Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
- Figure 3, step S2 states “suspend charing”.
- The unlabeled rectangular boxes shown in Figures 1 & 17 should be provided with descriptive text labels.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izumi (USPGPN 2013/0124029), in view of Li et al. (USPGPN 2015/0329003) and Ichilkawa (USPGPN 2010/0131217).
Regarding Claim 1, Izumi (Figs. 1, 4A, & 4B) teaches a battery control apparatus for an electric vehicle, the battery control apparatus comprising
a processor (100) configured to
control a charging and discharging device (200) of the electric vehicle (5; ¶0029: block diagram of a vehicle 5), the electric vehicle comprising a battery (10) configured to store electric power for traveling (¶0031: battery outputs high voltage for driving motor generators 41 and 42), a power transmitter (210) configured to perform electric power transmission (¶0038: connector 210 connects to an external power supply for charging the battery) between the power transmitter and charging equipment (400) provided outside the electric vehicle, and the charging and discharging device (200) configured to charge the battery via the power transmitter (¶0038: charger 200 converts power received from external power source 400 for charging the battery), and
cause the battery to discharge (S12) until a voltage of the battery reaches a discharge end voltage (S13: SOCs, calculated from closed circuit voltage; ¶0077) corresponding to a state of charge of 0% (¶0056: SOCs falls within a range lower than control lower limit α), and thereafter cause the battery to be charged (S16) until the voltage of the battery reaches a charge end voltage (S18: SOCe, calculated from CCV; ¶0080) corresponding to the state of charge of 100% (¶0056: SOCe falls within a range higher than control upper limit β).
Izumi fails to explicitly teach the charge and discharge controller configured to discharge the battery via the power transmitter, and the processor configured to
cause the battery to discharge to the charging equipment via the power transmitter, and
create a characteristic map representing a relation between the state of charge of the battery and the voltage of the battery.
However, Li teaches a vehicle charging system which discharges a vehicle battery (Fig.1, 114) to charging equipment (Fig.1, 126; ¶0043: 126 such as an electric utility grid) via a power transmitter (Fig.1, 124) (¶0051: processor can discharge the battery to an electrical grid to reduce a current SOC to a target SOC).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Izumi with Li to include causing the battery to discharge to the charging equipment via the power transmitter. Doing so allows for a conservation of energy by supplying discharged energy to the power grid, while also attempting to extend the battery life, as evidenced by Li (¶0003: reduce the effect of the parameters on battery life).
Moreover, Ichikawa teaches a vehicle system which creates a characteristic map representing a relation between the state of charge of the battery and the voltage of the battery (Fig.19, S68).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Li with Ichikawa to include the process of creating a characteristic map representing a relation between the state of charge of the battery and the voltage of the battery. Doing so allows for more accurate SOC estimation by renewing the OCV map according to present characteristics of the battery, as evidenced by Ichikawa (¶0146).
Izumi, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for the discharge end voltage corresponds to a SOC range of 0% to α and the charge end voltage corresponds to a SOC range of β to 100%, instead of 0% and 100%, respectively. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to select a discharge end voltage corresponding to a 0% SOC and a charge end voltage corresponding to a 100% SOC, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Doing so would allow for a refreshing of the battery to eliminate a degradation due to sulfation, and a determination of a full charge capacity utilizing the entire SOC range of the battery.
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izumi, in view of Li and Ichilkawa, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamamoto et al. (USPGPN 2013/0009764).
Regarding Claim 2, Izumi, as modified, further teaches wherein a practical state of charge (Fig.3, Control Range) and an actual state of charge (Fig.3, ΔSOC2) are each defined as the state of charge of the battery, the actual state of charge being configured to be used to measure a characteristic of the battery (¶0069: ΔSOC2 is used to determine the full charge capacity of the battery),
the processor is further configured to employ the actual state of charge as the state of charge to be used to create the characteristic map (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1, OCV characteristic map would be created using the total state of charge range ΔSOC2, 0%-100%), and
a voltage of the battery at the actual state of charge of 100% is greater than a voltage of the battery at the practical state of charge of 100% (Fig.3, 100% SOC is greater than β).
Izumi fails to explicitly teach the practical state of charge being configured to be displayed to an occupant of the electric vehicle.
However, Yamamoto teaches a display for a vehicle which displays a practical state of charge (Fig.6, 210: SOC display is limited to the range LL-FULL, instead of displaying 0%-100%) to an occupant (¶0008: notifying a user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Izumi, in view of Li and Ichikawa, with Yamamoto to include displaying the practical state of charge to an occupant of the electric vehicle. Doing so allows a user to see the state of charge of the battery to determine a performance of the electric vehicle, as evidenced by Yamamoto (¶0006).
Regarding Claim 3, Izumi, as modified, further teaches wherein a voltage of the battery at the actual state of charge of 0% is less than a voltage of the battery at the practical state of charge of 0% (ΔSOC2 lower limit is 0% SOC while Control Range minimum is α).
Regarding Claims 4 & 5, Izumi, as modified, further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to cause the battery to be charged until the voltage of the battery reaches the voltage at the actual state of charge of 100% (Fig.4B, S16 -> S18: battery is charged until SOC reaches the upper limit of the ΔSOC2 range), and thereafter cause the battery to discharge to the charging equipment until the voltage of the battery reaches the voltage at the practical state of charge of 100% (Fig.4B, S22 & S23: battery is discharged to Control Range upper limit β).
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izumi, in view of Li, Ichilkawa, and Yamamoto, as applied to claims 2-5 above, and further in view of Shekher (US Patent 9,387,771 – Published 2016).
Regarding Claims 6-9, Izumi, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to prevent the power transmitter from decoupling from the charging equipment in a case where the voltage of the battery is greater than the voltage of the battery at the practical state of charge of 100% or in a case where the voltage of the battery is less than a voltage of the battery at the practical state of charge of 0%.
However, Shekher teaches a system for preventing a power transmitter from decoupling from charging equipment in a case where the voltage of the battery is less than a threshold value (Fig.2, 240 & 250: electrical socket remains locked until the battery charge level satisfies a threshold value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Izumi, in view of Li, Ichikawa, and Yamamoto, with Shekher to include a condition for preventing a power transmitter from decoupling from the charging equipment in a case where the voltage of the battery is less than a voltage of battery at the practical state of charge of 0%. Doing so allows for a prevention of non-authorized unplugging of a charging cord, as evidenced by Shekher (Col.1, Lines 39-42).
Conclusion
/JOHN P ONDRASIK/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859