DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida (EP3913701A1, see US National Stage Entry, US20220115756, for citations) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on October 27th 2023) in view of Jang (US20230299413).
Regarding Claim 1, Yoshida discloses a secondary battery ([0017]) comprising:
A cylindrical case ([0015]);
An electrode assembly in the cylindrical case ([0015]); and
A cap plate electrically connected to the electrode assembly and sealing the cylindrical case (sealing assembly-17, [0015]), the cap plate having a first flat portion at a center of the cap plate (vent part-30 acts as first flat portion, [0026]), a second flat portion outside the first flat portion (annular part-31 acts as second flat portion, [0026]) and a vent portion extending between and connecting the first flat portion and the second flat portion (thin part-34 acts as vent portion, [0026], it is the examiner’s position that since the thin part-24 is configured to fracture to release pressure, [0027], that the thin part functions as a vent part that fractures to release pressure build up), the vent portion having a thickness smaller than a thickness of the first flat portion or a thickness of the second flat portion (thin part-24 has a smaller thickness than vent part-30 and annular part-31, [0026]).
Yoshida does not directly disclose wherein a notch in the vent portion and spaced apart from where the vent portion contacts each of the first flat portion and the second flat portion such that a part of the vent portion is between the notch and each of the first flat portion and the second flat portion.
Jang discloses a cap plate that forms a venting structure (cap assembly comprises a safety vent, [0013]). Jang further discloses a first flat portion and a second flat portion and a vent portion (safety vent-42 acts as vent portion, in between the first flat portion and second flat portion, where flat portion in center is first flat portion and flat portion on the periphery acts as the second flat portion, Fig. 1, [0064]). Jang further discloses wherein a notch in the vent portion and spaced apart from where the vent portion contacts each of the first flat portion and the second flat portion such that a part of the vent portion is between the notch and each of the first flat portion and the second flat portion (notches are placed on either side of safety vent-42, Fig. 1, [0017]). Jang teaches that this structure provides improved vibration resistance ([002]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Yoshida with the teachings of Jang to have wherein a notch in the vent portion and spaced apart from where the vent portion contacts each of the first flat portion and the second flat portion such that a part of the vent portion is between the notch and each of the first flat portion and the second flat portion. This modification would yield the expected result of improved vibration resistance.
Regarding Claim 2, Yoshida in view of Jang discloses the limitations as set forth above. Yoshida does not directly disclose wherein the first flat portion is in a range of 0.7 mm to 0.9 mm.
Yoshida discloses wherein the metal plate that forms the first flat portion can range in thickness from 0.3 mm to 2 mm thick ([0029]), which overlaps the instant claim range of 0.7 mm to 0.9 mm.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Yoshida to have wherein the first flat portion is in a range of 0.7 mm to 0.9 mm.
Regarding Claim 3, Yoshida in view of Jang discloses the limitations as set forth above. Yoshida further discloses wherein an upper surface of the second flat portion is above an upper surface of the first flat portion in the height direction (Fig. 4(a) shows that annular part-31 is positioned above in the height direction than the entire vent part-30, [0029]).
Regarding Claim 4, Yoshida in view of Jang discloses the limitations as set forth above. Yoshida does not directly disclose wherein a height difference between the upper surface of the first flat portion and the upper surface of the second flat portion is in a range of 0.1 mm to 0.4mm.
Yoshida discloses wherein the thicknesses of the vent part-30 and the annular part-21 may be the same or may be different ([0029]). Yoshida further discloses wherein the metal plate that forms the first flat portion and second flat portion can range in thickness from 0.3 mm to 2 mm thick ([0029]).
The examiner notes that the height difference between the upper surface of the first flat portion and the upper surface of the second flat portion are directly related to the thickness of the first flat portion and second flat portion.
Therefore, since the thickness of the metal plate that forms the first and second flat portion can range from 0.3 to 2 mm, which overlaps the instant claim range of 0.1 mm to 0.4 mm, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Yoshida to have wherein a height difference between the upper surface of the first flat portion and the upper surface of the second flat portion is in a range of 0.1 mm to 0.4mm.
Regarding Claim 5, Yoshida in view of Jang discloses the limitations as set forth above. Yoshida further discloses wherein the upper surface of the first flat portion is exposed to the outside (Fig. 1, shows upper surface of the first flat portion is exposed to outside).
Regarding Claim 6, Yoshida in view of Jang discloses the limitations as set forth above. Yoshida further discloses an electrode tab electrically connecting the electrode assembly to a lower surface or the first flat portion (electrode lead-20/21, [0018], [0023], Fig. 1)
Regarding Claim 7, Yoshida in view of Jang discloses the limitations as set forth above. Yoshida further discloses wherein the vent portion has a notch in a lower surface thereof (Fig. 4(a) shows that thin part-34 has a notch in a lower surface).
Regarding Claim 8, Yoshida in view of Jang discloses the limitations as set forth above. Yoshida further discloses wherein the vent portion is inclined from the first flat portion to the second flat portion (Fig. 4(a) shows thin part-34 is inclined).
Regarding Claim 9, Yoshida in view of Jang discloses the limitations as set forth above. Yoshida further discloses an insulating gasket between the second flat portion and the cylindrical case (gasket-44, Fig. 1, [0016]).
Regarding Claim 11, Yoshida in view of Jang discloses the limitations as set forth above. Yoshida further discloses wherein the notch is spaced apart from the first flat portion and the second flat portion ((Fig. 4(a) shows that thin part-34 has a notch in a lower surface, where notch is spaced part from first and second portions)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, see Claims, filed March 16th, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yoshida in view of Jang under 35 USC 103.
Conclusion
/ANKITH R SRIPATHI/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728