DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-4, 22-24 (Group I) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8 December 2025. Claims 5-21, 25-35 (Group II) are being examined herein.
Examiner Notes
Examiner wants to draw attention to claim 9 that recites, “wherein the fluidic channel has an aspect ratio larger than unity,” specifically the term “unity.” Examiner believes unity takes on the meaning of having a Reynolds number on the order of 1 based on the interpretation of the term in the context of microfluidics. While the term is used correctly, examiner believes amending the claim to read “an aspect ratio larger than a Reynolds number of 1” or an equivalent thereof will make the claim language clearer.
Claim Objections
Claim 34 objected to because of the following informalities. Claim 34 recites “wherein a width WB2 of the block B and a width WC2 each is between 1 micrometer and 10 millimeters.” It is not stated that width WC2 belongs to block C similarly to how WB2 belongs to block B. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 8 recites “the fluidic channel is formed with a high-aspect-ratio.” Examiner is interpreting a “high-aspect-ratio” to be an aspect ratio of greater than or equal to 1.33 based on the specification of the instant application (pg. 16, lines 13-29).
Claims 15-18 recite “small-volume” and “large-volume” extractions. Examiner is interpreting the “small-volume” and “large-volume” according to the explanation in claims 16 and 17. Examiner would additionally like to note that amending the small and large volumes to be defined in terms of thickness or an equivalent thereof to make it clear applicant is associating a volume in reference to channel measurements and flow as defined by the Reynolds number.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5-10, 20, 26, 28-30, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kapur (US 20160123858 A1)
Regarding claim 5, Kapur teaches a microfluidic device with at least two channels separated by islands to influence the flow through the channel (Abstract). Kapur teaches the design of the microfluidic device is for the control of movement of particles within the channels of the device (par. 0005) (for performing particle localization on a plurality of particle). Kapur teaches microfluidic device 100 comprises a fluidic channel that splits into two streams 106 (bypass channel, see upper arrow in provided Fig. 1 below) and 108 (main channel, see lower arrows) (Fig. 1; par. 0074) (a fluidic channel comprising a main channel and a bypass channel).
The lower main channel 108 comprises three linear segments (as indicated by the three lower arrows in provided Figure 1 below) with each segment separated by a gap 114. The first gap 114 (left circle) diverging into two microchannels and the second gap 114 (right circle) converging back to the main channel 108 again (the main channel comprising: at least three straight segments; at least one bifurcating junction; and at least one confluence junction). The first gap 114 comprises the inlet to the bypass channel 106 and the gap 114 comprises the outlet from the bypass channel 106 (Fig. 1) (the bypass channel comprising: at least one inlet; and at least one outlet).
Regarding claim 6, Kapur teaches the fluidic device can be made out of a plurality of polymers including but not limited to polymethylmethacrylate (PMMA), polycarbonate (PC), or cyclo olefin polymer (COP) (par. 0182) (wherein the fluidic channel is made of cyclic olefin copolymer (COC), polymethylmethacrylate (PMMA), or polycarbonate (PC)).
Regarding claim 7, Kapur teaches the gaps 114 make a Y-cross structure as indicated by the non-90 degree angle at gap 114 defined by the corner of island 110 (Fig. 1). In other words, the lack of 90 degree angle that defines the T-shaped structure is not indicated; therefor, the gaps form Y-shaped/Y-cross structure (wherein each of the bifurcation and confluence junction has a Y-cross structure). Kapur teaches the gap 114 had three segments (Fig. 1). The three segments being a first segment (leftmost, lower arrow) and second segment (middle, lower arrow) that make up main channel 108, and a third segment that branches into bypass channel 106 (upper arrow) (Fig. 1 below) (the Y-cross structure comprising: three ends comprising; two ends connected to the straight segments; and one end connected to the bypass channel). Kapur teaches the angled shape of the island lends to an expanded well portion as indicated by the square in provided Figure 1 below (and an expanded well).
Regarding claim 8, Kapur teaches the dimensions of the microfluidic channel can vary depending on the size and shape of the particle(s) being separated (par. 0151). Kapur teaches one such example wherein the depth (height) of the channel is 52 µm and the width is as low at 10 µm attributing to an aspect ratio of 5.2 (AR = H/W) (wherein the fluidic channel is formed with a high-aspect-ratio). Kapur further teaches main channel 108 is primarily a rectangular shape (see the outlined area in provided Fig. 1 below) (rectangular channel cross section). As seen in "Particle Shift" regions of Figure 1, the size and shape of the channels influence the movement of particle 102 and is (at least partially) due to inertial lift forces (par. 0005, 0007) (to confine the particles into a pair of focal points in a mid-plane by inertial focusing).
