Claims 1-20 are currently under review.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 9, 2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (Pub. No.: US 2011/0169734 A1) hereinafter referred to as Cho.
With respect to Claim 1, Cho teaches a method (figs. 19 and 29-30; claim 28; ¶169) for displaying a pointer in a virtual display (figs. 31, item 151B: virtual display; fig. 33, item VA: virtual area; ¶154; ¶162-164), the method comprising: detecting an initial posture of a user controller device (¶39; ¶43, “can sense 3D motion of the 3D pointing device 10”- since 3D motion is sensed, any sensed motion is inclusive of posture; ¶64); determining an initial position of the pointer in the virtual display (fig. 19, item S52; ¶39; ¶115-116 – which includes sensed 3D motion that is used to determine an initial position for displaying a cursor); calculating a conversion factor between a move-in-posture of the user controller device and a change-in-position of the pointer (fig. 20(a); figs. 29(b), 29(c), & 30; ¶39; ¶118; ¶147-153 – which is based on sensed 3D motion, the conversion factor may be sensitivity as shown in figure 29 or sensitivity in figure 30 and the shift is the conversion factor due to sensitivity); detecting a first move in the posture of the user controller device (fig. 20(a); fig. 29(b)); ¶148); calculating a first change in the position of the pointer based on the first move and the conversion factor, the first change being independent of a distance between the user controller device and the virtual display (¶76; ¶87; ¶148); and displaying the first position of the pointer in the virtual display (fig. 30), thereby avoiding causing uncomfortable dissociation due a change in the distance between the user controller device and the virtual display (¶153).
Cho does not explicitly mention adding the first change to the initial position of the pointer to obtain a first position of the pointer however Cho teaches moving the cursor from an initial position (fig. 20, item 10A) to a second position (fig. 20, item 10B) in an absolute coordinate movement mode and displaying the change, therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to obtain a first position of the pointer thru mathematical computations as required by the software implementing the method, which consist of adding the first change to the initial position of the pointer as is required with respect to a predetermined absolute reference point (¶148, via software), as taught by Cho so as to easily manipulate the user controller device according to the user’s intuition (¶71).
With respect to Claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated, Cho teaches further comprising: detecting a second move in the posture of the user controller device (fig. 20 (b); ¶119); calculating a second change in the position of the pointer based on the second move and the conversion factor (fig. 29(b)); ¶148).
Cho does not explicitly mention adding the second change to the first position of the pointer to obtain a second position of the pointer; and displaying the second position of the pointer in the virtual display however Cho teaches moving the cursor from the first position (fig. 20(b), item 10B) to a second position (fig. 20(b), item 10C) in an absolute coordinate movement mode and displaying the change, therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to obtain a second position of the pointer thru mathematical computations as required by the software implementing the method which consist of adding the second change to the first position of the pointer as is required with respect to a predetermined absolute reference point to obtain a second position of the pointer; and displaying the second position of the pointer in the virtual display, as taught by Cho so as to easily manipulate the user controller device according to the user’s intuition (¶71).
With respect to Claim 3, claim 1 is incorporated, Cho teaches wherein calculating the conversion factor comprises: calculating a range of move of the user controller device (figs. 30-31; ¶155); and deciding a range of change of the pointer in the virtual display (fig. 32, item M8; ¶156; ¶159).
Cho does not explicitly teach calculating the conversion factor by dividing the range of change by the range of move however Cho teaches adjusting the sensitivity of the pointer based on a range of move of the user controller device by using a distance compensation function and displaying the change (fig. 32; ¶159) , therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to calculate the conversion factor thru mathematical computations by using the distance compensation function which consists of dividing the range of change by the range of move, as taught by Cho so as to easily manipulate the user controller device according to the user’s intuition (¶71).
