DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 9, 18, and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 7-8, 16-17, and 21-23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7-8, 16, and 21: multiples recitations of the limitation “a source” and/or “its source” and/or “the source” make it unclear as to which “source” is being referred.
Claim 7-8, 16, and 21: multiples recitations of the limitation “a drain” and/or “its drain” and/or “the drain” make it unclear as to which “drain” is being referred.
Claim 7-8, 16, and 21-23: multiples recitations of the limitation “a gate” and/or “its gate” and/or “the gate” make it unclear as to which “gate” is being referred.
Claim 22 is objected to on the basis of its dependency on Claim 21.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ivanov (US 20190107857 A1).
Regarding Claims 1 and 4, Ivanov discloses an apparatus (100, Fig 1), comprising: an amplifier having an amplifier output (105 has output 118, Fig 1), a first transistor coupled between a voltage supply terminal and an output terminal (M1 coupled to AFDD and coupled to Vout through D1, Fig 1), the first transistor having a first control terminal coupled to the amplifier output (M1 has gate 104 connected to 118, Fig 1) and a second transistor coupled between the first control terminal and the output terminal (M2 connected between gate 104 and connected to Vout through 110, Fig 1), the second transistor having a second control terminal coupled to the amplifier output (109 connected to 118, Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Ivanov discloses an apparatus according to Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the output terminal is coupled to a boot capacitor terminal or an output voltage terminal (112 connected to Vout, Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 5, Ivanov discloses an apparatus according to Claim 1, and further discloses further comprising a switch coupled between the first transistor and the output terminal (D1 connected between M1 and 112, Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 9, Ivanov discloses an apparatus according to Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the amplifier and the first and second transistors are part of a buck converter circuit or a low dropout (LDO) voltage regulator circuit (Fig 1 is an LDO, [0007]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen (US 20230009027 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Chen discloses an apparatus, comprising: an amplifier having an amplifier output and a voltage reference input (210 has output Vpass and input Vref, Fig 3); a first transistor coupled between a voltage supply terminal and an output terminal (T5 is connected between VDDPST2 and VDDPST1, Fig 3), the first transistor having a first control terminal coupled to the amplifier output (T5 gate connected to Vpass, Fig 3);
a second transistor coupled between the first transistor and the output terminal (T6 connected between gate of T5 and VDDPST1, Fig 3), the second transistor having a second control terminal coupled to the amplifier output (T6 control terminal connected to Vpass, Fig 3); and a third transistor coupled between the second transistor and the output terminal (T4 connected between T6 gate and VDDPST1, Fig 3), the third transistor having a third control terminal and a body terminal(T4 has gate and body terminals, Fig 3) , the third control terminal coupled to the amplifier output (T4 gate connected to Vpass, Fig 3), and the body terminal coupled to a reference terminal (T4 connected to ground reference terminal through 220, Fig 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ivanov (US 20190107857 A1) in view of Asuri (US 9608569 B2).
Regarding Claim 2, Ivanov discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Ivanov does not disclose one or more resistors coupled between the first control terminal of the first transistor and the second control terminal of the second transistor.
Asuri teaches a conventional gate-coupling resistor (see Fig 4) including one or more resistors coupled between the first control terminal of the first transistor and the second control terminal of the second transistor (R1 is connected to the gates of 406 and 408, which are both driven by amplifier 404, Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the gate-coupling resistor in Ivanov, as taught by Asuri, as it provides the advantage of limiting cross-coupling and current flow between the gates of transistors sharing a common control signal.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ivanov (US 20190107857 A1) in view of Barrow (US 20080231249 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Ivanov discloses wherein the amplifier and the first and second transistors are part of a packaged integrated circuit (LP OTA, M105, and M103 are part of the amplifier stage 110 that is on the chip, Fig 2, [0074]).
Ivanov does not disclose wherein the output terminal is a pin or pad of the packaged integrated circuit.
Barrow teaches a conventional integrated circuit (see Fig 1), including wherein the output terminal is a pin or pad of the packaged integrated circuit (output pin 20 of IC 10 connected to the amplifier 12 through the source of transistor 16, Fig 1, [0005]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the integrated circuit in Ivanov, as taught by Barrow, as it provides the advantage of providing a connection point to interface with other components.
Claim 18, 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 20220385179 A1) in view of Guan (US 20220376494 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, Zhu discloses an apparatus (200, Fig 2), comprising: an amplifier (212, Fig 2) having an amplifier output and a reference input (212 has output 218 and VREF input, Fig 2); a first transistor (N3, Fig 2) coupled between a first terminal (VPOS, Fig 2) and a second terminal (VNEG, Fig 2), the first transistor having a first control terminal coupled to the amplifier output (gate of N3 connected to 218, Fig 2); and a second transistor (N2, Fig 2) coupled between the first control terminal and the second terminal (N2 connected between gate of N3 and VNEG, Fig 2), the second transistor having a second control terminal coupled to the amplifier output (N2 gate connected to 218, Fig 2),
Zhu doesn't disclose wherein the first and second transistors are configurable to have different threshold voltages.
Guan teaches a conventional protection circuit for use with a power transistor (see Fig 1) including wherein the first and second transistors are configurable to have different threshold voltages (M4 and 110 may have different threshold voltages, Fig 1, [0031]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the protection circuit in Zhu, as taught by Guan, as it provides the advantage of design flexibility ([0044] of Guan).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Zhu and Guan discloses all of the limitations of Claim 18, and further discloses wherein the second terminal is coupled to a boot capacitor terminal or a power output (the source of N3 is connected to VNEG of Fig 2 which is also connected to one of the power MOSFETS 102d from Fig 1 and bootstrap capacitor 104, Fig 1-2, [0050] of Zhu).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Zhu and Guan discloses all of the limitations of Claim 18, and further discloses wherein: the first and second transistors are field effect transistors (FETs) (N3/221 and N2/219 are FETs, [0054]); the first transistor is a depletion mode or native transistor (transistor 110 may be a normally-on/depletion-mode transistor, [0033] of Guan) having its drain coupled to the first terminal and its source coupled to the second terminal (N3's drain connected to VPOS, Fig 2 of Zhu), and its gate is the first control terminal coupled to the amplifier output (N3's gate connected to 212, Fig 2 of Zhu); and the second transistor has its drain coupled to the gate of the first transistor and its source coupled to the second terminal (N2's drain connected to gate of N3 and N2's source is connected to VNEG, Fig 2 of Zhu), and its gate is the second control terminal coupled to the amplifier output (N2's gate connected to212, Fig 2 of Zhu).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 20220385179 A1) in view of Guan (US 20220376494 A1) and further in view of Perez (US 20040239304 A1).
Regarding Claim 22, Zhu discloses wherein the first and second transistors are n-channel field effect transistors (NFETs) ("n-channel FETs N2 219 and N3 221", [0054] of Zhu).
Zhu does not disclose a size ratio of the first transistor to the second transistor is 1000:1 or higher.
Perez teaches a conventional LDO (see Fig 3), including a size ratio of the first transistor to the second transistor is 1000:1 or higher ("the ratio between the size of transistors 318 and 316 is 1000:1", Fig 3, Col 3, second paragraph).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the LDO in Zhu, as taught by Perez, as it provides the advantage of precisely sensing current while minimizing power loss.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 12-15, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 7-8, 16-17, & 23 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the Claim Objections set forth in this Office action and written to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/J.C.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/GARY L LAXTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838 9/03/2026