DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to an RCE filed on 10/09/2025. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the rejections made below with a new reference which addresses applicant concerns.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 8, 14, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020139194 to ZHU et al. (hereinafter ZHU) in view of US PGPub. No. 20020126780 to Oshima et al. (hereinafter Oshima).
NOTE: ZHU reference is provided by the applicant with one of the IDS submitted on 05/18/2023
Regarding claim 1, ZHU discloses a computer-implemented method for verification of electronic device insuring (¶0001, “The present invention relates to screen protection insurance, and in particular, to a device and a method for assisting a screen protection insurance for a mobile device.”), comprising:
collecting, by an auxiliary device (¶0028, FIG. 3, “mobile device 10”), an image of an insurance application verifying page of an object device (¶0006, “…receiving an image in association with a request for an insurance contract, wherein the image has been obtained by taking a photograph of a screen of a mobile device displaying a digital signature generated based on identification information of a mobile device; detecting the digital signature and a condition of the screen from the received image…”),
invoking, by the auxiliary device (¶0028, FIG. 3, “mobile device 10”), a camera of the auxiliary device based on the graph verification code to collect a device image of the object device (¶0025, “…The generated unique digital signature may be represented as an image using a barcode, QR code, or other coded image forms…”, wherein the barcode, QR code, or other coded image forms is interpreted as the claimed graph verification code), (¶0030-¶0031, “…When all or a part of the above is satisfied, the image is captured by the camera of the mobile device 10 and the camera controller 105 stores the captured image (automatically, without user operation) in the database 101.”);
identifying, by the auxiliary device, the verification token displayed by the object device (¶0037-¶0038, “The detection component 203 can detect the digital signature and the condition of the screen of the mobile device 10 from the received image…”, wherein the digital signature is interpreted as a verification token), (¶0056, “in order to verify the validity of the insurance claim, the server computer 20 compares the digital signature of the mobile device 10 stored on the storage unit with the digital signature detected from the image received in association with the insurance claim from the mobile device 10…”);
performing, by the auxiliary device, validity detection based on the verification token ¶0039, “…The verification component 205 compares the digital signature detected from a pre-repair image (an image of the damaged screen before the damaged screen is repaired) received in relation to the filing of an insurance claim, with the information stored in the database 201. In the case where the information stored in the database 201 indicates that the screen is insured, the verification component 205 determines that insurance of the screen relating to the insurance claim is valid and that costs of the repair of damage of the screen detected by the detection component 203 can be claimed.”); and
determining, by the auxiliary device, the device image as insurance application verification data of the object device (¶0041-¶0050, FIGs. 3-5, “…if the digital signature is detected and it is determined that the condition of the detected screen is in good condition (for example, in intact condition) in step S15, the server computer 20 stores on the storage unit the digital signature, insurance contract information indicating that insurance is valid for the screen displaying the digital signature, and insurance policy information. Namely, in this step, insurance for protection of the screen of the mobile device 10 is issued…”).
However, ZHU does not explicitly disclose wherein a graph verification code and verification token are separately displayed on the insurance application verifying page;
Oshima discloses wherein a graph verification code and verification token are separately displayed on the application verifying page (¶0308, “…The present invention reads mutual communication parameters such as barcode token on the display section of one portable terminal at the entrance and communicates using those parameters. This makes it possible to identify one communication party, drastically improve security and prevent misoperation”), (¶0319-¶0321, “…This allows both the one-dimensional barcode and the two-dimensional barcode to display the same volume of data simultaneously. This also allows barcode reader 708 (FIG. 26) to read data with either the one-dimensional barcode using a one-dimensional sensor or the two-dimensional barcode using a two-dimensional sensor such as a video camera, which provides compatibility. This has an effect of allowing a barcode reader of any type to read data. Furthermore, by displaying the one-dimensional barcode or two-dimensional barcode, it has the effect of displaying larger data. The above-described example is the case where the one-dimensional barcode and two-dimensional barcode are displayed simultaneously a plurality of times, but displaying either the one-dimensional barcode or two-dimensional barcode individually a plurality of times also has a similar effect of increasing the volume of data displayed.”), (¶0373, “authentication data is added to the data sent to above-described cellular phone 501 over the internet and downlink of a cellular phone line to show it with a barcode on cellular phone 501. The barcode scanner reads this data, POS terminal 750 verifies this authentication data, checks the authenticated result and completes the settlement. This method can further improve the security.”), (FIG. 31b, wherein QR code 592a and coupon registration Number 592 which are separately displayed on display section 590 (verification page) of a cellular phone 501 are interpreted as the claimed verification code and verification token);
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant claimed invention to modify the method of ZHU to incorporate displaying a graph verification code and verification token separately on the insurance application verifying page of ZHU as taught by Oshima and be motivated in doing so in order to improve the security and prevent misoperation-Oshima ¶0308 in parts.
Regarding claim 8, ZHU discloses a non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing one or more instructions executable by a computer system to perform operations comprising (¶0065, FIG. 9, “… In the control unit 2001, the processor 2002 reads the computer program stored on the storage unit 2005, develops it in the memory 2003, and executes it, thereby controlling the operation of the hardware elements of the server computer 20 to implement various functions.”):
collecting, by an auxiliary device (¶0028, FIG. 3, “mobile device 10”), an image of an
insurance application verifying page of an object device (¶0006, “…receiving an image in association with a request for an insurance contract, wherein the image has been obtained by taking a photograph of a screen of a mobile device displaying a digital signature generated based on identification information of a mobile device; detecting the digital signature and a condition of the screen from the received image…”),
invoking, by the auxiliary device (¶0028, FIG. 3, “mobile device 10”), a camera of the
auxiliary device based on the graph verification code to collect a device image of the object device (¶0025, “…The generated unique digital signature may be represented as an image using a barcode, QR code, or other coded image forms…”, …”, wherein the barcode, QR code, or other coded image forms is interpreted as the claimed graph verification code), (¶0030-¶0031, “…When all or a part of the above is satisfied, the image is captured by the camera of the mobile device 10 and the camera controller 105 stores the captured image (automatically, without user operation) in the database 101.”);
identifying, by the auxiliary device, the verification token displayed by the object device
(¶0037-¶0038, “The detection component 203 can detect the digital signature and the condition of the screen of the mobile device 10 from the received image…”, wherein the digital signature is interpreted as a verification token), (¶0056, “in order to verify the validity of the insurance claim, the server computer 20 compares the digital signature of the mobile device 10 stored on the storage unit with the digital signature detected from the image received in association with the insurance claim from the mobile device 10…”);
performing, by the auxiliary device, validity detection based on the verification token
(¶0039, “…The verification component 205 compares the digital signature detected from a pre-repair image (an image of the damaged screen before the damaged screen is repaired) received in relation to the filing of an insurance claim, with the information stored in the database 201. In the case where the information stored in the database 201 indicates that the screen is insured, the verification component 205 determines that insurance of the screen relating to the insurance claim is valid and that costs of the repair of damage of the screen detected by the detection component 203 can be claimed.”); and
determining, by the auxiliary device, the device image as insurance application
verification data of the object device (¶0041-¶0050, FIGs. 3-5, “…if the digital signature is detected and it is determined that the condition of the detected screen is in good condition (for example, in intact condition) in step S15, the server computer 20 stores on the storage unit the digital signature, insurance contract information indicating that insurance is valid for the screen displaying the digital signature, and insurance policy information. Namely, in this step, insurance for protection of the screen of the mobile device 10 is issued…”).
