DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments/Amendments
The amendment filed November 6, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 2, 5-12, 17, and 21-29 are currently pending in the Application.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 5-12, 17, and 21-29 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that Iizawa does not teach, suggest, or motivate modifying the system to include additional operational states when the automated driving system (ADS) is on, and therefore the combination with Lubischer would not have been obvious. Applicant further alleges that Iizawa “teaches away” and that the references conflict in how driver input affects ADS mode. The Examiner has considered such arguments and respectfully disagrees. Applicant asserts that the Office must consider the claim as a whole under MPEP 2141.02. The rejection does consider the claim as a whole. The combination of Iizawa and Lubischer is applied to the claimed steering system comprehensively, with Iizawa providing the structural steering system, ADS steering-shaft engagement logic, and coupling mechanism, and with Lubischer supplying explicit operational-state logic that corresponds to the amended limitation. Applicant does not identify any specific errors in the Examiner’s application of 2141.02. Additionally, applicant has not shown that Iizawa teaches away. For a reference to teach away, it must criticize, discourage, or warn against the claimed feature. See MPEP 2145; In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195 (Fed. Cir. 2004). Iizawa does not criticize or discourage multiple ADS operational states. At most, Iizawa does not elaborate on internal ADS modes, and silence does not constitute teaching away. In re Young, 927 F.2d 588 (Fed. Cir. 1991). Applicant repeatedly argues that Iizawa contains no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to add multiple operational states. Under KSR v. Teleflex, however, explicit TSM in the primary reference is not required. A combination is proper when it represents the predictable use of known elements to improve system functionality or solve a known problem. Both Iizawa and Lubischer address steering systems transitioning between automated and manual control. Incorporating Lubischer’s operational-state structure into Iizawa’s ADS control represents a predictable improvement, consistent with KSR and MPEP 2143-2144. Applicant argues that Iizawa and Lubischer differ because driver input affects ADS mode in one system but not the other. Differences in triggering mechanisms do not establish teaching away; they reflect alternative design choices for similar system objectives. The Federal Circuit has held that differences in operational details do not amount to discouragement or criticism. See In re Young. Both references relate to the same engineering purpose—managing transitions between automated and manual steering control—neither disparages the other’s approach. Lastly, as stated in the Final Office Action, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Iizawa with the teachings of Lubischer such that the steering wheel system of Iizawa is further configured to set, based on the operational state, an engagement state of the steering wheel to the steering shaft through the coupling device, when the automated driving system is on, and to set the operational state of the automated driving system to an active state or a passive state, as taught by Lubischer (See paragraph [0017], [0018], [0021], [0022].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be manipulating the position and purpose of the steering wheel, as taught by Lubischer (See paragraph [0004].). This rationale is consistent with KSR, which supports combining familiar control techniques to yield predictable improvements. Accordingly, applicant’s arguments do not reveal error in the rejection and the combination of Iizawa and Lubischer remains proper under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-12, 17, 21, and 23-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iizawa (US 20210300456 A1) in view of Lubischer (US 20180273081 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Iizawa teaches A steering system for a vehicle, the steering system comprising: a steering assembly including: a steering wheel; a coupling device for the steering wheel; and a steering shaft selectively engaged to the steering wheel through the coupling device (See at least paragraph [0005], “The present vehicle steering system includes a coupling mechanism configured to couple a steering operation member and at least one steerable wheel. When a driving state of the vehicle is switched from the manual driving state to the automatic driving state, the coupling mechanism is switched from a mechanically coupling state in which the coupling mechanism mechanically couples the steering operation member and the at least one steerable wheel to each other to a mechanically decoupling state in which the coupling mechanism mechanically decouples the steering operation member and the at least one steerable wheel from each other. As a result, even if a force is applied to the steering operation member in the automatic driving state, steering of the at least one steerable wheel is not influenced, in other words, it does not matter if a force is applied to the steering wheel in the automatic driving state. According to the present disclosure, the vehicle cabin comfort in the automatic driving state can be improved” and paragraph [0080], “When the inner shaft 140 is further moved, the third protrusion 160 comes into engagement with the third recess 156s. In this state, the protrusions 154 of the inner shaft 140 and the recesses 156 of the outer shaft 142 are brought into serration engagement, so that the rotation transmitter 150 is placed in the transmission state and the coupling mechanism 7 is placed in the mechanically coupling state.” The coupling device is the coupling mechanism.); and an automated driving system coupled to the steering assembly and including: a processor configured to: set an operational state of the automated driving system (See at least paragraph [0082], “The vehicle steering system is controlled by a controller 200 constituted principally by a computer, as illustrated in FIG. 16. The controller 200 includes an executer, a storage, and an input/output device. There are connected, to the input/output device, the electric motor 68 as the drive source of the column moving device 50, the electric motor 96 as the drive source of the telescopic moving device 90, and the electric motor 190 as the drive source of the automatic steering device 8, via respective drive circuits 202. Further, the environment-relating information obtainer 192, an automatic driving switch 204, and the display 206 are also connected to the controller 200” and paragraph [0083], “The automatic driving switch 204 is operated by the driver when the driving state of the vehicle is switched between the automatic driving state and the manual driving state. In an OFF state of the automatic driving switch 204, the driving state of the vehicle is the manual driving state. When the automatic driving switch 204 is turned on (ON), the driving state is switched to the automatic driving state. The driving state of the vehicle (the automatic driving state or the manual driving state), namely, the ON/OFF state of the automatic driving switch 204, is indicated on a display 206.” The operational state is the driving state.).