With respect to Claim 4, claim 3 is incorporated, Cho does not explicitly teach wherein calculating the range of move of the user controller device comprises: receiving a scaling coefficient from the user controller device; and calculating the range of move by dividing a pre-determined range by the scaling coefficient, however Cho teaches adjusting the sensitivity of the pointer based on a range of move of the user controller device by using a distance compensation function and displaying the change (fig. 32; ¶159) , therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention wherein calculating the range of move of the user controller device comprises: receiving a scaling coefficient from the user controller device; and calculating the range of move by dividing a pre-determined range by the scaling coefficient corresponds to the distance compensation function, as taught by Cho so as to easily manipulate the user controller device according to the user’s intuition (¶71).
With respect to Claim 5, claim 3 is incorporated, Cho teaches wherein deciding the range of change of pointer in the virtual display comprises picking the range of change from a look-up table based on a display type information of the virtual display (fig. 32, item M8; ¶159).
With respect to Claim 6, claim 1 is incorporated, Cho teaches further comprising: receiving a request from the user controller device (fig. 22, item S73 or S74); re-detecting the initial posture of the user controller device (fig. 22, item S72 = yes; fig. 23; ¶130, re-detecting occurs when moving from an absolute coordinate area to a relative coordinate area); re-determining the initial position of the pointer in the virtual display (fig. 22, item S73 or S74; ¶128; ¶131); and re-calculating the conversion factor between the move-in-posture of the user controller device and the change-in-position of the pointer (¶131).
With respect to Claim 7, claim 1 is incorporated, Cho teaches wherein the first move in the posture of the user controller device is a rotational move of the user controller device (fig. 20(a); ¶39; ¶43; ¶46; ¶48; ¶118).
With respect to Claim 8, claim 1 is incorporated, Cho teaches wherein the first change in the position of the pointer is a translational move of the pointer along the virtual display (fig. 20(b); ¶119).
With respect to Claim 9, claim 1 is incorporated, Cho teaches wherein the virtual display is a a virtual menu items (¶68) or a virtual interactive picture (fig. 31, item 151B; ¶154; fig. 33; ¶162).
With respect to Claim 10, claim 1 is incorporated, Cho teaches wherein the initial position of the pointer is at a central position of the virtual display (fig. 7(a); ¶79).
With respect to Claim 11, Cho teaches a non-transitory storage medium (figs. 19 and 29-30; claim 28; ¶164-165; ¶169) thereupon stored a set of computer-readable instructions (¶164) that, when being executed by a computer (¶165), cause the computer to perform: detecting an initial posture of a user controller device (¶39; ¶43, “can sense 3D motion of the 3D pointing device 10”- since 3D motion is sensed, any sensed motion is inclusive of posture; ¶64); determining an initial position of a pointer in a virtual display (fig. 19, item S52; ¶39; ¶115-116 – which includes sensed 3D motion that is used to determine an initial position for displaying a cursor); calculating a conversion factor between a move-in-posture of the user controller device and a change-in-position of the pointer (fig. 20(a); figs. 29(b), 29(c), & 30; ¶39; ¶118; ¶147-153 – which is based on sensed 3D motion, the conversion factor may be sensitivity as shown in figure 29 or sensitivity in figure 30 and the shift is the conversion factor due to sensitivity); detecting a first move in the posture of the user controller device (fig. 20(a); fig. 29(b)); ¶148); calculating a first change in the position of the pointer based on the first move and the conversion factor, the first change being independent of a distance between the user controller device and the virtual display (¶76; ¶87; ¶148); and displaying the first position of the pointer in the virtual display (fig. 30), thereby avoiding causing uncomfortable dissociation due a change in the distance between the user controller device and the virtual display (¶153).
Cho does not explicitly mention adding the first change to the initial position of the pointer to obtain a first position of the pointer however Cho teaches moving the cursor from an initial position (fig. 20, item 10A) to a second position (fig. 20, item 10B) in an absolute coordinate movement mode and displaying the change, therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to obtain a first position of the pointer thru mathematical computations which consist of adding the first change to the initial position of the pointer as is required with respect to a predetermined absolute reference point (¶148, via software) as required by the software of the non-transitory storage medium, as taught by Cho so as to easily manipulate the user controller device according to the user’s intuition (¶71).
