DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 05/01/2008. As directed by the amendment: claim 6 has been amended, claims 12-20 have been cancelled, and new claims 21-28 have been added. Thus, claims 1-11 and 21-28 are presently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 2 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Rogers et al. (2016/0120647) “Rogers”; claims 3-4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers et al. (2016/0120647) “Rogers” in view of Mody et al. (2010/0016784) “Mody”; claims 5-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers et al. (2016/0120647) “Rogers” in view of Rafiee et al. (2022/0000544) “Rafiee ‘544”; claims 7-9 and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers et al. (2016/0120647) “Rogers” in view of Rafiee et al. (2021/0045879) “Rafiee ‘879”; claims 10-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers et al. (2016/0120647) “Rogers” in view of Santini, JR. et al. (2006/0057737) “Santini”; claims 17-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers et al. (2016/0120647) “Rogers” in view of Rafiee et al. (2018/0098850) “Rafiee ‘850” have been considered but are not found to be persuasive. Rogers discloses the first and second tubular limbs that extend over a flexible tether and Mody teaches the limbs to have a tapered region and a hollow region to allow one limb to slide within the other limb creating an overlap. Mody is not being relied on for the teaching of a central tether, Rogers already discloses that. Therefore, the combination of Rogers and Mody discloses the newly amended limitations of claim 1.
Rejection under 112 (b) of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
The replacement sheets containing amended drawings have been approved. The outstanding objections to the drawings have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification fails to provide adequate written description for “the elongate flexible tether is fully encased within the first and second tubular limbs such that the elongate flexible tether is not exposed at any point along the lengths of the first and second tubular limbs; and the elongate flexible tether is configured to be tensioned after it is formed into a loop and locked into place by engaging the elongate flexible tether”. Fig. 1 discloses where the tether is exposed between the limbs and is not fully encased within the limbs. Furthermore, it is unclear as to how the tether can be tensioned after it’s locked into place.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers et al. (2016/0120647) “Rogers” in view of Mody et al. (2010/0016784) “Mody”.
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Rogers discloses an implant 58 (Fig. 9) configured to traverse a passageway defined through tissue about a cardiac chamber of a heart (par. 0073 discloses heart encircling), comprising: a) an elongate flexible tether (suture having ends 64/66; par. 0074 and Fig. 9) having two ends formed into a loop (as shown in Fig. 9, ends 64/66 come together and form a loop 70); b) a lock body 72 disposed over the two ends of the tether (as shown in Fig. 9), the lock body being configurable of releasably engaging the elongate flexible tether (par. 0074 discloses the lock body 72 can be a collar which is fully capable of releasably engaging the suture ends via limbs 60a and 62a); and c) first and second tubular limbs 60a/62a extending outwardly from the lock body 72 over the elongate flexible tether along the loop defined by the elongate flexible tether toward each other (par. 0074 and Fig. 9 disclose the limbs extend from the lock towards each other and are located over the suture loop with the capability of being pulled off); the implant is compliant and can change in length in response to movements of the heart (the abstract discloses the implant can be placed around the heart, the structure of the slidable arms over the tether is fully capable of performing this intended use; par. 0011 and claim 1 discloses the limbs are flexible which are capable are changing in length in response to movements of the heart and there is a articulation gap 68 which allows for the implant to change length; Fig. 9); and the elongate flexible tether is configured to be tensioned after it is formed into a loop and locked into place by engaging the elongate flexible tether (the tether ends 64/66 is fully capable of performing this intended use).
Rogers is silent regarding a distal end of the first tubular limb slides within a distal end of the second tubular limb along the loop of the elongate flexible tether such that the first and second tubular limbs overlap; the elongate flexible tether is fully encased within the first and second tubular limbs such that the elongate flexible tether is not exposed at any point along the lengths of the first and second tubular limbs. However, Mody teaches a similar implant 100 (Fig. 6C) comprising first and second tubular limbs (150 and 152; Fig. 6C and par. 0080) having a distal end of the first tubular limb slides within a distal end of the second tubular limb along the loop of the elongate flexible tether such that the first and second tubular limbs overlap (par. 0080 and Figs. 6C-6D disclose the tapered region of 160 is received within hollow region 162 so they overlap); the elongate flexible tether is fully encased within the first and second tubular limbs such that the elongate flexible tether is not exposed at any point along the lengths of the first and second tubular limb (as shown in Fig. 6D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tubular limbs in Rogers to include a distal end of the first tubular limb slides within a distal end of the second tubular limb along the loop of the elongate flexible tether such that the first and second tubular limbs overlap; the elongate flexible tether is fully encased within the first and second tubular limbs such that the elongate flexible tether is not exposed at any point along the lengths of the first and second tubular limbs., as taught and suggested by Mody, for having proper indicia that allows for allowing the device to behave as single unitary device facilitating ease of operability (par. 0080).
