DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 09/02/2025, with respect to the objection to the Abstract have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the Abstract has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 09/02/2025, with respect to the objection to claims 1-2 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claims 1-2 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 09/02/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 2, 16, 18-20, 22, and 25 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 2, 16, 18-20, 22, and 25 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 09/02/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-2 and 23 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-2 and 23 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, filed 09/02/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-2, 9-12, 14, and 16-29 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference as applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Additionally, since Applicant has cancelled the previous claims and amended to add new claims that do not merely incorporate limitations from previously rejected independent or dependent claims, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of previously applied references Steingold et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0092770 A1), Samaha et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0324136 A1), Gees (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0108811 A1), and Connor (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0238097 A1) and new references Lim (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0015301 A1), Li (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0310903 A1), Oepts et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0296223 A1), SHIELD | FAQ. (2017). SHIELD Apparels. https://web.archive.org/web/20190317203557/https://shieldapparels.com/pages/faq (hereinafter “Shield”), Mohanty et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0177649 A1), and Brawn (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0148975 A1) as explained in further detail below.
Additionally, the declaration filed by Applicant is acknowledged. However, the affidavit filed 09/02/2025 is moot due to the new grounds of rejection as set forth in the rejection below. Furthermore, the declaration is moot since it shows an unexpected result that is dependent on the previous primary reference Steingold. However, an unexpected result is required to be based on the closest prior art, or Lim et al., in order to properly show an unexpected result (See MPEP 716.02(B)(III), where “Evidence of unexpected properties may be in the form of a direct or indirect comparison of the claimed invention with the closest prior art which is commensurate in scope with the claims.”).
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: independent claim 30 includes a “collimating optic,” however the term “collimating” is not referred to in Applicant’s specification. Examiner interprets that the collimating optic refers to the total photon capture lens.
Claim Objections
Claims 30, 34-35, and 39 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims include the limitation of “a selectable power density of 25 mWcm-2 to 325 mWcm-2” which seems to be missing a requisite slash and power. Examiner interprets that the limitation is meant to be to the power of 2 and not -2 as claimed in the previous claim set dated 11/05/2023 such that the claims read “a selectable power density of 25 mW/cm2 to 325 mW/cm2”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 30-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 30 and its dependent claims, Applicant claims “a user-selectable pulse-width-modulation (PWM)” and “a skin-contact temperature < 41 0C during operation of the photonic emitters”. Neither of these limitations seem to be present in Applicant’s disclosure. Applicant’s disclosure does not provide enough information for any person skilled in the art to implement these limitations.
Regarding claim 35, Applicant claims “a skin-contact temperature not greater than 41 0C”. This limitation does not seem to be present in Applicant’s disclosure. Applicant’s disclosure does not provide enough information for any person skilled in the art to implement this limitation.
Regarding claim 36, Applicant claims “the combination of the monolithic photon- capture collimating optic and epidermal cooling provided by the cooling module increases sub-dermal near-infrared fluence relative to (i) an un-cooled epidermis and (ii) a diffuse illumination optic, when operated at identical emitter power”. This limitation does not seem to be present in Applicant’s disclosure. Applicant’s disclosure does not provide enough information for any person skilled in the art to implement this limitation.
Regarding claim 39, Applicant claims “an independently programmable current driver”. This limitation does not seem to be present in Applicant’s disclosure. Applicant’s disclosure does not provide enough information for any person skilled in the art to implement this limitation.
Regarding claim 40, Applicant claims “the near-infrared-spectroscopy detection components are coupled to an analog-to-digital converter within the signal-conditioning electronics” and “in order to maintain a target hemodynamic response”. Neither of these limitations seem to be present in Applicant’s disclosure. Applicant’s disclosure does not provide enough information for any person skilled in the art to implement these limitations.
Regarding claim 42, Applicant claims “the photon-capture collimating optic has a capture efficiency of at least 80 percent, measured as radiant flux exiting the optic within a forward solid angle of one steradian divided by the radiant flux emitted by the associated photonic emitter”. This limitation does not seem to be present in Applicant’s disclosure. Applicant’s disclosure does not provide enough information for any person skilled in the art to implement this limitation.
Claims 30-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 30 recites the limitation "the operating circuit" in section (e). Examiner interprets that the claim was meant to read “an operating circuit”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Dependent claims 31-42 are rejected for the same reasons set forth above for claim 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30-31, 35, 38, and 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0015301 A1) in view of Steingold et al. (hereinafter “Steingold”) (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0092770 A1), Li (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0310903 A1), Samaha et al. (hereinafter “Samaha”) (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0324136 A1), Oepts et al. (hereinafter “Oepts”) (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0296223 A1), Gees (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0108811 A1), SHIELD | FAQ. (2017). SHIELD Apparels. https://web.archive.org/web/20190317203557/https://shieldapparels.com/pages/faq (hereinafter “Shield”), Mohanty et al. (hereinafter “Mohanty”) (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0177649 A1), and Brawn (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0148975 A1).