With respect to Claim 12, claim 11 is incorporated, Cho teaches wherein the set of computer-readable instructions further cause the computer to perform: detecting a second move in the posture of the user controller device (fig. 20 (b); ¶119); calculating a second change in the position of the pointer based on the second move and the conversion factor (fig. 29(b)); ¶148).
Cho does not explicitly mention and after adding the second change to the first position of the pointer to obtain a second position of the pointer, displaying the second position of the pointer in the virtual display, however Cho teaches moving the cursor from the first position (fig. 20(b), item 10B) to a second position (fig. 20(b), item 10C) in an absolute coordinate movement mode and displaying the change, therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to obtain a second position of the pointer thru mathematical computations as required by the software of the non-transitory storage medium which consist of after adding the second change to the first position of the pointer as is required with respect to a predetermined absolute reference point (¶148, via software) to obtain a second position of the pointer, displaying the second position of the pointer in the virtual display, as taught by Cho so as to easily manipulate the user controller device according to the user’s intuition (¶71).
With respect to Claim 13, claim 11 is incorporated, Although Cho teaches deciding a range of change of the pointer in the virtual display (fig. 32, item M8; ¶159), Cho does not explicitly teach wherein calculating the conversion factor comprises: receiving a scaling coefficient from the user controller device; calculating a range of move of the user controller device by dividing a pre-determined range by the scaling coefficient; deciding a range of change of the pointer in the virtual display; and calculating the conversion factor by dividing the range of change by the range of move.
However Cho teaches adjusting the sensitivity of the pointer based on a range of move of the user controller device by using a distance compensation function and displaying the change (fig. 32; ¶159), therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention wherein calculating the conversion factor comprises: calculating a range of move by dividing a pre-determined range by the scaling coefficient corresponds to the distance compensation function (fig. 32, M8 and M9; ¶159) and mathematical computations as required by the software implementing the non-transitory storage medium resulting in deciding a range of change of the pointer in the virtual display; and calculating the conversion factor by dividing the range of change by the range of move, as taught by Cho so as to easily manipulate the user controller device according to the user’s intuition (¶71).
With respect to Claim 14, claim 11 is incorporated, Cho teaches wherein deciding the range of change of pointer in the virtual display comprises picking the range of change from a look-up table based on a display type information of the virtual display (fig. 32, item M8; ¶159).
With respect to Claim 15, claim 11 is incorporated, Cho teaches wherein the first move in the posture of the user controller device is a rotational move of the user controller device (fig. 20(a); ¶39; ¶43; ¶46; ¶48; ¶118), and the first change in the position of the pointer is a translational move of the pointer along the virtual display (fig. 20(b); ¶119).
With respect to Claim 16, Cho teaches a computing environment (fig. 1; ¶38) comprising: a processor set (fig. 3, item 10 comprises item 105; fig. 4 item 20: comprises item 207; ¶53; ¶63; ¶164-165); a communication fabric (figs. 2 and 3, each device 10 and 20 comprises switches and conductive paths for communication; ¶52; ¶56; ¶100); at least one volatile memory (fig. 3, item 103, fig. 4, item 206; ¶165 - RAM); a persistent storage (fig. 3, item 103, fig. 4, item 206; ¶165 – magnetic tapes, DVD/CDs); and a set of peripheral devices (fig. 4, item 204, 205), wherein the persistent storage further includes an operating system and stores thereupon a virtual reality (VR) application program (¶61; ¶154; ¶162), the VR application program (fig. 33-34; ¶154; ¶162), when being executed by the computing environment, causes the computing environment to perform: detecting an initial posture of a user controller device (¶39; ¶43, “can sense 3D motion of the 3D pointing device 10”- since 3D motion is sensed, any sensed motion is inclusive of posture; ¶64); determining an initial position of a pointer in a virtual display (fig. 19, item S52; ¶39; ¶115-116 – which includes sensed 3D motion that is used to determine an initial position for displaying a cursor); calculating a conversion factor between a move-in-posture of the user controller device and a change-in-position of the pointer (fig. 20(a); figs. 29(b), 29(c), & 30; ¶39; ¶118; ¶147-153 – which is based on sensed 3D motion, the conversion factor may be sensitivity as shown in figure 29 or sensitivity in figure 30 and the shift is the conversion factor due to sensitivity); detecting a first move in the posture of the user controller device (fig. 20(a); fig. 29(b)); ¶148); calculating a first change in the position of the pointer based on the first move and the conversion factor, the first change being independent of a distance between the user controller device and the virtual display (¶76; ¶87; ¶148); and displaying the first position of the pointer in the virtual display (fig. 30), thereby avoiding causing uncomfortable dissociation due a change in the distance between the user controller device and the virtual display (¶153).
