicle to the oncoming moving body in a front-rear direction (see at least Minemura, [0035] disclosing that based on the TTC that is estimated for a target object, the driving support apparatus 10 controls the controlled devices 30 to determine the respective TTC operation timings, at which various types of driving support will be commenced, for avoiding collision with the target object, i.e., the timings for actuating the vehicle brakes, intervening in the steering operations being performed by the vehicle driver, tensioning the seat belts, emitting warning signals directed to the driver, etc.; [0038] disclosing that each TTC operation timing (e.g., for commencement of braking intervention) is determined based on the relative speed and relative position of the target object with respect to the host vehicle, the type of object, the running environment of the host vehicle).
Silva, Kawakita, Fukui and Minemura are analogous art to claim 4 because they are in the same field of vehicle driving assist devices having a function of performing collision avoidance control in response to an obstacle. Silva relates to a vehicle safety system within an autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicle that predicts and avoid collisions between the vehicle and other moving objects in the environment (see Silva, Abstract). Kawakita relates to a path planning technique for planning a traveling path in a future route of a vehicle (see Kawakita, [0002]). Fukui relates to a vehicle control apparatus that executes steering control when there is an oncoming vehicle detected (see Fukui, Abstract, [0001], [0004]). Minemura relates to a driving support apparatus for installation in a motor vehicle, for assisting the vehicle driver in avoiding collision (see Minemura, [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the vehicle driving assist device, as disclosed in Silva, as modified by Kawakita and Fukui, to provide the benefit of varying a control level permitted for the preliminary collision avoidance control based on a relative distance and a relative velocity of the vehicle to the oncoming moving body in a front-rear direction, as taught in Minemura, with a reasonable expectation of success. The results would have been predicable to one or ordinary skill.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva, Kawakita, Fukui and Nagata as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Minemura.
As per claim 6, similar to claim 4, the combination of Silva, Kawakita, Fukui and Nagata discloses all of the limitations of claim 3, as shown above. But, neither Silva, Kawakita, Fukui nor Nagata explicitly teach the following limitation taught in Minemura a comparable device where it is known to:
wherein the preliminary collision avoidance controller is configured to vary a control level permitted for the preliminary collision avoidance control based on a relative distance and a relative velocity of the vehicle to the oncoming moving body in a front-rear direction (see at least see at least Minemura, [0035]; [0038]).
Silva, Kawakita, Fukui, Nagata and Minemura are analogous art to claim 6 because they are in the same field of vehicle driving assist devices having a function of performing collision avoidance control in response to an obstacle. Silva relates to a vehicle safety system within an autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicle that predicts and avoid collisions between the vehicle and other moving objects in the environment (see Silva, Abstract). Kawakita relates to a path planning technique for planning a traveling path in a future route of a vehicle (see Kawakita, [0002]). Fukui relates to a vehicle control apparatus that executes steering control when there is an oncoming vehicle detected (see Fukui, Abstract, [0001], [0004]). Nagata relates to a vehicle control system that recognizes at least one object and determines a risk of the at least one object entering a course of the host vehicle (see at least Nagata, Abstract). Minemura relates to a driving support apparatus for installation in a motor vehicle, for assisting the vehicle driver in avoiding collision (see Minemura, [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the vehicle driving assist device, as disclosed in Silva, as modified by Kawakita, Fukui and Nagata, to provide the benefit of varying a control level permitted for the preliminary collision avoidance control based on a relative distance and a relative velocity of the vehicle to the oncoming moving body in a front-rear direction, as disclosed in Minemura, with a reasonable expectation of success. The results would have been predicable to one or ordinary skill.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva, Kawakita and Fukui as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication Number 2018/0154892 to Tamura et al. (hereafter Tamura) and U.S. Patent Publication Number 20240174203 to Wang et al. (hereafter Wang).