However, ZHU does not explicitly disclose wherein a graph verification code and verification token are separately displayed on the insurance application verifying page;
Oshima discloses wherein a graph verification code and verification token are separately displayed on the application verifying page (¶0308, “…The present invention reads mutual communication parameters such as barcode token on the display section of one portable terminal at the entrance and communicates using those parameters. This makes it possible to identify one communication party, drastically improve security and prevent misoperation”), (¶0319-¶0321, “…This allows both the one-dimensional barcode and the two-dimensional barcode to display the same volume of data simultaneously. This also allows barcode reader 708 (FIG. 26) to read data with either the one-dimensional barcode using a one-dimensional sensor or the two-dimensional barcode using a two-dimensional sensor such as a video camera, which provides compatibility. This has an effect of allowing a barcode reader of any type to read data. Furthermore, by displaying the one-dimensional barcode or two-dimensional barcode, it has the effect of displaying larger data. The above-described example is the case where the one-dimensional barcode and two-dimensional barcode are displayed simultaneously a plurality of times, but displaying either the one-dimensional barcode or two-dimensional barcode individually a plurality of times also has a similar effect of increasing the volume of data displayed.”), (¶0373, “authentication data is added to the data sent to above-described cellular phone 501 over the internet and downlink of a cellular phone line to show it with a barcode on cellular phone 501. The barcode scanner reads this data, POS terminal 750 verifies this authentication data, checks the authenticated result and completes the settlement. This method can further improve the security.”), (FIG. 31b, wherein QR code 592a and coupon registration Number 592 which are separately displayed on display section 590 (verification page) of a cellular phone 501 are interpreted as the claimed verification code and verification token);
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant claimed invention to modify the method of ZHU to incorporate displaying a graph verification code and verification token separately on the insurance application verifying page of ZHU as taught by Oshima and be motivated in doing so in order to improve the security and prevent misoperation-Oshima ¶0308 in parts.
Regarding claim 15, ZHU discloses a computer-implemented system, comprising: at least two processors (¶0064, FIG. 8, processor 1002, and ¶0065, FIG. 9, processor 2002); and one or more computer memory devices interoperably coupled with the at least two processors and having tangible, non-transitory, machine-readable media storing one or more instructions that, when executed by the at least two processors, perform one or more operations comprising (¶0018, FIG. 1, and ¶0064-¶0065, FIGs. 8 and 9)
collecting, by an auxiliary device (¶0028, FIG. 3, “mobile device 10”), an image of an
insurance application verifying page of an object device (¶0006, “…receiving an image in association with a request for an insurance contract, wherein the image has been obtained by taking a photograph of a screen of a mobile device displaying a digital signature generated based on identification information of a mobile device; detecting the digital signature and a condition of the screen from the received image…”),
invoking, by the auxiliary device (¶0028, FIG. 3, “mobile device 10”), a camera of the
auxiliary device based on the graph verification code to collect a device image of the object device (¶0025, “…The generated unique digital signature may be represented as an image using a barcode, QR code, or other coded image forms…”, …”, wherein the barcode, QR code, or other coded image forms is interpreted as the claimed graph verification code), (¶0030-¶0031, “…When all or a part of the above is satisfied, the image is captured by the camera of the mobile device 10 and the camera controller 105 stores the captured image (automatically, without user operation) in the database 101.”);
identifying, by the auxiliary device, the verification token displayed by the object device
(¶0037-¶0038, “The detection component 203 can detect the digital signature and the condition of the screen of the mobile device 10 from the received image…”, wherein the digital signature is interpreted as a verification token), (¶0056, “in order to verify the validity of the insurance claim, the server computer 20 compares the digital signature of the mobile device 10 stored on the storage unit with the digital signature detected from the image received in association with the insurance claim from the mobile device 10…”);
performing, by the auxiliary device, validity detection based on the verification token
(¶0039, “…The verification component 205 compares the digital signature detected from a pre-repair image (an image of the damaged screen before the damaged screen is repaired) received in relation to the filing of an insurance claim, with the information stored in the database 201. In the case where the information stored in the database 201 indicates that the screen is insured, the verification component 205 determines that insurance of the screen relating to the insurance claim is valid and that costs of the repair of damage of the screen detected by the detection component 203 can be claimed.”); and
determining, by the auxiliary device, the device image as insurance application
verification data of the object device (¶0041-¶0050, FIGs. 3-5, “…if the digital signature is detected and it is determined that the condition of the detected screen is in good condition (for example, in intact condition) in step S15, the server computer 20 stores on the storage unit the digital signature, insurance contract information indicating that insurance is valid for the screen displaying the digital signature, and insurance policy information. Namely, in this step, insurance for protection of the screen of the mobile device 10 is issued…”).
However, ZHU does not explicitly disclose wherein a graph verification code and verification token are separately displayed on the insurance application verifying page;
Oshima discloses wherein a graph verification code and verification token are separately displayed on the application verifying page (¶0308, “…The present invention reads mutual communication parameters such as barcode token on the display section of one portable terminal at the entrance and communicates using those parameters. This makes it possible to identify one communication party, drastically improve security and prevent misoperation”), (¶0319-¶0321, “…This allows both the one-dimensional barcode and the two-dimensional barcode to display the same volume of data simultaneously. This also allows barcode reader 708 (FIG. 26) to read data with either the one-dimensional barcode using a one-dimensional sensor or the two-dimensional barcode using a two-dimensional sensor such as a video camera, which provides compatibility. This has an effect of allowing a barcode reader of any type to read data. Furthermore, by displaying the one-dimensional barcode or two-dimensional barcode, it has the effect of displaying larger data. The above-described example is the case where the one-dimensional barcode and two-dimensional barcode are displayed simultaneously a plurality of times, but displaying either the one-dimensional barcode or two-dimensional barcode individually a plurality of times also has a similar effect of increasing the volume of data displayed.”), (¶0373, “authentication data is added to the data sent to above-described cellular phone 501 over the internet and downlink of a cellular phone line to show it with a barcode on cellular phone 501. The barcode scanner reads this data, POS terminal 750 verifies this authentication data, checks the authenticated result and completes the settlement. This method can further improve the security.”), (FIG. 31b, wherein QR code 592a and coupon registration Number 592 which are separately displayed on display section 590 (verification page) of a cellular phone 501 are interpreted as the claimed verification code and verification token);
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant claimed invention to modify the method of ZHU to incorporate displaying a graph verification code and verification token separately on the insurance application verifying page of ZHU as taught by Oshima and be motivated in doing so in order to improve the security and prevent misoperation-Oshima ¶0308 in parts.
