DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-19 are pending in this application.
Title and Claim 9 has been amended [1/12/2026].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On page 8, last paragraph to 10, first paragraph of Applicant’s Arguments, Applicant argues the reference, Osakabe fails to show all the elements and features of the claims because Osakabe does not teach ‘… in a state of being non-displaceable upstream and downstream in the movement direction’, because the integrated image sensor and the case rotate about the axis of the support shafts and therefore, the case is not only displaceable in the vertical direction but also in the upstream and downstream in the movement direction.
Examiner respectfully disagrees because Osakabe teaches a pair of support shafts extending in a longitudinal direction at respective ends of the case are vertically movably and rotatably fitted to guide grooves formed at respective ends of the carriage, where the image sensor and the case are integrally formed with each other, can rotate around an axis extending in a direction orthogonal to the direction of movement of the carriage (i.e. displaceable in relation to transparent flat plate) and parallel to the lower surfaces of the transparent members, and can move perpendicularly to the lower surfaces of the transparent members, the directions in which the image sensor within the case of the carriage is able to move is up and down (vertical) and not from right to left (horizontal, i.e. upstream and downstream movement direction) within the case of the carriage. The image sensor is only able to move upstream and downstream movement direction is the entire case that moves during reading [Figs 5 (38), 6 (35, 36, 37), par 0032, 0038-0042]. Therefore, Osakabe does teach all the elements and features of the claims.
The above response is applied to claims 1-19.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Osakabe (US-2010/0245950).
As to Claim 1, Osakabe teaches ‘A reading device comprising: a transparent flat plate, on an upper surface of which an object to be read is placed [Figs 1, 3 (31, 32), par 0024, 0026 – image reading apparatus including a first transparent member and a second transparent member]; a reading unit that reads information on the object to be read while moving in contact with a lower surface of the transparent flat plate [Fig 4 (35, 36, 37), par 0038, 0041 – original reading means includes a carriage, a case, and a contact image reading sensor having a small depth of focus that is disposed close to the lower surfaces of the transparent members]; a retainer that retains the reading unit by urging the reading unit to be pressed against the lower surface of the transparent flat plate [Fig 4 (35, 40), par 0038-0039 – carriage includes a coil spring that is disposed between a bottom plate of the carriage and a lower surface of a case, and urges the case including the contact image sensor upward by an urging means]; a guide member that supports and guides the retainer along a movement direction at a time of reading by the reading unit [Fig 4 (13), par 0032, 0038 – linear original reading means for reading an image recording surface of an original is placed on a linear guide member extending along the Y-axis directions, where carriage’s orientation is kept constant]; and a positioning structural member provided in at least one end of the reading unit and the retainer in a direction crossing the movement direction to position the reading unit so that the reading unit is maintained in a state of being displaceable relative to the retainer in a direction to be closer to and in a direction to be away from the transparent flat plate and in a state of being non-displaceable upstream and downstream in the movement direction [Fig 5 (38), par 0032, 0038-0042 – a pair of support shafts extending in a longitudinal direction at respective ends of the case are vertically movably and rotatably fitted to guide grooves formed at respective ends of the carriage, where the image sensor and the case are integrally formed with each other, can rotate around an axis extending in a direction orthogonal to the direction of movement of the carriage (i.e. displaceable in relation to transparent flat plate) and parallel to the lower surfaces of the transparent members, and can move perpendicularly to the lower surfaces of the transparent members, the directions in which the image sensor within the case of the carriage is able to move is up and down (vertical) and not from right to left (horizontal, i.e. upstream and downstream movement direction) within the case of the carriage]’.
As to Claim 2, Osakabe teaches ‘wherein the positioning structural member includes: a pair of fixed sections provided parallel to the direction to be closer to and the direction to be away from the transparent flat plate; and two contact sections that separately come into contact with the pair of fixed sections from upstream and downstream in the movement direction [Fig 5 (38, 39), par 0038 – a pair of support shafts extending in the longitudinal direction (X-axis direction) at respective ends of the case (i.e. contact sections) are vertically movably and rotatably fitted to guide grooves (i.e. fixed sections) formed at respective ends of the carriage]’.
As to Claim 3, Osakabe teaches ‘wherein the pair of fixed sections are provided facing each other with an interval in the movement direction, and the two contact sections are formed as portions that are inserted into a space between the pair of fixed sections to separately come into contact with the pair of fixed sections [Fig 5 (38, 39), par 0038 – support shafts are fitted to guide grooves in the longitudinal direction (i.e. movement direction), where the guide grooves are at respective ends of the carriage]’.
As to Claim 4, Osakabe teaches ‘wherein one of the pair of fixed sections is provided facing upstream in the movement direction, and the other fixed section is provided facing downstream in the movement direction with back against the one fixed section, and the two contact sections are formed as portions that interpose the pair of fixed sections from upstream and downstream in the movement direction, and separately come into contact with the fixed sections [Figs 4, 5 (38, 39), 6, 7A-D, par 0038-0058 – support shafts are fitted to guide grooves in the longitudinal direction (i.e. movement direction), where the guide grooves are at respective ends of the carriage and extends beyond a location corresponding to that of a lower-surface-side corner at one end of the first transparent member reaches the lower surface of the second transparent member and the first guide inclined surface is formed flush with the lower surface of the first transparent member]’.