As per claim 8, the combination of Silva, Kawakita and Fukui discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, as shown above. But, neither Silva, Kawakita nor Fukui, explicitly teach the following limitation taught in Tamura:
wherein behavior of the oncoming moving body includes: a first behavior in which the oncoming moving body moves, in a lane width direction, closer to the vehicle from a position of the oncoming moving body in a previous set cycle (see at least Tamura, [0047] disclosing that as shown in FIG. 5(b), if the oncoming vehicle M3 were to move away from the host vehicle M1 in a direction A4 <interpreted as a third behavior>, the risk of collision would be reduced. However if the oncoming vehicle M3 were to move closer to the host vehicle M1 in a direction A5, the risk of collision would be increased <interpreted as a first behavior> <first behavior based on this disclosure is simply no change in the oncoming vehicle relative to the host vehicle>; [0048]);
a second behavior in which the oncoming moving body maintains, in the lane width direction, the position of the oncoming moving body in the previous set cycle (see at least Tamura, [0047] <interpreting lack of movement of the oncoming vehicle as the second behavior>), and
a third behavior in which the oncoming moving body moves, in the lane width direction, away from the vehicle from the position of the oncoming moving body in the previous set cycle (see at least Tamura, [0047]), ... (1) ... ,
wherein, in each set cycle constituting each behavior pattern, the behavior of the oncoming moving body is classified as one of the first behavior, the second behavior, and the third behavior (see at least Tamura, [0047]), ... (2) ... ,
wherein the risk degree calculator is further configured to: determine the behavior of the oncoming moving body in each set cycle based on the variations in the relative lane marker lateral position over two consecutive set cycles (see at least Tamura, [0040] disclosing that In FIG. 3, the horizontal axis expresses values of TTC (Time to Collision), corresponding to the time that will elapse until the host vehicle collides with an object such as the preceding vehicle M2, etc., that is ahead of the host vehicle <interpreted as a cycle>. The TTC is an evaluation value, expressing the number of seconds that will elapse until the host vehicle collision, if the host vehicle speed Vs were to be maintained unchanged, and normally, the smaller the value of the TTC, the higher is the risk of collision (right side of FIG. 3), while the greater the value of the TTC, the lower is the risk of collision (left side of FIG. 3); [0041] disclosing that In FIG. 3, the horizontal axis expresses values of TTC (Time to Collision), corresponding to the time that will elapse until the host vehicle collides with an object such as the preceding vehicle M2, etc., that is ahead of the host vehicle. The TTC is an evaluation value, expressing the number of seconds that will elapse until the host vehicle collision, if the host vehicle speed Vs were to be maintained unchanged, and normally, the smaller the value of the TTC, the higher is the risk of collision (right side of FIG. 3), while the greater the value of the TTC, the lower is the risk of collision (left side of FIG. 3); [0047]; [0048]); and
determine, using the determined behavior of the oncoming moving body in each set cycle, the risk degree for the oncoming moving body over the predetermined number of consecutive set cycles based on the total value derived from the values assigned to the respective set cycles in the first information (see at least Tamura, [0029]; [0030]; [0040]; [0041]). But, neither Silva, Kawakita nor Tamura explicitly teach the following limitation taught in Wang:
(1) wherein the risk degree calculator has first information including: values representing risk levels assigned to the first behavior, the second behavior, and the third behavior; and behavior patterns obtained by classifying the behavior of the oncoming moving body over the predetermined number of consecutive set cycles (see at least Wang, [0035]; [0067] disclosing that in the automatic emergency braking device 12 according to the first embodiment, the execution timing change unit 15 changes the execution timing of the collision determination by changing a threshold for distinguishing whether or not the vehicle 1 enters the opposite lane. The setting unit 17 sets a first threshold as a threshold in the collision determination unit 13 when the prediction condition is not satisfied, and sets a second threshold that is easier to distinguish when the vehicle 1 enters the opposite lane than the first threshold as a threshold in the collision determination unit 13 when the prediction condition is satisfied. The collision determination unit 13 determines whether or not an entry condition indicating that the vehicle 1 enters the opposite lane is satisfied based on the threshold set by the setting unit 17. The collision determination unit 13 executes the collision determination when the entry condition is satisfied, and suspends execution of the collision determination when the entry condition is not satisfied <thresholds are interpreted as risk values>),
wherein each set cycle is assigned a value based on classified one of the first behavior, the second behavior, and the third behavior, wherein each behavior pattern is assigned a total value derived from the values assigned to the respective set cycles (see at least Wang, [0067]) ... .
