DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-16 and 22-28 in the reply filed on 22 October 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-21 and 29-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 22 October 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 16 and 22-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumagai et al. (EP 4 429 357 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 2020/0344813 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kumagai discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a wireless device, comprising:
memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to (Fig. 13, [0139]-[0149]):
receive, from a first network node via a first frequency band, a first indication of a set of configuration parameters for a synchronization session for a second frequency band (Fig. 6, [0071] disclosing the user equipment (UE) receives SIB in DL BWP#0 which configures different UL BWP#0* and different DL BWP #0*; [0083]-[0084] and [0087] disclosing a synchronization signalling block (SSB) configured for Fig. 6 (.e., DL BWP#0*) by SIB1);
receive, via the second frequency band and based on the first indication, a set of reference signals associated with the synchronization session ([0072] disclosing the UE can receive the SSB in DL BWP#0*; [0083]-[0084] disclosing the SSB of Fig 6 can be a Non-Cell Defining SSB used for measurements); and
transmit, to the first network node via the first frequency band, a second indication of at least one of a synchronization state or a beam management report associated with the synchronization session for the second frequency band ([0072] disclosing the UE receiving SSB for random access and receiving random access signals in DL BWP#0* and transmitting random access signals in UL BWP#0*; [0007], [0084], [0128] disclosing the received SSB can be used for time and frequency tracking and synchronization and RO (RACH occasion) selection (i.e., synchronization to SSB and transmission of a random access attempt in an occasion selected based on the received SSB seen as an indication of a synchronization state).
Kumagai does not disclose the following; however, Li discloses signals such as those taught by Kumagai can be transmitted via and received, from a second network node (Fig. 5 140, [0042], [0072]-[0074] disclosing to assist with initial access, a repeater or a wireless transmit receive point (TRP) acting as a distributed unit (e.g., of a 5G access node) that communicates wirelessly with a base station 110 acting as a central unit or an access node controller (e.g., of the 5G access node) may be employed to repeat or transmit system information, remaining system information (RMSI), SSBs and the like to the UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Kumagai with the techniques of Li because the repeater can be used to increase the coverage of the base station to UEs without line of sight to the base station or for which reception from the base station may be blocked by obstructions ([0071]).
Regarding claim 2, Kumagai disclosed the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the set of configuration parameters comprise one or more of a third indication of a sequence associated with reference signals in the set of reference signals associated with the synchronization session, a fourth indication of frequency associated with the reference signals in the set of reference signals (Fig. 6, SSB and DL BWP#0* [0071]-[0072]), a fifth indication of a set of transmission resources associated with the reference signals in the set of reference signals (Fig. 6, UL BWP#0*, [0071]-[0072]), or a sixth indication of a set of reception resources associated with the reference signals in the set of reference signals (Fig. 6, DL BWP#0*, [0071]-[0072]).
Regarding claim 3, Kumagai appears to disclose the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the set of transmission resources and the set of reception resources comprise a set of beams ([0084] disclosing beam failure detection; [0085], [0087] disclosing the SSB as a QCL source spatially (i.e., a beam) associated with an UL channel or signal), the set of transmission resources are based on at least one transmission resource associated with the first frequency band (Fig. 6, [0071]-[0072], [0022], [0033]), and the set of reception resources are based on at least one reception resource associated with the first frequency band (Fig. 6, [0071]-[0072], [0022], [0033]).
Regarding claim 4, Kumagai suggests the apparatus of claim 3, wherein at least one of the set of transmission resources or the set of reception resources are indicated via one of a set of indexes, identifiers, or a set of angular values indicating one of a corresponding directionality or orientation ([0071] configured by SIB).
Regarding claim 5, Kumagai discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the set of reference signals comprises a modified synchronization signal block (SSB) configured for the synchronization session with the wireless device based on the set of configuration parameters, and wherein the modified SSB utilizes fewer resources than an unmodified SSB on the first frequency band ([0083]).