Regarding claim 30, Lim teaches a multi-modality neuromodulation and neuro-imaging system (Abstract, where “a portable non-invasive system, apparatus and method for performing light therapy or photobiomodulation upon the brain tissues through the skull”) comprising:
(a) a rigid housing sized to conform to a human head (¶[0044], where “The invention concerns a novel systems, apparatus and method to stimulate therapeutic outcomes by irradiating the various parts brain with light—i.e., neurostimulation. This is anatomically achieved by: (i) applying a headset comprising one or more light generating units to the patient's head (transcranial neurostimulation)”) and defining an inner housing portion that faces the skin and an outer housing portion spaced outward therefrom (Figure 24, headset 102, where the headset has an inner and outer housing portion where one faces the skin and the other faces outward);
(b) a plurality of photonic emitters mounted on the inner housing portion (¶[0231], where “The headset 102 comprises one or more configured irradiation units 108, 110, 112 and 114, each of the configured irradiation units 108, 110, 112 and 114 including a portable hollow casing having fixed dimensions, a sized internal spatial volume, and an external surface configuration suitable for application to the skull 116”) and configured to:
emit red or near-infrared light having a wavelength of 650 nanometers to 1150 nanometers (¶[0160], where “The wavelengths shown to be most effective at inducing in vivo beneficial effects in living neural cells have been in the optical window of the red and near-infrared red range (NIR) of the spectrum (i.e., between 620 nm and 1400 nm wavelengths). Successful treatments for brain irradiation have typically been performed at 633-670 nm (visible red) wavelengths or 808-1072 nm (near-infrared) wavelengths in both animals and humans. Accordingly, any light wavelength ranging between about 620 nm and 1400 nm is deemed to be acceptable for therapeutic use with the present invention”) at a selectable power density of 25 mWcm-2 to 325 mWcm-2 (¶[0256], where “A. The power density of each transcranial headset 102 LED cluster head is preferably 20 to 60 mW/cm2, more preferably about 41 mW/cm2”), and
operate in (A) continuous-wave mode and/or (B) pulsed mode with a repetition frequency of 1 hertz to 1000 hertz and a duty cycle of 5 percent to 50 percent (¶[0261], where “9. All diodes in the transcranial unit 102 LED cluster heads, and the single intranasal unit 104 diode are preferably pulsed at 10 Hz, 50% duty cycle”);
(d) an electronic array (¶[0333], where “a direct electric current is conveyed from the portable controller assembly 106”) comprising:
photonic-emitter driver electronics that supply a controlled drive current to the photonic emitters (¶[0333], where “a direct electric current is conveyed from the portable controller assembly 106, through the first connector 124, and to the light generating units of the configured irradiation units 108, 110, 112 and 114. This causes the light generating units in the configured irradiation units 108, 110, 112 and 114 to generate light energy of at least one preselected wavelength selected from the group consisting of near infrared red light wavelengths and visible red light wavelengths, at a predetermined energy intensity and for a preset time duration on-demand sufficient to penetrate through the subject's skull and to pass to the targeted regions of the brain”),
and an operating circuit (¶[0230], where “The portable controller assembly 106 can serve as a power source and central processing unit for both the transcranial headset 102,” ¶[0333], where “a direct electric current is conveyed from the portable controller assembly 106, through the first connector 124, and to the light generating units of the configured irradiation units 108, 110, 112 and 114. This causes the light generating units in the configured irradiation units 108, 110, 112 and 114 to generate light energy of at least one preselected wavelength selected from the group consisting of near infrared red light wavelengths and visible red light wavelengths”).
Lim does not teach (a) a rigid, curved housing sized to conform to a human head, (c) a monolithic photon-capture collimating optic contiguous with at least one of the photonic emitters and having: an internally reflective profile; a full-width-at-half-maximum diffusion value < 45 degrees, and a viewing angle ≤ 60 degrees; (d) an electronic array mounted on the outer housing portion and comprising: a wireless communication device, and a micro-controller configured to generate a user-selectable pulse-width-modulation (PWM) or constant-current waveform whose duty cycle, drive current, and repetition frequency are independently programmable; (e) an electromagnetic-attenuation shield disposed between the inner and outer housing portions, the shield formed of metal foil, metal mesh, metalized paint, metalized polymer sheet, or metal/polymer composite and providing > 30 dB attenuation over 0 Hz-10 GHz, thereby separating the photonic emitters from the operating circuit and shielding a wearer from electromagnetic radiation generated by the operating circuit; (f) near-infrared-spectroscopy (NIRS) detection components mounted on the housing and comprising: an optical lens arranged to collect near-infrared photons that have been back-scattered from brain tissue, an optical detector, selected from a photodiode or photodiode array, positioned to receive the collected photons, and signal-conditioning electronics coupled to the optical detector, and a configurable system which generates a digital signal representative of the detected biological information for real-time display on an external computing device; and (g) a cooling module thermally coupled to the inner housing portion and selected from a group consisting of: a thermoelectric cooler, an air-cooling heat exchanger, and a heat-sinking foam layer; wherein the cooling module is controlled by the operating circuit to maintain a skin-contact temperature < 41 0C during operation of the photonic emitters.