Regarding claim 3, Rogers discloses the claimed invention of claim 1 including an implant having tubular limbs (Fig. 9); except for wherein the first and second tubular limbs are of different diameters and have tapered distal ends. However, Mody teaches a similar implant 100 (Fig. 6C) comprising first and second tubular limbs (150 and 152; Fig. 6C and par. 0080) are of different diameters and have tapered distal ends. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tubular limbs in Rogers to include the first and second tubular limbs are of different diameters and have tapered distal ends, as taught and suggested by Mody, for having proper indicia that allows for allowing the device to behave as single unitary device facilitating ease of operability (par. 0080).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers et al. (2016/0120647) “Rogers” in view of Mody et al. (2010/0016784) “Mody” further in view of Rafiee et al. (2022/0000544) “Rafiee ‘544”.
Rogers in view of Mody discloses the claimed invention of claim 1 including an implant having tubular limbs (Fig. 9); except for wherein at least one of the first and second tubular limbs includes a plurality of radiopaque markers along its length and wherein the plurality of radiopaque markers are disposed along the length of said at least one of the first and second tubular limbs in a predetermined pattern in order to facilitate measurement of the implant under visualization. However, Rafiee ‘544 teaches a similar implant 100 (Fig. 1) comprising a plurality of radiopaque markers 110 (Fig. 1) along its length (the radiopaque marker patten 110 is positioned along the length of the implant 100; Fig. 1 and par. 0056) and wherein the plurality of radiopaque markers are disposed along the length of said at least one of the first and second tubular limbs in a predetermined pattern in order to facilitate measurement of the implant under visualization (Fig. 1 and par. 0056 disclose the radiopaque markers have indicia 114 for determining relative distances during conducting a medical procedure). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tubular limbs in Rogers in view of Mody to include a plurality of radiopaque markers along its length and wherein the plurality of radiopaque markers are disposed along the length of said at least one of the first and second tubular limbs in a predetermined pattern in order to facilitate measurement of the implant under visualization, as taught and suggested by Rafiee ‘544, for having proper indicia that allows for measurement of relative distances when conducting a medical procedure (par. 0056).
Claims 7-9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers et al. (2016/0120647) “Rogers” in view of Mody et al. (2010/0016784) “Mody” further in view of Rafiee et al. (2021/0045879) “Rafiee ‘879”.
Rogers in view of Mody discloses the claimed invention of claim 1 including an implant having tubular limbs (Fig. 9); except for wherein at least one of the first and second tubular limbs includes at least one pacing electrode to stimulate cardiac tissue further comprising a controller coupled to the at least one pacing electrode to provide at least one of pacing, defibrillation, measurement and control and wherein the elongate flexible tether includes an antenna that conducts signals to and from the controller; and wherein an electrical circuit is completed in the process of locking the lock body into place. However, Rafiee ‘879 teaches a similar implant 400 (Fig. 2) including at least one pacing electrode to stimulate cardiac tissue further comprising a controller coupled to the at least one pacing electrode to provide at least one of pacing, defibrillation, measurement and control (pars. 0110 and 0113 discloses a pacemaker electrode lead and a lock including a controller where the lock is threaded over the lead) and wherein the elongate flexible tether includes an antenna that conducts signals to and from the controller (par. 0113 and 0115 discloses a tether functioning as an antenna for sending signals to power the pacemaker using the lock which has the controller); and wherein an electrical circuit is completed in the process of locking the lock body into place (par. 0113 discloses the tether is caused to complete an electrical circuit with the lock).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tubular limbs in Rogers in view of Mody to include wherein at least one of the first and second tubular limbs includes at least one pacing electrode to stimulate cardiac tissue further comprising a controller coupled to the at least one pacing electrode to provide at least one of pacing, defibrillation, measurement and control and wherein the elongate flexible tether includes an antenna that conducts signals to and from the controller; and wherein an electrical circuit is completed in the process of locking the lock body into place, as taught and suggested by Rafiee ‘879, for providing an implantable pacing system providing improved techniques for cardiac pacing (abstract).
Claims 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers et al. (2016/0120647) “Rogers” in view of Mody et al. (2010/0016784) “Mody” further in view of Santini, JR. et al. (2006/0057737) “Santini”.