Iizawa does not explicitly disclose, however, Lubischer, in the same field of endeavor, teaches and set, based on the operational state, an engagement state of the steering wheel to the steering shaft through the coupling device, wherein, when the automated driving system is on, the processor is configured to set the operational state of the automated driving system to an active state or a passive state (See at least paragraph [0017], “In the driving position 22, a steering gear 44 links rotation of the steering wheel 18 to turning of the road wheels 46. The steering gear 44 may be mechanically connected to the steering column shaft 16, or alternatively may be electrically connected to the steering column shaft 16, such as in a “steer by wire” system. In one embodiment, decoupling assembly 32 is configured to selectively decouple one or more portions of assembly 14 (e.g., shaft 16) from the vehicle steering gear 44 such that steering wheel 18 is in a non-rotatable mode, removing the ability of the steering wheel 18 to control a direction of road wheels 46 through the steering gear 44. This decoupling assembly 32 may be mechanically or electrically activatable by a clutch, or by steer-by-wire, or counter-rotated by a servo-actuator, for example. Alternatively or additionally, assembly 32 may provide a counter rotation to wheel 18 to counteract any rotation of wheel 18 caused by the autonomous driver assisted steering system such that wheel 18 functions and appears as non-rotatable. The decoupling assembly 32 need not be located along the shaft 16, and may be positioned elsewhere for decoupling the shaft 16 either mechanically and/or electrically from the steering gear 44”, paragraph [0018], “Further, the decoupling assembly 32 allows the steering column shaft 16 and wheel 18 to be displaced forward in the vehicle 10 to the retracted position 20 because the steering wheel 18 is no longer being used by the driver to guide the vehicle 10. The retracting action may accomplished by, for example, long stroke, electrical actuators responding to the driver's intention through a switch and motor controller, or by the driver manually releasing a clamp and pushing the steering wheel 18 and steering column shaft 16 forward to the retracted position 20. In any case, the embodiments described herein make retraction of the steering column shaft 16 and wheel 18 away from the driver possible in order to provide space for non-driving related activities such as working, reading, and game playing”, paragraph [0021], “With reference now to FIGS. 2A and 2B, an embodiment of an operation 100 of the vehicle 10 is shown. Starting with FIG. 2A, a start 104 of the operation may be assessed by a controller 102 of an ADAS system, shown diagrammatically at 98 in FIG. 1. The controller 102 may receive information (signal) from, but not limited to, one or more of the steering column adjustment assembly 30, decoupling assembly 32, torque interface assembly 34, sensors 36, reversible lock 38, as well as any other feature within the vehicle 10 that is communicable with the controller 102. The operation 100 will determine, as demonstrated by block 106, whether an ADAS switch of the ADAS system 98 is on, such as by driver input to initiate the ADAS mode. When the ADAS switch is not on, then, as demonstrated by block 108, a driver provides directional control. As demonstrated by block 110, the energy absorbing mechanism 40 and air bag 42 are rendered operational (the air bag 42 is ready to deploy if required)”, and paragraph [0022], “When the ADAS switch is on, then, as demonstrated by block 112, the ADAS system 98 provides directional control, and the energy absorbing mechanism 40 and air bag 42 are rendered non-operational (i.e., the air bag 42 is not ready to deploy). The controller 102 further determines, as demonstrated by block 114, if the steering shaft 16 has been decoupled yet, such as by decoupling assembly 32. If not, then as demonstrated by block 116, the driver keeps hands off the steering wheel 18 in order to continue with ADAS control (otherwise, ADAS switch will be switched off due to driver input through steering wheel 18, the steering shaft 16 will remain coupled to steering gear 44, and the driver will provide control). If the steering shaft 16 is decoupled, then as demonstrated by block 118, rotation of wheel 18 is stopped. As demonstrated by block 120, the rotationally-fixed steering wheel 18 allows non-steering use of the column shaft 16 and wheel 18.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Iizawa with the teachings of Lubischer such that the steering wheel system of Iizawa is further configured to set, based on the operational state, an engagement state of the steering wheel to the steering shaft through the coupling device, when the automated driving system is on, and to set the operational state of the automated driving system to an active state or a passive state, as taught by Lubischer (See paragraph [0017], [0018], [0021], [0022].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be manipulating the position and purpose of the steering wheel, as taught by Lubischer (See paragraph [0004].).