Silva, Kawakita, Fukui, Tamura and Wang are analogous art to claim 8 because they are in the same field of vehicle driving assist devices having a function of performing collision avoidance control in response to an obstacle. Silva relates to a vehicle safety system within an autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicle that predicts and avoid collisions between the vehicle and other moving objects in the environment (see Silva, Abstract). Kawakita relates to a path planning technique for planning a traveling path in a future route of a vehicle (see Kawakita, [0002]). Fukui relates to a vehicle control apparatus that executes steering control when there is an oncoming vehicle detected (see Fukui, Abstract, [0001], [0004]). Tamura relates to a vehicle control apparatus and a vehicle control method which outputs warnings for preventing collisions between a host vehicle and an object (see at least Tamura, [0002]). Wang relates to an automatic emergency braking device that includes a collision determination unit 13 that executes collision determination for determining whether or not there is a possibility of collision between the vehicle and an oncoming vehicle (see at least Wang, Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle driving assist device, as disclosed in Silva, as modified by Kawakita and Fukui, to provide the benefit of, having the behavior of the oncoming moving body include a first behavior in which the oncoming moving body moves, in a lane width direction, closer to the vehicle from a position of the oncoming moving body in a previous set cycle, a second behavior in which the oncoming moving body maintains, in the lane width direction, the position of the oncoming moving body in the previous set cycle, a third behavior in which the oncoming moving body moves, in the lane width direction, away from the vehicle from the position of the oncoming moving body in the previous set cycle, where in each set cycle constituting each behavior pattern, the behavior of the oncoming moving body is classified as one of the first behavior, the second behavior, and the third behavior, determining the behavior of the oncoming moving body in each set cycle based on the variations in the relative lane marker lateral position over two consecutive set cycles, and determining, using the determined behavior of the oncoming moving body in each set cycle, the risk degree for the oncoming moving body over the predetermined number of consecutive set cycles based on the total value derived from the values assigned to the respective set cycles in the first information, as disclosed in Tamura, with a reasonable expectation of success, and having values representing risk levels assigned to the first behavior, the second behavior, and the third behavior, where the behavior patterns obtained by classifying the behavior of the oncoming moving body over the predetermined number of consecutive set cycles, and each set cycle be assigned a value based on classified one of the first behavior, the second behavior, and the third behavior, as taught in Wang, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the benefit of tailoring the timing of braking in the event of a collision based on the possibility of the collision occurring (see at least Wang, [0008]).
As per claim 9, the combination of Silva, Kawakita, Fukui, Tamura and Wang discloses all of the limitations of claim 8, as shown above. Tamura further discloses the following limitation:
wherein the risk degree calculator is configured to reduce the risk degree upon determining that the behavior of the oncoming moving body is identifiable as not moving toward the vehicle (see at least Tamura, [0047]).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva, Kawakita, Fukui, Tamura and Wang as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Minemura.
As per claim 10, the combination of Silva, Kawakita, Fukui, Tamura and Wang discloses all of the limitations of claim 8, as shown above. Wang further discloses the following limitations:
wherein the preliminary collision avoidance controller has second information setting information ... the setting information being defined for each different risk degree (see at least Wang, [0027] disclosing that the collision determination unit 13 executes entry determination to determine whether or not an entry condition indicating that the vehicle 1 enters the opposite lane is satisfied, on the basis of the acquired steering angle, yaw angle, or the like of the vehicle 1. When the entry condition is satisfied, the collision determination unit 13 executes the collision determination on the basis of the acquired estimated course of the vehicle 1, the relative distance to the oncoming vehicle, and the relative speed. Details of the collision determination will be described later with reference to FIG. 3; [0035]; [0036]; [0037] ... steering ... [0041]; [0040]; [0043]), and
wherein the preliminary collision avoidance controller is configured to perform the preliminary collision avoidance control based on the setting information corresponding to the determined risk degree (see at least Wang, [0068]; [0071] ). But, neither Silva, Kawakita, Fukui, Tamura nor Wang explicitly teach the following limitation taught in Minemura:
wherein the preliminary collision avoidance controller has second information including setting information for brake operation and steering operation for performing the preliminary collision avoidance control (see at least Minemura, [0079] disclosing that in setting a compensation amount of retardation of the TTC operation timing, it would be possible to set the compensation amount irrespective of the type of driving support (i.e., emission of warning indications, braking intervention, etc.) that is to be executed. Alternatively, the compensation amount could be in accordance with the type of driving support that is to be executed (i.e., when respectively different TTC operation timings are applied to the commencement of braking intervention, the commencement of steering intervention, etc.). In the latter case, it is preferable to set a larger value of compensation amount of TTC operation timing retardation for the emission of warning indications, than for the execution of braking intervention) ... .