Steingold teaches methods for treatment of neurological conditions in which transcranial illumination using infrared, near-infrared and/or red wavelengths of light are delivered into the brain of a patient using a portable head wearable device (Abstract), and further teaches (a) a rigid, curved housing sized to conform to a human head (Figures 1 and 2A-2C, ¶[0021], where “FIG. 1 is an example head wearable device”),
(d) an electronic array mounted on the outer housing portion (Figure 18H, occipital PCB 5040, where Examiner interprets that the occipital PCB is mounted on the outer housing since it is between the inner and outer housing portions such that it is in contact with the outer housing portion) and comprising:
a wireless communication device (¶[0189], where “occipital PCB 5040 includes a ... BlueTooth® low energy (BLE) module 5044”), and
a micro-controller (¶[0189], where “occipital PCB 5040 includes a microcontroller unit (MCU)”) configured to generate a user-selectable program (¶[0189], where “The MCU/BLE module 5044 enables communication with external devices using the BLE protocol. For example, an external device such as a computer, tablet, or smartphone operated by the user can wirelessly send instructions to the MCU/BLE control module 5044 to adjust individual LEDs to different power settings over time according to a therapeutic program”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Steingold, which teaches a rigid, curved housing sized to conform to a human head and an electronic array mounted on the outer housing portion and comprising: a wireless communication device and a micro-controller configured to generate a user-selectable program, into the invention of Lim in order to position the device on the head of a user (Steingold ¶[0075]) and to adjust individual LEDs to different power settings over time according to a therapeutic program (Steingold ¶[0189]).
Neither Lim nor Steingold teaches (c) a monolithic photon-capture collimating optic contiguous with at least one of the photonic emitters and having: an internally reflective profile; a full-width-at-half-maximum diffusion value < 45 degrees, and a viewing angle ≤ 60 degrees; a micro-controller configured to generate a user-selectable pulse-width-modulation (PWM) or constant-current waveform whose duty cycle, drive current, and repetition frequency are independently programmable; (e) an electromagnetic-attenuation shield disposed between the inner and outer housing portions, the shield formed of metal foil, metal mesh, metalized paint, metalized polymer sheet, or metal/polymer composite and providing > 30 dB attenuation over 0 Hz-10 GHz, thereby separating the photonic emitters from the operating circuit and shielding a wearer from electromagnetic radiation generated by the operating circuit; (f) near-infrared-spectroscopy (NIRS) detection components mounted on the housing and comprising: an optical lens arranged to collect near-infrared photons that have been back-scattered from brain tissue, an optical detector, selected from a photodiode or photodiode array, positioned to receive the collected photons, and signal-conditioning electronics coupled to the optical detector, and a configurable system which generates a digital signal representative of the detected biological information for real-time display on an external computing device; and (g) a cooling module thermally coupled to the inner housing portion and selected from a group consisting of: a thermoelectric cooler, an air-cooling heat exchanger, and a heat-sinking foam layer; wherein the cooling module is controlled by the operating circuit to maintain a skin-contact temperature < 41 0C during operation of the photonic emitters.
Li teaches a light-wave device includes a switch module, a control module and a light source module, wherein the switch module is connected to a regulatory module by the control module and the regulatory module is connected to the light source module (Abstract), and further teaches a micro-controller configured to generate a user-selectable pulse-width-modulation (PWM) (¶[0076], where “control module is a printed circuit board, or PCB. The control module contains a microprocessor with control software to control the intensity and time of the light through a PWM adjusting luminance mode”) or constant-current waveform whose duty cycle, drive current, and repetition frequency are independently programmable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Li, which teaches a micro-controller configured to generate a user-selectable pulse-width-modulation (PWM), into the invention of Lim in order to control the intensity and time of the light (Li ¶[0076]).
None of Lim, Steingold, nor Li teaches (c) a monolithic photon-capture collimating optic contiguous with at least one of the photonic emitters and having: an internally reflective profile; a full-width-at-half-maximum diffusion value < 45 degrees, and a viewing angle ≤ 60 degrees; (e) an electromagnetic-attenuation shield disposed between the inner and outer housing portions, the shield formed of metal foil, metal mesh, metalized paint, metalized polymer sheet, or metal/polymer composite and providing > 30 dB attenuation over 0 Hz-10 GHz, thereby separating the photonic emitters from the operating circuit and shielding a wearer from electromagnetic radiation generated by the operating circuit; (f) near-infrared-spectroscopy (NIRS) detection components mounted on the housing and comprising: an optical lens arranged to collect near-infrared photons that have been back-scattered from brain tissue, an optical detector, selected from a photodiode or photodiode array, positioned to receive the collected photons, and signal-conditioning electronics coupled to the optical detector, and a configurable system which generates a digital signal representative of the detected biological information for real-time display on an external computing device; and (g) a cooling module thermally coupled to the inner housing portion and selected from a group consisting of: a thermoelectric cooler, an air-cooling heat exchanger, and a heat-sinking foam layer; wherein the cooling module is controlled by the operating circuit to maintain a skin-contact temperature < 41 0C during operation of the photonic emitters.
