DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-130 have been cancelled. Claims 131-170 are newly added. Claims 131-170 are pending and are examined herein on the merits for patentability.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered. Any rejection not reiterated herein has been withdrawn as being overcome by claim cancellation. New grounds of rejection are set forth herein, necessitated by claim amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 137 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The claim recites wherein the composition is essentially free from other imaging and/or contrast agents. However, such a limitation is already recited in independent claim 131. Accordingly, the claim fails to futher limit the subject matter from which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 131-150 and 153-170 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalifa et al (US 2015/0328315) in view of Alvares et al. (Mag. Res. Med., 2017, 77, p. 1553–1561).
The instant claims are directed to a method for obtaining magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) images of a target tissue within a subject, the method comprising: (a) administering to a subject a composition comprising multi-armed polyethylene glycol (PEG) nanoconstructs, wherein the composition is essentially free from other MRI imaging and/or contrast agents; (b) after a period of time sufficient for nanoconstructs of the composition to accumulate in a target tissue if one is present in the subject, exposing the subject to an MRI imaging protocol; and (c) detecting nanoconstruct signals, in response to the MRI imaging protocol, to obtain MRI images, wherein the MRI images comprise a graphical representation of the target tissue within the subject, wherein the nanoconstruct signals comprise multi-armed PEG signals, and wherein the multi-armed PEG signals comprise PEG proton signals. In claims 169 step b includes exposing the subject to an MRI imaging protocol, wherein the MRI imaging protocol comprises parameters to generate a diffusion b value greater than 108 s/m2. Claim 170 further includes step (d), applying a filtering protocol to sufficiently suppress signals from water and/or fat within the subject, produced in response to the MRI imaging protocol, as compared to the nanoconstruct signals to selectively detect the nanoconstruct signals.
Kalifa teaches treating (e.g., ablating) cardiac tissue, comprising: a) contacting an animal with a nanoparticle comprising a matrix, a toxic (e.g., ablative) agent (e.g., sonosensitizer, chemotherapeutic agent (e.g., doxorubicin or cisplatin), or photosensitizer), and a cardiac targeting moiety; and b) administering an activator of the toxic agent (e.g., light, chemical (e.g., pharmaceutical agent) or ultrasound) to at least a portion of the cardiac tissue (e.g., heart) of the animal to activate the toxic agent. In some embodiments, administering the activator kills (e.g., ablates) cardiac tissue only where activator is administered and only to targeted cells. In some embodiments, the cardiac targeting moiety is a cardiac targeting peptide (e.g., SEQ ID NO:1). In some embodiments, the photosensitizer is methylene blue, Photofrin, 2-devinyl-2-(1-hexyloxyethyl)pyropheophorbide (HPPH), chlorin e6 (Ce6), coomassie blue, or gold. In some embodiments, the contacting is via intravenous administration. In some embodiments, the cardiac targeting moiety specifically targets cardiac myocytes. In some embodiments, the nanoparticle is a PEG molecule (e.g., 8-arm PEG). In some embodiments, the nanoparticle is approximately 10 nm or less in size (paragraph 0008).
In some embodiments, the method further comprises the step of imaging the nanoparticles in the animal. In some embodiments, the imaging is performed after the administering of activator and optionally determines a treatment course of action (e.g., further administering of activator, location of treatment and/or nanoparticles). In some embodiments, the nanoparticles further comprise an imaging contrast agent (e.g., gold, iron oxide, iodine, etc.) or are designed to have imagable properties themselves. In some embodiments, the method further comprises the step of visualizing the imaging agent in the animal (e.g., via X-ray imaging, PET, photacoustic imaging, ultrasound, computer tomography (CT) imaging, or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI)). (paragraph 0010, claim 17).
In Example 3, CTP-Ce6-8-arm PEG was prepared. Adult male rats were sedated and a tail vein injection with -CTP-Ce6/Rh-8-arm PEG. 10 kDa PEG is taught (paragraph 0126).
Sonodynamic therapy is based on the synergistic effect of ultrasound and a chemical compound referred to as “sonosensitizer”. The effect can be localized by focusing the ultrasound on a defined region (e.g., regions of cardiac tissue). In some embodiments, ultrasound is delivered transdermally to a specific region of cardiac tissue. In some embodiments, activators are pharmaceutical agents that activate therapeutic agents (e.g., chemotherapeutic agents). For example, in some embodiments, verapamil is used to active or improve efficacy of chemotherapeutic agents (e.g., doxorubicin) (paragraph 0071-2).
Kalifa does not specifically exemplify perform nuclear magnetic resonance image of the multi-armed PEG in the plurality of nanoconstructs.
Alvares teaches that 1H MRI is an established diagnostic method that generally relies on detection of water. Imaging specific macro-molecules is normally accomplished only indirectly through the use of paramagnetic tags, which alter the water signal in their vicinity. We demonstrate a new approach in which macromolecular constituents, such as proteins and drug delivery systems, are observed directly and quantitatively in vivo using 1 HMRI of 13C-labeled poly(ethylene glycol) (13 C-PEG) tags. Methods: Molecular imaging of 13 C-PEG-labeled species was accomplished by incorporating a modified heteronuclear multiple quantum coherence filter into a gradient echo imaging sequence. We demonstrate the approach by monitoring the real-time distribution of 13 C-PEG and 13 C-PEGylated albumin injected into the hind leg of a mouse. Results: Filtering the 1 H PEG signal through the directly coupled 13 C nuclei largely eliminates background water and fat signals, thus enabling the imaging of molecules using 1 HMRI. In conclusion, PEGylation is widely employed to enhance the performance of a multitude of macromolecular therapeutics and drug delivery systems, and 13 C-filtered 1H MRI of 13C-PEG thus offers the possibility of imaging and quantitating their distribution in living systems in real time (page 1553).