Regarding Claim 2, Iizawa and Lubischer teach The steering system of claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Iizawa teaches wherein the automated driving system is coupled to the steering assembly through the coupling device, and the processor is further configured to control the coupling device based on the engagement state (See at least paragraph [0082], “The vehicle steering system is controlled by a controller 200 constituted principally by a computer, as illustrated in FIG. 16. The controller 200 includes an executer, a storage, and an input/output device. There are connected, to the input/output device, the electric motor 68 as the drive source of the column moving device 50, the electric motor 96 as the drive source of the telescopic moving device 90, and the electric motor 190 as the drive source of the automatic steering device 8, via respective drive circuits 202. Further, the environment-relating information obtainer 192, an automatic driving switch 204, and the display 206 are also connected to the controller 200”, paragraph [0083], “The automatic driving switch 204 is operated by the driver when the driving state of the vehicle is switched between the automatic driving state and the manual driving state. In an OFF state of the automatic driving switch 204, the driving state of the vehicle is the manual driving state. When the automatic driving switch 204 is turned on (ON), the driving state is switched to the automatic driving state. The driving state of the vehicle (the automatic driving state or the manual driving state), namely, the ON/OFF state of the automatic driving switch 204, is indicated on a display 206”, and paragraph [0087], “At S3, the column 30 is moved in the forward direction by the column moving actuator 54, so that the position of the steering wheel 2 is changed toward the forward direction. Thus, the steering wheel 2 is located at a second position. As illustrated in FIG. 18B, the movement of the column 30 in the forward direction causes a distance D between the universal joints 27, 29 to be reduced from a distance D1 to a distance D2 (D2<D1), whereby the intermediate shaft 26 contracts. The inner shaft 140 is moved downstream relative to the outer shaft 142, and the serration engagement of the rotation transmitter 150 is cancelled, so that the rotation transmitter 150 is switched to the non-transmission state, and the coupling mechanism 7 is switched to the mechanically decoupling state. This execution is referred to as a mechanically decoupling step.” The coupling device is the coupling mechanism. The engagement state is the coupling state.).
Regarding Claim 5, Iizawa and Lubischer teach The steering system of claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Iizawa teaches wherein the processor is configured to set, based on the operational state, the engagement state to a disengaged state, wherein in the disengaged state, the steering wheel is disengaged from the steering shaft through the coupling device and the steering shaft is configured through the coupling device to rotate independent of the steering wheel (See at least paragraph [0082], “The vehicle steering system is controlled by a controller 200 constituted principally by a computer, as illustrated in FIG. 16. The controller 200 includes an executer, a storage, and an input/output device. There are connected, to the input/output device, the electric motor 68 as the drive source of the column moving device 50, the electric motor 96 as the drive source of the telescopic moving device 90, and the electric motor 190 as the drive source of the automatic steering device 8, via respective drive circuits 202. Further, the environment-relating information obtainer 192, an automatic driving switch 204, and the display 206 are also connected to the controller 200”, paragraph [0083], “The automatic driving switch 204 is operated by the driver when the driving state of the vehicle is switched between the automatic driving state and the manual driving state. In an OFF state of the automatic driving switch 204, the driving state of the vehicle is the manual driving state. When the automatic driving switch 204 is turned on (ON), the driving state is switched to the automatic driving state. The driving state of the vehicle (the automatic driving state or the manual driving state), namely, the ON/OFF state of the automatic driving switch 204, is indicated on a display 206”, and paragraph [0087], “At S3, the column 30 is moved in the forward direction by the column moving actuator 54, so that the position of the steering wheel 2 is changed toward the forward direction. Thus, the steering wheel 2 is located at a second position. As illustrated in FIG. 18B, the movement of the column 30 in the forward direction causes a distance D between the universal joints 27, 29 to be reduced from a distance D1 to a distance D2 (D2<D1), whereby the intermediate shaft 26 contracts. The inner shaft 140 is moved downstream relative to the outer shaft 142, and the serration engagement of the rotation transmitter 150 is cancelled, so that the rotation transmitter 150 is switched to the non-transmission state, and the coupling mechanism 7 is switched to the mechanically decoupling state. This execution is referred to as a mechanically decoupling step”, and paragraph [0089], “At S4, the steering shaft 24 and the column 30 are contracted by the telescopic actuator 95 as illustrated in FIG. 18C. The outer shaft 80 is moved in the forward direction of the vehicle relative to the outer column 42, and the first protrusion 120 reaches the curved guide surface 126. In a state in which the first protrusion 120 is in contact with the curved guide surface 126, the outer shaft 80 is moved in the forward direction of the vehicle relative to the outer column 42, so that rotation of the outer shaft 80 to the phase corresponding to the neutral position of the steering wheel 2 is guided. This execution is referred to as a neutral position guiding step. In the neutral position guiding step, the reaction force from the road surface does not act on the steering wheel 2, thus enabling the outer shaft 80 to be easily rotated.” The operational state is the driving state. The engagement state is the coupling state. The disengaged state is the mechanically decoupling state. The coupling device is the coupling mechanism.).