Cho does not explicitly mention adding the first change to the initial position of the pointer to obtain a first position of the pointer however Cho teaches moving the cursor from an initial position (fig. 20, item 10A) to a second position (fig. 20, item 10B) in an absolute coordinate movement mode and displaying the change, therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to obtain a first position of the pointer thru mathematical computations as required by the software implementing the computing evironment, which consist of adding the first change to the initial position of the pointer as is required with respect to a predetermined absolute reference point (¶148, via software), as taught by Cho so as to easily manipulate the user controller device according to the user’s intuition (¶71).
With respect to Claim 17, claim 16 is incorporated, Cho teaches wherein the VR application program further causes the computer to perform: detecting a second move in the posture of the user controller device (fig. 20 (b); ¶119); calculating a second change in the position of the pointer based on the second move and the conversion factor (fig. 29(b)); ¶148).
Cho does not explicitly mention and after adding the second change to the first position of the pointer to obtain a second position of the pointer, displaying the second position of the pointer in the virtual display, however Cho teaches moving the cursor from the first position (fig. 20(b), item 10B) to a second position (fig. 20(b), item 10C) in an absolute coordinate movement mode and displaying the change, therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to obtain a second position of the pointer thru mathematical computations as required by the software of the computing environment which consist of after adding the second change to the first position of the pointer as is required with respect to a predetermined absolute reference point (¶148, via software) to obtain a second position of the pointer, displaying the second position of the pointer in the virtual display, as taught by Cho so as to easily manipulate the user controller device according to the user’s intuition (¶71).
With respect to Claim 18, claim 16 is incorporated, Although Cho teaches deciding a range of change of the pointer in the virtual display (fig. 32, item M8; ¶159), Cho does not explicitly teach wherein calculating the conversion factor comprises: receiving a scaling coefficient from the user controller device; calculating a range of move of the user controller device by dividing a pre-determined range by the scaling coefficient; deciding a range of change of the pointer in the virtual display; and calculating the conversion factor by dividing the range of change by the range of move.
However Cho teaches adjusting the sensitivity of the pointer based on a range of move of the user controller device by using a distance compensation function and displaying the change (fig. 32; ¶159), therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention wherein calculating the conversion factor comprises: calculating a range of move by dividing a pre-determined range by the scaling coefficient corresponds to the distance compensation function (fig. 32, M8 and M9; ¶159) and mathematical computations as required by the software implementing the computing environment resulting in deciding a range of change of the pointer in the virtual display; and calculating the conversion factor by dividing the range of change by the range of move, as taught by Cho so as to easily manipulate the user controller device according to the user’s intuition (¶71).
With respect to Claim 19, claim 16 is incorporated, Cho teaches wherein deciding the range of change of pointer in the virtual display comprises picking the range of change from a look-up table based on a display type information of the virtual display (fig. 32, item M8; ¶159).
With respect to Claim 20, claim 16 is incorporated, Cho teaches wherein the first move in the posture of the user controller device is a rotational move of the user controller device (fig. 20(a); ¶39; ¶43; ¶46; ¶48; ¶118), and the first change in the position of the pointer is a translational move of the pointer along the virtual display (fig. 20(b); ¶119).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the following reference:
Moon et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0060742 A1) hereinafter referred to as Moon, see figure 4B, figure 7, and figure 17
Grenet (Pub. No.: US 2017/0199585 A1), see figure 1 and paragraphs 20-22
/DONNA V Bocar/Examiner, Art Unit 2621