DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 9, 2023, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoeffgen et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0133331).
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 14, Hoeffgen et al. teaches a method for sensitive data protection, the method comprising: storing sensitive data on a first memory device disposed in a computing system (paragraph 0045); detecting an unauthorized physical access to the computing system (paragraph 0065); activating an x-ray source based on the detected unauthorized physical access (paragraph 0100); and deactivating the x-ray source after a threshold period of time (paragraph 0101), wherein the x-ray source is configured to bombard the first memory device with energy particles having an energy level sufficient to damage the first memory device and cause erasure of the sensitive data stored on the first memory device (paragraph 0046 and 0053 and fig. 10).
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 15, Hoeffgen et al. teaches wherein the x-ray source is configured to only bombard the first memory device with the energy particles (paragraph 0117).
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 16, Hoeffgen et al. teaches wherein the energy level is directly related to a distance between the first memory device and the x-ray source (paragraph 0046).
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 17, Hoeffgen et al. teaches wherein the energy level is inversely related to a duration of the threshold period of time (paragraph 0053).
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 18, Hoeffgen et al. teaches further comprising preventing the activation of the x-ray source based on detecting an authorized physical access to the computing system (paragraph 0003).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Hoeffgen et al. teaches wherein the x-ray source is disposed within the computing system (fig. 10, ref. num 69).
Regarding claims 7, 13, and 20, Hoeffgen et al. teaches wherein the computing system includes one or more lead shielded surfaces configured to prevent a transmission of the energy particles outside of the computing system (paragraph 0117-0118).
/BRANDON HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433