Samaha teaches a device for treating the brain that includes a light source configured to emit near infrared light and a collimator configured to receive the near infrared light emitted by the light emitter (Abstract), and further teaches (c) a monolithic photon-capture collimating optic contiguous with at least one of the photonic emitters (¶[0011], where “The collimator may be … a total internal reflection optic … device may further include a housing having the light source, the collimator, and the optic therein,” ¶[0012], where “a device for treating the brain includes a light emitter configured to emit near infrared light. The device also has a light guide. The light guide has a proximal end configured to receive the near infrared light from the light emitter. The light guide also has a distal end through which the near infrared light exits the light guide”) and having: an internally reflective profile (¶[0012], where “The light guide also has a material configured to cause total internal reflection of the near infrared light between the proximal end and the distal end. The device includes a reflective portion configured to change a direction of the near infrared light that exits the light guide,” ¶[0013], where “The material configured to cause total internal reflection may be a coating”); and (g) a cooling module thermally coupled to the inner housing portion and selected from a group consisting of: a thermoelectric cooler (¶[0109], where “FIG. 4 schematically shows an illustrative embodiment having a metallic base that has a proximal portion 16 that carries a thermoelectric cooler 17 … Typically, a heat sink 19 and/or fan is attached to the hot side of the thermoelectric cooler,” where the thermoelectric cooler is coupled to the inner housing portion since it is attached to the housing and cools the base), an air-cooling heat exchanger, and a heat-sinking foam layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Samaha, which teaches a monolithic photon-capture collimating optic contiguous with at least one of the photonic emitters with an internally reflective profile and a cooling module thermally coupled to the inner housing portion and selected from a group consisting of: a thermoelectric cooler, into the modified invention of Lim in order to change a direction of the near infrared light that exits the light guide (Samaha ¶[0012]) and to cool the base when actuated, thereby lessening overheating concerns (Samaha ¶[0109]).
None of Lim, Steingold, Li, nor Samaha teaches the monolithic photon-capture collimating optic having a full-width-at-half-maximum diffusion value < 45 degrees, and a viewing angle ≤ 60 degrees; (e) an electromagnetic-attenuation shield disposed between the inner and outer housing portions, the shield formed of metal foil, metal mesh, metalized paint, metalized polymer sheet, or metal/polymer composite and providing > 30 dB attenuation over 0 Hz-10 GHz, thereby separating the photonic emitters from the operating circuit and shielding a wearer from electromagnetic radiation generated by the operating circuit; (f) near-infrared-spectroscopy (NIRS) detection components mounted on the housing and comprising: an optical lens arranged to collect near-infrared photons that have been back-scattered from brain tissue, an optical detector, selected from a photodiode or photodiode array, positioned to receive the collected photons, and signal-conditioning electronics coupled to the optical detector, and a configurable system which generates a digital signal representative of the detected biological information for real-time display on an external computing device; and wherein the cooling module is controlled by the operating circuit to maintain a skin-contact temperature < 41 0C during operation of the photonic emitters.
Oepts teaches a light generating system comprising a first light source, a second light source, and optics (Abstract), and further teaches a monolithic photon-capture collimating optic (¶[0046], where “the beam shaping elements are selected from the group consisting of lenses, reflectors and collimators. When the beam shaping elements comprise collimators, especially these collimators comprise light transparent solid bodies”) having a full-width-at-half-maximum diffusion value < 45 degrees (¶[0048], where “the beam shaping elements may be configured to provide first system light having a full width half maximum … at maximum about 2*40° full width half maximum (beam angle of at maximum about 40°)”), and a viewing angle ≤ 60 degrees (See Table 1, which shows viewing angles of 0 and 55 degrees, ¶[0102], where “And in table1, case A, case B and Case C indicates the intensity distribution from different viewing angles, which will all contribute to illuminance in certain position. There is no significant difference of intensity at 0°”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Oepts, which a monolithic photon-capture collimating optic with a full-width-at-half-maximum diffusion value < 45 degrees and a viewing angle ≤ 60 degrees, into the modified invention of Lim in order to collimate the light source (Oepts ¶[0048]) and to determine intensity distribution from different viewing angles, which will all contribute to illuminance in certain position (Oepts ¶[0102]).
