DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's arguments filed 4/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claims 8-19, 21-24, 34-37, and 41-47 have been cancelled.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-7, 20, 25, and 30-32, in the reply filed on 10/10/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 26-29, 33, and 38-40 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/10/2025.
Specification
The substitute specification submitted 4/21/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 20, 25, and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0024627).
Wang et al. discloses monoclonal antibodies that specifically bind to IL-1β antigen. The antibodies can be of the subtype IgG1, IgG2, IgG3 or IgG4. Pharmaceutical compositions are disclosed. See at least abstract, sequence listing, and claims 50-64. Claim 50 discloses VH CDRs and VL CDRs. Claim 62 discloses VH and VL sequences having the recited CDRs. Bispecific and multispecific antibodies are disclosed. Hetero-conjugates are disclosed. See at least paragraph [0036].
Claim 1 recites “a VH comprising a VH CDR1, a VH CDR2, and a VH CDR3 comprising an amino acid sequence of a VH CDR1, a VH CDR2, and a VH CDR3, respectively, of a VH having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID … and (ii) a VL comprising a VL CDR1, a VL CDR2, and a VL CDR3 comprising an amino acid sequence of a VL CDR1, a VL CDR2, and a VL CDR3, respectively, of a VL having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID…” (underlining added).
Claim 6 depends upon claim 1 and still recites “a VH having an amino acid sequence…and a VL having an amino acid sequence.” This is in contrast with the language in clam 1 as amended.
That is, the claimed antibodies are still not required to have any particular CDR sequences as long as the VH and VL and the CDRs of the prior art have amino acids in common with the sequences recited in the instant claims. The antibody of Wang et al. meets these limitations as illustrated by the sequence alignments below.
The recitation of “an amino acid sequence” as in instant claims 1 and 6 encompasses common subsequences, including single amino acids. Claims 1 and 6 (and dependent claims 7, 20, 25, and 31-32) as written are not required to contain the complete CDRs present in the recited sequences.
Instant claim 4 is directed to an antibody that binds IL-1β comprising a VH comprising CDRS having “an amino acid sequence” of each VH CDR sequence recited and a VL comprising CDRS having “an amino acid sequence” of each VL CDR sequence recited for parts (1)-(15). That is, the claimed antibody is not required to have the entirety of the particular CDR sequences as long as the CDRs of the prior art have amino acids in common the CDR sequences recited in the instant claims. The antibody of Wang et al. meets these limitations as illustrated by the sequence alignments below. The recitation of “an amino acid sequence” as in instant claim 4 encompasses common subsequences, including single amino acids.
SEQ ID NOS: 7/8 correspond to antibody 05H21A (see at least part (1) of claims 1-2 and 6). SEQ ID NOS: 9/10 correspond to antibody 15N14A (see at least part (2) of claims 1-2 and 6). SEQ ID NOS: 11/12 correspond to antibody 08F17A (see at least part (3) of claims 1-2 and 6). See at least Table 4. See at least Tables 5-9 for the CDRS according to Kabat (see at least claim 4, parts (1)-(3)), Chothia, (see at least claim 4, parts (4)-(6)), AbM (see at least claim 4, parts (7)-(9)), Contact (see at least claim 4, parts (10)-(12), and IGMT (see at least claim 4, parts (13)-(15).