Regarding claim 7, ZHU in view of Oshima discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1.
ZHU further discloses wherein the invoking a camera of the auxiliary device based on the graph verification code to collect a device image of the object device comprises:
after the image of the insurance application verifying page is collected (¶0006, “…receiving an image in association with a request for an insurance contract, wherein the image has been obtained by taking a photograph of a screen of a mobile device displaying a digital signature generated based on identification information of a mobile device; detecting the digital signature and a condition of the screen from the received image…”), sending the graph verification code to a code platform (¶0046, FIG. 5, S14, “the mobile device 10 transmits the image of the screen captured as described above to the server computer 20 in association with a request for insurance contract for the screen…”, wherein the image is represented using a barcode, QR code, or other coded image forms as disclosed in ¶0025, and the server computer 20 to which the image is sent is interpreted as a code platform NOTE, applicant in ¶0130 of the specification discloses that the graph verification code is a verification barcode); and
in response to the code platform returning a collection instruction after parsing the graph verification code (¶0047, FIG. 5, S15, “the server computer 20 receives a single image received from the mobile device 10 (or another device) in association with the request for insurance contract of the screen, and detects the digital signature (the digital signature generated with respect to the mobile device 10) and the condition of the screen of the mobile device 10 (for example, whether there is damage) from the received image.”), invoking the camera of the auxiliary device to collect the device image of the object device (¶0030-¶0031, “…When all or a part of the above is satisfied, the image is captured by the camera of the mobile device 10 and the camera controller 105 stores the captured image (automatically, without user operation) in the database 101.”).
Regarding claim 14, ZHU in view of Oshima discloses the non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 8.
ZHU further discloses wherein the invoking a camera of the auxiliary device based on the graph verification code to collect a device image of the object device comprises:
after the image of the insurance application verifying page is collected (¶0006, “…receiving an image in association with a request for an insurance contract, wherein the image has been obtained by taking a photograph of a screen of a mobile device displaying a digital signature generated based on identification information of a mobile device; detecting the digital signature and a condition of the screen from the received image…”), sending the graph verification code to a code platform (¶0046, FIG. 5, S14, “the mobile device 10 transmits the image of the screen captured as described above to the server computer 20 in association with a request for insurance contract for the screen…”, wherein the image is represented with using a barcode, QR code, or other coded image forms as disclosed in ¶0025, and the server computer 20 to which the image is sent is interpreted as a code platform NOTE, applicant in ¶0130 of the specification discloses that the graph verification code is a verification barcode); and
in response to the code platform returning a collection instruction after parsing the graph verification code (¶0047, FIG. 5, S15, “the server computer 20 receives a single image received from the mobile device 10 (or another device) in association with the request for insurance contract of the screen, and detects the digital signature (the digital signature generated with respect to the mobile device 10) and the condition of the screen of the mobile device 10 (for example, whether there is damage) from the received image.”), invoking the camera of the auxiliary device to collect the device image of the object device (¶0030-¶0031, “…When all or a part of the above is satisfied, the image is captured by the camera of the mobile device 10 and the camera controller 105 stores the captured image (automatically, without user operation) in the database 101.”).
Regarding claim 20, ZHU in view of Oshima discloses the computer-implemented system of claim 15.
ZHU further discloses wherein the invoking a camera of the auxiliary device based on the graph verification code to collect a device image of the object device comprises:
after the image of the insurance application verifying page is collected (¶0006, “…receiving an image in association with a request for an insurance contract, wherein the image has been obtained by taking a photograph of a screen of a mobile device displaying a digital signature generated based on identification information of a mobile device; detecting the digital signature and a condition of the screen from the received image…”), sending the graph verification code to a code platform (¶0046, FIG. 5, S14, “the mobile device 10 transmits the image of the screen captured as described above to the server computer 20 in association with a request for insurance contract for the screen…”, wherein the image is represented with using a barcode, QR code, or other coded image forms as disclosed in ¶0025, and the server computer 20 to which the image is sent is interpreted as a code platform NOTE, applicant in ¶0130 of the specification discloses that the graph verification code is a verification barcode); and
in response to the code platform returning a collection instruction after parsing the graph verification code (¶0047, FIG. 5, S15, “the server computer 20 receives a single image received from the mobile device 10 (or another device) in association with the request for insurance contract of the screen, and detects the digital signature (the digital signature generated with respect to the mobile device 10) and the condition of the screen of the mobile device 10 (for example, whether there is damage) from the received image.”), invoking the camera of the auxiliary device to collect the device image of the object device (¶0030-¶0031, “…When all or a part of the above is satisfied, the image is captured by the camera of the mobile device 10 and the camera controller 105 stores the captured image (automatically, without user operation) in the database 101.”).
Claims 5-6, 12-13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020139194 to ZHU et al. (hereinafter ZHU) in view of US PGPub. No. 20020126780 to Oshima et al. (hereinafter Oshima) and further in view of US PGPub. No. 20100088123 to McCall et al. (hereinafter McCall).
Regarding claim 5, ZHU in view of Oshima discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1.
However, ZHU in view of Oshima does not explicitly disclose the following limitation:
wherein the identifying a verification token comprises:
identifying the verification token from the image of the insurance application verifying page by using an optical character recognition (OCR) technology
McCall discloses wherein the identifying a verification token comprises:
identifying the verification token from the image of the insurance application verifying page by using an optical character recognition (OCR) technology (¶0020, “…optical character recognition (OCR) or other automated verification means may be used to established the license plate number or presence of another token (as described below).”), (¶0006, “The method may also include verifying the representation of a physical token in the digital file. The physical token may be a barcode, a license plate, an identification card, or a state issued driver's license.”).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of ZHU and Oshima to include optical character recognition (OCR) technology to identify the verification token from the image as disclosed by McCall and be motivated in doing so in order to provide the token to the customer at the inception of an insurance policy or when a photograph is needed to verify a claim, odometer reading, or other event-McCall ¶0031 in parts.
NOTE: The motivation is also applicable to claims 6, 12-13, and 19 as well.
Regarding claim 6, ZHU in view of Oshima discloses the computer-implemented
method of claim 1.
