Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Applicant points to fig. 6B for support for the claimed invention (pp. 6, remarks). However, fig. 6B does not teach “a minimum distance between adjacent ones of the green LED chips is smaller than a minimum distance between adjacent ones of the non-green LED chips along a direction” (claim 21) nor “a minimum distance between adjacent ones of the green LED chips is less than or equal to half of a minimum distance between adjacent ones of non-green LED chips, and the minimum distance between adjacent ones of the green LED chips is greater than or equal to one-quarter of the minimum distance between adjacent ones of non-green LED chips” (claim 22).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 30 recites “the four second LED chips are aligned with the four third LED chips along a direction.” It seems impossible to align all eight chips in a single direction when claim 1 requires the eight chips to be at the corners of two different rectangles.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-14,23,26,27,29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ock et al (PG Pub 2021/0241680 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Ock teaches (two of the three rectangles whose corners are marked with x’s and circles, see fig. 4A below) an inorganic light-emitting diode (LED) display, comprising: a first sub-unit, comprising four first LED chips arranged to form a first rectangle, wherein the four first LED chips locate at four corners of the first rectangle; a second sub-unit, comprising four second LED chips other than the four first LED chips, arranged to form a second rectangle, wherein the four second LED chips locate at four corners of the second rectangle; a third sub-unit, comprising four third LED chips other than the four first LED chips and the four second LED chips, arranged to form a third rectangle, wherein the four third LED chips locate at four corners of the third rectangle; wherein the first rectangle, the second rectangle, and the third rectangle are overlapped with each other to form an overlapping area (shaded), wherein the first sub-unit, the second sub-unit and the third sub-unit collectively comprise a plurality of green LED chips and a plurality of non-green LED chips, the plurality of green LED chips (eight G’s) is greater than the plurality of non-green LED chips (two B’s and two R’s) in quantity, and wherein, the overlapping area merely comprises LED chips selected from the four first LED chips, the four second LED chips and the four third LED chips.
Regarding claim 12, Ock teaches the inorganic LED display of claim 11, wherein one (marked with an x, fig. 4A above) of the four first LED chips is located between adjacent two (marked with circles) of the four second LED chips in a horizontal along a direction, and one of the four third LED chips is located between adjacent two of the four second LED chips in a vertical direction.
Regarding claim 13, Ock teaches the inorganic LED display of claim 11, wherein the four first LED chips and the four third LED chips are green LED chips (marked with circles and x’s, respectively, fig. 4A above).
Regarding claim 14, Ock teaches the inorganic LED display of claim 11, wherein the four second LED chips (B’s and R’s, fig. 4A above) are non-green LED chips.
Regarding claim 23, Ock teaches the inorganic LED display of claim 11, wherein the first sub-unit, the second sub-unit, and the third sub-unit constitute a minimal repeating unit (fig. 4A). It appears that the minimal repeating unit is a single chip (102g, 102b,102r in fig. 6B of Applicant’s drawing) not plural chips that are claimed. Thus, in view of Applicant’s disclosure “a minimal repeating unit” seems to be arbitrarily defined by Applicant. Thus, the BRI, in view of Applicant’s disclosure, of Ock reads on the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 26, Ock teaches the inorganic LED display of claim 11, wherein the non-green LED chips comprise a plurality of red LED chips and a plurality of blue LED chips (fig. 4A above).
Regarding claim 27, Ock teaches the inorganic LED display of claim 26, wherein the red LED chips are greater than or equal to the blue LED chips in quantity (fig. 4A above).
Regarding claim 29, Ock teaches the inorganic LED display of claim 11, wherein one (marked with an x, fig. 4A above) of the four third LED chips is located between adjacent two (marked with circles) of the four second LED chips along a direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ock et al (PG Pub 2021/0241680 A1) as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Bower et al (PG Pub 2016/0064363 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Ock remains as applied in claim 23.
Ock does not teach an aperture ratio of each of the minimal repeating units is smaller than 30%.
In the same field of endeavor, Bower teaches a display with an aperture ratio of less than 30% to allow incorporation of other functional elements such as different sensors and solar cells (paragraph [0171]).
It would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make an aperture ratio of each of the minimal repeating units is smaller than 30% for the benefit of integrating other functional elements to increase the overall functionality of the display.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ock et al (PG Pub 2021/0241680 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Long et al (PG Pub 2023/0352334 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Ock remains as applied in claim 11.
Ock does not teach the green LED chips, the red LED chips, and the blue LED chips in each of the minimal repeating units have substantially the same size.
In the same field of endeavor, Long teaches green, red, and blue LED chips to be the same size (paragraph [0079]), by using microLEDs, which provide benefits such as high efficiency, high brightness, and energy saving (paragraph [0003]).
It would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the green LED chips, the red LED chips, and the blue LED chips in each of the minimal repeating units to have substantially the same size by using microLEDs, for the benefits of achieving high efficiency, high brightness, and energy saving.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ock et al (PG Pub 2021/0241680 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Mao et al (PG Pub 2017/0263828 A1).
Regarding claim 28, Ock remains as applied in claim 11.
Ock does not teach each of the chips comprises a pair of electrodes disposed on a side opposite to a light-emitting side of each of the LED chips.
In the same field of endeavor, Mao teaches each of the chips comprises a pair of electrodes (217, fig. 10A) disposed on a side opposite to a light-emitting side of each of the LED chips, for the known benefits of providing bias to the LED chips and preventing the electrodes from blocking and/or absorbing the light from the LED chips.
It would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make each of the first LED chips, the second LED chips, and the third LED chips to comprise a pair of electrodes disposed on a side opposite to a light-emitting side of each of the LED chips, for the known benefits of providing bias to the LED chips and preventing the electrodes from blocking and/or absorbing the light from the LED chips.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on December 12, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because previously cited Ock still teaches the amended features. See rejection above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Prior art does not teach
“the overlapping area comprises one of the four first LED chips, one of the four second LED chips and one of the four third LED chips” (claim 15).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FEIFEI YEUNG LOPEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899