Regarding Claim 6, Iizawa and Lubischer teach The steering system of claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Iizawa teaches wherein the processor is configured to set, based on the operational state, the engagement state to an engaged state, wherein in the engaged state, the steering wheel is engaged to the steering shaft through the coupling device and the steering wheel is configured through the coupling device to rotate the steering shaft (See at least paragraph [0082], “The vehicle steering system is controlled by a controller 200 constituted principally by a computer, as illustrated in FIG. 16. The controller 200 includes an executer, a storage, and an input/output device. There are connected, to the input/output device, the electric motor 68 as the drive source of the column moving device 50, the electric motor 96 as the drive source of the telescopic moving device 90, and the electric motor 190 as the drive source of the automatic steering device 8, via respective drive circuits 202. Further, the environment-relating information obtainer 192, an automatic driving switch 204, and the display 206 are also connected to the controller 200”, paragraph [0083], “The automatic driving switch 204 is operated by the driver when the driving state of the vehicle is switched between the automatic driving state and the manual driving state. In an OFF state of the automatic driving switch 204, the driving state of the vehicle is the manual driving state. When the automatic driving switch 204 is turned on (ON), the driving state is switched to the automatic driving state. The driving state of the vehicle (the automatic driving state or the manual driving state), namely, the ON/OFF state of the automatic driving switch 204, is indicated on a display 206”, paragraph [0085], “At Step 1, it is determined whether the driving state of the vehicle is the automatic driving state. Step 1 will be hereinafter abbreviated as “S1”, and other steps will be similarly abbreviated. When a negative determination (NO) is made at S1, the control flow proceeds to S2 to determine whether the automatic driving switch 204 is switched from OFF to ON. When a negative determination (NO) is made at S2, S3 and S4 are skipped. In the manual driving state, the vehicle steering system is in a state illustrated in FIG. 18A. In the state of FIG. 18A, the steering wheel 2 is located at a first position that is the rearmost position, and the steering wheel 2 and the front right and left wheels 4, 6 are mechanically coupled. Thus, the coupling mechanism 7 is in the mechanically coupling state. In this state, the operation torque applied to the steering wheel 2 is mechanically transmitted to the front right and left wheels 4, 6, whereby the front right and left wheels 4, 6 are steered”, and paragraph [0095], “When the inner shaft 140 is further moved upstream relative to the outer shaft 142, the third protrusion 160 reaches the third recess 156s and is held by the third recess 156s. The protrusions 154 of the inner shaft 140 and the recesses 156 of the outer shaft 142 are brought into serration engagement, so that the rotation transmitter 150 is switched from the non-transmission state to the transmission state. The coupling mechanism 7 is switched to the mechanically coupling state. Thus, the driving state of the vehicle is switched to the manual driving state. This execution is referred to as a mechanical coupling step.” The operational state is the driving state. The engagement state is the coupling state. The engaged state is the mechanically coupling state. The coupling device is the coupling mechanism.).
