DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 and 16-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 02/04/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AN (US 20200204051) in view of SHIMOZU (US 20160156240).
Regarding claim 1, AN discloses an alignment system for a stator core (11), the alignment system comprising:
a hollow core shaft (15) defining a central axis of the stator core (11);
an end plate (21) defining a central opening configured to receive the hollow core shaft (15); and
an alignment tool (60) comprising:
a central shaft (61) having an outer diameter smaller than an inner diameter of the hollow core shaft (15) such that a distal end (62) of the central shaft (61) is configured to be received in the hollow core shaft (15) and slide axially therein (see Fig. 5 and para [0058]); and
an outer body (63) including a base portion (76), a support portion (73), and a push portion (72), the base portion (76) being coupled to a proximal end of the central shaft (61), the support portion (73) being spaced apart from the central shaft (61) and connecting the base portion (76) to the push portion (72), the push portion (72) being disposed about the central shaft (61) and having a lower surface configured to contact the end plate (21) when the hollow core shaft (15) is received in the central opening of the end plate (21) and the central shaft (61) is disposed within the hollow core shaft (15) (see Fig. 5 and 7);
wherein when the central shaft (61) of the alignment tool (60) is disposed in the hollow core shaft (15) of the stator core (11), the lower surface of the push portion (72) defines a plane to which the central axis of the stator core (11) is normal (see Fig. 7), and
wherein the lower surface is configured to align the end plate (21) with the plane such that axially sliding the central shaft (61) into the hollow core shaft (15) pushes the end plate (21) axially along the hollow core shaft (15) (see Fig. 7).
However, AN does not disclose the support portion spaces the push portion from the base portion by a distance greater than an axial length of the hollow core shaft.
SHIMOZU discloses a stator alignment jig with a support portion 53 that spaces a push portion 54 from a base portion 55 by a distance greater than an axial length of the hollow core shaft (Fig. 10E)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the system of AN with the support portion spaces the push portion from the base portion by a distance greater than an axial length of the hollow core shaft, similar to SHIMOZU.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to enable the push part to be removed from the distal end of the stator during assembly as taught by SHIMOZU, (para [0058]).
Regarding claim 2, AN in view of SHIMOZU teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein AN teaches the alignment tool further comprises a leg (unlabeled; see annotated Fig. 5, below) extending radially outward from the lower surface of the push portion (72), the leg configured to contact the end plate (21).
Fig. 5 (annotated)
Regarding claim 3, AN in view of SHIMOZU teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein AN teaches the alignment tool further comprises a fastener (77) joining the proximal end of the central shaft (61) to the base portion (76).
Regarding claim 4, AN in view of SHIMOZU teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein AN teaches a diameter of the central opening of the end plate (21) is within 0.040 millimeters of an outer diameter of the hollow core shaft (15) (the inner diameter of 21 at 21b “come into contact” with the outer diameter of 15; see para [0063] and Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 5, AN in view of SHIMOZU teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein AN teaches the support portion (73) defines an opening (74) extending axially along the support portion (73) and radially through the support portion (73) (see Figs 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 6, AN in view of SHIMOZU teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein AN teaches the hollow core shaft (15) includes a distal surface (34), and the lower surface of the alignment tool is configured to move the end plate (21) along the hollow core shaft (15) onto the distal surface (34) while the central shaft (61) slides axially into the hollow core shaft (15).
Regarding claim 7, AN in view of SHIMOZU teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein AN teaches the end plate (21) includes an inner wall (21a) that defines the central opening, and the lower surface is configured to align the inner wall (21a) parallel to the central axis of the stator core (11) when the central shaft (61) is disposed within the hollow core shaft (15).
Regarding claim 8, AN in view of SHIMOZU teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein AN teaches the lower surface is an annular shape concentric with the central shaft (61) the lower surface having an inner diameter that is greater than an outer diameter of the hollow core shaft (15) and less than an outer diameter of the end plate (21) (see annotated Fig. 5, below, Fig. 6, and Fig. 7).
Fig. 5 (annotated)
Regarding claim 16, AN discloses an alignment tool (60) for positioning an end plate (21) on a core shaft of a stator core (11), the tool comprising:
a central shaft (61) disposed about a central axis, the central shaft (61) having a proximal end and extending in an axial direction therefrom to a free distal end (62); and
an outer body (63) including a base portion (76), a support portion (73) and a push portion (72), the base portion (76) being coupled to the proximal end of the central shaft (61), the support portion (73) being spaced apart from the central shaft (61) and extending from the base portion (76) in the axial direction to the push portion (72), the push portion (72) arranged around the central shaft (61) and having a lower surface defining a plane to which the central axis is normal (see Figs. 5 and 7).
However, AN does not disclose the support portion spaces the push portion from the base portion by a distance greater than an axial length of the hollow core shaft.
SHIMOZU discloses a stator alignment jig with a support portion 53 that spaces a push portion 54 from a base portion 55 by a distance greater than an axial length of the hollow core shaft (Fig. 10E).
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to enable the push part to be removed from the distal end of the stator during assembly as taught by SHIMOZU, (para [0058]).
Regarding claim 17, AN in view of SHIMOZU teaches the tool of Claim 16, wherein AN teaches the support portion (73) is a cylindrical shape disposed about the central axis and defines an annular space between the support portion (73) and the central shaft (61), wherein the support portion (73) defines a plurality of openings (74) extending radially through the support portion (73) (see Figs. 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 18, AN in view of SHIMOZU teaches the tool of claim 16, wherein AN teaches the proximal end of the central shaft (61) includes an upper plate (unlabeled; see annotated Fig. 5, below), and the tool further comprises a fastener (77) joining the upper plate of the central shaft (61) to the base portion (76) of the outer body (63).
Fig. 5 (annotated)
Regarding claim 19, AN in view of SHIMOZU teaches the tool of Claim 16, wherein AN teaches the central shaft (61) defines a plurality of openings (74) extending axially along the central shaft (61).
Regarding claim 20, AN in view of SHIMOZU teaches the tool of Claim 16, wherein AN teaches the lower surface is an annular surface disposed concentrically about the central shaft (61) (see annotated Fig. 5, below, Fig. 6, and Fig. 7).
Fig. 5 (annotated)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-4831715-A Witwer; US-5185547-A Carbonell; US-20160197539-A1 Agapiou; and US-20180375408-A1 DREIER disclose alignment tools for stator construction with push portions that are spaced apart at a length greater than a hollow shaft.
/JUSTIN STEFANON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834