Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pacala (US 20190056497 A1).
Claim 1: Pacala teaches a lidar system comprising:
a programmable configuration memory configured to receive configuration values for controlling histogramming operations performed by the lidar system (Fig. 2, memory 234 in light sensing module 230);
an array controller configured to read the configuration values and send control signals according to the configuration values in the programmable configuration memory (Fig. 2, processor 238 in light sensing module 230 and [0073]);
and a pixel array configured to receive the control signals from the array controller (Fig. 2, sensor array 236 and [0073]),
wherein the pixel array comprises a plurality of pixels that each include a photosensor, summation circuitry, and memory (Fig. 4, each SPAD 530 connected to pixel counter 550),
wherein each of the plurality of pixels is configured to generate histogram data by collecting photon counts during a plurality of time bins for each of a plurality of laser cycles ([0113], [0121], [0159]).
Claim 2: Pacala teaches the lidar system of claim 1, wherein the array controller is configured to: enter a mode based on one or more of configuration values ([0109]); and obtain one or more histogramming parameters ([0172]).
Claim 3: Pacala teaches the lidar system of claim 2, wherein the one or more histogramming parameters comprise
a histogramming start time ([0173] - system controller controls start time and sending pulse-time-interval to histogram),
a histogramming time bin range ([0147], [0158]),
and a scheduled readout of histogram data ([0190] and Fig. 14A, step 1460).
Claim 4: Pacala teaches the lidar system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of pixels are configured to collect the photon counts at a histogramming start time associated with each of the plurality of laser cycles in accordance with the control signals ([0173]).
Claim 5: Pacala teaches the lidar system of claim 4, wherein the histogramming start time for each of the plurality of pixels is independently configurable ([0197]).
Claim 6: Pacala teaches the lidar system of claim 1, wherein the pixel array is configured generate a readout of histogram data during a histogramming cycle in accordance with the control signals ([0190] and Fig. 14A, step 1460).
Claim 7: Pacala teaches the lidar system of claim 6, wherein the readout of histogram data is generated after a predetermined number of time bins, counted from a first time bin, in accordance with the control signals ([0190] and Fig. 14A, step 1460 after all pulses sent).
Claim 8: Pacala teaches the lidar system of claim 6, wherein the readout of histogram data is generated after a predetermined number of laser cycles in accordance with the control signals ([0190] and Fig. 14A, step 1460 after all pulses sent).
Claim 9: Pacala teaches the lidar system of claim 8, wherein the readout of histogram data is generated in between the plurality of laser cycles ([0183] - CPOS pauses to change parameters).
Claim 10: Pacala teaches the lidar system of claim 1,
wherein the control signals specify a histogramming time bin range comprising a set of consecutive time bins ([0210]-[0211] - partial histogram in each memory bank)
wherein each of the plurality of pixels is configured to generate the histogram data for the time bins in the histogramming time bin range ([0211] - histogram determined for each memory bank).
Claim 11: Pacala teaches the lidar system of claim 10, wherein the histogramming time bin range is less than a total number of time bins comprised in a laser cycle ([0210]-[0211] - pulse trains put in separate memory banks).
Claims 12-20: Claims 12-20 are method claims corresponding to Claims 1-10. Thus, see rejections above.
Conclusion
/CLARA G CHILTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645