DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The phrase “associated the first object” at the end of claim 14 is grammatically incorrect. The grammatical error could be fixed by changing it to read “associated with the first object”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US20200089971 (hereinafter Li).
Regarding Claim 12, Li teaches a computer-implemented method for performing online calibration of misalignment of vehicle sensors, comprising:
filtering a segmented light detection and ranging (LIDAR) point cloud captured by a LIDAR sensor to generate a filtered point cloud ([0029] describes filtering the point cloud data to include only a static object);
identifying a contour corresponding to a silhouette of a first object in a camera image captured by a camera ([0030] describes performing feature extraction on an identified edge of a static object), wherein the LIDAR sensor and the camera are mounted on a vehicle, and the point cloud and the camera image are captured while the vehicle is operating normally ([0016] describes how during travel of a vehicle, the vehicle's sensors can include camera and lidar sensors used to detect surrounding objects);
determining a distance between points of the filtered point cloud and the contour, wherein the distance corresponds to a misalignment error between the LIDAR sensor and the camera ([0034] describes determining a translation vector between LIDAR and camera data to achieve alignment); and
performing correction based on the misalignment error ([0034] describes performing an alignment operation).
Regarding Claim 13, Li teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 12, wherein the segmented LIDAR point cloud is clustered, and clusters of points in the segmented LIDAR point cloud correspond to certain objects ([0021] describes classifying objects in the point cloud to types including cars, houses, trees and utility poles).
Regarding Claim 14, Li teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 12, wherein filtering the segmented LIDAR point cloud comprises: removing points which are not associated the first object ([0004] describes filtering the point cloud data for static objects. Since the first object is a static object, removal of points associated with moving objects would not be associated with the first object).
Regarding Claim 15, Li teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 12, wherein the filtered point cloud has points corresponding to a silhouette of the first object ([0030] describes performing feature extraction on an identified edge of LIDAR data associated with a static object. An edge of a static object is considered to be part of its silhouette).
Regarding Claim 18, Li teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 12, wherein performing the correction comprises: performing a post-processing procedure which transforms, one or more of: (1) point clouds from the LIDAR sensor and (2) camera images from the camera, based on the misalignment error ([0034] describes determining a translation vector between the camera and the lidar and performing an alignment operation).
Regarding Claim 19, Li teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 12, wherein identifying the contour comprises: performing object classification or image segmentation to identify the first object in the camera image ([0019] of Li describes classification of objects in the point cloud using the image acquired by the camera and deep learning & [0031] of Li describes how the contour is recognized based on the image recognition technology).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Non-Patent Literature “Automatic Online Calibration of Cameras and Lasers” (hereinafter Levinson).
Regarding Claim 1, Li teaches a computer-implemented method for monitoring and addressing misalignment of vehicle sensors, comprising:
receiving a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) point cloud captured by a LIDAR sensor, and a camera image captured by a camera, wherein the LIDAR sensor and the camera are mounted on a vehicle, and the LIDAR point cloud and the camera image are captured while the vehicle is operating on a road ([0016] describes how during travel of a vehicle, the vehicle's sensors can include camera and lidar sensors used to detect surrounding objects);
performing online calibration based on the LIDAR point cloud and the camera image to determine a misalignment error between the LIDAR sensor and the camera ([0025] describes how sensor calibration is implemented based on camera and lidar data, [0034] describes determining a translation vector between the camera and the lidar and performing an alignment operation);
Li fails to teach in response to the misalignment error meeting a first threshold raising a diagnostic error; and in response to the misalignment error failing to meet the first threshold, performing misalignment correction based on the misalignment error.
However, Levinson teaches:
in response to the misalignment error meeting a first threshold raising a diagnostic error (on page 5, the final paragraph of Section III describes alerting a command center if the calibration falls below a threshold); and
in response to the misalignment error failing to meet the first threshold, performing misalignment correction based on the misalignment error (on page 5, the final paragraph of Section III describes pausing to perform offline calibration before resuming).
