DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the difference of a value of electron affinity of the ionizing radiation conversion layer minus a value of work function of the first electrode is greater than or equal to 0 eV and less than or equal to 0.4 eV.” It is unclear what “difference” is being limited. For purposes of a prior art search, the Examiner is interpreting the difference to be the difference between the value of electron affinity of the ionizing radiation conversion layer and the value of work function of the first electrode and the difference is determined by subtracting the value of the work function of the first electrode from the value of electron affinity of the ionizing radiation conversion layer. Subtracting a second value from a first provides a difference, but a statement of “the difference of X minus Y is Z” is not grammatically correct. Similar grammatical errors are present in claims 2-3 and 11.
Claim 1 recites “the second electrode contains at least one selected from the group consisting of second metals and metal oxides.” It is unclear if the second electrode is required to be a plurality of second metals or a plurality of metal oxides or merely the group includes a generic list of second metals and a generic list of metal oxides. Additionally, it is unclear whether “second metal” means any metal, any metal different than the “first metal” of the first electrode, or a second group metal from the periodic table of elements.
Claims 7 and 8 further limit alternatives presented in claim 1. This makes it unclear whether or not these limitations are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US 2019/0140181).
Regarding claims 1, 6, 8, and 11, Huang teaches an ionizing radiation conversion device (Abstract) comprising:
a first electrode (10);
a second electrode (30); and
an ionizing radiation conversion layer (20) disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode (Figs. 1G and 1H),
wherein the first electrode contains a first metal (claim 7),
the second electrode contains at least one selected from the group consisting of second metals (claim 7),
the ionizing radiation conversion layer contains a perovskite compound (Abstract), and
the difference of a value of electron affinity of the ionizing radiation conversion layer minus a value of work function of the first electrode is greater than or equal to 0 eV and less than or equal to 0.4 eV (ABX3 with A as formamidinum, B is PB2+, and X is a halide anion ([0010]) and first electrode being Ga (claims 7) provides this characteristic),
wherein the ionizing radiation detection method detects, with the ionizing radiation conversion device, charges generated by the perovskite compound upon irradiation with an ionizing radiation (Abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Huang teaches the difference of the value of electron affinity of the ionizing radiation conversion layer minus a value of work function of the second electrode is greater than or equal to 0 eV and less than or equal to 0.4 eV (ABX3 with A as formamidinum, B is PB2+, and X is a halide anion ([0010]) and second electrode being Ga (claims 7) provides this characteristic).
Regarding claim 4, Huang teaches the perovskite compound includes two or more kinds of cations, and one or more kinds of anions ([0010]).
Regarding claim 5, Huang teaches the two or more kinds of cations include at least one selected from the group consisting of Pb2+, Sn2+, Ge2+, and Bi3+ (Pb2+ [0010]).
Regarding claim 9, Huang teaches the first electrode contains the same metal as the second electrode (claim 7).
Regarding claim 10, Huang teaches the ionizing radiation conversion layer is in contact with the first electrode and the second electrode (Figs. 1G and 1H).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2019/0140181) in view of Wu et al. (US 2005/0090874).
Regarding claims 3 and 7, Huang does not teach the second metal is at least one selected from the group consisting of Pt, and Se. However, Wu teaches Pt to be used in a bottom electrode layer with a perovskite active layer ([0076]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the invention to have the second metal be Pt, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
It necessarily follows that the difference of the sum of the value of electron affinity of the ionizing radiation conversion layer and a value of forbidden band gap of the ionizing radiation conversion layer minus a value of work function of the second electrode is greater than or equal to -0.4 eV and less than or equal to 0 eV.
Conclusion
/CAROLYN FIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2884