However, ZHU in view of Oshima does not explicitly disclose the following limitation:
wherein the identifying a verification token comprises:
identifying the verification token from the device image by using an
optical character recognition
McCall discloses wherein the identifying a verification token comprises:
identifying the verification token from the device image by using an
optical character recognition (OCR) technology (¶0020, “…Where a photo is provided or required that shows the automobile license plate, a check may be performed against public records to verify that the license plate shown is assigned to a vehicle of the type indicated by the customer. In one embodiment optical character recognition (OCR) or other automated verification means may be used to established the license plate number or presence of another token (as described below)”).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of ZHU and Oshima to include optical character recognition (OCR) technology to identify the verification token from the image as disclosed by McCall and be motivated in doing so in order to provide the token to the customer at the inception of an insurance policy or when a photograph is needed to verify a claim, odometer reading, or other event-McCall ¶0031 in parts.
Regarding claim 12, ZHU in view of McCall discloses the non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 8.
However, ZHU in view of Oshima does not explicitly disclose the following limitation:
wherein the identifying a verification token comprises:
identifying the verification token from the image of the insurance application verifying page by using an optical character recognition (OCR) technology.
McCall discloses wherein the identifying a verification token comprises:
identifying the verification token from the image of the insurance application verifying page by using an optical character recognition (OCR) technology (¶0020, “…optical character recognition (OCR) or other automated verification means may be used to established the license plate number or presence of another token (as described below).”), (¶0006, “The method may also include verifying the representation of a physical token in the digital file. The physical token may be a barcode, a license plate, an identification card, or a state issued driver's license.”).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of ZHU and Oshima to include optical character recognition (OCR) technology to identify the verification token from the image as disclosed by McCall and be motivated in doing so in order to provide the token to the customer at the inception of an insurance policy or when a photograph is needed to verify a claim, odometer reading, or other event-McCall ¶0031 in parts.
Regarding claim 13, ZHU in view of Oshima discloses the non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 8.
However, ZHU in view of Oshima does not explicitly disclose the following limitation:
wherein the identifying a verification token comprises:
identifying the verification token from the device image by using an optical character
recognition (OCR) technology.
McCall discloses wherein the identifying a verification token comprises:
identifying the verification token from the device image by using an optical character
recognition (OCR) technology (¶0020, “…Where a photo is provided or required that shows the automobile license plate, a check may be performed against public records to verify that the license plate shown is assigned to a vehicle of the type indicated by the customer. In one embodiment optical character recognition (OCR) or other automated verification means may be used to established the license plate number or presence of another token (as described below)”).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of ZHU and Oshima to include optical character recognition (OCR) technology to identify the verification token from the image as disclosed by McCall and be motivated in doing so in order to provide the token to the customer at the inception of an insurance policy or when a photograph is needed to verify a claim, odometer reading, or other event-McCall ¶0031 in parts.
Regarding claim 19, ZHU in view of Oshima discloses the computer-implemented system of claim 15.
However, ZHU in view of Oshima does not explicitly disclose the following limitation:
wherein the identifying a verification token comprises:
identifying the verification token from the image of the insurance application verifying page by using an optical character recognition (OCR) technology.
McCall discloses wherein the identifying a verification token comprises:
identifying the verification token from the image of the insurance application verifying page by using an optical character recognition (OCR) technology (¶0020, “…optical character recognition (OCR) or other automated verification means may be used to established the license plate number or presence of another token (as described below).”), (¶0006, “The method may also include verifying the representation of a physical token in the digital file. The physical token may be a barcode, a license plate, an identification card, or a state issued driver's license.”).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of ZHU and Oshima to include optical character recognition (OCR) technology to identify the verification token from the image as disclosed by McCall and be motivated in doing so in order to provide the token to the customer at the inception of an insurance policy or when a photograph is needed to verify a claim, odometer reading, or other event-McCall ¶0031 in parts.
Claim 2-4, 9-11, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020139194 to ZHU et al. (hereinafter ZHU) in view of US PGPub. No. 20020126780 to Oshima et al. (hereinafter Oshima) and further in view of CN 105976252 to FANG, Yuan-jin. (hereinafter FANG).
NOTE: FANG reference is provided by the applicant in one of the IDS submitted on 02/16/2024. Citations from FANG are from the PDF copy provided by the examiner in the OC set documents.
Regarding claim 2, ZHU in view of Oshima discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1.
ZHU further discloses wherein performing, by the auxiliary device, validity detection based on the verification token, comprises:
parsing out a generation moment of the verification token from the verification token (¶0025, “…the unique digital signature is generated based on the identification information of the mobile device 10 and signed using a private key. The time stamp is a time stamp at the time of generation of the unique digital signature…”), (¶0036-¶0038, “… the digital signature is generated by the digital signature generator 103, for example, based on the identification information of the mobile device 10. The image of the screen on which the digital signature is displayed may be an image captured by the camera of the mobile device 10 or an image captured by the camera of the device other than the mobile device 10…The detection component 203 can detect the digital signature and the condition of the screen of the mobile device 10 from the received image. Detection of the condition of the screen can confirm the presence or absence of damage to the screen, for example, by scanning the image. The detection component 203 can detect both the digital signature generated by the digital signature generator 103 and the condition of the screen of the mobile device 10 from the single image captured…”, wherein scanning the image after the generation of digital signature is interpreted as parsing the generation moment of the verification token);
obtaining a collection moment of the image of the insurance application verifying page (¶0049, “…As a result, it is possible to determine the identification information of the mobile device 10, the timing of insurance contract request (which can be obtained from the time stamp of the digital signature), and the condition of the screen by a single communication between the mobile device 10 and the server computer 20.”);
determining whether a time difference between the collection moment and the generation moment is less than or equal to a first duration (¶0005, “… The digital signature is timestamped and is required to be submitted within a specified time. The specified time is of short duration (for example 5 minutes or less) from the time of the generation of the digital signature. The timestamp and the short submission time make it difficult for someone to alter the image (for example, altering the image of a damaged screen to appear to be in the good condition).”); and
However, ZHU in view of Oshima does not explicitly disclose the following limitation:
if the time difference between the collection moment and the generation moment is less than or equal to a first duration, determining that the validity detection is passed.
FANG discloses:
if the time difference between the collection moment and the generation moment is less than or equal to a first duration, determining that the validity detection is passed (page 9, paragraph 5, “…the network server records the photo uploading time. finally network server checking the photo according to the underwriting conditions, confirming the acceptance condition receiving insurer, otherwise not accept insurer, insurance condition is as follows: the photo uploading time and second time stamp time interval is less than the first preset time, and two-dimensional code picture included in the identity information of insurance in the insurance electronic device electronic device identity information is consistent with the network server stores insurance in complete photo electronic device screen. so it can remote implementation of the insured electronic device screen for automatic checking and ensures that the electronic device screen the electronic device and corresponding to the uploaded photo consistency, ensure the accuracy of ping, can avoid the problem of cheating.”)
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of ZHU and Oshima in claim 1 to include time difference between the collection moment and the generation moment is less than or equal to a first duration to confirm insurance of a device as disclosed by FANG and be motivated in doing so in order to ensure the accuracy of ping, can avoid the problem of cheating-FANG page 9, paragraph 5, last line.