None of Lim, Steingfold, Li, Samaha, nor Oepts teaches (e) an electromagnetic-attenuation shield disposed between the inner and outer housing portions, the shield formed of metal foil, metal mesh, metalized paint, metalized polymer sheet, or metal/polymer composite and providing > 30 dB attenuation over 0 Hz-10 GHz, thereby separating the photonic emitters from the operating circuit and shielding a wearer from electromagnetic radiation generated by the operating circuit; (f) near-infrared-spectroscopy (NIRS) detection components mounted on the housing and comprising: an optical lens arranged to collect near-infrared photons that have been back-scattered from brain tissue, an optical detector, selected from a photodiode or photodiode array, positioned to receive the collected photons, and signal-conditioning electronics coupled to the optical detector, and a configurable system which generates a digital signal representative of the detected biological information for real-time display on an external computing device; and wherein the cooling module is controlled by the operating circuit to maintain a skin-contact temperature < 41 0C during operation of the photonic emitters.
Gees teaches headgear configured with a fabric for protecting the head from electromagnetic radiation (Abstract), and further teaches (e) an electromagnetic-attenuation shield disposed between the inner and outer housing portions (¶[0027], where “The headgear comprises an inner lining region and an outer region that can be seen when worn. Between these two regions, a lattice fabric corresponding to the shape of the head is incorporated, for example sewn in, woven in or the like”), the shield formed of metal foil, metal mesh, metalized paint, metalized polymer sheet, or metal/polymer composite, thereby separating the photonic emitters from the operating circuit and shielding a wearer from electromagnetic radiation generated by the operating circuit (¶[0027], where “The lattice fabric is produced from materials which shield electromagnetic radiation. Such materials can be selected on the basis of the radiation produced, for example, of copper and silver alloys or all imaginable compounds or materials which are able to shield electromagnetic radiation,” where Examiner takes the position that since Lim teaches that the LED emitters are housed in the inner layer of the device and that the operating circuit is housed in an attached controller of the device, that a shielding layer between these two layers also separates the LED emitters from the operating circuit as the shielding layer is above the photonic emitters.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Gees, which teaches an electromagnetic-attenuation shield disposed between the inner and outer housing portions that is formed of a metal foil or metal mesh, into the modified invention of Lim in order to protect the brain and the hearing (Gees ¶[0027]).
None of Lim, Steingfold, Li, Samaha, Oepts, nor Gees teaches the electromagnetic-attenuation shield providing > 30 dB attenuation over 0 Hz-10 GHz; (f) near-infrared-spectroscopy (NIRS) detection components mounted on the housing and comprising: an optical lens arranged to collect near-infrared photons that have been back-scattered from brain tissue, an optical detector, selected from a photodiode or photodiode array, positioned to receive the collected photons, and signal-conditioning electronics coupled to the optical detector, and a configurable system which generates a digital signal representative of the detected biological information for real-time display on an external computing device; and wherein the cooling module is controlled by the operating circuit to maintain a skin-contact temperature < 41 0C during operation of the photonic emitters.
Shield teaches a signal proof hat, and further teaches the electromagnetic-attenuation shield providing > 30 dB attenuation over 0 Hz-10 GHz (See FAQ under “Does the apparel really work,” where “the special silver shielding fabric inside. It has standard shielding effectiveness 60dB-80dB from 10 MHz to 3 GHz”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Shield, which teaches the electromagnetic-attenuation shield providing 60dB-80dB attenuation over 10 MHz to 3 GHz, into the modified invention of Lim in order to block high frequency & low frequency electromagnetic radiation (Shield See FAQ under “Does the apparel really work”).
None of Lim, Steingfold, Li, Samaha, Oepts, Gees, nor Shield teaches (f) near-infrared-spectroscopy (NIRS) detection components mounted on the housing and comprising: an optical lens arranged to collect near-infrared photons that have been back-scattered from brain tissue, an optical detector, selected from a photodiode or photodiode array, positioned to receive the collected photons, and signal-conditioning electronics coupled to the optical detector, and a configurable system which generates a digital signal representative of the detected biological information for real-time display on an external computing device; and wherein the cooling module is controlled by the operating circuit to maintain a skin-contact temperature < 41 0C during operation of the photonic emitters.