Anatomical images were acquired with a standard fast spin echo (RARE) sequence (5 s TR, 14 ms TE,RARE factor of 8, 256 acquisition matrix) (page 1555).
In vivo imaging is taught on page 1555. A healthy 30 g adult male BALB/cJ mouse (The Jackson Laboratory, Bar Harbor, ME) was anesthetized and prepared, as previously described. The lower thigh of the left hind limb was injected intramuscularly with the 13C-PEG-BSA conjugate (2.4 mM; 50 µL; 122 nmol; 4.1 nmol/g of mouse; saline). Filtered, blanking, and anatomical images were acquired under similar conditions to the in vivo injection of the polymer. After a second injection of the conjugate, the concentration was quantified using a 5-mm NMR tube of 13C-PEG in 30% poly(acrylamide) gel as an external concentration standard.
Diffusion NMR results, obtained as noted in the NMR Methods sub-section, indicated a conjugate diffusion coefficient of
2.62
×
1
0
-
11
m2/s (Figure S3). Assuming that 13C PEG-BSA tumbles isotropically, using the Stokes-Einstein equation,(5) this translates to a hydrodynamic diameter of 15.2 nm which is roughly 2 fold larger than observed for BSA (7.8 nm).
Diffusion NMR results, obtained as noted in the NMR Methods sub-section, indicated a conjugate diffusion coefficient of
2.62
×
1
0
-
11
m2/s (Figure S3). Assuming that 13C PEG-BSA tumbles isotropically, using the Stokes-Einstein equation,(5) this translates to a hydrodynamic diameter of 15.2 nm which is roughly 2 fold larger than observed for BSA (7.8 nm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to perform MRI imaging after administering CTP-Ce6-8-arm PEG nanoparticles to an animal. One would have been motivated to do so because Kalifa teaches that the nanoparticles may be designed to carry an imaging agent or may have imagable properties themselves, and the method further comprises the step of visualizing the imaging agent in the animal, including via MRI. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success in doing so because Alvares teaches that macromolecular constituents, such as proteins and drug delivery systems, are observed directly and quantitatively in vivo using 1H MRI of 13C-labeled poly(ethylene glycol) (13C-PEG) tags.
Regarding claim 135, while Kalifa does not specifically recite the number of protons, however the 8-arm PEG comprises the same molecular weight and nanoparticle size as required by the instant claims, see claims 132-134. Accordingly, the 8-arm PEG would necessarily be capable of carrying the same number of protons.
Regarding claim 138, Alvares teaches MRI or PEG or PEG-protein conjugate. One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted a multiarm PEG as taught by Alvares as functionally equivalent. Regarding claim 136 directed to lifetime of activity and 139 directed to T2, a composition and its properties are inseparable. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure or composition as that which is claimed, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The “discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” See Atlas Power Co. v. Ireco Inc., 51 USPQ 2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Therefore, merely claiming a new use, new function, or new property, which is inherently present in the prior art does not make the claim patentable. See In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), and MPEP § 2112.
Claim(s) 131-170 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalifa et al (US 2015/0328315) in view of Alvares et al. (Mag. Res. Med., 2017, 77, p. 1553–1561), in further view of Bradbury et al. (US 2014/0248210).
The rejection over Kalifa in view of Alvares is applied as above.
With regard to claims 151 and 152, Kalifa and Alvares do not teach RGD as a targeting ligand.
Bradbury teaches silica-based nanoparticle that allows for precise detection, characterization, monitoring and treatment of a disease such as cancer…To facilitate efficient urinary excretion of the nanoparticle, it may be coated with an organic polymer, such as poly(ethylene glycol) (PEG). The small size of the nanoparticle, the silica base and the organic polymer coating minimizes the toxicity of the nanoparticle when administered in vivo. In order to target a specific cell type, the nanoparticle may further be conjugated to a ligand, which is capable of binding to a cellular component associated with the specific cell type, such as a tumor marker.
The ligand may be capable of binding to at least one cellular component, such as a tumor marker. The number of ligands attached to the nanoparticle may also range from about 1 to about 30, from about 1 to about 25, or from about 1 to about 10. Examples of the ligand include peptide, protein, biopolymer, synthetic polymer, antigen, antibody, microorganism, virus, receptor, hapten, enzyme, hormone, chemical compound, pathogen, toxin, surface modifier, or combinations thereof. Peptides such as tripeptide RGD, cyclic peptide cRGD, cyclic peptide cRGDYC, octreotate, EPPT1 and peptide analogs of alpha-MSH are encompassed by the present invention. Any linear, cyclic or branched peptide containing the RGD or alpha-MSH sequence is within the scope of the present invention (paragraph 0013).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide RGD as a targeting ligand in the methods for MR imaging PEG nanoparticles taught by Kalifa in view of Alvares when the teachings of Kalifa and Alvares are taken in view of Bradbury. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Kalifa teaches that the nanoparticles may contain a targeting ligand, and Bradbury teaches RGD to be a suitable targeting ligand for conjugation to a PEG containing nanoparticle for characterization, monitoring and treatment of a disease such as cancer.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed at this time.
/LHS/
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618