Regarding claim 3, ZHU in view of Oshima discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1.
ZHU further discloses wherein performing, by the auxiliary device, validity detection based on the verification token comprises:
sending, to a server, the verification token (¶0046-¶0047, FIG. 5, S14-S15, wherein the server:
parses out a generation moment of the verification token (¶0047-¶0050, “the server computer 20 receives a single image received from the mobile device 10 (or another device) in association with the request for insurance contract of the screen, and detects the digital signature (the digital signature generated with respect to the mobile device 10) and the condition of the screen of the mobile device 10 (for example, whether there is damage) from the received image… the server computer 20 extracts the digital fingerprint from the received image and stores the digital fingerprint on the storage unit… the server computer 20 detects the digital signature and the condition of the screen of the mobile device 10 from a single image received from the mobile device 10. As a result, it is possible to determine the identification information of the mobile device 10, the timing of insurance contract request (which can be obtained from the time stamp of the digital signature), and the condition of the screen by a single communication between the mobile device 10 and the server computer 20”); and
receiving, from the server, a validity detection pass message (¶0054-¶0055, “… the server computer 20 stores the result of determination of the validity of insurance claim (for example, information indicating that insurance claim for the repair of the damaged device is valid), and transmits the result to the mobile device 10.”),
However, ZHU in view of Oshima does not explicitly disclose the following limitation:
determines whether a time difference between the generation moment and a sending moment of the verification token is less than or equal to a second duration;
the validity detection pass message is sent by the server when determining that the time difference is less than or equal to the second duration; and
the second duration is longer than first duration.
FANG discloses:
determines whether a time difference between the generation moment and a sending moment of the verification token is less than or equal to a second duration (page 3, paragraphs 1-3, “the auxiliary electronic device taking a picture for the insurance electronic device screen through the camera interface, and uploading the photo to the network server, the network server records the photo uploading time, the upload can be system automatically uploading or manual upload. said network server checking the condition, determining the photo The insurer meets the acceptance condition receiving insurer, otherwise not accept insurer, the insurer condition is as follows: the identity information of the insurance electronic device the photo uploading time and said second time stamp time interval is less than a first predetermined period, and the two-dimensional code picture included in the identity information of insurance in the electronic device is consistent with the network server stores the insurance electronic device screen is completely in the photograph. Further, the acceptance condition further comprises: between the second time stamp and the first time stamp time interval is less than the second preset time.”);
wherein: the validity detection pass message is sent by the server when determining that the time difference is less than or equal to the second duration (page 3, paragraphs 1-3, as cited above), (page 8, last paragraph to page 9, paragraphs 1-3, “…Further, after step S104, further comprising: the network server returns the result of the whether the insurer to the insured electronic device.
Specifically, if the checking result is acceptable insurance, such as insurance success "the insurance electronic device screen display, otherwise display" insured fails, not belonging to the range.”);
the second duration is longer than first duration (page 10, last paragraph, “the acceptance condition further comprises: the time interval is less than the second preset time between the second time stamp and the first time stamp. so it can ensure the accuracy of the two-dimensional code auxiliary device scan, further ensure the consistency of the electronic device screen the electronic device and corresponding to the uploaded photo, eliminate the moral risk and avoid cheating”).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of ZHU and Oshima in claim 1 to include a time difference between the generation moment and a sending moment of the verification token is less than or equal to a second duration as disclosed by FANG and be motivated in doing so in order to eliminate the moral risk and avoid cheating-FANG page 10, last paragraph, last line.
Regarding claim 4, ZHU in view of Oshima discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1.
ZHU further discloses further comprising:
parsing out a first device identifier from the verification token (¶0049, “…As a result, it is possible to determine the identification information of the mobile device 10, the timing of insurance contract request (which can be obtained from the time stamp of the digital signature), and the condition of the screen by a single communication between the mobile device 10 and the server computer 20.”), (¶0023, “…The identification information used for generating the digital fingerprint includes an International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI) number, a Mobile Equipment Identifier (MEID) number, an Electronic Serial Number (ESN), an IDentifier For Vendor (IDFV) (for iOS), a custom generated unique ID, a MAC Address, a Serial Number, a Phone Brand, and Phone Model, or a combination of at least some of them. The identification information used to generate the digital fingerprint may be one or a plurality of identification randomly selected from the above identification information of the mobile device 10.”);
performing, by the auxiliary device, validity detection based on the verification token (¶0039, “The verification component 205 determines the validity of the insurance claim being made (namely, whether or not the screen that the insurance claim is made is covered with valid insurance). This determination is made, for example, after an insurance claim is filed by a person who wants his screen of mobile to be repaired. The verification component 205 compares the digital signature detected from a pre-repair image (an image of the damaged screen before the damaged screen is repaired) received in relation to the filing of an insurance claim, with the information stored in the database 201…”) comprising:
determining whether the first device identifier and the second device identifier are identical (¶0054, “…In order to verify the validity of the insurance claim, the server computer 20 compares the digital signature of the mobile device 10 stored on the storage unit with the digital signature detected from the received image, and determines whether or not the both correspond to each other. In the above comparison, for example, the identification information, time stamp, and location of the mobile device 10 included in the digital signature are compared…”); and
if identical, determining that the validity detection is passed (¶0054, “…If it is determined to correspond, the server computer 20 judges whether or not the insurance claim for repair of the detected damage is valid based on the valid insurance policy information of the mobile device 10 stored on the storage unit.”). See also ¶0056 and ¶0060.
However, ZHU in view of Oshima does not explicitly disclose the limitation of:
parsing out a second device identifier from the graph verification code;
FANG discloses parsing out a second device identifier from the graph verification code (page 7, paragraph 2, “… identity information after network server receives insurance information, insurance information to generate a two-dimensional code, two-dimensional code comprising the electronic device and a first timestamp. the first time stamp is the generation time of a two-dimensional code. insurants electronic device identity information comprises the information, insurance order number and identifying the electronic device unique information, for example, insurance electronic device is a mobile phone, identifying the electronic device unique information such as the IMEI number of the mobile phone, or background to identify mobile phone assigned unique sequence number. identification of the electronic device can also be included in the insurance information, is filled in by the user, can be filled by user mobile phone IMEI number prompt, or naming a sequence number by the user according to the preset format. identification of the electronic device can also be included in the insurance information, is filled in by the user, can be filled by user mobile phone IMEI number prompt, or naming a sequence number by the user according to the preset format.”, wherein the two-dimensional code generated is interpreted as graph verification code and insurance order number and identifying the electronic device unique information, for example, insurance electronic device is a mobile phone, identifying the electronic device unique information such as the IMEI number of the mobile phone, or background to identify mobile phone assigned unique sequence number from the two-dimensional code are the plurality of identifier, any of those identifiers can be labelled as a second device identifier);
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of ZHU and Oshima in claim 1 to include parsing out a second device identifier from the graph verification code as disclosed by FANG and be motivated in doing so in order ensure the accuracy of the two-dimensional code auxiliary device scan-FANG page 10, last paragraph in parts.