Alignment of SEQ ID NO: 18 of PGPUB 2021/0024627 (Qy, with CDRs of SEQ ID NOS: 26, 27, and 28 underlined) and instant SEQ ID NO: 7 (Db, with Kabat CDRs of instant SEQ ID NOS: 13, 14, and 15 underlined):
Qy 1 QVQLQQWGAGLLKPSETLSLTCAVYGGSF--SDYYWSWIRQPPGKGLEWIGEIDHSGSTN 58
|| |:: | |:||::||:||| | | | : ||||||||| |||: ||
Db 1 QVTLRESGPALVKPTQTLTLTCTFSGFSLSTSGMWVSWIRQPPGKALEWLALIDWGDDKY 60
Qy 59 YNPSLKSRVTISVDTSKNQFSLKLSSVTAADTAVYYCARASPSSGWTLDYWGQGTL 114
| |||:|:||| |||||| | :::: ||| ||||| | | |||||:
Db 61 YTTSLKTRLTISKDTSKNQVVLTMTNMDPVDTATYYCARMREGSR-AFDIWGQGTV 115
Alignment of SEQ ID NO: 17 of PGPUB 2021/0024627 (Qy, with CDRs of SEQ ID NOS: 29, 30, and 9 underlined) and instant SEQ ID NO: 8 (Db, with Kabat CDRs of instant SEQ ID NOS: 16, 17, and 18 underlined):
Qy 1 QSVLTQPPSVSVSPGQTASITCSG--DKLGDKFAFWYQQKPGQSPVLVIYLDNKRPSGIP 58
||||||||||| :| | :|:||| :|| |||| ||::| |:|| |: ||:
Db 1 QSVLTQPPSVSEAPRQRVTISCSGSSSNIGDNAVNWYQQLPGKAPKLLIYNDDLLSSGVS 60
Qy 59 ERFSGSNSGNTATLTISGTQALDEADYYCYAWADTYE--VFGGGTK 102
:||||| || :|:| ||| |: ||||||| || |: |||||||
Db 61 DRFSGSKSGTSASLAISGLQSEDEADYYCAAWDDSLNGPVFGGGTK 106
Alignment of SEQ ID NO: 18 of PGPUB 2021/0024627 (Qy, with CDRs of SEQ ID NOS: 26, 27, and 28 underlined) and instant SEQ ID NO: 9 (Db, with Kabat CDRs of instant SEQ ID NOS: 19, 20, and 21 underlined):
Qy 1 QVQLQQWGAGLLKPSETLSLTCAVYGGSFSDYYWSWIRQPPGKGLEWIGEIDHSGSTNYN 60
|||||: | ||:|||||||||| | ||| | |||:||||| |||||||| || |||: ||
Db 1 QVQLQESGPGLVKPSETLSLTCTVSGGSISSYYWTWIRQPAGKGLEWIGRIDSSGSSKYN 60
Qy 61 PSLKSRVTISVDTSKNQFSLKLSSVTAADTAVYYCARASPSSGWTLDYWGQGTL 114
|:||||||:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||| | ||||||||
Db 61 PTLKSRVTMSVDTSKNQFSLKLSSVTAADTAVYYCARGDSGYDWAFDYWGQGTL 114
Alignment of SEQ ID NO: 17 of PGPUB 2021/0024627 (Qy, with CDRs of SEQ ID NOS: 29, 30, and 9 underlined) and instant SEQ ID NOS: 10 (Db, with Kabat CDRs of instant SEQ ID NOS: 22, 23, and 24 underlined):
Qy 1 QSVLTQPPSVSVSPGQTASITC---SGDKLGDKFAFWYQQKPGQSP-VLVIY---LDNKR 53
|:||||| |:| ||| :||:|| || :| :||||||| | |: | | ::
Db 1 QAVLTQPSSLSASPGASASLTCTLRSGINVGTYRIYWYQQKPGSPPQYLLSYKSDSDKQQ 60
Qy 54 PSGIPERFSGSN--SGNTATLTISGTQALDEADYYCYAWADTYEVFGGGTK 102
||:| ||||| | | | ||| |: ||||||| | : |||||||
Db 61 GSGVPSRFSGSKDASANVGILLISGLQSEDEADYYCMIWHSSAWVFGGGTK 111
Alignment of SEQ ID NO: 18 of PGPUB 2021/0024627 (Qy, with CDRs of SEQ ID NOS: 26, 27, and 28 underlined) and instant SEQ ID NO: 11 (Db, with Kabat CDRs of instant SEQ ID NOS: 25, 26, and 27 underlined):
Qy 1 QVQLQQWGAGLLKPSETLSLTCAVYGGSFSDYYWSWIRQPPGKGLEWIGEI-DHSGSTNY 59
:||| : | ||: | :| |:|| | :|| | :|:|| |||||||: | || |
Db 1 EVQLVESGGGLVTPGGSLRLSCAASGFTFSGYSMNWVRQAPGKGLEWVSSISSSSGYIYY 60
Qy 60 NPSLKSRVTISVDTSKNQFSLKLSSVTAADTAVYYCARASPSSGWTLDYWGQGTL 114
|:| | ||| | :|| |:::|: | ||||||||| ||: ||||||||
Db 61 ADSVKGRFTISRDNAKNSLYLQMNSLRAEDTAVYYCAREYWGSGF--DYWGQGTL 113
Alignment of SEQ ID NO: 17 of PGPUB 2021/0024627 (Qy, with CDRs of SEQ ID NOS: 29, 30, and 9 underlined) and instant SEQ ID NO: 12 (Db, with Kabat CDRs of instant SEQ ID NOS: 28, 29, and 30 underlined):
Qy 4 LTQ-PPSVSVSPGQTASITCSGDKLGDKFAFWYQQKPGQSPVLVIYLDNKRPSGIPERFS 62
:|| | |:| | | :||| : : |||||||: | |:| : ||:| |||
Db 4 MTQSPSSLSASVGDRVTITCRASQGISYYLAWYQQKPGKVPKLLISAEFTLQSGVPSRFS 63
Qy 63 GSNSGNTATLTISGTQALDEADYYCYAWADTYEVFGGGTK 102
|| || ||||| | | | ||| : || |||
Db 64 GSGSGTDFTLTISSLQPEDVATYYCQKYNTAPRTFGQGTK 103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 20, 25, and 30-32 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a written description rejection.