Regarding Claim 7, Iizawa and Lubischer teach The steering system of claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Iizawa teaches wherein the processor is configured to set the operational state to the active state and set, based on the active state, the engagement state to a disengaged state, wherein in the disengaged state, the steering wheel is disengaged from the steering shaft through the coupling device and the steering shaft is configured to rotate independent of the steering wheel (See at least paragraph [0082], “The vehicle steering system is controlled by a controller 200 constituted principally by a computer, as illustrated in FIG. 16. The controller 200 includes an executer, a storage, and an input/output device. There are connected, to the input/output device, the electric motor 68 as the drive source of the column moving device 50, the electric motor 96 as the drive source of the telescopic moving device 90, and the electric motor 190 as the drive source of the automatic steering device 8, via respective drive circuits 202. Further, the environment-relating information obtainer 192, an automatic driving switch 204, and the display 206 are also connected to the controller 200”, paragraph [0083], “The automatic driving switch 204 is operated by the driver when the driving state of the vehicle is switched between the automatic driving state and the manual driving state. In an OFF state of the automatic driving switch 204, the driving state of the vehicle is the manual driving state. When the automatic driving switch 204 is turned on (ON), the driving state is switched to the automatic driving state. The driving state of the vehicle (the automatic driving state or the manual driving state), namely, the ON/OFF state of the automatic driving switch 204, is indicated on a display 206”, and paragraph [0087], “At S3, the column 30 is moved in the forward direction by the column moving actuator 54, so that the position of the steering wheel 2 is changed toward the forward direction. Thus, the steering wheel 2 is located at a second position. As illustrated in FIG. 18B, the movement of the column 30 in the forward direction causes a distance D between the universal joints 27, 29 to be reduced from a distance D1 to a distance D2 (D2<D1), whereby the intermediate shaft 26 contracts. The inner shaft 140 is moved downstream relative to the outer shaft 142, and the serration engagement of the rotation transmitter 150 is cancelled, so that the rotation transmitter 150 is switched to the non-transmission state, and the coupling mechanism 7 is switched to the mechanically decoupling state. This execution is referred to as a mechanically decoupling step”, and paragraph [0089]-[0091], “At S4, the steering shaft 24 and the column 30 are contracted by the telescopic actuator 95 as illustrated in FIG. 18C. The outer shaft 80 is moved in the forward direction of the vehicle relative to the outer column 42, and the first protrusion 120 reaches the curved guide surface 126. In a state in which the first protrusion 120 is in contact with the curved guide surface 126, the outer shaft 80 is moved in the forward direction of the vehicle relative to the outer column 42, so that rotation of the outer shaft 80 to the phase corresponding to the neutral position of the steering wheel 2 is guided. This execution is referred to as a neutral position guiding step. In the neutral position guiding step, the reaction force from the road surface does not act on the steering wheel 2, thus enabling the outer shaft 80 to be easily rotated.” The operational state is the driving state. The first operational state is the automatic driving state. The engagement state is the coupling state. The disengaged state is the mechanically decoupling state. The coupling device is the coupling mechanism. Although Iizawa does not explicitly state that the steering shaft rotates independently of the steering wheel, the present claim ties the feature to a disengaged steering wheel during the automatic driving (active) state. As taught in paragraphs [0082] and [0083], when the automatic state is active, steering is performed by the automatic steering device driven by motor 190 under the control of controller 200. Further, paragraphs [0088]-[0091] explain that in the state torque is not transmitted to the steering wheel, the coupling mechanism is in a non-transmission or neutral state, and the steering wheel is disconnected from the front wheels. Under these conditions, the steering shaft necessarily rotates independently of the steering wheel.).
Regarding Claim 8, Iizawa and Lubischer teach The steering system of claim 7, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Iizawa teaches wherein the coupling device includes a locking mechanism that is coupled to the automated driving system for rotationally constraining the steering wheel, wherein in the disengaged state, the steering wheel is rotationally constrained by the locking mechanism, and wherein the processor is further configured to reset the operational state from the active state to the passive state and reset, based on the passive state, the engagement state from the disengaged state to an engaged state, wherein in the engaged state, the steering wheel is engaged to the steering shaft through the coupling device and rotationally unconstrained by the locking mechanism (See at least paragraph [0063], “In a state in which the first protrusion 120 of the outer shaft 80 engages with the first recess 123 of the outer column 42, the phase of the outer shaft 80 coincides with a phase that corresponds to the neutral position of the steering wheel 2. The outer shaft 80 is held at this phase by the outer column 42 so as to be unrotatable relative to the outer column 42. Thus, the steering wheel 2 is prohibited from rotating from the neutral position and is locked”, paragraph [0082], “The vehicle steering system is controlled by a controller 200 constituted principally by a computer, as illustrated in FIG. 16. The controller 200 includes an