Regarding claim 9, ZHU in view of Oshima discloses the non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 8.
ZHU further discloses wherein performing, by the auxiliary device, validity detection based on the verification token, comprises:
parsing out a generation moment of the verification token from the verification token (¶0025, “…the unique digital signature is generated based on the identification information of the mobile device 10 and signed using a private key. The time stamp is a time stamp at the time of generation of the unique digital signature…”), (¶0036-¶0038, “… the digital signature is generated by the digital signature generator 103, for example, based on the identification information of the mobile device 10. The image of the screen on which the digital signature is displayed may be an image captured by the camera of the mobile device 10 or an image captured by the camera of the device other than the mobile device 10…The detection component 203 can detect the digital signature and the condition of the screen of the mobile device 10 from the received image. Detection of the condition of the screen can confirm the presence or absence of damage to the screen, for example, by scanning the image. The detection component 203 can detect both the digital signature generated by the digital signature generator 103 and the condition of the screen of the mobile device 10 from the single image captured…”, wherein scanning the image after the generation of digital signature is interpreted as parsing the generation moment of the verification token);
obtaining a collection moment of the image of the insurance application verifying page (¶0049, “…As a result, it is possible to determine the identification information of the mobile device 10, the timing of insurance contract request (which can be obtained from the time stamp of the digital signature), and the condition of the screen by a single communication between the mobile device 10 and the server computer 20.”);
determining whether a time difference between the collection moment and the generation moment is less than or equal to a first duration (¶0005, “… The digital signature is timestamped and is required to be submitted within a specified time. The specified time is of short duration (for example 5 minutes or less) from the time of the generation of the digital signature. The timestamp and the short submission time make it difficult for someone to alter the image (for example, altering the image of a damaged screen to appear to be in the good condition).”); and
However, ZHU in view of Oshima does not explicitly disclose the following limitation:
if the time difference between the collection moment and the generation moment is less than or equal to a first duration, determining that the validity detection is passed.
FANG discloses:
if the time difference between the collection moment and the generation moment is less than or equal to a first duration, determining that the validity detection is passed (page 9, paragraph 5, “…the network server records the photo uploading time. finally network server checking the photo according to the underwriting conditions, confirming the acceptance condition receiving insurer, otherwise not accept insurer, insurance condition is as follows: the photo uploading time and second time stamp time interval is less than the first preset time, and two-dimensional code picture included in the identity information of insurance in the insurance electronic device electronic device identity information is consistent with the network server stores insurance in complete photo electronic device screen. so it can remote implementation of the insured electronic device screen for automatic checking and ensures that the electronic device screen the electronic device and corresponding to the uploaded photo consistency, ensure the accuracy of ping, can avoid the problem of cheating.”)
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of ZHU and Oshima in claim 8 to include time difference between the collection moment and the generation moment is less than or equal to a first duration to confirm insurance of a device as disclosed by FANG and be motivated in doing so in order to ensure the accuracy of ping, can avoid the problem of cheating-FANG page 9, paragraph 5, last line.
Regarding claim 10, ZHU in view of Oshima discloses the non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 8.
ZHU further discloses wherein performing, by the auxiliary device, validity detection based on the verification token comprises:
sending, to a server, the verification token (¶0046-¶0047, FIG. 5, S14-S15, wherein the server:
parses out a generation moment of the verification token (¶0047-¶0050, “the server computer 20 receives a single image received from the mobile device 10 (or another device) in association with the request for insurance contract of the screen, and detects the digital signature (the digital signature generated with respect to the mobile device 10) and the condition of the screen of the mobile device 10 (for example, whether there is damage) from the received image… the server computer 20 extracts the digital fingerprint from the received image and stores the digital fingerprint on the storage unit… the server computer 20 detects the digital signature and the condition of the screen of the mobile device 10 from a single image received from the mobile device 10. As a result, it is possible to determine the identification information of the mobile device 10, the timing of insurance contract request (which can be obtained from the time stamp of the digital signature), and the condition of the screen by a single communication between the mobile device 10 and the server computer 20”); and
receiving, from the server, a validity detection pass message (¶0054-¶0055, “… the server computer 20 stores the result of determination of the validity of insurance claim (for example, information indicating that insurance claim for the repair of the damaged device is valid), and transmits the result to the mobile device 10.”),
However, ZHU in view of Oshima does not explicitly disclose the following limitation:
determines whether a time difference between the generation moment and a sending moment of the verification token is less than or equal to a second duration;
the validity detection pass message is sent by the server when determining that the time difference is less than or equal to the second duration; and
the second duration is longer than first duration.
FANG discloses:
determines whether a time difference between the generation moment and a sending moment of the verification token is less than or equal to a second duration (page 3, paragraphs 1-3, “the auxiliary electronic device taking a picture for the insurance electronic device screen through the camera interface, and uploading the photo to the network server, the network server records the photo uploading time, the upload can be system automatically uploading or manual upload.
said network server checking the condition, determining the photo The insurer meets the acceptance condition receiving insurer, otherwise not accept insurer, the insurer condition is as follows: the identity information of the insurance electronic device the photo uploading time and said second time stamp time interval is less than a first predetermined period, and the two-dimensional code picture included in the identity information of insurance in the electronic device is consistent with the network server stores the insurance electronic device screen is completely in the photograph. Further, the acceptance condition further comprises: between the second time stamp and the first time stamp time interval is less than the second preset time.”);
wherein: the validity detection pass message is sent by the server when determining that the time difference is less than or equal to the second duration (page 3, paragraphs 1-3, as cited above), (page 8, last paragraph to page 9, paragraphs 1-3, “…Further, after step S104, further comprising: the network server returns the result of the whether the insurer to the insured electronic device.
Specifically, if the checking result is acceptable insurance, such as insurance success "the insurance electronic device screen display, otherwise display" insured fails, not belonging to the range.”);
the second duration is longer than first duration (page 10, last paragraph, “the acceptance condition further comprises: the time interval is less than the second preset time between the second time stamp and the first time stamp. so it can ensure the accuracy of the two-dimensional code auxiliary device scan, further ensure the consistency of the electronic device screen the electronic device and corresponding to the uploaded photo, eliminate the moral risk and avoid cheating”).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of ZHU and Oshima in claim 8 to include a time difference between the generation moment and a sending moment of the verification token is less than or equal to a second duration as disclosed by FANG and be motivated in doing so in order to eliminate the moral risk and avoid cheating-FANG page 10, last paragraph, last line.
Regarding claim 11, ZHU in view of Oshima discloses the non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 8.