Regarding claim 9, Kapur teaches the dimensions of the microfluidic channel can vary depending on the size and shape of the particle(s) being separated (par. 0151). Kapur teaches one such example wherein the depth (height) of the channel is 52 µm and the width is as low at 10 µm attributing to an aspect ratio of 5.2 (AR = H/W) (wherein the fluidic channel has an aspect ratio larger than unity).
Examiner wants to further note that the ability of the channel " to confine the particles into a pair of focal points in a mid-plane by inertial focusing" is drawn to a functional limitation of the device.
Regarding claim 10, Kapur teaches the fluidic device can be made out of a plurality of polymers including polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) (par. 0182) fluidic channel (wherein the fluidic channel is made of silicone comprising polydimethylsiloxane).
Regarding claim 20, Kapur teaches fluidic channel 100 comprises a series of islands 110 creating gaps 114 to form bifurcation and confluence junctions (Fig. 1) (wherein the fluidic channel is configured to have multiple bifurcation and confluence junctions forming an overall asymmetric structure). Kapur teaches operating flow rate influences the focusing and separation of the particles (par. 0144). Kapur teaches that the optimal flow rate of the system results in the flow rate of the focusing channel (particle containing main channel 108) decreases when compared to the siphoned fluid (particle-free bypass channel 106) meaning the volumetric flow rate of the particle-free fluid is larger by the time the final segment is reached (par. 0203) (to achieve a volumetric flow rate of the particle-free fluid that is about equal to or larger than a volumetric flow rate of the particle-carrying fluid in a last straight segment connected to a last confluence junction for size-insensitive single-stream particle focusing).
Regarding claim 26, Kapur teaches the dimensions of the microfluidic channel can vary depending on the size and shape of the particle(s) being separated (par. 0151). Kapur teaches main channel 108 is primarily a rectangular shape (see the outlined area in provided Fig. 1 below) (wherein the fluidic channel is formed with a rectangular channel cross section). Kapur teaches one such example wherein the depth (height) of the channel is 52 µm and the width is as low at 10 µm attributing to an aspect ratio of 5.2 (par. 0152-0154) (having a height H and a width W each between 1 micrometer and 10 millimeters and an aspect ratio AR… larger than 1.33). As seen in "Particle Shift" regions of Figure 1, the size and shape of the channels influence the movement of particle 102 and is (at least partially) due to inertial lift forces and keeping particles in a desired channel (Fig. 1; par. 0005, 0007) (for partitioning inertial force field into two compartments).
Examiner wants to further note that the ability of the channel "for partitioning inertial force field into two compartments" is drawn to a functional limitation of the device.
Regarding claim 28 and 29, Kapur teaches the device can accommodate a wide range of particle sized depending on the size of the channel (par. 0151); giving a specific example with a particle having the diameter of 8 microns (par. 0152) (wherein the particle size is between 0.1 micrometers and 10 millimeters) (wherein the particle size is between 5.6 and 30 micrometers).
Examiner furthers notes defining the particle size is drawn to an intended use of the device, as a particle, and therefore the particle size, are not positively recited elements of the device, but merely an object the device acts upon.
Regarding claim 30, Kapur teaches fluidic channel has four distinct blocks as seen in provided Figure 1 below (wherein the fluidic channel comprises four blocks including). The first block is seen in the leftmost outline, and in this block is a linear segments that has no separation between particles within the fluid, but the particles 102 experience inertial forces as seen by the small downward arrow (Fig. 1; par. 0075) (a block A that is a straight segment at beginning to initiate inertial focusing to peripherally sheath particles). The second block is seen in the middle, lower outline, and in this block a first portion of particle-free fluid is separated from the fluid with particles and the particles experience inertial forces pulling them downward once again (Fig. 1; par. 0077) (a block B that is a bifurcation junction dividing certain previously generated sheath fluid to a bypass channel and a straight segment with sufficiently long length recovers the sheathing). The third block is seen in the rightmost outline, and in this block the island 110 separating the two channels terminates reconnecting the main channel 108 to bypass channel 106 (Fig. 1; par. 0077-0078) (a block C that is a confluence junction returning certain sheath fluid to a main channel to temporally localize particles in the straight segment). The fourth block is seen in the middle, upper outline, and in this block siphoned, particle-free fluid flows (Fig. 1; par. 0076-0078) (and a block D that is the bypass channel in which only sheath fluid flows).