Silva, Kawakita, Tamura, Wang and Minemura are analogous art to claim 10 because they are in the same field of vehicle driving assist devices having a function of performing collision avoidance control in response to an obstacle. Silva relates to a vehicle safety system within an autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicle that predicts and avoid collisions between the vehicle and other moving objects in the environment (see Silva, Abstract). Kawakita relates to a path planning technique for planning a traveling path in a future route of a vehicle (see Kawakita, [0002]). Fukui relates to a vehicle control apparatus that executes steering control when there is an oncoming vehicle detected (see Fukui, Abstract, [0001], [0004]). Tamura relates to a vehicle control apparatus and a vehicle control method which outputs warnings for preventing collisions between a host vehicle and an object (see at least Tamura, [0002]). Wang relates to an automatic emergency braking device that includes a collision determination unit 13 that executes collision determination for determining whether or not there is a possibility of collision between the vehicle and an oncoming vehicle (see at least Wang, Abstract). Minemura relates to a driving support apparatus for installation in a motor vehicle, for assisting the vehicle driver in avoiding collision (see Minemura, [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle driving assist device, as disclosed in Silva, as modified by Kawakita, and Fukui, and further modified by Tamura and Wang, to provide the benefit of, having the preliminary collision avoidance controller has second information including setting information for brake operation and steering operation for performing the preliminary collision avoidance control, as taught in Minemura, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the benefit of determining the appropriate time to commence driving support (see Minemura, [0009]).
As per claim 11, the combination of Silva, Kawakita, Fukui, Tamura, Wang and Minemura discloses all of the limitations of claim 10, as shown above. Tamura further discloses the following limitation:
wherein the preliminary collision avoidance controller is configured to: reduce the risk degree based on a relative distance and a relative velocity of the vehicle to the oncoming moving body (see at least Tamura, [0030]; [0032] disclosing that to the distance and relative speed of an object with respect to the advancement direction of the host vehicle, and lateral position information expressing the position of the object in the width direction of the host vehicle, the image object GT includes information on the lateral position of an object; [0076] disclosing that the vehicle control section 19 calculates the TTC (Time To Collision) based on the relative position and relative speed of a preceding vehicle, etc., with respect to the host vehicle. When the TTC corresponds to the output timing of the PRE collision warning that is set by the collision warning setting section 18, an operation command is outputted to the warning device 40; [0047]) ... . Minemura further discloses the following limitation:
perform the preliminary collision avoidance control based on based on the setting information corresponding to the reduced risk degree (see at least Minemura, [0035]; [0038] disclosing that driving support apparatus 10 is configured to apply compensation for retarding the TTC operation timing when the reliability of the detection results obtained for the target object from the camera apparatus 20 and the radar apparatus 22 for the target object, etc. is judged to be below a predetermined level. Furthermore with this embodiment, the driving support apparatus 10 compensates the TTC operation timing based on a lane marker line overlap ratio (described hereinafter) and motion status of the target object).
As per claim 12, the combination of Silva, Kawakita, Fukui, Tamura, Wang and Minemura discloses all of the limitations of claim 10, as shown above. Tamura further discloses the following limitations:
wherein the preliminary collision avoidance controller is configured to: increase the risk degree upon determining that the behavior of the oncoming moving body is identifiable as moving toward the vehicle (see at least Tamura, [0047]) ... . Minemura further discloses the following limitation:
perform the preliminary collision avoidance control based on based on the setting information corresponding to the increased risk degree (see at least Minemura, [0035]; [0038]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva, Kawakita, Fukui and Tamura.
As per claim 13, similar to claim 1, Silva discloses [a] vehicle driving assist device (see at least Silva, Abstract) comprising:
a traveling environment recognizer configured to recognize traveling environment information about a traveling environment outside a vehicle (see at least Silva, [0097]; [0098]);
an obstacle recognizer configured to recognize, based on the traveling environment information, an obstacle present on a traveling lane of a vehicle (see at least Silva, [0099]; [0100]; [0101]);
an emergency collision avoidance controller configured to, upon determination that the vehicle is highly likely to collide with the obstacle, perform emergency collision avoidance control for avoiding a collision of the vehicle with the obstacle (see at least Silva, [0107]);
an oncoming moving body recognizer configured to recognize, based on the traveling environment information, an oncoming moving body moving in an oncoming lane adjacent to the traveling lane of the vehicle and having a velocity component in a direction opposite to a traveling direction of the vehicle (see at least Silva, Fig. 1, Fig. 2A; [0033]),
wherein the traveling lane is separated from the oncoming lane by a lane marker (see at least Silva, Fig. 1, showing the traveling lane separated from the oncoming lane by the center line 114 <interpreted as a lane marker>; [0025]);
a lateral position calculator configured to calculate, at each set cycle, a distance from the lane marker defining the oncoming lane to a reference position of the oncoming moving body as a relative lane marker lateral position (see at least Silva, [0080]; [0099]; [0102]; [0114]); ... (1) ... ; ... (2) ... , ... (3) ... ; ... (4) ... ; ... (5) ... ; ... (6) ...
