Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Pacala does not teach per-pixel control signals regarding histogramming start times, as Pacala instead teaches global signals.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. [0197] of Pacala, cited in the previous office action, teaches multiple channels which can each perform measurements, where each channel has separate emitters and detectors. Applicant did not acknowledge this paragraph in their argument. Instead, arguments are only regarding previous paragraphs, which describe the method which [0197] duplicates for each channel. Thus, this argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues Pacala does not teach histogram read out during histogramming cycle.
Examiner disagrees. As discussed in the interview, the specification fails to teach when the histogramming cycle ends. Thus, under BRI, the histogramming cycle could simply end when the histogramming ends (i.e.: after histograms are read out). Applicant’s arguments do not clarify when the histogramming cycle ends. Thus, this argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pacala (US 20190056497 A1).
Claim 1: Pacala teaches a lidar system comprising:
a programmable configuration memory configured to receive configuration values for controlling histogramming operations performed by the lidar system (Fig. 2, memory 234 in light sensing module 230);
an array controller configured to read the configuration values and send per-pixel control signals according to the configuration values in the programmable configuration memory (Fig. 2, processor 238 in light sensing module 230 and [0073], [0197] – multiple rounds – see arguments above);
the per-pixel control signals comprising histogramming start times ([0197])
and a pixel array configured to receive the control signals from the array controller (Fig. 2, sensor array 236 and [0073]),
wherein the pixel array comprises a plurality of pixels that each include an emitter, photosensor, summation circuitry, and memory (Fig. 5, each SPAD 530 connected to pixel counter 550, and Fig. 2, emitter array 242),
wherein each of the plurality of pixels is configured to generate histogram data by collecting photon counts during a plurality of time bins for each of a plurality of laser cycles ([0113], [0121], [0159]).
Claim 2: Pacala teaches the lidar system of claim 1, wherein the array controller is configured to: enter a mode based on one or more of configuration values ([0109]); and obtain one or more histogramming parameters ([0172]).
Claim 3: Pacala teaches the lidar system of claim 2, wherein the one or more histogramming parameters comprise
a histogramming start time ([0173] - system controller controls start time and sending pulse-time-interval to histogram),
a histogramming time bin range ([0147], [0158]),
and a scheduled readout of histogram data ([0190] and Fig. 14A, step 1460).
Claim 4: Pacala teaches the lidar system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of pixels are configured to collect the photon counts at a histogramming start time associated with each of the plurality of laser cycles in accordance with the control signals ([0173]).
Claim 6: Pacala teaches the lidar system of claim 1, wherein the pixel array is configured generate a readout of histogram data during a histogramming cycle in accordance with the control signals ([0190] and Fig. 14A, step 1460).
Claim 7: Pacala teaches the lidar system of claim 6, wherein the readout of histogram data is generated after a predetermined number of time bins, counted from a first time bin, in accordance with the control signals ([0190] and Fig. 14A, step 1460 after all pulses sent).
Claim 8: Pacala teaches the lidar system of claim 6, wherein the readout of histogram data is generated after a predetermined number of laser cycles in accordance with the control signals ([0190] and Fig. 14A, step 1460 after all pulses sent).
Claim 9: Pacala teaches the lidar system of claim 8, wherein the readout of histogram data is generated in between the plurality of laser cycles ([0183] - CPOS pauses to change parameters).
Claim 10: Pacala teaches the lidar system of claim 1,
wherein the control signals specify a histogramming time bin range comprising a set of consecutive time bins ([0210]-[0211] - partial histogram in each memory bank)
wherein each of the plurality of pixels is configured to generate the histogram data for the time bins in the histogramming time bin range ([0211] - histogram determined for each memory bank).
Claim 11: Pacala teaches the lidar system of claim 10, wherein the histogramming time bin range is less than a total number of time bins comprised in a laser cycle ([0210]-[0211] - pulse trains put in separate memory banks).
Claims 12-20: Claims 12-20 are method claims corresponding to Claims 1-10. Thus, see rejections above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CLARA G CHILTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645