Regarding claim 32, Kapur teaches wherein the length and width is influenced by the size of the particle (par. 0072) and the length of the island, which corresponds with the length of second block B, is also influences by the distance between the islands, which corresponds with the length of block C (par. 0139). Kapur teaches one example wherein the length of the island is 50-1000 µm (1 mm) (par. 0149), with a specific example having an island of 200 µm (wherein a length LB1 of the block B…is configured to be on a scale of hundreds of micrometers). Kapur further teaches the distance between the islands/gaps can be 100, 200, 500, or 750 µm (par. 0155) (a length LC1 and a length LC2 of the block C each is configured to be on a scale of hundreds of micrometers).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-14 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kapur (US 20160123858 A1) in view of Suteria, et. al. ("Microfluidic bypass manometry: highly parallelized measurement of flow resistance of complex channel geometries and trapped droplets;" citations made with respect to attached copy).
Regarding claim 11, Kapur teaches the microfluidic device has a basic configuration comprising (wherein the fluidic channel is configured to have a basic form, comprising):
At least two straight sections, see outlined sections in provided Figure 1 below, for focusing particles, see arrows attaches to particle 102 (par. 0075-0076) (two straight segments for inertial focusing to generate peripheral particle-free fluid).
Between the straight segments, a gap 114 is present to produce a stream of fluid to the upper bypass channel 106 and keeping particles in the lower main channel 108 (Fig. 1; par. 0077-0078) (one bifurcation junction for partitioning the particle-free fluid to the bypass channel from particle-carrying fluid and concentrating the particle-carrying fluid in the main channel).
After island 110, an additional gap 114 serves as the confluence junction (Fig. 1) (one confluence junction).
Kapur is silent to the one confluence junction is for sheathing the particle-carrying fluid by the particle-free fluid in the bypass channel and temporally localize particle distribution within a smaller area of the cross-sectional area of the fluidic channel.
Suteria teaches a microfluidic device for the analysis of co-flowing laminar streams with applications in particle focusing (Abstract). Suteria teaches a fluidic channel with a lower main channel (three lower arrows in provided Fig. 2b below) and a bypass channel (upper arrow), a first junction (above left outline in provided Figure 2b below) diverging into two microchannels and a second junction (above right outline) converging into a single microchannel again (Fig. 2b). Suteria further teaches these bypass channels can be used in a series (Fig. 1a). As seen in Figure 2b, the flow/stream show as the fluid in the bypass channel is reintroduced to the main channel, the fluid from the main channel is sheathed into a smaller area of the main channel. To summarize, Suteria teaches that when fluid reaches a confluence junction, it is an inherent property of the sheath flow narrows the area of fluid in the main channel.
Further, examiner notes "for sheathing the particle-carrying fluid by the particle-free fluid in the bypass channel and temporally localize particle distribution within a smaller area of the cross-sectional area of the fluidic channel" is drawn to a functional limitation of the confluence junction. Suteria further teaches the geometry and the bypass have to be optimized to avoid flow instability and ensure the flow is fully developed at entrances and avoid secondary flows (pg. 345, section "B. Geometric Optimization of the Network Design").
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shape of the confluence junctions of Kapur to have the fluid from the bypass channel sheath the fluid in the main channel as taught by Suteria in order to optimize the flow by altering the geometry of the junctions. Because both systems use a bypass channel within a microfluidic device to alter flows through the channel, modifying the shape of the confluence junction to allow the sheath flow to narrow the fluid from the channel as provided by Suteria.
Regarding claim 12, modified Kapur teaches when the fluid containing particles 102 reaches gap 114 (bifurcating junction) a portion of the fluid that does not contain particles is separated from the particles 102 into bypass channel 106 (Fig. 1) (wherein a slide of particle-free fluid is formed in the bifurcating structure as a self-generated sheath fluid). Modified Kapur teaches the inertial focusing is influenced by islands 110 and not the junctions points (par. 0076) (without affecting the inertial focusing).