Regarding claims 10-13, Rogers in view of Mody discloses the claimed invention of claim 1; except for comprising a controller and a reservoir containing a beneficial agent, the controller being coupled to a dispenser that is coupled to the reservoir to dispense the beneficial agent; wherein the beneficial agent includes a medication; the beneficial agent includes a gene therapy material; the beneficial agent includes living cells to seed at least one location of the heart that is damaged. However, Santini teaches a similar implant (abstract and par. 0120 disclose an implantable device used to treat heart failure) comprising a controller and a reservoir containing a beneficial agent (par. 0122 discloses reservoir systems releases cell cultures; par. 0044 and Fig. 6 discloses a reservoir and a controller), the controller being coupled to a dispenser that is coupled to the reservoir to dispense the beneficial agent (par. 0105 discloses the controller is connected to the reservoir and par. 0122 discloses controlled release of cell cultures from the reservoir) ; wherein the beneficial agent includes a medication; the beneficial agent includes a gene therapy material (par. 0079 and 0118 disclose delivery of gene therapy materials); the beneficial agent includes living cells to seed at least one location of the heart that is damaged (par. 0122 and par. 0120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the implant in Rogers in view of Mody to include a controller and a reservoir containing a beneficial agent, the controller being coupled to a dispenser that is coupled to the reservoir to dispense the beneficial agent; wherein the beneficial agent includes a medication; the beneficial agent includes a gene therapy material; the beneficial agent includes living cells to seed at least one location of the heart that is damaged, as taught and suggested by Santini, for providing a controlled release of beneficial agents at the preselected environment (par. 0012).
Regarding claims 14-16, Rogers in view of Mody discloses the claimed invention of claim 1; except for comprising at least one of the first and second tubular limbs includes at least one sensor to sense at least one biological parameter; the at least one sensor includes at least one pressure sensor to sense blood pressure and wherein the at least one sensor includes at least one of: a chemical sensor, a distance sensor, a sensor having circuitry to detect electro physiological data, a movement sensor, and a location sensor.
However, Santini teaches a similar implant (abstract and par. 0120 disclose an implantable device used to treat heart failure) comprising at least one sensor to sense at least one biological parameter; the at least one sensor includes at least one pressure sensor to sense blood pressure and wherein the at least one sensor includes at least one of: a chemical sensor, a distance sensor, a sensor having circuitry to detect electro physiological data, a movement sensor, and a location sensor (par. 0087 discloses a chemical sensor, par. 0120 discloses detecting blood pressure). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the implant in Rogers in view of Mody to include at least one of the first and second tubular limbs includes at least one sensor to sense at least one biological parameter; the at least one sensor includes at least one pressure sensor to sense blood pressure and wherein the at least one sensor includes at least one of: a chemical sensor, a distance sensor, a sensor having circuitry to detect electro physiological data, a movement sensor, and a location sensor, as taught and suggested by Santini, for accurately detecting patient parameters for proper management of treatment (par. 0120).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers et al. (2016/0120647) “Rogers” in view of Mody et al. (2010/0016784) “Mody” further in view of Rafiee et al. (2018/0098850) “Rafiee ‘850”.
Rogers in view of Mody discloses the claimed invention of claim 1; except for wherein the elongate flexible tether includes radiopaque material along its length and wherein the elongate flexible tether is a hollow braided suture, and the radiopaque material within the elongate flexible tether includes a radiopaque wire disposed within a length of heat shrunk polymeric tube that resides within a hollow core of the elongate inner tether. However, Rafiee ‘850 teaches a similar elongate flexible tether 50 (abstract and Fig. 1A) comprising radiopaque material along its length (claim 3) and wherein the elongate flexible tether 50 is a hollow braided suture (par. 0092), and the radiopaque material within the elongate flexible tether includes a radiopaque wire disposed within a length of heat shrunk polymeric tube that resides within a hollow core of the elongate inner tether (claim 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the implant in Rogers in view of Mody to include wherein the elongate flexible tether includes radiopaque material along its length and wherein the elongate flexible tether is a hollow braided suture, and the radiopaque material within the elongate flexible tether includes a radiopaque wire disposed within a length of heat shrunk polymeric tube that resides within a hollow core of the elongate inner tether, as taught and suggested by Rafiee ‘850, for allowing the tether to be visible under fluoroscopy and for using materials that allow for sufficient tensioning whilst protecting the myocardial tissue (par. 0011).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to YASHITA SHARMA whose telephone number is (571)270-5417. The examiner can normally be reached on 8am-5pm M-Th; 8am-4pm Fri. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner' s supervisor, Jerrah Edwards, can be reached at 408-918-7557. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/YASHITA SHARMA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774