executer, a storage, and an input/output device. There are connected, to the input/output device, the electric motor 68 as the drive source of the column moving device 50, the electric motor 96 as the drive source of the telescopic moving device 90, and the electric motor 190 as the drive source of the automatic steering device 8, via respective drive circuits 202. Further, the environment-relating information obtainer 192, an automatic driving switch 204, and the display 206 are also connected to the controller 200”, paragraph [0083], “The automatic driving switch 204 is operated by the driver when the driving state of the vehicle is switched between the automatic driving state and the manual driving state. In an OFF state of the automatic driving switch 204, the driving state of the vehicle is the manual driving state. When the automatic driving switch 204 is turned on (ON), the driving state is switched to the automatic driving state. The driving state of the vehicle (the automatic driving state or the manual driving state), namely, the ON/OFF state of the automatic driving switch 204, is indicated on a display 206”, paragraph [0087], “At S3, the column 30 is moved in the forward direction by the column moving actuator 54, so that the position of the steering wheel 2 is changed toward the forward direction. Thus, the steering wheel 2 is located at a second position. As illustrated in FIG. 18B, the movement of the column 30 in the forward direction causes a distance D between the universal joints 27, 29 to be reduced from a distance D1 to a distance D2 (D2<D1), whereby the intermediate shaft 26 contracts. The inner shaft 140 is moved downstream relative to the outer shaft 142, and the serration engagement of the rotation transmitter 150 is cancelled, so that the rotation transmitter 150 is switched to the non-transmission state, and the coupling mechanism 7 is switched to the mechanically decoupling state. This execution is referred to as a mechanically decoupling step”, paragraph [0093], “In the automatic driving state, an affirmative determination (YES) is made at S1, and the control flow proceeds to S5 at which it is determined whether the automatic driving switch 204 is switched from ON to OFF. When an affirmative determination (YES) is made at S5, the telescopic actuator 95 is activated at S6 to move the outer shaft 80 relative to the outer column 42 in the rearward direction of the vehicle, as illustrated in FIG. 18B. The first protrusion 120 of the outer shaft 80 is disengaged from the first recess 123 of the outer column 42, so that the steering wheel 2 becomes rotatable about the axis L and is accordingly free. This execution is referred to as a lock canceling step”, and paragraph [0095], “When the inner shaft 140 is further moved upstream relative to the outer shaft 142, the third protrusion 160 reaches the third recess 156s and is held by the third recess 156s. The protrusions 154 of the inner shaft 140 and the recesses 156 of the outer shaft 142 are brought into serration engagement, so that the rotation transmitter 150 is switched from the non-transmission state to the transmission state. The coupling mechanism 7 is switched to the mechanically coupling state. Thus, the driving state of the vehicle is switched to the manual driving state. This execution is referred to as a mechanical coupling step.” The operational state is the driving state. The first operational state is the automatic driving state and the second operational state is the manual driving state. The engagement state is the coupling state. The disengaged state is the mechanically decoupling state and the engaged state is the mechanically coupling state. The coupling device is the coupling mechanism. With respect to the recited locking mechanism, paragraph [0063] if Iizawa teaches that when a protrusion of the outer shaft engages a corresponding recess of the outer column, the steering wheel is held to be unrotatable relative to the outer column, thereby prohibiting rotation of the steering wheel from a neutral position and locking the steering wheel.).
Regarding Claim 9, Iizawa teaches A steering system for a vehicle, the steering system comprising: a steering assembly for the vehicle, the steering assembly including: a steering wheel; and a steering mechanism selectively engaged to the steering wheel, wherein in an engaged state, the steering mechanism is engaged to the steering wheel, and in a disengaged state, the steering mechanism is disengaged from the steering wheel and the steering mechanism is configured to rotate independent of the steering wheel (See at least paragraph [0005], “The present vehicle steering system includes a coupling mechanism configured to couple a steering operation member and at least one steerable wheel. When a driving state of the vehicle is switched from the manual driving state to the automatic driving state, the coupling mechanism is switched from a mechanically coupling state in which the coupling mechanism mechanically couples the steering operation member and the at least one steerable wheel to each other to a mechanically decoupling state in which the coupling mechanism mechanically decouples the steering operation member and the at least one steerable wheel from each other. As a result, even if a force is applied to the steering operation member in the automatic driving state, steering of the at least one steerable wheel is not influenced, in other words, it does not matter if a force is applied to the steering wheel in the automatic driving state. According to the present disclosure, the vehicle cabin comfort in the automatic driving state can be improved”, paragraph [0036], “In the vehicle steering system illustrated in FIG. 1, a steering wheel 2, as a steering operation member operated by a driver, and front right and left wheels 4, 6, each as at least one steerable wheel of the vehicle, are coupled by a coupling mechanism 7. In the manual driving state of the vehicle, the coupling mechanism 7 is in a mechanically coupling state in