Regarding claim 13, modified Kapur teaches multiple parameters go into influencing how much fluid is extracted (wherein a thickness of the particle-free fluid is determined by). First Kapur teaches the design of the channel itself influences the fluid shifting region, like the size of the gap 114 (par. 0121, 0124-0125) (geometry of the channel). Second, Kapur teaches the target particle Reynolds number is influenced by particle size (par. 0137) (sizes of the particles). Finaly Kapur teaches the particle Reynolds number, in combination with other factors, influence the fluid shift to prevent particles from entering the bypass channel (par. 0135-0137) (a Reynolds number of the particle-carrying fluid). Kapur teaches the fluid shift at gaps 114 are not limited to the influence of the above, but a plurality of factors come together in order to optimize the process of fluid extraction from particles and focusing the particles in the main channel (par. 0143-0144).
Regarding claim 14, modified Kapur teaches operating flow rate influences the focusing and separation of the particles (par. 0144). Modified Kapur teaches that the optimal flow rate of the system results in the flow rate of the focusing channel (particle containing main channel 108) decreases when compared to the siphoned fluid (particle-free bypass channel 106) meaning the volumetric flow rate of the particle-free fluid is larger by the time the final segment is reached (par. 0203) (wherein a volumetric flow rate of the particle-free fluid is… larger than a volumetric flow rate of the particle-carrying fluid in a last straight segment connected to a last confluence junction).
Regarding claim 25, modified Kapur teaches when optimizing the system, they Reynolds number of the particle/fluid in main channel 108 is larger, specifically greater than 100 (par. 0136) (wherein the Reynolds number of the particle-carrying fluid is between 1 and 2000).
Claims 15-19, 21, 27, 31, and 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kapur (US 20160123858 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Kapur teaches in the configuration as seen in Figure 1 the series of gaps 114 results in multiple fluid shifts wherein fluid is extracted from main channel 108 to bypass channel 106 (Fig. 1; par. 0078) (wherein the TIS system is configured to attain different sheath-extraction conditions, including: multiple… extractions).
Kapur is silent to the multiple extractions being small-volume extractions.
However, Kapur teaches the fluid extraction through the fluid shift is a result of fluidic resistance, and the fluidic resistance is further attributed to number of islands 110, distance between islands 110 (gap 114 size), and channel width of bypass channel 106 (par. 0078). Since this particular parameter is recognized as a result-effective variable (i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result), the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable can be characterized as routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify number of islands 110, distance between islands 110 (gap 114 size), and channel width of bypass channel 106 to include a small-volume extraction; a large-volume extraction; or multiple small-volume extractions.
Regarding claim 16, Kapur teaches the limitations as applied to claim 15 (see above).
Kapur is silent to wherein the small-volume extraction is configured to have a slide of fluid that has a thickness smaller than a distance between a center of a smallest particle to be focused and a nearest wall of the channel.
However, Kapur teaches the fluid extraction through the fluid shift is a result of fluidic resistance, and the fluidic resistance is further attributed to number of islands 110, distance between islands 110 (gap 114 size), and channel width of bypass channel 106 (par. 0078). Since this particular parameter is recognized as a result-effective variable (i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result), the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable can be characterized as routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify number of islands 110, distance between islands 110 (gap 114 size), and channel width of bypass channel 106 wherein the small-volume extraction is configured to have a slide of fluid that has a thickness smaller than a distance between a center of a smallest particle to be focused and a nearest wall of the channel.
Regarding claim 17, Kapur teaches the limitations as applied to claim 15 (see above).
Kapur is silent to wherein the large-volume extraction is configured to have a slide of particle-free fluid which has a thickness smaller than a distance between a center of a largest particle to be focused and a nearest wall and larger than a distance between a center of a smallest particle to be focused and the nearest wall.
However, Kapur teaches the fluid extraction through the fluid shift is a result of fluidic resistance, and the fluidic resistance is further attributed to number of islands 110, distance between islands 110 (gap 114 size), and channel width of bypass channel 106 (par. 0078). Since this particular parameter is recognized as a result-effective variable (i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result), the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable can be characterized as routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify number of islands 110, distance between islands 110 (gap 114 size), and channel width of bypass channel 106 wherein the large-volume extraction is configured to have a slide of particle-free fluid which has a thickness smaller than a distance between a center of a largest particle to be focused and a nearest wall and larger than a distance between a center of a smallest particle to be focused and the nearest wall.