Mohanty teaches an image-guided laser irradiation device for targeted ablation, stimulation, molecular delivery and therapy (Abstract), and further teaches (f) near-infrared-spectroscopy (NIRS) detection components (¶[0036], where “The detector may be selected from at least one of … a spectrometer,” ¶[0171], where “The NIR laser (1400) for NOD, selected to have a wavelength spectrally separated from that of the OCT source, is coupled to the second input channel of the fiber coupler (1410). The NOD laser beam emanating from the output of the fiber coupler is collimated by a collimating lens (1420) … The reference beam emanating from the other port of the fiber coupler is collimated by another collimating lens (1490) and reflected back via the same port by use of reference mirror (1500) as shown in FIG. 13. The back-reflected sample beam from the eye (and retina) and the reference beam are routed back via the circulator (1480) to a spectrometer, which comprises of grating (1520) and lenses (1530, 1540)”) mounted on the housing (Figure 13, grating 1520 and lenses 1530 and 1540, which are mounted on a housing) and comprising:
an optical lens arranged to collect near-infrared photons that have been back-scattered from brain tissue (¶[0011], where “a laser irradiation sub-assembly configured to generate a laser beam for irradiation of a sample comprising at least one of … brain cells,” ¶[0018], where “the first part of the split combined beam is guided via an optical system comprising at least one mirror, at least one focusing element and at least one lens to irradiate the sample,” ¶[0020], where “back-scattered light from the sample is able to pass through the optical system and the beam splitter to a detector”),
an optical detector, selected from a photodiode or photodiode array, positioned to receive the collected photons (¶[0020], where “back-scattered light from the sample is able to pass through the optical system and the beam splitter to a detector,” ¶[0036], where “The detector may be selected from at least one of a single photodetector, a linear array of photodetectors, a photo-multiplier tube, a camera, and a spectrometer”), and signal-conditioning electronics coupled to the optical detector (¶[0035], where “The back-scattered light from the sample may be elastically scattered light or inelastically scattered light, and measurable by a band pass or high pass optical filter,” where Examiner interprets that since both the detector and filter collect and measure the back-scattered light, that they are part of one detection unit), and
a configurable system which generates a digital signal representative of the detected biological information for real-time display on an external computing device (¶[0117], where element 1560 includes a computer, display and controller, ¶[0153], where “With real-time imaging capability, we perform structural as well as functional assessment and targeted alteration, stimulation, manipulation of living tissues,” ¶[0171], where “The back-reflected sample beam from the eye (and retina) and the reference beam are routed back via the circulator (1480) to a spectrometer, which comprises of grating (1520) and lenses (1530, 1540). The interferogram is recorded in a camera (1550) and processed to obtain structural information of the eye and retina in particular, indicating its pathological condition. The regions of interest for NOD will be marked on the image displayed on the viewing screen (1560)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Mohanty, which teaches near-infrared-spectroscopy (NIRS) detection components mounted on the housing and comprising: an optical lens arranged to collect near-infrared photons that have been back-scattered from brain tissue, an optical detector, selected from a photodiode or photodiode array, positioned to receive the collected photons, and signal-conditioning electronics coupled to the optical detector, and a configurable system which generates a digital signal representative of the detected biological information for real-time display on an external computing device, into the modified invention of Lim in order to perform targeted alteration, stimulation, manipulation of living tissues (Mohanty ¶[0153]) and to obtain structural information of the eye and retina in particular, or a biological target, indicating its pathological condition (Mohanty ¶[0171]).
None of Lim, Steingfold, Li, Samaha, Oepts, Gees, Shield, nor Mohanty teaches that the cooling module is controlled by the operating circuit to maintain a skin-contact temperature < 41 0C during operation of the photonic emitters.
Brawn teaches orally administering an effective amount of light transdermally to the maxillary or mandibular alveolar bone of a patient, where light having a first wavelength can be administered to a first selected region of the alveolar bone and light having a second wavelength can be administered to a second selected region of the alveolar bone, and further teaches wherein the cooling module is controlled by the operating circuit to maintain a skin-contact temperature < 41 0C during operation of the photonic emitters (¶[0188], where “A gas, liquid, or solid state cooling system can be provided on support arms 28 to maintain light source 30 at a suitable temperature, or passive cooling means can be employed as previously described. In some embodiments, the temperature of the inner surface 32 of light source 30 can be maintained below a temperature of about 410C”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Brawn, which teaches that the cooling module is controlled by the operating circuit to maintain a skin-contact temperature < 41 0C during operation of the photonic emitters, into the modified invention of Lim in order to maintain or approach a desired temperature and to reduce the temperature of a light source and prevent it from becoming too hot (Brawn ¶[0189]).
Regarding claim 31, Lim as modified teaches all limitations of claim 30 as described in the rejection above.
Gees teaches that the electromagnetic-attenuation shield separates the photonic emitters from the operating circuit (¶[0027], where “The lattice fabric is produced from materials which shield electromagnetic radiation. Such materials can be selected on the basis of the radiation produced, for example, of copper and silver alloys or all imaginable compounds or materials which are able to shield electromagnetic radiation,” where Examiner takes the position that since Lim teaches that the LED emitters are housed in the inner layer of the device and that the operating circuit is housed in an attached controller of the device, that a shielding layer between these two layers also separates the LED emitters from the operating circuit as the shielding layer is above the photonic emitters.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Gees, which teaches that the electromagnetic-attenuation shield separates the photonic emitters from the operating circuit, into the modified invention of Lim in order to protect the brain and the hearing (Gees ¶[0027]).