which the coupling mechanism 7 mechanically couples the steering wheel 2 and the front right and left wheels 4, 6 to each other. When the driving state of the vehicle is switched from the manual driving state to the automatic driving state, the mechanical coupling between the steering wheel 2 and the front right and left wheels 4, 6 is disengaged. In the automatic driving state, the coupling mechanism 7 is in the mechanically decoupling state, and the front right and left wheels 4, 6 are steered by an automatic steering device 8,” paragraph [0080], “When the inner shaft 140 is further moved, the third protrusion 160 comes into engagement with the third recess 156s. In this state, the protrusions 154 of the inner shaft 140 and the recesses 156 of the outer shaft 142 are brought into serration engagement, so that the rotation transmitter 150 is placed in the transmission state and the coupling mechanism 7 is placed in the mechanically coupling state”, and paragraph [0098], “In the present embodiment, the coupling mechanism 7 is constituted by the steering shaft 24, the intermediate shaft 26, the rack bar 20, the gear box 22, the tie rods 18, 19, the knuckle arms 16, 17, the rotation transmitters 84, 150, etc.” The steering mechanism is the coupling mechanism. The engaged state is the mechanically coupling state. The disengaged state is the mechanically decoupling state.); and an automated driving system coupled to the steering assembly and including: a storage device with instructions (See at least paragraph [0082], “The vehicle steering system is controlled by a controller 200 constituted principally by a computer, as illustrated in FIG. 16. The controller 200 includes an executer, a storage, and an input/output device. There are connected, to the input/output device, the electric motor 68 as the drive source of the column moving device 50, the electric motor 96 as the drive source of the telescopic moving device 90, and the electric motor 190 as the drive source of the automatic steering device 8, via respective drive circuits 202. Further, the environment-relating information obtainer 192, an automatic driving switch 204, and the display 206 are also connected to the controller 200” and paragraph [0083], “The automatic driving switch 204 is operated by the driver when the driving state of the vehicle is switched between the automatic driving state and the manual driving state. In an OFF state of the automatic driving switch 204, the driving state of the vehicle is the manual driving state. When the automatic driving switch 204 is turned on (ON), the driving state is switched to the automatic driving state. The driving state of the vehicle (the automatic driving state or the manual driving state), namely, the ON/OFF state of the automatic driving switch 204, is indicated on a display 206.”); and a processor coupled to the storage device, wherein, when the instructions are executed by the processor, the instructions configure the processor to: turn the automated driving system to on from off; set a first operational state of the automated driving system, the first operational state is an active state for performing a driving function for the vehicle; set, based on the first operational state, a first engagement state of the steering wheel to the steering mechanism (See at least paragraph [0082], “The vehicle steering system is controlled by a controller 200 constituted principally by a computer, as illustrated in FIG. 16. The controller 200 includes an executer, a storage, and an input/output device. There are connected, to the input/output device, the electric motor 68 as the drive source of the column moving device 50, the electric motor 96 as the drive source of the telescopic moving device 90, and the electric motor 190 as the drive source of the automatic steering device 8, via respective drive circuits 202. Further, the environment-relating information obtainer 192, an automatic driving switch 204, and the display 206 are also connected to the controller 200”, paragraph [0083], “The automatic driving switch 204 is operated by the driver when the driving state of the vehicle is switched between the automatic driving state and the manual driving state. In an OFF state of the automatic driving switch 204, the driving state of the vehicle is the manual driving state. When the automatic driving switch 204 is turned on (ON), the driving state is switched to the automatic driving state. The driving state of the vehicle (the automatic driving state or the manual driving state), namely, the ON/OFF state of the automatic driving switch 204, is indicated on a display 206”, paragraph [0085], “At Step 1, it is determined whether the driving state of the vehicle is the automatic driving state. Step 1 will be hereinafter abbreviated as “S1”, and other steps will be similarly abbreviated. When a negative determination (NO) is made at S1, the control flow proceeds to S2 to determine whether the automatic driving switch 204 is switched from OFF to ON. When a negative determination (NO) is made at S2, S3 and S4 are skipped. In the manual driving state, the vehicle steering system is in a state illustrated in FIG. 18A. In the state of FIG. 18A, the steering wheel 2 is located at a first position that is the rearmost position, and the steering wheel 2 and the front right and left wheels 4, 6 are mechanically coupled. Thus, the coupling mechanism 7 is in the mechanically coupling state. In this state, the operation torque applied to the steering wheel 2 is mechanically transmitted to the front right and left wheels 4, 6, whereby the front right and left wheels 4, 6 are steered”, and paragraph [0098], “In the present embodiment, the coupling mechanism 7 is constituted by the steering shaft 24, the intermediate shaft 26, the rack bar 20, the gear box 22, the tie rods 18, 19, the knuckle arms 16, 17, the rotation transmitters 84, 150, etc.” The operational state is the driving state. The engagement state is the coupling state. The steering mechanism is the coupling device.).