Regarding claim 18, Kapur teaches the limitations as applied to claim 15 (see above). Kapur further teaches an embodiment where multiple extractions take place through a series of islands 110 and gaps 114 between the island (Fig. 1) (multiple… extractions).
Kapur is silent to the multiple extractions being small-volume extractions and wherein they are configured to have multiple stages of the small-volume extraction, the large-volume extraction, or a combination of both.
However, Kapur teaches the fluid extraction through the fluid shift is a result of fluidic resistance, and the fluidic resistance is further attributed to distance between islands 110 (gap 114 size) and channel width of bypass channel 106 (par. 0078). Since this particular parameter is recognized as a result-effective variable (i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result), the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable can be characterized as routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify distance between islands 110 (gap 114 size), and channel width of bypass channel 106 for the multiple extractions to be small volume extractions, and further the small volume extractions be configured to have multiple stages of the small-volume extraction, the large-volume extraction, or a combination of both.
Regarding claim 19, Kapur teaches a series of gaps 114 within the fluidic channel 100 in a repeated pattern (Fig. 1) (wherein the fluidic channel is configured to have a pattern, including: a blocked form).
Regarding claim 21, Kapur teaches the limitations as applied to claim 5 (see above).
Kapur is silent to wherein the fluidic channel is configured to have a varied form to introduce a particle collision in the bifurcation junction for cell deformation.
Kapur teaches a secondary shape of the islands 612 that separate the main channel 608 that carries particles from the particle-free bypass channel 606 (Fig. 6A). As seen in Figure 6A, the fluid that is introduced to the device 600 from an input/source 601 the particles/cells collide with island 612 while focusing the stream (Fig. 6A; par. 0107). This collision can specifically be seen in the circled region of provided Figure 6A below (wherein the fluidic channel is configured to have a varied form to introduce a particle collision in the bifurcation junction for cell deformation). Kapur teaches this embodiment of the islands 612 and device 600 allows for the siphoning device to be paired with pre-siphoning steps as part of a larger microfluidic device (par. 0107).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shape of the islands and therefore the bifurcation junction as taught by Kapur to have a shape that allows particles to collide with the island as taught by a second embodiment of Kapur in order to accommodate larger volumes of sample when coupled within a larger microfluidic device. Because both devices to island to siphon fluid from a particle containing fluid, modifying the shape of the island as provided by the second embodiment of Kapur, provides likewise sought functionality with reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2143 (I)(G).
Regarding claim 27, Kapur teaches the limitations as applied to claim 26 (see above).
Kapur is silent to wherein the height H is about 80 micrometers, the width W is between 20 and 60 millimeters, and the aspect ratio AR is between 1.33 and 4.
Kapur teaches the microfluidic device can have a wide range of dimensions; however, Kapur specifically teaches the dimensions of the microfluidic channel can vary depending on the size and shape of the particle(s) being separated (par. 0151). In other words, the size of the particle(s) being analyzed will determine the optimal size (height and width) of the channels (par. 0151-0152). Since this particular parameter is recognized as a result-effective variable (i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result), the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable can be characterized as routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the size of the channels and thus aspect ratio based on the size of the particle(s) being analyzed wherein the height H is about 80 micrometers, the width W is between 20 and 60 millimeters, and the aspect ratio AR is between 1.33 and 4.
Regarding claim 31, Kapur teaches the limitations as applied to claim 30 (see above). Kapur teaches wherein the length and width is influenced by the size of the particle (par. 0072) and the length of the island, which corresponds with the length of second block B, is also influences by the distance between the islands (par. 0139). Kapur teaches one example wherein the length of the island is 1000 µm (1 mm) (par. 0149) (and a length LB2 of the block B is configured to be on a scale of a few millimeters).
Kapur is silent to wherein a length LA1 of the block A is configured to be on a scale of tens of millimeters.
