Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van Wyk (US 20210252388).
In claims 6 and 1, Van Wyk discloses
An information handling system configured to execute a software application, the information handling system including one or more processors, (paragraph 62) wherein at least one of the processors is in electrical communication with an electronic display and (paragraph 62, figure 1 #126)
A controller comprising:
A body (paragraph 56, figure 1 #102)
A plurality of buttons coupled to the body and (figure 1 #120(1-4))
A directional pad coupled to the body and comprising (figure 8A-8C, paragraph 68, this is described as a “D-pad”, the D stands for “directional”)
An upper surface (figure 8A #810 paragraph 68 “top cover”)
A touch sensor that is configured to measure a position at which an electrically conductive object touches the upper surface on the directional pad (Figure 8A #808 “touch sensor”, it is noted by examiner that “an electrically conductive object” may be a user’s finger, as described in instant application paragraph 4)
A force sensor that is configured to measure a force exerted on the upper surface of the directional pad (figure 8B 8C paragraph 68 “FSRs for determining an amount of force associated with the presses or touches received” #806)
Wherein the controller is configured to send a signal to the information handling system that indicates: The position at which the electrically conductive object touches the upper surface of the directional pad and (paragraph 57)
The force exerted on the upper surface of the directional pad and (paragraph 61)
The information handling system is configured to cause one or more touch based actions in the software application based on the position at which the electrically conductive object touches the upper surface of the directional pad and (paragraph 72, 126, 127, the actions are for example, cursor movement)
One or more force based actions in the software application based on the force that is exerted on the upper surface of the directional pad wherein the force based actions are different than the touch based actions (paragraph 72, 38, the force based actions may be, for example, crushing a rock)
In claims 2 and 9, Van Wyk discloses a piezoelectric force sensor (paragraph 62)
In claims 3 and 10, Van Wyk discloses a capacitive touch sensor (paragraph 61)
In claims 4 and 11, Van Wyk discloses the upper surface of the directional pad has a circular platform (figure 8A #810)
In claim 5, Van Wyk discloses a linear resonant actuator that is configured to vibrate the upper surface of the directional pad in a direction hat is substantially parallel with a vertical axis that extends through the upper surface of the directional pad (paragraph 62)
In claim 7, Van Wyk discloses a first force based action that is caused when a first force is exerted on the upper surface of the directional pad and a second force based action that is different from the first force based action and is caused when a second force that is less than the first force is exerted on the upper surface of the directional pad (paragraph 72 the touch, selection, and or force data are interpreted together and associated with predefined commands, this would mean that the amount of force applied would apply to different predefined commands, including one that is less than the other)
In claim 8, Van Wyk discloses the software application is a gaming application (paragraph 72)
In claim 12, Van Wyk discloses the body of the controller has a main portion disposed between first and second gripping portions, each of the gripping portions projecting rearwardly away from the main portion (figure 6 #602 and 604. Although these numbers are for the buttons, the entirety of the portion projecting rearwardly would be the gripping portion) the directional pad is disposed closer to the first griping portion than to the second gripping portion and closer to a front of the body than a rearmost point of the first gripping portion (figure 5 #508 or 506), the buttons include four buttons that are each disposed closer to the second gripping portion than to the first gripping portion and closer to the front of the body than a rearmost point of the second gripping portion (figure 5 #516)
Conclusion
/THOMAS H HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715