Regarding claim 16, Kumagai discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive, from the first network node via the first frequency band and (Fig. 8, [0079]) an additional set of configuration parameters for a communication session associated with the synchronization session; and communicate with the second network node based on the additional set of configuration parameters for the communication session ([0169] radio resource configuration (RRC) connection setup messages, Fig. 6 and Fig. 8 connected mode).
Kumagai does not expressly disclose the following; however, Li discloses and based on the second indication ([0074] disclosing based in the RACH messages and RACH responses, the UE and base station establish a connection using a RRC configuration procedure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Kumagai with the techniques of Li because the repeater can be used to increase the coverage of the base station to UEs without line of sight to the base station or for which reception from the base station may be blocked by obstructions ([0071]).
Regarding claims 22-25, the claims are directed towards the method performed by the apparatus of claims 1-3 and 5; accordingly, claims 22-25 are rejected on the grounds presented above for claims 1-3 and 5.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumagai et al. (EP 4 429 357 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 2020/0344813 A1) further in view of Lin et al. (US 2018/0279377 A1) in view of Kubota et al. (US 2016/0234736 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Kumagai discloses the apparatus of claim 1, where in the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive the first indication in a system information block (SIB) (Fig. 6, [0071] disclosing the user equipment (UE) receives SIB in DL BWP#0 which configures different UL BWP#0* and different DL BWP #0*; [0083]-[0084] and [0087] disclosing a synchronization signalling block (SSB) configured for Fig. 6 (.e., DL BWP#0*) by SIB1), wherein the synchronization session synchronizes the wireless device with at least the second network node for the communication session ([0084] disclosing the received SSB can be used for time and frequency tracking (i.e., synchronization; see [0007])).
Kumagai does not disclose the following; however, Lin in view of Kubota suggests receive or transmit, before receiving the first indication, a request for a communication session via the second frequency band ([0055] disclosing during random access the user equipment sends a request for random access which requests transmission of a SIB on-demand; Kubota: [0150] and preceding table disclosing SIB1 can be requested by the UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the techniques of Kumagai as suggested by Lin and Kubota because the teaching lies in Kubota that such techniques can conserve power ([0099]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumagai et al. (EP 4 429 357 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 2020/0344813 A1) further in view of Xia et al. (US 2018/0368009 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Kumagai discloses he apparatus of claim 1, wherein the synchronization session is a first synchronization session associated with a communication session (Fig. 6, [0071]-[0072]; [0083]-[0084]; [0128]-[0129]). Kumagai does not expressly disclose the following; however, Xia discloses and the at least one processor is further configured to:
determine a radio link failure has occurred based on at least one of a threshold time elapsing during the communication session, the second indication indicating a failed synchronization state, or a measure of communication quality falling below a threshold value ([0113], [0115]);
and in response to said radio link failure, perform an initial access procedure ([0116]), (e.g., Fig. 6 of Kumagai). In other words, repeat the process of claim 1. Accordingly, the following features are considered obvious over Kumagai and Li as outlined above with respect to claim 1:
receive, from the first network node via the first frequency band, a third indication of a second set of configuration parameters for a second synchronization session for the second frequency band;
receive, from the second network node via the second frequency band, a second set of reference signals associated with the second synchronization session; and
transmit, to the first network node via the first frequency band, a fourth indication of at least one of a second synchronization state or a second beam management report associated with the second synchronization session for the second frequency band.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the techniques of Kumagai with the invention of Xia because it provides flexible trigger conditions which can lead to more efficient recovery of communications ([0113], [0115]).
Claim(s) 8-10 and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumagai et al. (EP 4 429 357 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 2020/0344813 A1) further in view of Li et al. (US 2025/0142505 A1), hereafter Li2.