Kapur teaches a second embodiment wherein the inlet, focusing unit 805, leading to the siphoning region, concentrating units 801, is significantly longer than the second block B (Fig. 8). This correlates focusing unit 805 to correspond with first block A. While no lengths are specifically stated, when turning to Figure 8, the total length of the focusing unit 805 is tens of times longer than the individual islands making up the concentrating units 801 (wherein a length LA1 of the block A is configured to be on a scale of tens of millimeters). Kapur teaches this embodiment allows for the siphoning/inertial focusing region with separate channels to be part of a larger microfluidic device (Fig. 8; par. 0160-0162).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the inlet of the first embodiment of Kapur to further comprise a larger inlet channel as taught by the second embodiment of Kapur in order to pair the focusing device to a larger microfluidic system. Because both systems utilize an inlet with particles in a fluid that will be separated into two channels, modifying the inlet to be elongated as provided by the second embodiment of Kapur, provides likewise sought functionality with reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 33, Kapur teaches the limitations as applied to claim 30 (see above).
Kapur is silent to wherein a width of a fully developed stream to the block D, WFD, is configured to be between 0 to 60 micrometers.
Kapur teaches design parameters, including width of the channels, heavily influences the particle and fluid shifting region (par. 0121). Kapur teaches the width of the of the bypass channel 106 (corresponding to 1605 of figure 16) is selected based on the desired fluidic conductance of the corresponding island unit (par. 0131). Since this particular parameter is recognized as a result-effective variable (i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result), the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable can be characterized as routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the width of the bypass channel of fourth block D wherein a width of a fully developed stream to the block D, WFD, is configured to be between 0 to 60 micrometers.
Regarding claim 34, Kapur teaches an angled/tapers shape to island 110. In provided Figure 1 below, a bolded horizontal line shows assists in showing the angled created by tapered island 110 within the channel with the channel walls. The leftmost angled line illustrates the angle of the expanded well created by the taper. The angle that corresponds to θB2 of the block B is to the right of the angled line extending down to the horizontal line. While no specific angle is stated, it is clear in the depiction that the around 135 degrees. The rightmost angled line illustrates the angle of the confluence junction. The angle corresponds to angle θC2 of the block C is to the right of the angled line extending down to the horizontal line. While no specific angle is stated, it is clear in the depiction that the around 135 degrees (and an angle θB2 of the block B and an angle θC2 of the block C each is between 120 degrees and 180 degrees).
Kapur is silent to wherein a width WB2 of the block B and a width WC2 each is between 1 micrometer and 10 millimeters
Kapur teaches design parameters, including width of the channels, heavily influences the particle and fluid shifting region (par. 0121). Kapur teaches the width of the of the bypass channel 106 (corresponding to 1605 of figure 16) is selected based on the desired fluidic conductance of the corresponding island unit (par. 0131). Similarly to the bypass channel, the main channel 108 (corresponding to 1607 of Figure 16) has a width that is selected based on the desired fluidic conductance of the corresponding island unit. Since this particular parameter is recognized as a result-effective variable (i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result), the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable can be characterized as routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the width of the main channel of second block B and third block C wherein a width WB2 of the block B and a width WC2 each is between 1 micrometer and 10 millimeters.
Regarding claim 35, Kapur teaches an angled/tapers shape to island 110. In provided Figure 1 below, a bolded horizontal line shows assists in showing the angled created by tapered island 110 within the channel with the channel walls. The leftmost angled line illustrates the angle of the expanded well created by the taper. The angle that corresponds to θB2 of the block B is to the right of the angled line extending down to the horizontal line. While no specific angle is stated, it is clear in the depiction that the around 135 degrees. The rightmost angled line illustrates the angle of the confluence junction. The angle corresponds to angle θC2 of the block C is to the right of the angled line extending down to the horizontal line. While no specific angle is stated, it is clear in the depiction that the around 135 degrees (and an angle θB2 of the block B and an angle θC2 of the block C each is between 120 degrees and 170 degrees).
Kapur is silent to wherein a width WB2 of the block B and a width WC2 of the block C each is between 40 micrometers and 100 millimeters.
Kapur teaches design parameters, including width of the channels, heavily influences the particle and fluid shifting region (par. 0121). Kapur teaches the width of the of the bypass channel 106 (corresponding to 1605 of figure 16) is selected based on the desired fluidic conductance of the corresponding island unit (par. 0131). Similarly to the bypass channel, the main channel 108 (corresponding to 1607 of Figure 16) has a width that is selected based on the desired fluidic conductance of the corresponding island unit. Since this particular parameter is recognized as a result-effective variable (i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result), the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable can be characterized as routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the width of the main channel of second block B and third block C wherein a width WB2 of the block B and a width WC2 of the block C each is between 40 micrometers and 100 millimeters.
Conclusion
/M.T.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/SAMUEL P SIEFKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758