Regarding claim 35, Lim as modified teaches all limitations of claim 30 as described in the rejection above.
Lim teaches operation of the photonic emitters at any power-density setting within the range of 25 mWcm-2 to 325 mWcm-2 (¶[0256], where “A. The power density of each transcranial headset 102 LED cluster head is preferably 20 to 60 mW/cm2, more preferably about 41 mW/cm2”).
Brawn teaches that activation of the cooling module permits maintaining a skin-contact temperature not greater than 41 0C (¶[0188], where “A gas, liquid, or solid state cooling system can be provided on support arms 28 to maintain light source 30 at a suitable temperature, or passive cooling means can be employed as previously described. In some embodiments, the temperature of the inner surface 32 of light source 30 can be maintained below a temperature of about 410C”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Brawn, which teaches that activation of the cooling module permits maintaining a skin-contact temperature not greater than 41 0C, into the modified invention of Lim in order to maintain or approach a desired temperature and to reduce the temperature of a light source and prevent it from becoming too hot (Brawn ¶[0189]).
Regarding claim 38, Lim as modified teaches all limitations of claim 30 as described in the rejection above.
Lim teaches an operating circuit (¶[0230], where “The portable controller assembly 106 can serve as a power source and central processing unit for both the transcranial headset 102,” ¶[0333], where “a direct electric current is conveyed from the portable controller assembly 106, through the first connector 124, and to the light generating units of the configured irradiation units 108, 110, 112 and 114. This causes the light generating units in the configured irradiation units 108, 110, 112 and 114 to generate light energy of at least one preselected wavelength selected from the group consisting of near infrared red light wavelengths and visible red light wavelengths”) and treatment of the left and right hemispheres (¶[0056], where “first configured irradiation unit is positioned to direct light energy to a first region of the brain comprising the left and right ventral mesial prefrontal cortex areas, and optionally, the anterior cingulate gyrus areas”).
Lim does not teach independent driver channels for at least one photonic-emitter group to enable selective regional treatment.
Steingold teaches independent driver channels for at least one photonic-emitter group to enable selective regional treatment (¶[0177], where “if an EEG sensor is used during a therapy session, this can serve to monitor the procedure or calibrate the power level to be used on a particular patient to establish the minimum level therapeutic dose, and optionally to also set a maximum dose for each period of illumination during the session, and further optionally to select which regions of the brain of the patient are to be illuminated during a session”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Steingold, which teaches independent driver channels for at least one photonic-emitter group to enable selective regional treatment, into the modified invention of Lim in order to select which regions of the brain of the patient are to be illuminated during a session and to monitor the procedure or calibrate the power level (Steingold ¶[0177]).
Regarding claim 41, Lim as modified teaches all limitations of claim 30 as described in the rejection above.
Samaha teaches that the photon-capture collimating optic enhances near-infrared penetration depth in the brain tissue relative to a diffuse illumination optic operated at an identical drive power (¶[0373], where “a collimator 146 configured to collimate the light after it is reflected (e.g., on the distal tip 134 after the light changes direction on the reflector 106). The collimator 146 provides the additional advantage of promoting uniformity while also increasing the penetration depth of the light spot that would otherwise be divergent or convergent upon incidence with the skin 158”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Samaha, which teaches that the photon-capture collimating optic enhances near-infrared penetration depth in the brain tissue relative to a diffuse illumination optic operated at an identical drive power, into the modified invention of Lim in order to increase the penetration depth of the light spot that would otherwise be divergent or convergent upon incidence with the skin (Samaha ¶[0373]).
Regarding claim 42, Lim as modified teaches all limitations of claim 41 as described in the rejection above.
Additionally, Lim as modified teaches that the photon-capture collimating optic has a capture efficiency of at least 80 percent, measured as radiant flux exiting the optic within a forward solid angle of one steradian divided by the radiant flux emitted by the associated photonic emitter.
Examiner takes the position that Lim as modified teaches claim 42 since the claim is directed to the result of a capture efficiency of 80 percent. This capture efficiency is achieved by operating the photon-capture collimating optic with the specified parameters as described in claim 41.
Claims 32-34 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim in view of Steingold, Li, Samaha, Oepts, Gees, Shield, Mohanty, and Brawn as applied to the rejection of claim 30 above, and further in view of Connor (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0238097 A1).
Regarding claim 32, Lim as modified teaches all limitations of claim 30 as described in the rejection above.
Although Lim teaches LED emitters that emit near infrared light at frontal lobe locations, Lim as modified does not teach that the frontal lobe locations correspond to areas of the brain comprising FP1, FP2, Fz, F3, F4, F7, F8 EEG positions.