ZHU further discloses further comprising:
parsing out a first device identifier from the verification token (¶0049, “…As a result, it is possible to determine the identification information of the mobile device 10, the timing of insurance contract request (which can be obtained from the time stamp of the digital signature), and the condition of the screen by a single communication between the mobile device 10 and the server computer 20.”), (¶0023, “…The identification information used for generating the digital fingerprint includes an International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI) number, a Mobile Equipment Identifier (MEID) number, an Electronic Serial Number (ESN), an IDentifier For Vendor (IDFV) (for iOS), a custom generated unique ID, a MAC Address, a Serial Number, a Phone Brand, and Phone Model, or a combination of at least some of them. The identification information used to generate the digital fingerprint may be one or a plurality of identification randomly selected from the above identification information of the mobile device 10.”);
performing, by the auxiliary device, validity detection based on the verification token (¶0039, “The verification component 205 determines the validity of the insurance claim being made (namely, whether or not the screen that the insurance claim is made is covered with valid insurance). This determination is made, for example, after an insurance claim is filed by a person who wants his screen of mobile to be repaired. The verification component 205 compares the digital signature detected from a pre-repair image (an image of the damaged screen before the damaged screen is repaired) received in relation to the filing of an insurance claim, with the information stored in the database 201…”) comprising:
determining whether the first device identifier and the second device identifier are identical (¶0054, “…In order to verify the validity of the insurance claim, the server computer 20 compares the digital signature of the mobile device 10 stored on the storage unit with the digital signature detected from the received image, and determines whether or not the both correspond to each other. In the above comparison, for example, the identification information, time stamp, and location of the mobile device 10 included in the digital signature are compared…”); and
if identical, determining that the validity detection is passed (¶0054, “…If it is determined to correspond, the server computer 20 judges whether or not the insurance claim for repair of the detected damage is valid based on the valid insurance policy information of the mobile device 10 stored on the storage unit.”). See also ¶0056 and ¶0060.
However, ZHU in view of Oshima does not explicitly disclose the limitation of:
parsing out a second device identifier from the graph verification code;
FANG discloses parsing out a second device identifier from the graph verification code (page 7, paragraph 2, “… identity information after network server receives insurance information, insurance information to generate a two-dimensional code, two-dimensional code comprising the electronic device and a first timestamp. the first time stamp is the generation time of a two-dimensional code. insurants electronic device identity information comprises the information, insurance order number and identifying the electronic device unique information, for example, insurance electronic device is a mobile phone, identifying the electronic device unique information such as the IMEI number of the mobile phone, or background to identify mobile phone assigned unique sequence number. identification of the electronic device can also be included in the insurance information, is filled in by the user, can be filled by user mobile phone IMEI number prompt, or naming a sequence number by the user according to the preset format. identification of the electronic device can also be included in the insurance information, is filled in by the user, can be filled by user mobile phone IMEI number prompt, or naming a sequence number by the user according to the preset format.”, wherein the two-dimensional code generated is interpreted as graph verification code and insurance order number and identifying the electronic device unique information, for example, insurance electronic device is a mobile phone, identifying the electronic device unique information such as the IMEI number of the mobile phone, or background to identify mobile phone assigned unique sequence number from the two-dimensional code are the plurality of identifier, any of those identifiers can be labelled as a second device identifier);
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of ZHU and Oshima in claim 8 to include parsing out a second device identifier from the graph verification code as disclosed by FANG and be motivated in doing so in order ensure the accuracy of the two-dimensional code auxiliary device scan-FANG page 10, last paragraph in parts.
Regarding claim 16, ZHU in view of Oshima discloses the computer-implemented system of claim 15.
ZHU further discloses wherein performing, by the auxiliary device, validity detection based on the verification token, comprises:
parsing out a generation moment of the verification token from the verification token (¶0025, “…the unique digital signature is generated based on the identification information of the mobile device 10 and signed using a private key. The time stamp is a time stamp at the time of generation of the unique digital signature…”), (¶0036-¶0038, “… the digital signature is generated by the digital signature generator 103, for example, based on the identification information of the mobile device 10. The image of the screen on which the digital signature is displayed may be an image captured by the camera of the mobile device 10 or an image captured by the camera of the device other than the mobile device 10…The detection component 203 can detect the digital signature and the condition of the screen of the mobile device 10 from the received image. Detection of the condition of the screen can confirm the presence or absence of damage to the screen, for example, by scanning the image. The detection component 203 can detect both the digital signature generated by the digital signature generator 103 and the condition of the screen of the mobile device 10 from the single image captured…”, wherein scanning the image after the generation of digital signature is interpreted as parsing the generation moment of the verification token);
obtaining a collection moment of the image of the insurance application verifying page (¶0049, “…As a result, it is possible to determine the identification information of the mobile device 10, the timing of insurance contract request (which can be obtained from the time stamp of the digital signature), and the condition of the screen by a single communication between the mobile device 10 and the server computer 20.”);
determining whether a time difference between the collection moment and the generation moment is less than or equal to a first duration (¶0005, “… The digital signature is timestamped and is required to be submitted within a specified time. The specified time is of short duration (for example 5 minutes or less) from the time of the generation of the digital signature. The timestamp and the short submission time make it difficult for someone to alter the image (for example, altering the image of a damaged screen to appear to be in the good condition).”); and
However, ZHU in view of Oshima does not explicitly disclose the following limitation:
if the time difference between the collection moment and the generation moment is less than or equal to a first duration, determining that the validity detection is passed.
FANG discloses:
if the time difference between the collection moment and the generation moment is less than or equal to a first duration, determining that the validity detection is passed (page 9, paragraph 5, “…the network server records the photo uploading time. finally network server checking the photo according to the underwriting conditions, confirming the acceptance condition receiving insurer, otherwise not accept insurer, insurance condition is as follows: the photo uploading time and second time stamp time interval is less than the first preset time, and two-dimensional code picture included in the identity information of insurance in the insurance electronic device electronic device identity information is consistent with the network server stores insurance in complete photo electronic device screen. so it can remote implementation of the insured electronic device screen for automatic checking and ensures that the electronic device screen the electronic device and corresponding to the uploaded photo consistency, ensure the accuracy of ping, can avoid the problem of cheating.”)
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of ZHU and Oshima in claim 15 to include time difference between the collection moment and the generation moment is less than or equal to a first duration to confirm insurance of a device as disclosed by FANG and be motivated in doing so in order to ensure the accuracy of ping, can avoid the problem of cheating-FANG page 9, paragraph 5, last line.
Regarding claim 17, ZHU in view of Oshima discloses the computer-implemented system of claim 15.
