DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Number 5,531,393 (hereinafter “Salzsauler”), and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2009/0047468 (hereinafter “Papadopoulos”).Regarding claim 8 Salzsauler teaches a stretched plastic film (reinforced stretch film) comprising an elongated base sheet of plastic stretch film having a longitudinal axis and two side edges 15, 17, where each side edge 15, 17 of the elongated base sheet is folded inward along a lateral direction a first time creating a single folded edge 19, 21 to further strengthen and reinforce each side edge (abstract; Figures 3a and 5; and column 7, lines 16-23, and column 8, lines 9-21). Salzsauler does not explicitly teach each single folded edge 19, 21 is folded inward along the lateral direction a second time creating a double folded edge to further strengthen and reinforce each side edge of the reinforced stretch film. Papadopoulos teaches a packaging film comprising reinforcement strips (reinforced stretched film) made of a stretchable or stretched polymer film material (abstract, and paragraphs [0040] and [0100]). Papadopoulos teaches at least one edge of the reinforcement strips may be hemmed, bunched or folded at least once longitudinally (side edge being folded inward along the lateral direction a first time creating a single fold edge), which further strengthens and reinforces the at least one side edge to prevent tearing at the edges (paragraphs [0051], [0063], and [0064]). Papadopoulos teaches an embodiment where the lateral edges are folded twice, where the double folding further reinforces the reinforcement strip against tearing (paragraph [0111]). Papadopoulos illustrates the double folding structure of the reinforcement strips 5, 6 corresponds to each side edge of the strips being folded inward along the lateral direction a first time creating a single fold edge, and where each single folded edge is folded inward along the lateral direction a second time creating a double folded edge (Figure 9). Salzsauler and Papadopoulos are analogous inventions in the field of stretched films having folded edges. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify the single edge folding of Salzsauler with the double edge folding of Papadopoulos to provide even further reinforcement to the edge of the stretched plastic film of Salzsauler against tearing.Regarding claim 9 In addition, Salzsauler teaches the stretched plastic film (reinforced stretch film) is stretched along its length (abstract and claim 1).Regarding claim 10 In addition, Salzsauler teaches the stretched plastic film (reinforced stretch film) is stretched along the length thereof between 50% and 300% of the original length of the film (abstract and claim 1).Regarding claim 11 In addition, Salzsauler teaches the stretched plastic film (reinforced stretch film) is rolled around a core (Figures 2 and 3a).Regarding claim 12 In addition, Salzsauler teaches the stretched plastic film (reinforced stretch film) has increased strength characteristics due to stretching and folded edges (abstract, and claims 1 and 6).Regarding claim 13 In addition, Salzsauler teaches the plastic film (reinforced stretch film) is stretched to impart a memory to said stretched film (reinforced stretch film) to permit contraction of said stretched film (reinforced stretch film) when unwound to wrap said pallet load (claim 7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 October 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant has provided many duplicate arguments which were previously addressed. The forthcoming remarks will be directed to new arguments which were not previously addressed. Any portion of the examiner’s remarks which does not explicitly address an argument from the submission on 14 October 2025 is to be considered a previous argument which was previously addressed. The examiner’s remarks in the previous Office action, see pages 5-6 in the Office action mailed on 14 May 2015, are incorporated herein.
The applicant argued, see page 8, Papadopoulos does not disclose a stretch film having opposite outermost side edges double folded for reinforcement, rather, as shown in Figures 14-15, Papadopoulos’ use of reinforcement elements, which are fixed on the base film (paragraph [0040]), are shown used adjacent a margin, i.e., edge of the base film, and the base film (Figure 15), or both of the base film and the reinforcement element (Figure 14), are hemmed together to form a hemming zone. The examiner respectfully submits this argument is not commensurate in scope with the rejection of record. The examiner does not rely on the embodiments highlighted by the applicant to reject the claims. That is, the base film and the structure of the reinforcement elements from Figures 13-15, and as described in paragraphs [0113] – [0115], are disclosed as belonging to “various possible forms of other embodiments,” “a further embodiment,” and “a still further embodiment”, respectfully. See paragraphs [0089] – [0093] from Papadopoulos. The examiner relies on the teaching of the embodiment represented in Figure 9, and the paragraphs highlighted in the rejection of record. Papadopoulos’ teachings are not limited to the embodiments highlighted by the applicant. The rejection of record contemplates modifying the single folded edge of the stretched plastic film of Salzsauler with the double folded edge of the reinforcement strips (reinforced stretched film) 5, 6 made of a stretchable or stretched polymer film material of Papadopoulos to further reinforce the edges of the reinforcement strips (reinforced stretched film), as taught by Papadopoulos. A person having ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize the modification of the stretched plastic film of Salzsauler by Papadopoulos, as proposed in the rejection of record, has sufficient motivation and would arrive at the applicant’s claims.
The applicant argued Papadopoulos does not teach the use of the reinforcement element as an independent film that is not fixed to a base film. This argument is not persuasive. Papadopoulos teaches the double folded edge further reinforces the edges of the reinforcement strips, and does not teach the base film is required to provide such a further reinforcement to said reinforcement strips. Therefore, it would have required nothing more than routine skill to impart the double folded structure taught by Papadopoulos to the stretched plastic film of Salzsauler to yield a stretched plastic film which exhibits an analogous further reinforcement to the edges of said stretched plastic film.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN HANDVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783