DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on July 15, 2026.
Claims 1, 9 and 14 have been amended and are hereby entered.
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
This action is made FINAL.
Response to Amendments
Applicant's amendments to the claims, filed July 15, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1 – 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention as set forth in the office action filed April 15, 2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed July 15, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1 – 5 and 7 – 12 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rota Matir as set forth in the office action filed April 15, 2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed July 15, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1 – 5, 7, 8, and 10 – 12 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim as set forth in the office action filed April 15, 2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed July 15, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 6 and 13 – 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rota Matir as set forth in the office action filed April 15, 2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed July 15, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 6, 13, and 15 – 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as set forth in the office action filed April 15, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,439,821. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds of Formula 1 in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds of Formula 1 in claim 1 of the ‘821 patent as evidenced by at least compound 22 in claim 20 of the ‘821 patent.
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,428,597. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds of Formula 1 in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds of Formula 1 in claim 1 of the ‘597 patent as evidenced by at least compound 17 in claim 10 of the ‘597 patent.
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,593,606. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds of Formula 1 in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds of Formula 4 in claim 14 of the ‘606 patent as evidenced by at least compound D14 in claim 15 of the ‘606 patent.
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,637,483. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds of Formula 1 in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds of Formula 1 in claim 1 of the ‘483 patent as evidenced by at least compound 105 in claim 13 of the ‘483 patent.
Claims 1 – 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of copending Application No. 18/311,575 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds of Formula 1 in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds of Formula 4 in claim 19 of the ‘575 application as evidenced by at least compound D14 in claim 20 of the ‘575 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 – 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of copending Application No. 18/541,784 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds of Formula 1 in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds of Formula 1 in claim 1 of the ‘784 application as evidenced by at least compound 139 in claim 9 of the ‘784 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 – 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of copending Application No. 18/463,115 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds of Formula 1 in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds of Formula 1 in claim 1 of the ‘115 application as evidenced by at least compound 133 in claim 10 of the ‘115 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 – 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 24 of copending Application No. 18/350,883 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds of Formula 1 in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds of Formula 1 in claim 1 of the ‘883 application as evidenced by at least compound 172 in claim 13 of the ‘883 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 – 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of copending Application No. 18/456,826 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds of Formula 1 in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds of Formula 1 in claim 1 of the ‘826 application as evidenced by at least compound 322 in claim 12 of the ‘826 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 – 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of copending Application No. 18/311,575 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds of Formula 1 in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds of Formula 4 in claim 19 of the ‘575 application as evidenced by at least compound D14 in claim 20 of the ‘575 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 – 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3 – 8, and 10 – 20 of copending Application No. 17/889,217 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds of Formula 1 in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds of Formula 1 in claim 1 of the ‘217 application as evidenced by at least compound 18 in claim 8 of the ‘217 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 defines n3 as being an integer of 1 to 3. Claim 1 then goes on to recite that “when n3 is 0, CY5 and CY6 are not directly connected with each other.” This renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether n3 is required to be an integer of 1 to 3 or if n3 can also be 0.
For examination purposes, the claim is interpreted to require that n3 is selected from an integer of 1 to 3. Examiner recommends that Applicant remove the language directed to “when n3 is 0.”
Claims 2 – 20 are rejected as being dependent on claim 1.
Claims 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 10 requires that in Formula 2, X3 and n satisfy one of three conditions. One of the conditions, (C) is that n3 is 0. However, claim 10 is dependent on claim 1. Claim 1 has been amended to require that n3 is 1 to 3. Therefore, condition (C) appears to fall outside the scope of claim 1, upon which it depends.
Claim 14 recites a list of compounds. Claim 14 is dependent on claim 1, which requires that T1 is selected from groups including Formula 2-1 to 2-4 and 2-6 to 2-8. However, some of the compounds in claim 14, including at least Compound 19
contain a fully deuterated carbazole group in the claimed T1 position. This group appears to fall outside of the groups for recited for the T1 group. Therefore, claim 14 appears to fail to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rota Matir (WO2021014001A1).