ZHU further discloses wherein performing, by the auxiliary device, validity detection based on the verification token comprises:
sending, to a server, the verification token (¶0046-¶0047, FIG. 5, S14-S15, wherein the server:
parses out a generation moment of the verification token (¶0047-¶0050, “the server computer 20 receives a single image received from the mobile device 10 (or another device) in association with the request for insurance contract of the screen, and detects the digital signature (the digital signature generated with respect to the mobile device 10) and the condition of the screen of the mobile device 10 (for example, whether there is damage) from the received image… the server computer 20 extracts the digital fingerprint from the received image and stores the digital fingerprint on the storage unit… the server computer 20 detects the digital signature and the condition of the screen of the mobile device 10 from a single image received from the mobile device 10. As a result, it is possible to determine the identification information of the mobile device 10, the timing of insurance contract request (which can be obtained from the time stamp of the digital signature), and the condition of the screen by a single communication between the mobile device 10 and the server computer 20”); and
receiving, from the server, a validity detection pass message (¶0054-¶0055, “… the server computer 20 stores the result of determination of the validity of insurance claim (for example, information indicating that insurance claim for the repair of the damaged device is valid), and transmits the result to the mobile device 10.”),
However, ZHU in view of McCall does not explicitly disclose the following limitation:
determines whether a time difference between the generation moment and a sending moment of the verification token is less than or equal to a second duration;
the validity detection pass message is sent by the server when determining that the time difference is less than or equal to the second duration; and
the second duration is longer than first duration.
FANG discloses:
determines whether a time difference between the generation moment and a sending moment of the verification token is less than or equal to a second duration (page 3, paragraphs 1-3, “the auxiliary electronic device taking a picture for the insurance electronic device screen through the camera interface, and uploading the photo to the network server, the network server records the photo uploading time, the upload can be system automatically uploading or manual upload.
said network server checking the condition, determining the photo The insurer meets the acceptance condition receiving insurer, otherwise not accept insurer, the insurer condition is as follows: the identity information of the insurance electronic device the photo uploading time and said second time stamp time interval is less than a first predetermined period, and the two-dimensional code picture included in the identity information of insurance in the electronic device is consistent with the network server stores the insurance electronic device screen is completely in the photograph. Further, the acceptance condition further comprises: between the second time stamp and the first time stamp time interval is less than the second preset time.”);
wherein: the validity detection pass message is sent by the server when determining that the time difference is less than or equal to the second duration (page 3, paragraphs 1-3, as cited above), (page 8, last paragraph to page 9, paragraphs 1-3, “…Further, after step S104, further comprising: the network server returns the result of the whether the insurer to the insured electronic device.
Specifically, if the checking result is acceptable insurance, such as insurance success "the insurance electronic device screen display, otherwise display" insured fails, not belonging to the range.”);
the second duration is longer than first duration (page 10, last paragraph, “the acceptance condition further comprises: the time interval is less than the second preset time between the second time stamp and the first time stamp. so it can ensure the accuracy of the two-dimensional code auxiliary device scan, further ensure the consistency of the electronic device screen the electronic device and corresponding to the uploaded photo, eliminate the moral risk and avoid cheating”).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of ZHU and McCall in claim 15 to include a time difference between the generation moment and a sending moment of the verification token is less than or equal to a second duration as disclosed by FANG and be motivated in doing so in order to eliminate the moral risk and avoid cheating-FANG page 10, last paragraph, last line.
Regarding claim 18, ZHU in view of Oshima discloses the computer-implemented system of claim 15.
ZHU further discloses further comprising:
parsing out a first device identifier from the verification token (¶0049, “…As a result, it is possible to determine the identification information of the mobile device 10, the timing of insurance contract request (which can be obtained from the time stamp of the digital signature), and the condition of the screen by a single communication between the mobile device 10 and the server computer 20.”), (¶0023, “…The identification information used for generating the digital fingerprint includes an International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI) number, a Mobile Equipment Identifier (MEID) number, an Electronic Serial Number (ESN), an IDentifier For Vendor (IDFV) (for iOS), a custom generated unique ID, a MAC Address, a Serial Number, a Phone Brand, and Phone Model, or a combination of at least some of them. The identification information used to generate the digital fingerprint may be one or a plurality of identification randomly selected from the above identification information of the mobile device 10.”);
performing, by the auxiliary device, validity detection based on the verification token (¶0039, “The verification component 205 determines the validity of the insurance claim being made (namely, whether or not the screen that the insurance claim is made is covered with valid insurance). This determination is made, for example, after an insurance claim is filed by a person who wants his screen of mobile to be repaired. The verification component 205 compares the digital signature detected from a pre-repair image (an image of the damaged screen before the damaged screen is repaired) received in relation to the filing of an insurance claim, with the information stored in the database 201…”) comprising:
determining whether the first device identifier and the second device identifier are identical (¶0054, “…In order to verify the validity of the insurance claim, the server computer 20 compares the digital signature of the mobile device 10 stored on the storage unit with the digital signature detected from the received image, and determines whether or not the both correspond to each other. In the above comparison, for example, the identification information, time stamp, and location of the mobile device 10 included in the digital signature are compared…”); and
if identical, determining that the validity detection is passed (¶0054, “…If it is determined to correspond, the server computer 20 judges whether or not the insurance claim for repair of the detected damage is valid based on the valid insurance policy information of the mobile device 10 stored on the storage unit.”). See also ¶0056 and ¶0060.
However, ZHU in view of McCall does not explicitly disclose the limitation of:
parsing out a second device identifier from the graph verification code;
FANG discloses parsing out a second device identifier from the graph verification code (page 7, paragraph 2, “… identity information after network server receives insurance information, insurance information to generate a two-dimensional code, two-dimensional code comprising the electronic device and a first timestamp. the first time stamp is the generation time of a two-dimensional code. insurants electronic device identity information comprises the information, insurance order number and identifying the electronic device unique information, for example, insurance electronic device is a mobile phone, identifying the electronic device unique information such as the IMEI number of the mobile phone, or background to identify mobile phone assigned unique sequence number. identification of the electronic device can also be included in the insurance information, is filled in by the user, can be filled by user mobile phone IMEI number prompt, or naming a sequence number by the user according to the preset format. identification of the electronic device can also be included in the insurance information, is filled in by the user, can be filled by user mobile phone IMEI number prompt, or naming a sequence number by the user according to the preset format.”, wherein the two-dimensional code generated is interpreted as graph verification code and insurance order number and identifying the electronic device unique information, for example, insurance electronic device is a mobile phone, identifying the electronic device unique information such as the IMEI number of the mobile phone, or background to identify mobile phone assigned unique sequence number from the two-dimensional code are the plurality of identifier, any of those identifiers can be labelled as a second device identifier);
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of ZHU and McCall in claim 15 to include parsing out a second device identifier from the graph verification code as disclosed by FANG and be motivated in doing so in order ensure the accuracy of the two-dimensional code auxiliary device scan-FANG page 10, last paragraph in parts.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20210264445, US 20160358174.
/MUDASIRU K OLAEGBE/Examiner, Art Unit 2495
/FARID HOMAYOUNMEHR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2495