calculate a total risk degree by summing the respective risk degree intermediate values (see at least Silva, [0103] ); and
a preliminary collision avoidance controller configured to:
determine, based on the total risk degree, whether the oncoming moving body is to be recognized as the obstacle (see at least Silva, [0103]; [0104]; [0107]; and
perform preliminary collision avoidance control in response to determining that the oncoming moving body is to be recognized as the obstacle prior to the emergency collision avoidance control (see at least Silva, [0107]). The difference between the claimed invention and Silva, is that Silva does not explicitly teach the following limitations taught in Fukui, a comparable device where it is known to have:
(1) a risk degree calculator configured to: determine, based on changes in the relative lane marker lateral position, a behavior of the oncoming moving body in each of a plurality of time intervals (see at least Fukui, [0062]; [0072]; [0073]),
(2) each of the plurality of time intervals including a plurality of consecutive set cycles (see at least Fukui, [0062]), ... ;
(4) identify a behavior pattern of the oncoming moving body over the plurality of time intervals (see at least Fukui, [0072] ); and
(5) obtain, based on the identified behavior pattern, respective risk degree intermediate values for the plurality of time intervals (see at least Fukui, [0075]) ... . But, the difference between the claimed invention and the combination of Silva and Fukui, is that neither Silva, nor Fukui explicitly teach the following limitation taught in Tamura, a comparable device where it is known to have:
(3) the behavior being classified as one of a first behavior in which the oncoming moving body moves, in a lane width direction, closer to the vehicle (as cited in claim 8, see at least Tamura, [0047] disclosing that as shown in FIG. 5(b), if the oncoming vehicle M3 were to move away from the host vehicle M1 in a direction A4 <interpreted as a third behavior>, the risk of collision would be reduced. However if the oncoming vehicle M3 were to move closer to the host vehicle M1 in a direction A5, the risk of collision would be increased <interpreted as a first behavior> <first behavior based on this disclosure is simply no change in the oncoming vehicle relative to the host vehicle>; [0048]) ,
a second behavior in which the oncoming moving body maintains a position in the lane width direction (as cited in claim 8, see at least Tamura, [0047] <interpreting lack of movement of the oncoming vehicle as the second behavior>) , and
a third behavior in which the oncoming moving body moves, in the lane width direction, away from the vehicle (as cited in claim 8, see at least Tamura, [0047]) ... . But, the difference between the claimed invention and the combination of Silva, Fukui and Tamura, is that neither Silva, Fukui, nor Tamura explicitly teach the following limitation taught in Kawakita, a comparable device where it is known to have:
(6) calculate a total risk degree (see at least Kawakita, claim 8) ... .
Silva, Kawakita, Fukui and Tamura and Wang are analogous art to claim 13 because they are in the same field of vehicle driving assist devices having a function of performing collision avoidance control in response to an obstacle. Silva relates to a vehicle safety system within an autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicle that predicts and avoid collisions between the vehicle and other moving objects in the environment (see Silva, Abstract). Kawakita relates to a path planning technique for planning a traveling path in a future route of a vehicle (see Kawakita, [0002]). Fukui relates to a vehicle control apparatus that executes steering control when there is an oncoming vehicle detected (see Fukui, Abstract, [0001], [0004]). Tamura relates to a vehicle control apparatus and a vehicle control method which outputs warnings for preventing collisions between a host vehicle and an object (see at least Tamura, [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle driving assist device, as disclosed in Silva, to provide the benefit of (1) determining, based on changes in the relative lane marker lateral position, a behavior of the oncoming moving body in each of a plurality of time intervals, (2) having each of the plurality of time intervals including a plurality of consecutive set, (4) identify a behavior pattern of the oncoming moving body over the plurality of time intervals (see at least Fukui, [0072] ), and (5) obtaining, based on the identified behavior pattern, respective risk degree intermediate values for the plurality of time intervals, as disclosed in Fukui, (3) having the behavior classified as one of a first behavior in which the oncoming moving body moves, in a lane width direction, closer to the vehicle, a second behavior in which the oncoming moving body maintains a position in the lane width direction, and a third behavior in which the oncoming moving body moves, in the lane width direction, away from the vehicle, as disclosed in Tamura, and (6) calculating a total risk degree, as disclosed in Kawakita, with a reasonable expectation of success. The results would have been predicable to one or ordinary skill.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PATRICK M. BRADY III
Examiner
Art Unit 3665
/PATRICK M BRADY/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/Erin D Bishop/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665