As per claims 1 – 5, and 7 – 12, Rota Matir teaches:
A condensed cyclic compound represented by Formula 1
(Rota Matir teaches compounds of Formula (I)
(Page 2, Paragraph 2). A particular compound within the scope of Formula (I) taught by Rota Matir is
on Page 123. While this compound does not contain the substituents off of the carbazole groups as required by the claims, Rota Matir teaches substituted carbazole substituents in compounds such as
on Page 128. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to similarly substitute one of the carbazole groups in the compound on Page 123, such as the group on the top left with a phenyl group as in the compound on Page 128. When modified in this way, the modified compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein Y1 is B; CY1 to CY4 are each a C6 carbocyclic group, namely a benzene group as required by claims 4 and 5; X1 is N(R11); n1 is 1; n2 is 0 so that CY1 and CY2 are not connected; T1 is a group represented by Formula 2-6; T2 and T3 are each a group represented by Formula 2-5; a1 to a3 are each an integer of 1; in Formula 2, CY5 and CY6 are each independently a C6 carbocyclic group, namely a benzene group as required by claims 7 and 8 so that the entire group is represented by Formula 2-5 in claim 9; X3 is a single bond and n3 is 1, meeting condition (A) in claim 10; b1 to b3 are integers of 0 so that the corresponding R groups do not exist; R5 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl group; R11 is a substituted C6 aryl group; R4 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl group, namely a group represented by Formula 10-12 in claim 12; b4 is an integer of 1.)
Rota Matir includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Rota Matir being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of organic electroluminescent devices with higher efficiencies, higher color purity, and higher stability than other emitters with comparable color (Page 1, Paragraph 5), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claim 6, while the compound above shows a symmetrical substitution of the N-R groups, in Formula (I), Rota Matir does not require that the N-R groups are symmetrically substituted. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the phenyl groups in an asymmetrical fashion and arrive at a compound of the claimed invention.
Rota Matir includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Rota Matir being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of organic electroluminescent devices with higher efficiencies, higher color purity, and higher stability than other emitters with comparable color (Page 1, Paragraph 5), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claims 13 and 14, Rota Matir teaches sub-formulae of Formula (I) include Formula If-9
and Formula Ig-7
. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the phenyl substituents off of the N-Phenyl group in the compound above with two tert-butyl substituents. When modified in this way, the modified compound reads on claim 13 wherein b4 is 2 and each occurrence of R4 is represented by Formula 9-7. The modified compound is the same as claimed compound 14
in claim 14.
Rota Matir includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Rota Matir being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of organic electroluminescent devices with higher efficiencies, higher color purity, and higher stability than other emitters with comparable color (Page 1, Paragraph 5), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claims 15 – 20, Rota Matir does not specifically teach the use of the compound above in a device. Rota Matir teaches:
An organic light-emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode, and an organic layer arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode and comprising an emission layer, wherein the first electrode is an anode, the second electrode is a cathode, the organic layer further comprises a hole transport region located between the first electrode and the emission layer and an electron transport region located between the emission layer and the second electrode, wherein the hole transport region comprises a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron blocking layer, a buffer layer, or a combination thereof, and the electron transport region comprises a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, or a combination thereof (Page 77, Paragraph 2: “When the optoelectronic device is an OLED, it may, for example, having the following layer structure: 1. Substrate 2. Anode layer A, 3. Hole injection layer HIL, 4. Hole transport layer HTL, 5. Electron blocking layer EBL, 6. Emitting layer, EML, 7. Hole blocking layer HBL, 8. Electron transport layer ETL, 9. Electron injection layer, EIL, 10. Cathode layer.” As an organic light-emitting device is an electronic apparatus, Rota Matir meets the limitations of claim 20.)
Wherein the emission layer comprises the condensed cyclic compound (Page 73, Paragraph 3: “A preferred embodiment relates to the use of an organic molecule according to the invention as a luminescent emitter in an optoelectronic device.”)
Wherein the emission layer further comprises a host, and the content of the host is greater than a content of the condensed cyclic compound (Page 74, Paragraph 5: “In a particular embodiment, the light-emitting layer EML comprises (or essentially consists of) a composition comprising or consisting of: (i) 0.1 to 10% by weight… of one or more organic molecules according to the invention; (ii) 5 – 99% by weight… of at least one host compound H.”)
Wherein the emission layer emits blue light having a maximum emission wavelength of about 400 nm to about 490 nm (Page 1, Paragraph 5: “According to the present invention… the organic molecules exhibit in particular emission maxima between 420nm and 520 nm, preferably between 440nm and 495nm.”)
Rota Matir teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and that the compound is in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Rota Matir as Rota Matir demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789