The specification discloses the VH and VL for three distinct antibodies against IL-1β.
SEQ ID NOS: 7/8 correspond to antibody 05H21A (see at least part (1) of claims 1-2 and 6). SEQ ID NOS: 9/10 correspond to antibody 15N14A (see at least part (2) of claims 1-2 and 6). SEQ ID NOS: 11/12 correspond to antibody 08F17A (see at least part (3) of claims 1-2 and 6). See at least Table 4. See at least Tables 5-9 for the CDRS according to Kabat (see at least claim 4, parts (1)-(3)), Chothia, (see at least claim 4, parts (4)-(6)), AbM (see at least claim 4, parts (7)-(9)), Contact (see at least claim 4, parts (10)-(12), and IGMT (see at least claim 4, parts (13)-(15). Antibodies against IL-1β having the full set of Kabat CDRs, the full set of Chothia, CDRs, the full set of AbM CDRs, the full set of Contact CDRs, and the full set of IGMT CDRs for each of antibodies 05H21A, 15N14A, and 08F17A are also considered to be adequately described.
However, the claims embrace antibodies with significantly different structures in view of the “an amino acid sequence” language as discussed above as encompassing common subsequences, including single amino acids. That is, the claims encompass antibodies having limited structural similarity to the 05H21A, 15N14A, and 08F17A antibodies. No reasonable structure-function correlation has been established that is commensurate in scopewith the claims. The specification does not describe representative examples to support the fullscope of the claims. Changes in any or all of the six CDR sequences required for antigen binding (permitted by the current claim language) would have been known to result in unpredictable binding properties. Note that claims 1-2 and 4 do not require any particular framework region sequences which also contributes to providing the requisite three-dimensional structure in combination with the CDRs to achieve antigen binding. For example, claim 5 as written permits adding multiple VH framework 1 regions to any antibody. Claim 5 permits adding VH framework regions to the VL of claim 1 and vice versa. Claim 5 permits adding framework regions from one antibody to a VH or VL of a structurally different antibody (e.g. a framework region from SEQ ID NO: 7 (claim 1, part (1)) to the antibody of claim 1, part (2)). This structural variability has not been disclosed as resulting in antigen binding.
The scope of the claims is not adequately described.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 remains confusing in reciting the antibody “further comprises framework 1, framework 2, framework 3, and/or framework 4 regions” as set forth in SEQ ID NOS: 8-11 or SEQ ID NO: 12. These SEQ ID NOS. do not correspond to framework regions. At least for example, SEQ ID NO: 7 is the VH sequence of the 05H21A antibody and SEQ ID NO: 10 is the VL sequence of the 15N14A antibody. For example, this is confusing as it permits adding framework regions from one antibody to a VH or VL of a structurally different antibody (e.g. a framework region from SEQ ID NO: 7 (claim 1, part (1)) to the antibody of claim 1, part (2)). This does not appear to correspond to the structures that applicant intended to claim. Note that the framework regions in the VH of SEQ ID NOS: 7, 9, and 11 vary greatly and the framework regions in the VL of SEQ ID NOS: 8, 10, and 12 vary greatly. Clarification is requested.
SEQ ID NOS: 7-12 are free of the prior art. The prior art does not disclose anti-IL1-β antibodies having these sequences.
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Marianne P Allen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1647
mpa