Li and Levinson are both directed to online calibration systems for alignment of LIDAR and camera sensors associated with mobile autonomous platforms and are therefore analogous art. It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to improve the teachings of Li with the failure mode responses taught by Levinson in order to avoid prolonged operation in a degraded sensing state. Levinson teaches three different responses to cases of severe misalignment that vary in severity from reporting to complete cessation of activity.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Li and Levinson teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the LIDAR point cloud is segmented by an object classification process (0019] of Li describes classification of objects in the point cloud using the image acquired by the camera and deep learning).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Li and Levinson teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein performing online calibration comprises: filtering the LIDAR point cloud to remove points which are not associated with vehicles ([0021] describes how static objects include cars, meaning that the system would filter out many non-car returns).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Li and Levinson teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein performing online calibration comprises: filtering the LIDAR point cloud to keep points which are associated with edges ([0030] describes performing analysis on edge portions of the detected objects).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Li and Levinson teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein performing online calibration comprises: filtering the LIDAR point cloud to remove points which are associated with moving objects ([0029] describes recognizing a static object from the surrounding objects from the point cloud).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Li and Levinson teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein performing online calibration comprises: filtering the LIDAR point cloud to remove points which are beyond a threshold depth (on page 3 in the Laser Processing section, Levinson describes how depth discontinuities of greater than 30cm are used to identify edges of objects in a point cloud and filter all other points out. Consequently, any LIDAR points adjacent to but not on the edge of a detected object would be more than a threshold 30 cm behind the detected object and filtered out).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Li and Levinson teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to the diagnostic error being raised, causing the vehicle to enter a first degraded state, and to perform a safe stop maneuver (Page 5, final paragraph of Section III of Levinson describes suspending operation when sensor calibration falls below a threshold).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Li and Levinson teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to the diagnostic error being raised, causing the vehicle to perform a safe stop maneuver and to perform offline calibration for misalignment between the LIDAR sensor and the camera (Page 5, final paragraph of Section III of Levinson describes pausing to perform offline calibration before resuming).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Li and Levinson teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the LIDAR point cloud and the camera image are captured at substantially the same time ([0025] of Li describes simultaneous acquisition of data by the camera and the LIDAR).
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Levinson as applied to claim 1 and further in view of CN 117368943 (hereinafter Yan).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Li and Levinson teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, however, the combination fails to teach wherein performing online calibration comprises: filtering the LIDAR point cloud to remove points which are associated with vegetation.
Yan teaches filtering the LIDAR point cloud to remove points which are associated with vegetation (at page 6 lines 16-19 Yan describes performing point cloud registration… to remove noise objects, where the noise objects include vegetation).
Yan, Li and Levinson all describe the manipulation of point cloud data collected by a LIDAR device and are therefore analogous art. Yan teaches that vegetation can introduce noise into a point cloud and suggests removal of vegetation from a point cloud and then at page 6 lines 43-47 goes on to state how removal of data points ensures the quality and consistency of the point cloud data. Consequently, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to improve the invention of Li and Levinson by removing vegetation detections in order to obtain a higher quality LIDAR point cloud.
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to the misalignment error meeting a second threshold greater than the first threshold, causing the vehicle to enter a second degraded state and to navigate to a maintenance facility.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Levinson as applied to claim 1 and further in view of US 20230152431 (hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Li and Levinson teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, but fail to teach further comprising in response to the misalignment error meeting a second threshold greater than the first threshold, causing the vehicle to enter a second degraded state and to navigate to a maintenance facility.
However, Zhang teaches further comprising in response to the misalignment error meeting a second threshold greater than the first threshold, causing the vehicle to enter a second degraded state and to navigate to a maintenance facility ([0109] of Zhang describes navigating the vehicle to a maintenance facility to address hardware issues with sensors of an autonomous vehicle).
Zhang and Levinson both describe ways of managing degradation of sensors enabling self-driving operation of an autonomous platform. As described above in the rejection of Claim 1, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add responses to a degraded state taught by Levinson to the teachings of Li. That same person having ordinary skill in the art would also have found it obvious to further improve the combination of Li and Levinson by adding the additional response to sensor degradation taught by Zhang in order to give the autonomous vehicle additional ways to deal with sensor degradation problems.
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of US20240095960 (hereinafter Qian).
Regarding Claim 16, Li teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 12, wherein determining the distance comprises:
matching points in filtered point cloud to points in the contour ([0035] describes rotating the 3d point cloud to correspond to the image plane of the camera-derived imagery);
forming residual vectors measuring distances between the points in filtered point cloud to the points in the contour; and summing magnitudes of the residual vectors ([0035]describes an iterative process performed between coordinates on the camera-derived imagery and the point cloud),
wherein the summed magnitudes corresponds to the misalignment error ([0035] describes translation vectors and rotation matrices derived from the iterative process corresponding to the misalignment error). Li does not teach applying a random sample consensus algorithm to match points in the filtered point cloud with the contour.