Regarding claim 8, Kumagai discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first indication indicates a time associated with a first reference signal in the set of reference signals, wherein the time associated with the first reference signal is indicated based on a first value associated with a first unit of time associated with communication via the first frequency band and a second value associated with a second unit of time associated with communication via the second frequency band, wherein the first unit of time is larger than the second unit of time ([0087] disclosing periodicities of CD-SSB and NCD-SSB specified by ssb-PositionsInBurst information element of SIB1; [0090] disclosing NCD-SSB with longer periodicity that CD-SSB; [0116] NCD-SSB periodicity is a subset of CD-SSB periodicity), and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
Kumagai does not expressly disclose the following; however, Li2 suggest determine a timing offset between a first time at which the first reference signal is transmitted from the second network node and a second time at which the first reference signal is received at the wireless device based on the first value and the second value and use the timing offset to synchronize the wireless device and the second network node in association with a subsequent communication session corresponding to the synchronization session ([0008], disclosing a time offset caused by propagation delay; Fig. 1B, [0124]-[0125] disclosing SSB measurement time configuration (SMTC) based on the periodicities of the transmitted SSB; Fig. 2, [0138] disclosing applying a time offset related to SSB measurement time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the techniques of Kumagai with the disclosure in Li2 because the teaching lies in Li2 that this can overcome changes in propagation delays caused by a moving relay or base station that cause part of the SSB to be missed ([0008]).
Regarding claim 9, Kumagai does not disclose the following; however, Li2 suggests the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the first indication further indicates an estimated maximum for an absolute value of the timing offset that is added before a beginning and after an end of a first monitoring time, wherein the first monitoring time begins at a time based on the first time at which the first reference signal is transmitted from the second network node and spans a time configured for a transmission of a plurality of reference signals in the set of reference signals (Fig. 5C and 5D, [0222]-[0224]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the techniques of Kumagai with the disclosure in Li2 because the teaching lies in Li2 that this can overcome changes in propagation delays caused by a moving relay or base station that cause part of the SSB to be missed ([0008]).
Regarding claim 10, Kumagai does not disclose the following; however, Li discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the plurality of reference signals in the set of reference signals is a first subset of reference signals associated with a corresponding set of beams for reference signal transmission, wherein the plurality of reference signals is associated with a beam for reception of the plurality of reference signals (Fig. 5, 515, [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Kumagai with the techniques of Li because the repeater can be used to increase the coverage of the base station to UEs without line of sight to the base station or for which reception from the base station may be blocked by obstructions ([0071]).
Li2 suggests the plurality of reference signals is repeated for each of a plurality of beams with a period that is equal to the first monitoring time plus twice the absolute value of the timing offset and a reception beam switching time (Fig. 1B SMTC window, [0124]-[0125]; Fig. 5C and 5D, [0222]-[0224]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the techniques of Kumagai with the disclosure in Li2 because the teaching lies in Li2 that this can overcome changes in propagation delays caused by a moving relay or base station that cause part of the SSB to be missed ([0008]).
Regarding claims 26-28, the claims are directed towards the method performed by the apparatus of claims 8-10; accordingly, claims 26-28 are rejected on the grounds presented above for claims 8-10.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumagai et al. (EP 4 429 357 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 2020/0344813 A1) further in view of Cozzo et al. (US 2023/0147154 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Kumagai discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second indication comprises the synchronization state ([0072] disclosing the UE receiving SSB for random access and receiving random access signals in DL BWP#0* and transmitting random access signals in UL BWP#0*; [0007], [0084], [0128] disclosing the received SSB can be used for time and frequency tracking and synchronization and RO (RACH occasion) selection (i.e., synchronization to SSB and transmission of a random access attempt in an occasion selected based on the received SSB seen as an indication of a synchronization state). Kumagai does not disclose the following; however Cozzo suggests the synchronization state comprises a third indication that a value for a measured signal-strength-characteristic of the set of reference signals is above a threshold value ([0101]-[0103] disclosing the UE selects one or more NCD-SSBs based on RSRP measurements being larger than a threshold such that the UE can select a corresponding PRACH resource for transmission and transmits the PRACH in a RACH occasion (RO) based on a mapping to the index of the selected NCD-SSB; The transmission of the PRACH selected in this manner implicitly provides the claimed “third indication”).