Connor teaches a head-worn neurostimulation device where the emitters are located at EEG sites FP1, FP2, Fz, F3, F4, F7, and F8 (¶[0114], where “electromagnetic energy emitters of this neurostimulation device can be located at placement sites of Modified Combinatorial Nomenclature (MCN) electrode placement system which are selected from the group consisting of F3, F4, F7, F8, Fz…,” ¶[0129], where “a neurostimulation device can hold electromagnetic energy emitters in electromagnetic communication with a person's frontal lobe,” ¶[0549], where “the most anterior portion can hold two or more electromagnetic energy emitters on a person's forehead. In an example, the most anterior portion can hold electromagnetic energy emitters at two or more locations selected from the group consisting of: FP1, FPz, and FP2”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Connor, which teaches a head-worn neurostimulation device where the emitters are located at EEG sites FP1, FP2, Fz, F3, F4, F7, and F8, into the modified invention of Lim in order to alleviate pain and headaches, treat addiction, reduce body tremors, reduce seizures, address stress and anxiety, treat depression, increase focus or energy level, reduce hunger, improve sleep, address attention-related disorders, and aid in neurological rehabilitation (Connor ¶[0107]).
Regarding claim 33, Lim as modified in combination with Connor teaches all limitations of claim 32 as described in the rejection above.
Samaha that the photon-capture collimating optic is conformal to the curved inner housing portion at the EEG sites (¶[0011], where “The collimator may be … a total internal reflection optic … device may further include a housing having the light source, the collimator, and the optic therein,” ¶[0012], where “a device for treating the brain includes a light emitter configured to emit near infrared light. The device also has a light guide. The light guide has a proximal end configured to receive the near infrared light from the light emitter. The light guide also has a distal end through which the near infrared light exits the light guide.” Examiner takes the position that since Steinberg teaches a curved housing and Samaha teaches that the collimating optic is connected to the housing and the light source, that the photon-capture collimating optic is conformal to the curved inner housing portion in order to fit in the housing and to properly align with the EEG sites.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Samaha, which teaches that the photon-capture collimating optic is conformal to the curved inner housing portion at the EEG sites, into the modified invention of Lim in order to change a direction of the near infrared light that exits the light guide (Samaha ¶[0012]).
Regarding claim 34, Lim as modified in combination with Connor teaches all limitations of claim 32 as described in the rejection above.
Lim teaches that the photonic emitters deliver a selectable power density of 25 mWcm-2 to 325 mW cm-2, measured at the emitter surface during normal therapeutic operation (¶[0256], where “A. The power density of each transcranial headset 102 LED cluster head is preferably 20 to 60 mW/cm2, more preferably about 41 mW/cm2”).
Regarding claim 37, Lim as modified teaches all limitations of claim 30 as described in the rejection above.
Although Lim teaches a frame to secure the housing to the user’s forehead (¶[0232], where “A frame 118 is provided in the headset 102 to support the configured irradiation units 108, 110, 112 and 114 and to adapt the headset 102 for at will placement of the light transmitting external surface of the configured irradiation units 108, 110, 112 and 114 at a fixed position and desired irradiation direction on the skull 116”), Lim does not explicitly teach that the frame is a head-strap.
Brawn teaches a head-strap configured to position the housing (¶[0208], where “head-set 217 comprises an adjustable strap (not shown) which fits around the crown of a patient's head for securing the extra-oral light-therapy apparatus 202A. The adjustable strap can also fit around a patient's chin and extend back to the crown and around the crown of a patient's head. The adjustable strap can be made of a flexible, elastic woven material”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Brawn, which teaches a head-strap configured to position the housing, into the modified invention of Lim in order to secure the apparatus (Brawn ¶[0208]).
Although Lim teaches LED emitters that emit near infrared light at frontal lobe locations, Lim as modified does not teach that the photonic emitters align with EEG sites FP1, FP2, Fz, F3, F4, F7, and F8.
Connor teaches that the emitters align with EEG sites FP1, FP2, Fz, F3, F4, F7, and F8 (¶[0114], where “electromagnetic energy emitters of this neurostimulation device can be located at placement sites of Modified Combinatorial Nomenclature (MCN) electrode placement system which are selected from the group consisting of F3, F4, F7, F8, Fz…,” ¶[0129], where “a neurostimulation device can hold electromagnetic energy emitters in electromagnetic communication with a person's frontal lobe,” ¶[0549], where “the most anterior portion can hold two or more electromagnetic energy emitters on a person's forehead. In an example, the most anterior portion can hold electromagnetic energy emitters at two or more locations selected from the group consisting of: FP1, FPz, and FP2”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Connor, which teaches that the photonic emitters align with EEG sites FP1, FP2, Fz, F3, F4, F7, and F8, into the modified invention of Lim in order to alleviate pain and headaches, treat addiction, reduce body tremors, reduce seizures, address stress and anxiety, treat depression, increase focus or energy level, reduce hunger, improve sleep, address attention-related disorders, and aid in neurological rehabilitation (Connor ¶[0107]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEFRA D. MANOS/Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/UNSU JUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792