However, Qian teaches applying a random sample consensus algorithm to match points in the filtered point cloud with the contour ([0052] describes the use of a RANSAC framework to match detected objects (lane blocks) from the camera in successive frames, which is part of the process for calibrating a LIDAR 112A with a camera 110A, as described in [0036])
Li and Qian are both directed to calibration of LIDAR and camera sensors during operation of an autonomous vehicle and are therefore analogous art. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known RANSAC framework described in Qian to improve the matching techniques of Li would have yielded predictable results. In particular, doing so would improve the point to point correlation taught by Li, thereby helping to disregard erroneous or outlying data points during the correlation.
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of US20210270948 (hereinafter Villalobos-Martinez).
Regarding Claim 17, Li teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 12, wherein performing the correction comprises: performing a physical adjustment of the LIDAR sensor and the camera which reduces the misalignment error.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Yan and further in view of US 20180284279 (hereinafter Campbell).
Regarding Claim 20, Li teaches a vehicle, comprising:
one or more light detection and ranging (LIDAR) sensors;
one or more cameras ([0016] describes the first embodiment in which a vehicle has multiple sensors including a camera and a LIDAR);
one or more processors (processors 416, FIG. 4 and [0048] describe a computer device with one or more processors 416 usable with the first embodiment); and
one or more storage devices (storage device 428) to store point clouds generated by the one or more LIDAR sensor, camera images generated by the one or more cameras, and instructions, which when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform misalignment calibration ([0054] describe a program being stored in storage device 428 for implementing a sensor calibration method describe in embodiment 1) comprising:
generating a filtered point cloud from a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) point cloud captured by the one or more LIDAR sensors ([0020]-[0021] describe filtering the point cloud collected by the LIDAR sensor for static objects), wherein generating comprises maintaining points corresponding to edges, and removing points corresponding to moving objects, ([0020]-[0021] describe filtering the point cloud collected by the LIDAR sensor for static objects)
identifying a contour corresponding to a silhouette of a first object in a camera image captured by the one or more cameras ([0032] describes identifying a contour of the static object (analogous to the first object) based object recognition), wherein the LIDAR point cloud and the camera image are aligned in time (;
determining a misalignment error between points of the filtered point cloud and the contour ([0030] describes performing feature extraction on an identified edge of a static object & [0034] describes determining a translation vector and rotation matrix characterizing the misalignment between the camera and LIDAR sensor readings corresponding to the static object); and
performing correction based on the misalignment error ([0034]-[0035] also describes performing an alignment operation to correct the misalignment).
Li fails to teach: (1) wherein generating comprises removing points corresponding to vegetation, and (2) wherein generating comprises removing points corresponding to distant objects.
However, Yan teaches wherein generating comprises removing points corresponding to vegetation (Page 6 lines 16-19 of Yan describes performing point cloud registration… to remove noise objects on the target slope that do not belong to the target slope, where the noise objects include vegetation) and
Yan and Li both describe the manipulation of point cloud data collected by a LIDAR device and are therefore analogous art. Yan teaches that vegetation can introduce noise into a point cloud and suggests removal of vegetation from a point cloud and then at page 6 lines 43-47, Yan goes on to state how removal of data points ensures the quality and consistency of the point cloud data. Consequently, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to improve the invention of Li by removing vegetation detections, as taught by Li, in order to obtain a higher quality / less noisy LIDAR point cloud.
Li as modified by Yan still does not teach wherein generating comprises removing points corresponding to distant objects.
However, Campbell teaches wherein generating comprising removing points corresponding to distant objects ([0093] describes using range-gating to filter out any point cloud data arriving outside a distance of 50 – 100m from the LIDAR system, [0042] identifies exemplary max ranges beyond which a LIDAR system does not operate).
Campbell and Li as modified by Yan both pertain to the detection of objects using LIDAR devices. Campbell at [0093] teaches that range-gating can be used with LIDAR devices to limit the collection or point cloud data past a particular range from the LIDAR device. Doing so prevents weak returns and other ambient noise sources from adversely affecting the collection of point cloud data (Campbell at [0034] describes problems caused by background noise). Consequently, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to improve the invention of Li as modified by Yan by removing distant detections using range-gating techniques in order to obtain a higher quality / cleaner LIDAR point cloud data.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN DAVID WIGGER/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645