When provided with the disclosure of Kumagai, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been faced with the problem of how to select the RACH occasion based on measurements of the NCD-SSB. Cozzo provides one such technique; and as evidenced by Cozzo, there are a finite number of predictable potential solutions ([0091] largest measured RSSI, [0101] larger than a threshold, [0106] based on sorted list in ascending order). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try the technique of Cozzo before the effective filing date of the invention to solve the problem Kumagai leaves to the reader because based on the level of skill, as evidenced by the prior art, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success of applying the techniques of Cozzo.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumagai et al. (EP 4 429 357 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 2020/0344813 A1) further in view of Rastegardoost et al. (US 2024/0243895 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Kumagai discloses measurement of NCD-SSB for various purposes such as beam failure detection ([0084]); but does not expressly disclose the following; however, Rastegardoost discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second indication comprises the beam management report associated with the synchronization session and the beam management report comprises at least one identifier associated with at least one reference signal in the set of reference signals, wherein each reference signal is associated with a transmission beam (Fig. 11A, [0141]-[0148] disclosing reference signals such as PSS and SSS of a SS/PBCH block (i.e., SSB) corresponding to beams; [0168] disclosing the UE transmits a beam measurement report comprising a beam index, reference signal index, or the like; [0172] disclosing the measurement may be on the SS/PBCH block (i.e., SSB); fig. 12A and 12B, [0169]-[0170] disclosing beam management procedures).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the techniques of Rastegardoost in the invention of Kumagai because use of beams increases the utilization and efficiency of the communication resources and the teaching lies in Rastegardoost that channels that use beamforming require beam management ([0164]).
Regarding claim 13, Kumagai does not expressly disclose the following; however, Rastegardoost discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the beam management report further comprises at least one of a third indication that the at least one reference signal is associated with a first value for a measured signal-strength-characteristic that is above a threshold value or a fourth indication of a second value for the measured signal-strength-characteristic ([0168]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the techniques of Rastegardoost in the invention of Kumagai because use of beams increases the utilization and efficiency of the communication resources and the teaching lies in Rastegardoost that channels that use beamforming require beam management ([0164]).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumagai et al. (EP 4 429 357 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 2020/0344813 A1) in view of Rastegardoost et al. (US 2024/0243895 A1) further in view of Cozzo et al. (US 2023/0147154 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Kumagai does not expressly disclose the following; however, Cozzo suggests the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the at least one reference signal comprises at least a reference signal associated with a highest value of the measured signal-strength-characteristic ([0091] disclosing selecting the spatial setting based on the largest RSRP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the techniques of Kumagai as suggested by Cozzo because the suggestion lies in Cozzo that more than one measurement may be above the threshold for selection and this ensures the best beam is selected ([0123]).
Regarding claim 15, Kumagai discloses the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the synchronization session is associated with a communication session (Fig. 6), and the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive, from the first network node via the first frequency band sixth indication indicating at least one identifier included in the beam management report (Fig. 6, SIB reception, [0087] disclosing receiving SSB indexes).
Kumagai does not disclose the following; however, Li suggests wherein the second network node is configured to use, for a data transmission associated with the communication session with the wireless device, at least one transmission beam associated with the at least one identifier included in the beam management report (Fig. 5, 515, [0074] disclosing, as discussed above with respect to claim 12, a beam sweeping (e.g., management procedure) selecting a beam); and
communicate, as part of the communication session, with the second network node via the second frequency band using at least one reception beam based on the at least one identifier indicated in the sixth indication associated with the at least one transmission beam which the second network node is configured to use for the data transmission associated with the communication session ([0071] the repeater simply repeats the communications received from the base station (e.g., Fig. 6 of Kumagai).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH A BEDNASH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461