Iizawa does not explicitly disclose, however, Lubischer, in the same field of endeavor, teaches And change from the first operational state of the automated driving system to a second operational state, the second operational state is a passive state, wherein in both the first operational state and the second operational state, the automated driving system is on (See at least paragraph [0022], “When the ADAS switch is on, then, as demonstrated by block 112, the ADAS system 98 provides directional control, and the energy absorbing mechanism 40 and air bag 42 are rendered non-operational (i.e., the air bag 42 is not ready to deploy). The controller 102 further determines, as demonstrated by block 114, if the steering shaft 16 has been decoupled yet, such as by decoupling assembly 32. If not, then as demonstrated by block 116, the driver keeps hands off the steering wheel 18 in order to continue with ADAS control (otherwise, ADAS switch will be switched off due to driver input through steering wheel 18, the steering shaft 16 will remain coupled to steering gear 44, and the driver will provide control). If the steering shaft 16 is decoupled, then as demonstrated by block 118, rotation of wheel 18 is stopped. As demonstrated by block 120, the rotationally-fixed steering wheel 18 allows non-steering use of the column shaft 16 and wheel 18”, paragraph [0023], “At some point during the operation 100, a driver may wish to retract the steering wheel 18. The controller 102 will determine, such as via receipt of a signal from steering column adjustment assembly 30 or any sensors 36 relating to position, as demonstrated by block 122, if the column shaft 16 and wheel 18 are fully retracted during the retracting operation to position 20. If not, then as demonstrated by block 124, the driver will keep hands off the steering wheel 18. However, if the steering column shaft 16 and wheel 18 are retracted in the retracted position 20, then as demonstrated by block 126, cabin space within the vehicle 10 is enlarged and, as demonstrated by block 128, the ADAS system 98 is aware of the position of the column 16, such as via controller 102 and at least one sensor communicable with the controller 102”, and paragraph [0024], “With reference now to FIG. 2B, (a continuance of the operation 100 shown in FIG. 2A), non-driving activities are enabled, as demonstrated by block 130, due to the cabin space enlargement (block 126 of FIG. 2A). During the operation 100, the controller 102 will further determine, as demonstrated by block 132, whether or not the driver has gripped the wheel 18. If the driver does not grip the wheel 18, then as demonstrated by block 134, the ADAS system 98 will continue to provide directional control. However, if the driver has gripped the wheel 18, then as demonstrated by block 136, the ADAS system 98 prepares to disengage. As demonstrated by block 138, the column shaft 16 begins to extend. Extension of the column shaft 16 may be done via the driver and/or by automatic extension as a response to driver input. The controller 102 will determine, as demonstrated by block 140, whether or not the column shaft 16 is fully extended. If the column shaft 16 is not fully extended to the driving position 22, then the ADAS system 98 will continue to provide directional control to the vehicle 10, as demonstrated by block 142, and the energy absorbing mechanism 40 and air bag 42 are not deployable. However, if the column shaft 16 is fully extended, then, as demonstrated by block 144, the driver provides direction control via the steering wheel 18, and the column energy absorbing mechanism 40 and air bag 42 are rendered operational (with the air bag 42 ready to deploy if required), as demonstrated by block 146. Complete extension of the column shaft 16 may be determined by the controller 102, for example, by actuation of the lock 38 or information from the decoupling assembly 32 or steering column adjustment assembly 30.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Iizawa with the teachings of Lubischer such that the steering wheel system of Iizawa is further configured to change from the first operational state of the automated driving system to a second operational state, the second operational state is a passive state, in both the first operational state and the second operational state, the automated driving system is on, as taught by Lubischer (See paragraph [0022], [0023], [0024].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be manipulating the position and purpose of the steering wheel, as taught by Lubischer (See paragraph [0004].).
Regarding Claim 10, Iizawa and Lubischer teach The steering system of claim 9, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Iizawa teaches the steering assembly further comprising a coupling device positioned between the steering wheel and the steering mechanism and configured to selectively engage the steering mechanism to the steering wheel and selectively constrain rotation of the steering wheel, wherein in the disengaged state, the steering wheel is rotationally constrained by the coupling device, and in the engaged state, the steering wheel is rotationally unconstrained by the coupling device (See at least paragraph [0005], “The present vehicle steering system includes a coupling mechanism configured to couple a steering operation member and at least one steerable wheel. When a driving state of the vehicle is switched from the manual driving state to the automatic driving state, the coupling mechanism is switched from a mechanically coupling state in which the coupling mechanism mechanically couples the steering operation member and the at least one steerable wheel to each other to a mechanically decoupling state in which the coupling mechanism mechanically decouples the steering operation member and the at least one steerable wheel from each other. As a result, even if a force is applied to the steering operation member in the automatic driving state, steering of the at least one steerable wheel is not influenced, in other words, it does not matter if a force is applied to the steering wheel in the automatic driving state. According to the present disclosure, the vehicle cabin comfort in the automatic driving state can be improved”, paragraph [0036], “In the vehicle steering system illustrated in FIG. 1, a steering wheel 2, as a steering operation member operated by a driver, and front right and left wheels 4, 6, each as at least one steerable wheel of the vehicle, are coupled by a coupling mechanism 7. In the manu