As to Claim 5, Osakabe teaches ‘wherein the pair of fixed sections are formed as facing portions of a recessed section which is linearly recessed in the direction in which the reading unit is displaceable, and the two contact sections are formed as projecting portions of one body which is inserted in the recessed section, the portions separately facing upstream and downstream in the movement direction [Figs 4, 5 (38, 39), 6, 7A-D, par 0038-0058 – support shafts (i.e. two contact sections as projecting portions) are fitted to guide grooves (i.e. recessed section) in the longitudinal direction (i.e. movement direction), where the guide grooves are at respective ends of the carriage and extends beyond a location corresponding to that of a lower-surface-side corner at one end of the first transparent member reaches the lower surface of the second transparent member and the first guide inclined surface is formed flush with the lower surface of the first transparent member]’.
As to Claim 6, Osakabe teaches ‘wherein the pair of fixed sections are formed as sides that are present on both sides of a bulge member or a columnar member in an extension direction, the bulge member or the columnar member extending linearly in the direction in which the reading unit is displaceable, and the two contact sections are formed as portions of supports that are closely arranged and interpose the bulge member or the columnar member from upstream and downstream in the movement direction, the portions facing sides present on both sides of the bulge member or the columnar member [Figs 4, 5 (38, 39), 6, 7A-D, par 0038-0058 – support shafts (i.e. two contact sections as projecting portions) are fitted to guide grooves (i.e. recessed section) in the longitudinal direction (i.e. movement direction sliding up and/or down in relation to the transparent member and carriage movement), where the guide grooves are at respective ends of the carriage and extends beyond a location corresponding to that of a lower-surface-side corner at one end of the first transparent member reaches the lower surface of the second transparent member and the first guide inclined surface is formed flush with the lower surface of the first transparent member]’.
As to Claim 7, Osakabe teaches ‘wherein the two contact sections are formed as portions that have a tip end shape such that the contact sections gradually narrow as closer to the pair of fixed sections [Figs 7A-D (39) – when the carriage moves in a direction in which it passes from the horizontal first transparent member side to the downwardly inclined second transparent member, while, a first rotating roller passes beyond the one end portion of the first transparent member, and passes along the lower surface of the second transparent member (which is flush with the lower surface of the first transparent member) and the first guide inclined surface that follows the second transparent member, a second rotating roller slidably contacts the lower surface of the second guide member (which is at the same height as the lower surface of the first transparent member)]’.
As to Claim 8, Osakabe teaches ‘wherein when the reading unit is retained by the retainer, the two contact sections are positioned in an upper area of part of the at least one end of the retainer, the part being closer to the transparent flat plate [par 0038 – the pair of support shafts at respective ends of the case are vertically movably (i.e. closer to the transparent plate) and rotatably fitted to guide grooves]’.
As to Claim 9, Osakabe teaches ‘wherein the retainer is provided with the pair of fixed sections, and the reading unit is provided with the two contact sections [par 0038 – a pair of support shafts extending in the longitudinal direction (X-axis direction) at respective ends of the case (i.e. contact sections) are vertically movably and rotatably fitted to guide grooves (i.e. fixed sections) formed at respective ends of the carriage]’.
As to Claims 10-18, Osakabe teaches ‘An image forming apparatus comprising: the reading device according to claim 1; and an image forming unit that forms information read by the reading device as an image on a recording medium [Fig 1, par 0022 – multi-function apparatus includes a scanner function, copying function and printing function]’.
As to Claim 19, Osakabe teaches ‘A reading device comprising: means for placing an object to be read on an upper surface [Figs 1, 3 (31, 32), par 0024, 0026 – image reading apparatus including a first transparent member and a second transparent member]; means for reading information on the object to be read while moving in contact with a lower surface of the means for placing an object to be read [Fig 4 (35, 40), par 0038-0039 – carriage includes a coil spring that is disposed between a bottom plate of the carriage and a lower surface of a case, and urges the case including the contact image sensor upward by an urging means]; means for retaining the means for reading information by urging the means for reading information to be pressed against the lower surface of the means for placing an object to be read [Fig 4 (35, 40), par 0038-0039 – carriage includes a coil spring that is disposed between a bottom plate of the carriage and a lower surface of a case, and urges the case including the contact image sensor upward by an urging means]; means for supporting and guiding the means for retaining along a movement direction at a time of reading by the means for reading information [Fig 4 (13), par 0032, 0038 – linear original reading means for reading an image recording surface of an original is placed on a linear guide member extending along the Y-axis directions, where carriage’s orientation is kept constant]; and means provided in at least one end of the means for reading information and the means for retaining in a direction crossing the movement direction for positioning the means for reading information so that the means for reading information is maintained in a state of being displaceable relative to the means for retaining in a direction to be closer to and in a direction to be away from the means for placing an object to be read and in a state of being non-displaceable upstream and downstream in the movement direction [Fig 5 (38), par 0032, 0038-0042 – a pair of support shafts extending in a longitudinal direction at respective ends of the case are vertically movably and rotatably fitted to guide grooves formed at respective ends of the carriage, where the image sensor and the case are integrally formed with each other, can rotate around an axis extending in a direction orthogonal to the direction of movement of the carriage (i.e. displaceable in relation to transparent flat plate) and parallel to the lower surfaces of the transparent members, and can move perpendicularly to the lower surfaces of the transparent members, the directions in which the image sensor within the case of the carriage is able to move is up and down (vertical) and not from right to left (horizontal, i.e. upstream and downstream movement direction) within the case of the carriage]’.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MIYA J CATO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681